Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

powerlifting and strongman training

• 04-08-2010 4:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

hi guys

id like to do some strongman kind of training, ive heard of one place in Rathmines but its not open yet. anyone know of any clubs around south dublin?

id also like to try a bit of powerlifting wheres the best place to go for a total novice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭nuttlys

not a pro here on strongman related topics but a friend runs this course down at DCU. Supposedly its fun enough http://www.facebook.com/skulptfitness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 likely

cheers yeah id love to do training like but a bit heavier and use more equipment, but might it out if nothing else is around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 big_poppa

im training in bray if thats close enough to you. its a good session, great ole crack it is, http://www.facebook.com/pages/Strongman-Factory-Bray/133275160033806?ref=ts#!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Mickk

A lad I know runs a small gym in Ranelagh, he is an experienced power lifter and has some strongman equipment aswell. http://www.stronginbody.com/home.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭_JOE_

Where are you based OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

Mickk wrote: »
    A lad I know runs a small gym in Ranelagh, he is an experienced power lifter and has some strongman equipment aswell. http://www.stronginbody.com/home.html

Didn't know about that and im living in Ranelagh! Might check that out, cheers Mick

_JOE_ wrote: »
    Where are you based OP?

is that directed at me so. blackrock area

cheers lads will look in to your links and try get an email or phone number off them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

They do modified strongman training in the Fitness Dock on Camden street.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

The one in Rathmines isn't far off opening and is looking like it's gonna be a pretty outstanding place to train tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭colman1212

Hanley wrote: »
    The one in Rathmines isn't far off opening and is looking like it's gonna be a pretty outstanding place to train tbh...

I'm living right beside it actually but havent heard a thing about it, Whats the story with it? Anyone heard what kinda set up they are going to have? Wasn't expecting any great shakes as its a council gym. Its looked ready to open for ages, dont know what the story is...

colman1212 wrote: »
    I'm living right beside it actually but havent heard a thing about it, Whats the story with it? Anyone heard what kinda set up they are going to have? Wasn't expecting any great shakes as its a council gym. Its looked ready to open for ages, dont know what the story is...

Just some clarification on what's going on in Rathmines. I didn't want to go shouting about it before the time was right, but I've known about it for a while now. I know the guy setting the place up and he's a strong lad who knows his sh!t.

The finishing touches are just being put to the warehouse where it'll be located at the moment. There's gonna be at least 8 olympic bars, 1,000kg+ of weight, power racks, platforms, dumbbells up to 70kg and all the usual strongman stuff too - sleds, atlas stones, yokes, farmers handles, logs, car deadlift, truck pulls, a power stairs etc... He was also talking to me about some specially designed sledge hammer for conditioning workouts that's gonna be crazy.

There'll be group powerlifting and strongman classes. The former will be aimed at a novice/intermediate level to teach people the lifts, how to program and the other subtle nuances of powerlifting, as far as I know, there'll be advanced classes too. The strongman classes will be basically there to kill you (in a good way!!) - mostly set up from a pure strength and conditioning approach... get you strong, get you fit and get the fat burning.

When it's good to go, it should be amazing, to the point where a WSM competitor could train there. I'll keep everyone updated as I find out more, but any questions, shout and I'll try to answer as best I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Layderkinn

Yeah Ironside in Rathmines they are on Facebook, looks like its going to be the real deal and pretty intense stuff great to see beginners classes in Strongman and actual official equipment too.

Definately interested in the strongman classes keep us posted Hanley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Just some clarification on what's going on in Rathmines. I didn't want to go shouting about it before the time was right, but I've known about it for a while now. I know the guy setting the place up and he's a strong lad who knows his sh!t.

The finishing touches are just being put to the warehouse where it'll be located at the moment. There's gonna be at least 8 olympic bars, 1,000kg+ of weight, power racks, platforms, dumbbells up to 70kg and all the usual strongman stuff too - sleds, atlas stones, yokes, farmers handles, logs, car deadlift, truck pulls, a power stairs etc... He was also talking to me about some specially designed sledge hammer for conditioning workouts that's gonna be crazy.

There'll be group powerlifting and strongman classes. The former will be aimed at a novice/intermediate level to teach people the lifts, how to program and the other subtle nuances of powerlifting, as far as I know, there'll be advanced classes too. The strongman classes will be basically there to kill you (in a good way!!) - mostly set up from a pure strength and conditioning approach... get you strong, get you fit and get the fat burning.

When it's good to go, it should be amazing, to the point where a WSM competitor could train there. I'll keep everyone updated as I find out more, but any questions, shout and I'll try to answer as best I can.

Hanley - is the place you're talking about a seperate place to the new council gym in Rathmines which is opening in september?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,412 ✭✭✭COH

This sounds SAVAGE. I'll definately be checking it out thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Group powerlifting classes sound well savage! Thanks for the info.
    Oh and car deadlift = WIN :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭seawolf145

likely wrote: »
    hi guys

id like to do some strongman kind of training, ive heard of one place in Rathmines but its not open yet. anyone know of any clubs around south dublin?

id also like to try a bit of powerlifting wheres the best place to go for a total novice?

I wouldnt even consider calling it strongman before you are in this class.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TDdnR7ywZLg

Hanley - is the place you're talking about a seperate place to the new council gym in Rathmines which is opening in september?

Nope - totally separate entity to the council gym. The guy opening it would have a heart attack if he heard the two of them being compared!!
    COH wrote: »
    This sounds SAVAGE. I'll definately be checking it out thanks
    Group powerlifting classes sound well savage! Thanks for the info.
    Oh and car deadlift = WIN :D

Cheers lads, can't wait to have a play there myself. I've been itching to try something different training wise, so it'll be a good opportunity. Should be good to go by the end of August, possibly a tad sooner if everything comes together.

seawolf145 wrote: »
    I wouldnt even consider calling it strongman before you are in this class.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TDdnR7ywZLg

Well he had to start somewhere, he didnt just walk out one day and put up an 180kg stone but considering who his dad is(Odd) its no surprise and he is an animal. Pity he left to do MMA hopefully he does better than Pudzanowski or at least is fitter ;)

Im looking forward to starting strongman training regardless of the level im at and this new gym sounds like its gonna be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

http://www.isipersonaltraining.com/

ISI out in Artane do Modified Strongman Training on saturdays and sundays. Think the first class is free and then it's €10 from then on. I know a few people who go and I've heard good feedback from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭seawolf145

Layderkinn wrote: »
    Well he had to start somewhere, he didnt just walk out one day and put up an 180kg stone but considering who his dad is(Odd) its no surprise and he is an animal. Pity he left to do MMA hopefully he does better than Pudzanowski or at least is fitter ;)

Im looking forward to starting strongman training regardless of the level im at and this new gym sounds like its gonna be good.

Offcourse give it your best.
    When looking at Odd Haugen its never to late to starticon12.gifAnd he is 60 nowicon10.gifAnd i dont think they are related,only same surenameicon7.gif

thanks for the feedback lads.

was down in bray today watching the lads training training started at 1 but i arrive at about 2, and training finished about 3 so seen a good hour of training.

the place isn't the greatest looking but they had a savage set up. theres was loads of equipment farmers, log, atlas stones, super yoke, keg's etc.... Watched them do the super yoke and and farmers and keg pressing was very impressed i have to say, the lad that was running it is David loughman sound bloke and knows his stuff which is a plus. seen him in a competition before which is good to know he has experience.

going to give it a bash next week and see how i get on,

wish me luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Be careful with the super yoke- it's very tough on ur back from a spinal compression point of view.

Best of luck with it though, it's great training

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭weeman2

I know bothe the guys in Ironside and the guys in Bray as they both have gotten equipment off me.

Ironside will have alot of really good kit and they are well clued into what they are doing and are gonna have a great set up- the hammers on the tyres are called donkey kongs

Bray is run by David Loughman whos competes in strongman and has experience as well as being a good guy they are building the gym up as they go but have a good range of kit.

Im sure i know the other people mentioned in Rathmines and if it is who i think it is they are good guys.

All in all anybody in Dublin is very lucky as ye have some great choices up there now. I would say try them all you wont be dissapointed.

They will suite everybody from strongmen to rugby and mma guys or people just looking for something different.

My bad Seawolf, jumped to a conclusion it is a pity he is leaving Strongman though serious athlete.

In relation to Ironside I was on their facebook there last night this place looks like its going to be unreal check out this link to see their equipment list on their info page I dont even know what some of the stuff is.....

http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100001346671931&v=info

It certainly seems to be just a tad more hardcore than a council gym. Weeman do you know if the equipment is good quality sometimes these places are just thrown together?.

Layderkinn wrote: »
    My bad Seawolf, jumped to a conclusion it is a pity he is leaving Strongman though serious athlete.

In relation to Ironside I was on their facebook there last night this place looks like its going to be unreal check out this link to see their equipment list on their info page I dont even know what some of the stuff is.....

http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100001346671931&v=info

It certainly seems to be just a tad more hardcore than a council gym. Weeman do you know if the equipment is good quality sometimes these places are just thrown together?.

I wouldn't worry about the equipment... the guy setting it up is a serious lifter and it'll be his playground too. He wouldn't lift on sub-par equipment. He emailed me an updated equipment list last night, I'm starting to get excited!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 bigswede12

I wouldn't worry about the equipment... the guy setting it up is a serious lifter and it'll be his playground too. He wouldn't lift on sub-par equipment. He emailed me an updated equipment list last night, I'm starting to get excited!

Pity everything has to be in Dublin.
    When are they coming to the midlands?Or does anyone know of any good places here?Mullingar,Athlone etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭weeman2

The equipment is top notch i know i am making it and i made the equipment for SCL Ireland also. More importantley the guys running it are no fools they know what they are doing and have invested in good equipment so it will be a great facility

Well if the equipment is to the same standard as the SCL and good enough for some of the Worlds Strongest Men who came over in June this should be pretty hardcore. Thanks for the reply Weeman.