Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the most broke & hungry you've ever been?

• 07-08-2010 1:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭

When i was in australia a few years ago i experienced a few days of literally having no money. Its a long story as to why i ended up in such a predicament (the usual story). I was staying in a hostel & it was the most miserable few days of my life i'd say. I'd never experienced being painfully hungry before.

Some guy told me about a redcross food van that used to pass nearby so i managed to get some grub off them for the last 2 days. Oh the shame.

Ever been broke & hungry?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

When i was young i remember staying with my cousins down the country. F*ckers were so stingy i'd swear they were rationing food. One day for dinner i was only given a sausage and some mash. One damn sausage! and only a bowl of cereal earlier in the day. I had to ring my mother crying to pick me up because i was so hungry and depressed. She picked me up after a heated argument with my aunt over the phone and bought me a huge sandwich in the local shop. I was never so happy eating food ever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Most Mondays.

After spending all my money on drugs, aclcohol and grade "D" prostitutes at the weekend I have to go two days before recieving my job seekers benefit. During these two days I usually live on cups of tea with no milk, those crushed custard creams at the end of the packet and plain pasta. By the second day I generally dont eat because I cant stomach the plain pasta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

You don't like Mondays, n told me why! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Years ago sitting in Vancouver airport waiting for standby flight. We even stood in the ladies talking about how starving and tired we were hoping some one would give us a few dollars but no luck. Arrived back in Toronto to my friend's mother and the Four Seasons hotel and room service. Penury to luxury.

In Germany, again years ago, had no money or food and 3 days to go till pay day. Got up at some unearthly hour of the morning to go and give blood and got paid something like 54 marks for it which was the equivalent of IR£13.00 at the time. Spent most of it in a cake shop across from the blood centre which had the most delicious cream cakes ever and then starved for the next two days.

Lots of other times. These days, mostly broke but never hungry. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

karlog wrote: »
    When i was young i remember staying with my cousins down the country. F*ckers were so stingy i'd swear they were rationing food. One day for dinner i was only given a sausage and some mash. One damn sausage! and only a bowl of cereal earlier in the day. I had to ring my mother crying to pick me up because i was so hungry and depressed. She picked me up after a heated argument with my aunt over the phone and bought me a huge sandwich in the local shop. I was never so happy eating food ever.

This wasn't in Cavan, was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Interrailing on my tod when I was 20. Ran outta cash on a Friday and couldn't remember my credit card pin cos I was only using it online. Had to wait til the Monday to get cash transferred.

Lived off a horrible bad of pretzels I bought 3 cities back and water from public fountains.

Had a steak breakfast on the Monday though. mmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭GHOST MGG2

losing my job in the early part of the 80s and living in a hellhole bedsit on the south circular road...and only having enough money to buy a batch loaf..but not the butter..to last me for a week..sigh those were tough times.so evertime i eat a slice of batch bread it brings a tear to my eye..literally!

Once in college I had to live of only weetabix and milk from Wednesday till the following Monday.. I had a few euro that I spend on milk and that was it.

One of the guys did it for the laugh with me but I had to cause all lines of credit were gone.. By Monday, people were asking me if I was sick because I was so pale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Parents went away for 2 weeks, left me 'enough' money to last but spent it on drink and had a big house party. Ended up eating in my nannys for a whole week and told her i had lost the money :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

"Dancing away my hunger pain...
    Stompin' my feet so my stomach won't hurt
    I'm kinda like Jebus, but not in a sacreligious way..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

Porridge got me through college, I haven't eaten porridge since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

when I was in the canteen with a broken leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

i spent a week living on noodles and bread before i had to catch a flight back to ireland.

I was never so happy to get an inflight meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

mink_man wrote: »
    when I was in the canteen with a broken leg.

Dear god thats sh!t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

Dear god thats sh!t.

very bad, i know..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

On holiday once. Didn't budget right and all my money was gone by the middle of the holiday. Unluckily, I was in London, although luckily I was able to get free breakfast in the Hostel in which I was staying - and I managed to raise money by selling some CD's I had with me in a second hand music store. So I didn't go too long without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I had no money for an entire week and a half once that I had to scrounge around the place for change until I had enough to buy a piece of solid food.

There was nothing in the house to eat except a box of Saxo Stuffing, which I ate. I didn't feel right for a while after that. :pac:

I then found an old jar full of coins deep inside a press, opened it up and got about €8 out of it. I went to Tesco and bought the cheapest, most disgusting but edible crap I could afford.

Stay away from the Tesco value white pudding..........*shudders*

I'm also down to my last €10 since Tuesday and it's gotta last me until next Tuesday.................here we go again! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

About two months ago I had no food in the house EXCEPT Bryan Lynches Taco Mayonaisse. But luckily I had three euro fifty cent, I went to Tescos and bought chicken dippers and onion rings. Survived on it for 3 ****ing days till I got paid on the Thursday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭questionmark?

I remember back in my college days money was always tight and just about ran out at one stage. Survived on 13cent packs of tesco value noddles for nearly two weeks and treated myself to a sliced pan one day(tesco value and tasted of just salt):(

It was about four years before i ate any noddles again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

FunkZ wrote: »
    About two months ago I had no food in the house EXCEPT Bryan Lynches Taco Mayonaisse. But luckily I had three euro fifty cent, I went to Tescos and bought chicken dippers and onion rings. Survived on it for 3 ****ing days till I got paid on the Thursday!

But luckily I had three euro fifty cent

three euro fifty cent

three fifty

You're not the Lough Ness Monster are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

This thread is bringing back memories.

There were three of us sharing a flat in Rathmines, everyone was broke one monday and no one was getting any cash until thursday. We had no sugar so we went without. When thursday came we had become unaccustomed to sugar in tea and cereal and twenty years later still can't take it.

So something good came out of a chronic shortage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Morrisseys quiff

I remember losing €50 one day when in college. It was all the money I had in the world and I had to spend the week surviving on a bag of porridge and a back up supply of koka noodles that were in the house. After maybe 3 days of it, I just stopped eating until I was f***ing starving because I was so sick of porridge and noodles.

I still get upset thinking about losing that fifty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

When I was in college once I was smashed and wasnt getting paid for a few days I had €5 to do me for the week, I went to the canteen to buy a plate of chips which would be my only food for the day, while in the que I noticed €50 on the ground picked it up and for the rest of the week I had fillet steak for dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭skepticalone

in the early nineties, i remember having 14 pence left, was living with boyfriend on the south circular road , he was a student at uni so we had feck all money and survived on love , i needed 15 pence to buy a tiny packet of milk with a straw, had to go to mr pips across the road and ask him if i could owe him a penny ....fooker said no !!!!!! thankfully twas a long time ago now, i often remember it tho, 20 years and 3 kids later .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

i've never been that broke/hungry for an extended period of time... but a week ago i was hungover and starving in the bus eireann depot in dublin,about to get on a four hour bus, with exactly 3.95 in change and a craving for some soup which was 4euro. decided to suck in my pride and ask the guy if i could get some soup even though i only had 3.95 [it was the cheapest thing they had, sandwiches etc were all 4.50] and he said no :( the rejection was horrible. I felt like Oliver Twist!
    pfft, and if i had just asked for the soup and handed over the 3.95 he wouldnt even have noticed -certainly wouldnt have come running after me for the 5c! that's what you get for being honest, sigh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

college; 5 days on one 2 euro bag of popcorn kernels

Great way to lose weight if you can stand the diarrhea from malnourishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭elchupanebrey

in the early nineties, i remember having 14 pence left, was living with boyfriend on the south circular road , he was a student at uni so we had feck all money and survived on love , i needed 15 pence to buy a tiny packet of milk with a straw, had to go to mr pips across the road and ask him if i could owe him a penny ....fooker said no !!!!!! thankfully twas a long time ago now, i often remember it tho, 20 years and 3 kids later .

This wins, couldn't even afford a place to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭rcdk1

It was about four years before i ate any noddles again!
    Thankfully I've never experienced real hunger but when I was on a J1, I did celebrate the day the Stop N' Shop started selling 6 packets of instant noodles for a dollar instead of 5. I dined well that night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

as a student in England I was always smashed...but luckily I found digs with a aul lad who delivered frozen meals into Strangeways Prison....I got the left overs....a foil tray with a bullet proof sausage...some form of re-constituted potato and a beans.
    I also played the aul ones in the college canteen the poor "oirish lad" line and got myself a couple free slices of toast in the mornings.
    When I look back god only knows how I survived it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭pinkheels88

J1 in San Franciso two summers ago. NEVER want to feel that level of starvation ever again! No diet like a J1. Literally lived off a $1 dollar double choc muffin from Walgreens every day for at least 3 weeks, once a week had a $2 double cheeseburger from McDonalds, and that was on a good day! :eek::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Morrisseys quiff

When I was in college once I was smashed and wasnt getting paid for a few days I had €5 to do me for the week, I went to the canteen to buy a plate of chips which would be my only food for the day, while in the que I noticed €50 on the ground picked it up and for the rest of the week I had fillet steak for dinner

Y'bastard, that was probably mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭teddy_303

Was so smashed before, my friend and I had to make do with a tin of peas with a scabby bit of garlic butter to try and mask the sh1tty taste of the horrible little feckers. Yuck! It made the day we had sweet & sour sausages seem like luxury. Charactor building stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Was working in London heathrow 11 years ago and was let go, lost my accommodation as i had no money, had no money so could'nt eat !! Gospel truth i slept in a phonebox for 3 nights and to cure the hunger i ate red sauce from McDonalds packets !! NOW BEAT THAT:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Money situations grand but haven't eaten in over 2 weeks and am hooked up to a drip. ****ing starving, what i'd do for a burger.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭teddy_303

Ricardo G wrote: »
    Was working in London heathrow 11 years ago and was let go, lost my accommodation as i had no money, had no money so could'nt eat !! Gospel truth i slept in a phonebox for 3 nights and to cure the hunger i ate red sauce from McDonalds packets !! NOW BEAT THAT:D

Kudos to you brother.

Another time in London we had just moved into a squat, didn't have sh1t, about £2 to do 2 of us for two days. No pot to p1ss in, let alone cook. We got some cheap pasta, and had to cook it in the kettle by turning it on, allowing it to cool a bit, then boiling again and again till cooked. Slapped a cheap tin of tomatoes on top and, viola! Lost alot of weight that time. Boot camp would have been positively placial in comparison..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Second week in Manchester, was waiting for a cheque to clear (took two weeks for some stupid reason) and so I had £5 for the week- it was January and minus 15 degrees, and the house I was renting had pay as you go heating, so I said, fúck it, I can starve but not freeze to death...it was so bad that when you breathed out you'd get about five seconds of thick fog! So, went over to the newsagents, got a £5 gas top up, got back, swiped the card- what happened? £4.70 in arrears from the last cúnt who lived there who didn't pay up (the prepay thing only got installed before I moved in, all very odd actually) taken straight away, and the 30p lasted about half an hour.

So I went back to the newsagents, bought 50 penny sweets and a bread roll and lived off it for the week, whilst trying to not die from the cold by wearing literally every t-shirt I owned layer after layer and lying in bed the whole time.

Hardcore, man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

My 'low' was, I suppose, living on tins of beans and going to bed early as I hadn't the energy to stay awake and I just kept wishing for time to pass faster and to fall asleep quicker. It was an experience the minutiae of which I could never, ever have imagined.

I was on here last year asking about walking the Camino de Santiago so last month I walked the entire Camino Francés - all 800km of it - part of the Camino de Santiago. For one week I was living on €8 per day, that is @ €3 per day for food/everything aside from the hostel. I survived by eating fruit and nuts for the entire week and instead of buying water I filled up at the pumps along the camino. This was a really invigorating experience. I was brimming with energy by the end of it and drank more water than I ever would have done. Definitely learnt from it that there's a load of material shít in my life that is not necessary. Every (or at least most of them) cloud has a silver lining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Lived in a house a while back and couldn't afford the heating. We'd get a bale of bricquettes and split each one into three so they'd last a bit longer. We'd also burn single sheets of newspaper. I ate pretty much nothing but Koka noodles and cans of Heinz Mac n Cheese that my mother sent. Thankfully that changed to tinned ravioli after I fed her the Mac n Cheese; it's horrible stuff. I don't know what it tastes of, but it's not cheese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Rick Deckard

myself and the wife years ago traveled around oz. One night after the club, we were in the common room chatting, and a lad came out of his room STARVING. He asked us could he borrow some food, but we were going shopping the next day, so had nothing to give him, bar the end of a boil in the bag rice.

He nearly took my hand off, no sign of anything to have with it, so he used ketchup..

poor bastard..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Once had to make do with a round steak..

ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Rick Deckard

oh, and another time, i was only bout 10/11, was down in my cousins gaff playing. That summer was a scorcher, and we were gasping.. he went in to get us drinks and his ma booted him back out to the sound of "i told you not to come in till bed time, use the hose"

Bitch.

We went up to my gaff and my ma gave us mr. freezes.. good times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Jaysus lads ive been in this position a few times, when i was in Aus there last year i had actually no money for 6 days and i mean no money to buy food or anything, for 6 days i survived on water a packet of peanuts and some sweets i had, i slept most of the time to take the hunger off me, u do nothing else but dream of food and you only care about eating all other troubles mean nothing and you realise that half the troubles you had before mean nothing you just want to eat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

****ing hell a lot of people have gone ages with no food/very little food.
    I remember when I had a crazy bad migrane once and I counldnt keep anything down for 3 days by the end of it I was a complete unsufferable prick I can only imagine how much of a prick someone woulc be after six days with only peanuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I often went hungry when I was young, the joys of having an alcoholic parent. Money for food was secondary. Never underestimate the evil of alcoholism.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

karlog wrote: »
    You were right to ring your mother about it and get far away from there some people are really so mean and misrible i bet you will allways rember that sandwich and i reckon you never went back to your cousin's place again.:eek::eek::eek:

Keithm89 wrote: »
    Parents went away for 2 weeks, left me 'enough' money to last but spent it on drink and had a big house party. Ended up eating in my nannys for a whole week and told her i had lost the money :D
    Thats decieteful i bet all your mates that were at the party wouldent of looked after ya if ya dident have your nanny's to go to:eek::eek::eek:

i spent a week living on noodles and bread before i had to catch a flight back to ireland.

I was never so happy to get an inflight meal.
    why dident ya go fishing and snare some rabbitts ya could of had some fishey rabbit stew:D:D:D

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I had no money for an entire week and a half once that I had to scrounge around the place for change until I had enough to buy a piece of solid food.

There was nothing in the house to eat except a box of Saxo Stuffing, which I ate. I didn't feel right for a while after that. :pac:

I then found an old jar full of coins deep inside a press, opened it up and got about €8 out of it. I went to Tesco and bought the cheapest, most disgusting but edible crap I could afford.

Stay away from the Tesco value white pudding..........*shudders*

I'm also down to my last €10 since Tuesday and it's gotta last me until next Tuesday.................here we go again! :(
    get the hat out and sing a few songs on Grafton st ya'll make a fortune;););)

I remember losing €50 one day when in college. It was all the money I had in the world and I had to spend the week surviving on a bag of porridge and a back up supply of koka noodles that were in the house. After maybe 3 days of it, I just stopped eating until I was f***ing starving because I was so sick of porridge and noodles.

I found that 50euro want it back:D:D:D

I fount that 50euro want it back:D:D:D