Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phoenix Park Rant

• 07-08-2010 7:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭

Ok went into the park for the first time today.

Now what the hell is the point in a cycle path when people walk in it jog in it push babys in it stop to have a chat etc all wearing headphones then you get the lads cycling for ya when there is another path on the far side of the road for them.

Bloody crazy wont be going back anytime soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

There's been more than one thread on here over the past few years complaining about just that. The situation with pedestrians doesn't seem to have improved at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

Park rangers dont seem to give a monkeys about it. Its a joke to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Go round the outer roads and don't use the cycle lanes provided. There are hills (gentle inclines) and no cycle lanes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Recently a cyclist almost knocked down my 72 yr old father who suffers from alzheimers while I was walking him in the Phoenix Park , this "gentleman " then went to abuse my father telling him where he could and couldnt walk and the next time he would knock him down........by the way if I catch him first..he will be permantently attached to his bike.......

Go round the outer roads and don't use the cycle lanes provided. There are hills (gentle inclines) and no cycle lanes.
    Fine unless you want to use the park to commute from D15 to the city. Mornings are ok but in the evenings its rollerbladers, kids buggies, power walkers in tandem, etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Anyone doing serious training uses the road. Its as simple as that.

Bit crazy putting the cycle path between the pedestrians and their cars. When its busy they don't even see the cycle lane markings. So the weekends are a disaster.
    During the week when commuting theres very few on the cycle path. I don't find it that bad. I'm not going that quick though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

GSF wrote: »
    Fine unless you want to use the park to commute from D15 to the city. Mornings are ok but in the evenings its rollerbladers, kids buggies, power walkers in tandem, etc

I do use it to commute from D15!

Things are not going to change, so you'll just have to use the road.
    Or go on to the grass.
    Or get a whistle.
    Or hand out flyers.
    Or start shooting people. Call me if you need a hand on this one.

mattjack wrote: »
    Recently a cyclist almost knocked down my 72 yr old father who suffers from alzheimers while I was walking him in the Phoenix Park , this "gentleman " then went to abuse my father telling him where he could and couldnt walk and the next time he would knock him down........by the way if I catch him first..he will be permantently attached to his bike.......

How did that happen, how did he not see you, and how did you not see him?

I mean its straight as an arrow for 3 miles and no obstructions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

why did you not use the pedestrian path ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

BostonB wrote: »
    How did that happen, how did he not see you, and how did you not see him?

I mean its straight as an arrow for 3 miles and no obstructions.

he must have had his back to the cyclist coming up the right way. like most idiots today

Or go on to the grass.
    Or get a whistle.
    Or hand out flyers.

you missed one...

....draft someone else

Or go on to the grass.
    Or get a whistle.
    Or hand out flyers.

I dont think there is a perfect solution, what with this being Ireland and generally lawless. But I do wonder if switching the footpath & the cycle path would help. I think some people dont want to use the footpath because its too secluded or dont even notice it is there.

I'd be worried that some of them might shoot back, otherwise your last suggestion could work ;)

blahblah06 wrote: »
    why did you not use the pedestrian path ?
    It seems rather irresponsible of the poster to walk his eldery parent down a cycle track. Would he take him walking down the car roadway I wonder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 uxvox

It's poor design. The pedestrian path should be the one beside the road. The cycle path should be ON the road or further in. That's the standard user experience. Who can blame pedestrians for walking on a path beside a road FFS.

Folks .. how are you all assuming I was on a cycling path...? I was in a pedestrian area ..

uxvox wrote: »
    It's poor design. The pedestrian path should be the one beside the road. The cycle path should be ON the road or further in.
    What about the parking though? As the Park is an unofficial park & ride site that would need to change.

The park must be one of the few in the world that is so open to cars. I know there were moves to restrict car access a couple of years ago but they died under the weight of motorists pressure

The footpaths further from the road were originally the cycle paths, many many moons ago. Why they switched them over I don't know. Those paths are also smoother - they don't have those big kerbs at the junctions with side roads - so much better for cycling.

@mattjack If you choose to walk on what's very clearly marked as a cycle path then it's reasonable to expect that you'll encounter cyclists. It sounds as if that particular cyclist reacted badly to the situation and I would no more condone his rudeness than I would condone your threats of violence: neither is helpful.

Folks .. how are you all assuming I was on a cycling path...? I was in a pedestrian area ..
    well then I owe you an apology :o

Because this is a thread about the cycle paths in the Phoenix Park and the fact that pedestrians walk on them....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭bubble_wrap

Anyone doing serious training uses the road. Its as simple as that.

Bit crazy putting the cycle path between the pedestrians and their cars. When its busy they don't even see the cycle lane markings. So the weekends are a disaster.
    During the week when commuting theres very few on the cycle path. I don't find it that bad. I'm not going that quick though.

what do you classify as serious training? Lots use the cycle paths!

Bunny I,VE grown up close to the Park , walk my dogs there, bring my kids there, work there....even cycle on the cycle lanes and I,ve seen all types of behaviour there by pedestrians and cyclists...and I accept your comment ,bout the cycle lanes and the thread...unfortunately this particular cyclist got onmy wick..maybe you would react the same way with an ill parent...

Fair enough, Matt. No offence meant.

I grew up close to the Park as well, and I still live near it so, like you, I've seen plenty of eejitry in there. My point about pedestrians on the cycle path stands, but it obviously doesn't apply to you. It's a bit rich of that cyclist to have been complaining at all - even if he'd managed to be polite about it - when he was on a pedestrian path. No wonder he got on your wick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I use the Park when I commute. No issues, I just go round the peds or use the road.

The Park is a happy place full of people having fun.

Chill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,085 ✭✭✭✭neris

was driving through the park last monday and wasnt pedestrians in the cycle lanes it was parked cars for miles. Clearly marked as a cycle lane and double yellow lines. Could start a rant about people in the sutton-clontarf cycle lane aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

I run in the park most days and I see load off cyclistes on the foot paths and pedestrians walking in the cycle lanes, nobody seems to give a sh1t...I cycle on the road instead and I play chicken with the cyclistes on the foot paths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Lumen wrote: »
    I use the Park when I commute. No issues, I just go round the peds or use the road.

The Park is a happy place full of people having fun.

Chill.

Absolutely, chill being the main point to be taken from this thread. You manage to do that and you'll love the park even more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭bloomfield

If we did away with all the parking places along the central road, we could have a nice 1.5 meter wide cycle lane on each side, and avoid all the conflict on the paths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

bloomfield wrote: »
    If we did away with all the parking places along the central road, we could have a nice 1.5 meter wide cycle lane on each side, and avoid all the conflict on the paths.

The most secure room is one with no doors.

Because otherwise your story makes no sense. It makes no sense for a cyclist to be on the footpaths, and giving out that a pedestrian has no right to be there. Pedestrians might not know which path is which, but a frequent cyclist, will definately know. Also any (mad raving gung ho looney cyclist) is most likely a frequent cyclist. This would know the surface on the footpaths is woeful, and would choose the cycle path, or the road. It makes no sense you'd leave out the most important detail in the original comment, then wonder why people assume your on the cycle path.

Its just not that credible. Even if true.

what do you classify as serious training? Lots use the cycle paths!

As do I.

But most of the guys & gals training seem to be all on the road so they can go through the junctions smoothly without stopping, and theres no obstructions, as you can have on the cycle path. They are generally doing laps so I guess they also don't want to be going up and down on/off the pavement all the time. Besides there aren't cycle lanes the whole way round anyway, and lots of the ramps up/down are awkward. Which is less of a problem when commuting. Also they are going a lot quicker than everyone else. Which is safer on the road.

Basically lots of reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

I don't know any of you, and I'm sure this biking sub-forum is very cliquey.

Anyway, with that out of the way, I'd like to point out that
    • The rangers are concerned about this
    • It is not against the law to walk/blade/chat on a cycle path
    • There is no legislation to prevent this stupid situation
    • I find hitting these idiots with my elbows is very satisfying, as they tend to spin around and impotently wave their fists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Ant

It makes no sense for a cyclist to be on the footpaths, and giving out that a pedestrian has no right to be there.

I'd believe it. Some people can be ignorant, rude, aggressive and wrong all at the same time. Some of these people cycle. Many years ago, while working as a bike courier, I stopped at a pedestrian crossing to let a young woman cross the road as the light was green for her. Another courier (whom I knew) whizzed by, shouting at her to get out of the fúckin way and only narrowly avoided hitting. I apologised to let her know that not all couriers are such assholes.

With regard to the Phoenix Park and other off-road cycle tracks, I've learned to accept that it's not (yet) part of Irish culture for people to realise that some paths aren't footpaths. Like Lumen, I don't get upset and simply cycle on the grass to avoid pedestrians, roller-bladers, etc. I usually slow right down if I encounter children or walkers with their dogs. If I want to go fast, I'll just use the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

T-Square wrote: »
    I don't know any of you, and I'm sure this biking sub-forum is very cliquey.

Did you need to preface your post with this? Is it relevant to what came afterwards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It's poor design. The pedestrian path should be the one beside the road. The cycle path should be ON the road or further in. That's the standard user experience. Who can blame pedestrians for walking on a path beside a road FFS.

Even if they switched it wouldn't make a difference.

Look at Clontarf/Dollymount.

You have a promenade for pedestrians.
    Then inside this a cycle lane.
    Beside this a standard footpath.
    And cross the road one more standard footpath

Three areas for pedestrians, one for cyclists.

But you find cyclists on the promenade and people walking their dog on the cycle lane. Yes, walk on the cycle lane with three other options :confused:
    Nobody cares
    So switching lanes in the Phoenix Park will achieve nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

I never use the park because of all the messing with the cycle lanes. They should be good but they're not. No point arguing that they should be etc., everybody from walkers to runners to pram pushers to alzheimers patients use them when they shouldn't. It's not how it should be, but it's how it is.

I cycle because I like getting places. Having to slow down and warn people every 200m messes with my chi so I'm not interested in that. Just choose to go around, get the heart rate up on the Knockmaroon Hill, cycle a good road and get to where you want to without aggravation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Did you need to preface your post with this? Is it relevant to what came afterwards?

Thanks for making my point!

check mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

This is turning into the usual tit-for-tat commenting.

Back on topic the OPW are aware of the issue and are moving towards resolutions; more signs printed etc. I think it's improving the situation gradually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

blahblah06 wrote: »
    Ok went into the park for the first time today.

Now what the hell is the point in a cycle path when people walk in it jog in it push babys in it stop to have a chat etc all wearing headphones then you get the lads cycling for ya when there is another path on the far side of the road for them.

Bloody crazy wont be going back anytime soon
    I just fly along on my bike right through em all they jump out of your way quick enough then obnoxious pricks jogging in the cycle path and standing around talking sh1te in their put on upper class accents bloody assholes do go back and rage war on em all:mad::mad::mad::D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭bbosco

T-Square wrote: »
    Thanks for making my point!

check mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭SubLuminal

Nearly hit a dog off the lead in a cycle lane in phoenix park the other day. Was coming down that hill where the magazine fort is on your right at the bottom. Doing 63kph, pretty sure I would have killed the dog. I dont blame the dog I blame the owner, but the "oh, those cute silly waggy dogs" look that the aforementioned owner gave me pure fury. Second time it's happened. ****ing idiots.

A bell does work wonders for the people who just don't see you coming though. Much nicer than shouting too.

SubLuminal wrote: »
    Nearly hit a dog off the lead in a cycle lane in phoenix park the other day. Was coming down that hill where the magazine fort is on your right at the bottom. Doing 63kph, pretty sure I would have killed the dog. I dont blame the dog I blame the owner, but the "oh, those cute silly waggy dogs" look that the aforementioned owner gave me pure fury. Second time it's happened. ****ing idiots.

A bell does work wonders for the people who just don't see you coming though. Much nicer than shouting too.

Is the speed limit in the park not 30 or 50 km/hr?

EDIT: Btw, I'm not saying that dogs not on leads (or those infernal flexi leads) are not bloody dangerous.

Park rangers dont seem to give a monkeys about it. Its a joke to be honest.
    Sure of course the park rangers arent going to give a sh1t about it that would be too much like work for them and sure they are to cosy sitting in their land rovers fat ass gob sh1ts:D:D:D

Is that so now where do you burey your dead:eek::eek::eek:

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Is the speed limit in the park not 30 or 50 km/hr?

Probably. I'd most likely have been in the wrong if i'd ridden into it, or its owner, but I doubt that'd be too much consolation when he was burying fluffy in the garden.

SubLuminal wrote: »

Probably. I'd most likely have been in the wrong if i'd ridden into it, or its owner, but I doubt that'd be too much consolation when he was burying fluffy in the garden.

Ok, I'm not sure I follow. I mean, if you replace "ridden" with "driven" and "fluffy" with "son" (maybe change "garden" too), it doesn't make it sound any better because it's a bike and something got in your way.

I slowed (stopped actually) for a bus to let passengers off the other day (on an uphill drag so not my favourite time to stop) and one guy got off and just walked on the cycle path with his back to me and a big white bike graphic staring at him from under his shoes. I was tempted to go close as I passed him and maybe nudge him, but what would it accomplish? I sometimes mutter stuff though, or shake my head after I pass, but most people when they see me coming either move or apologize and then move.

Probably close enough to the proportion of bikes I see cycling on footpaths or cars double parked on bike lanes.

I like shaking a fist at the world too, but sometimes you just got to let it go!

Ant wrote: »
    I'd believe it. Some people can be ignorant, rude, aggressive and wrong all at the same time. Some of these people cycle. Many years ago, while working as a bike courier,.....

Anything is possible, but something are vastly more probable.

It woulden matter where you had the cycle path where it is at present or on the walkway people would still walk on it i just cycle in on the walk way just to annoy everyone as they do the same to us cycleists and when people complain i let off a ripping fart and carry on cycleing well really the nerve of it ol boy what O. :D:D:D

Vampire, what I meant was if i'd hit the dog, who was right or wrong wouldnt really have mattered - dog would be very dead and I'd prolly be injured too.. So i'm quite glad I didn't run into it!

What about the parking though? As the Park is an unofficial park & ride site that would need to change.

The park must be one of the few in the world that is so open to cars. I know there were moves to restrict car access a couple of years ago but they died under the weight of motorists pressure
    some of the back roads are closed off to traffic now

I never use the park because of all the messing with the cycle lanes. They should be good but they're not. No point arguing that they should be etc., everybody from walkers to runners to pram pushers to alzheimers patients use them when they shouldn't. It's not how it should be, but it's how it is.

I cycle because I like getting places. Having to slow down and warn people every 200m messes with my chi so I'm not interested in that. Just choose to go around, get the heart rate up on the Knockmaroon Hill, cycle a good road and get to where you want to without aggravation.

I commute through the park and its nothing like that bad for me. Last week theres only two events that stuck out. Usually with a bell people move aside or you just go around on the grass. Its the summer now at least you can see people. In the winter you get ninja walkers, joggers, on the unlit roads that just appear from nowhere, dressed in black with no lights.