Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Whole F'N Show - August 12th ***contains spoilers***

• 04-08-2010 1:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭

http://www.tnawrestling.com/news/item/2079-special-impact-on-spike-on-aug-12
    The special “TNA Thursday Night iMPACT!” features a lineup of matches originally slated for the “Hard Justice” pay-per-view event on August 8. The card was moved to Spike TV after TNA President Dixie Carter and “The Extreme Original” Tommy Dreamer announced a one-night-only “HardCORE Justice” pay-per-view event to celebrate the superstars who created hardcore wrestling.

“The change to ‘HardCORE Justice’ provided TNA with the opportunity to take the original August pay-per-view card and move it to Spike TV. This will allow TNA fans a pay-per-view type experience on “TNA iMPACT!”. If you’ve never seen a TNA pay-per-view event before, this is your chance to see what you’ve been missing,” TNA President Dixie Carter said.

The special August 12 edition of “TNA iMPACT” will be two hours of nonstop wrestling, featuring only matches originally slated for pay-per-view. Pop culture icon and TNA Wrestling superstar Hulk Hogan will oversee the special “iMPACT!,” which includes two world title matches as well as a possible fifth and final installment of a best-of-five-match series between the top tag-teams in wrestling, Beer Money and Motor City Machine Guns.

“THE WHOLE F’N SHOW” ROB VAN DAM vs. ABYSS (TNA WORLD TITLE MATCH)
    825c939ed3e8f5731bfe6f5becd14d5e_XL.jpg

OLYMPIC GOLD MEDALIST KURT ANGLE vs. “THE PHENOMENAL” AJ STYLES
    fnshow2.jpg

ANGELINA LOVE vs. MADISON RAYNE (TNA KNOCKOUTS TITLE MATCH)
    fnshow5.jpg

“THE CHARISMATIC ENGIMA” JEFF HARDY’S OPEN CHALLENGE
    fnshow4.jpg

“THE POPE” D’ANGELO DINERO vs. “THE BLUEPRINT” MATT MORGAN vs. MR. ANDERSON
    fnshow3.jpg

BEER MONEY vs. MOTOR CITY MACHINE GUNS (IF NEEDED, TNA WORLD TAG TEAM TITLES MATCH)

-OR-

INK INC. vs. GENERATION ME (#1 CONETENDER’S MATCH FOR TNA WORLD TAG TEAM TITLES)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

That show really looks tremendous.. Wonder will it be Helms vs Hardy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

That show really looks tremendous.. Wonder will it be Helms vs Hardy?

Helms is what went through my head aswell. It should be an awesome show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,227 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Angle V Styles should be good and as for Guns V Beer Money what type of match is left for them again though should be good ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Helms is what went through my head aswell. It should be an awesome show.

The silhouette looks like a young, in-shape Billy Gunn.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Looks like another phenomenal impact, hopefully it gets great ratings.

So they have 2 hours, or rather 88 minutes, i.e. a possible 14.6 minutes per match.

That main event should be maybe 8-10 minutes; women's to be 5, triple threat to be ~6-8 as well, give Angle/Styles and maybe Beer Money/MMG the required time. Depends who Hardy faces (Joe, if he's not abducted again, or Lethal, maybe?)

Either way it's an action-packed show, looks amazing.

Here's how i'd break it down, with times (including entrances)
    RVD/Abyss : 10
    Angle/AJ : 20
    Women's : 5
    Hardy/Joe : 20
    Triple Threat : 8
    Guns/Beer Money : 20

Leaving 10 minutes for fluff.

The Guns against Beer Money will be a Two out of Three falls match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

jaykhunter wrote: »
    Looks like another phenomenal impact, hopefully it gets great ratings.

So they have 2 hours, or rather 88 minutes, i.e. a possible 14.6 minutes per match.

That main event should be maybe 8-10 minutes; women's to be 5, triple threat to be ~6-8 as well, give Angle/Styles and maybe Beer Money/MMG the required time. Depends who Hardy faces (Joe, if he's not abducted again, or Lethal, maybe?)

Either way it's an action-packed show, looks amazing.

Here's how i'd break it down, with times (including entrances)
    RVD/Abyss : 10
    Angle/AJ : 20
    Women's : 5
    Hardy/Joe : 20
    Triple Threat : 8
    Guns/Beer Money : 20

Leaving 10 minutes for fluff.

Joe is suspended dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,367 ✭✭✭campo

Is Sheltons 90 days up yet if so it might be him against Hardy

super-rush wrote: »
    Joe is suspended dude.

He was suspended a few weeks ago and the news just got out......:D (Hey i can dream can't i lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

An open challange to Jeff sounds like it could work out really well, or really not.

CMpunked wrote: »
    An open challange to Jeff sounds like it could work out really well, or really not.

Ya, might just be some EV2.0 guy :P

jaykhunter wrote: »
    Ya, might just be some EV2.0 guy :P

Sabu could be a good pick.

Why is the Pope added to Anderson/Morgan's feud and match :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Whats a Stairway to Janice match?

Russo on a pole match

campo wrote: »
    Is Sheltons 90 days up yet if so it might be him against Hardy

Isn't he doing a reunion thing in ROH with haas?
    Dean820 wrote: »
    500full.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Is Hardy a heel now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

[QUOTE=Originally Posted by Dean820 viewpost.gif

500full.jpg[/QUOTE]

Oh..........My............God!

But Chandler eventually married Monica, who is married to David Arquette in real life, so Arquette could be Jeff Hardy's mystery opponent. Now that's Russo logic right there!

Looks like a great show on paper, but J Hunter, I hope RVD and Abyss get more than 10 minutes. It's the main event so it should get more time than that.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Why is the Pope added to Anderson/Morgan's feud and match :confused:

Because Pope has always been involved aswell with the whole mistrust of Anderson thing.
    Dean820 wrote: »

They basically hang Abyss' nail bat above the ring. Bischoff is special ref for that one, why do I see him screwing RVD and revealing himself as 'They'.

Charisteas wrote: »
    Looks like a great show on paper, but J Hunter, I hope RVD and Abyss get more than 10 minutes. It's the main event so it should get more time than that.

A agree that the main event should get a lot of time but Abyss is one of my least favourite wrestlers. He can only wrestle a slow, lumbering hardcore match; and hasn't had a match that i've enjoyed in a long time, apart from Angle dragging him to a great match last year.

IMO In general, whatever match Abyss is in is average at best and does nothing for me. Who wants average! The weeks of iMPACT where he's been absent have been great :pac::pac: Pretty much everyone else in the main event scene (and indeed, on TNA's roster) is under 250lbs and can work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

Spoilers coming up.

From Prowrestling.net

http://www.prowrestling.net/artman/publish/TNA/article10013441.shtml
    Dot Net reader Kevin Tomich is at the TNA Impact taping in Orlando, Fla. and is passing along the following results. You must hit refresh for the latest updates.

Dark Match

1. Jesse Neal defeated Sam Shaw in 4:49. Shaw played the role of Lupus at the TNA Hardcore Justice pay-per-view. Neal won with a spear in a dark match.

TNA Impact Taping

Jeremy Borash came out to open the Impact taping.

1. Kurt Angle defeated A.J. Styles in 8:20. A.J. tapped out. Surprisingly, Angle does not retire this week (sarcasm).

2. Angelina Love defeated Madison Rayne to win the TNA Knockouts Title in 3:45. Velvet Sky removed the biker chick's helmet, but she had a mask on.

Pepa of Salt-n-Pepa is in the front row.

3. Matt Morgan defeated D'Angelo Dinero and Mr. Anderson in a three-way match in 3:48. Anderson had Pope covered, but Morgan broke it up and pinned Pope himself.

Jeff Hardy's open challenge was accepted by (drumroll)... Shannon Moore. I hope someone else comes out. Really?

4. Jeff Hardy pinned Shannon Moore in 6:45. Hardy pinned Moore after hitting the Swanton. They hugged after the match and there was a nice OMEGA chant from the crowd.

Powell's POV: I wonder if the open challenge will lead to Shane "Hurricane" Helms challenging him on a future show?

5. The Motor City Machine Guns defeated Beer Money in a best of three falls match to retain the TNA Tag Titles. Great first fall. Robert Roode pinned Alex Shelley following the DWI at 8:03.

The second fall saw Shelley pin Roode in 1:25 after the MCMG combo neckbreaker and splash combo off the top rope.

Chris Sabin pinned James Storm in 6:52 to win the third fall. Pyro after the win. A super hot match that earned "Match of the Year" chants.

6. Rob Van Dam defeated Abyss in a Stairway to Janice match to retain the TNA Title in 17:12. Eric Bischoff was special referee. After the match, Hogan came out to congratulate RVD, and then he invited EV2 out. Hogan left.

EV2 celebrated and then the lights when out. When the lights came on, Beer Money, A.J. Styles, Kazarian, Douglas Williams, and Matt Morgan beat and bloodied EV2. Ric Flair came out and chased Dixie Carter to the back. EV2 was destroyed. Flair said it's Fortune's house and they set the bar, not EV2.

EV2 was Dreamer, Team 3D, Mick Foley, Rhino, Stevie Richards, Little Guido, Rob Van Dam, Bill Alfonso, and Sabu. Sandman and Raven made separate attempts to save EV2, but he was beat up. The angle was long as hell. Knowing TNA production, it will be three minutes long on Thursday. So it's now a faction war with EV2 vs. Fortune. The golden rule was followed, as every EV2 wrestler wore white to show the crimson. Pepa actually left due to the violence.

They are changing the mat for the Xplosion tapings, so this concludes the taping for Thursday's show. The crowd chanted for Taz, but he never left the booth. I love Flair, but he was rambling on and slipped out an "ECW" mention. Morgan choked Stevie with what looked like a tie (how original). Most of Fortune had Singapore canes.

They are changing the mat for the Xplosion tapings, so this concludes the taping for Thursday's show.

The only thing i hate about the MCMG's vs Beer Money is the fact its only 5 matches..

http://twitter.com/OfficialTAZ
    Whatever u do, dont miss the BEST ever iMPACT (this Thur 9p est on Spike) have ever seen!

Looks like a great show, I hope it's not completely torn apart in editing and with ads.

Shannon Moore :confused:

Shannon ****ing Moore :mad:

Of all the wrestlers in the world, of all the free agents they could have picked up and if only for the one night they pick that jabroni.

Why is Hardy even having an open challenge?
    Its a very heel thing to do and can get a debuting challenger over instantly.

I'm trying to like TNA but some of the little things are mind boggling.

So Williams and Morgan are part of Fortune now also?

Moore is in a tag team now Ink Inc why have him face Hardy couldnt Rob Terry, Hernandez or Kaz or even Helms if he is joining :confused:

I thought the ECW old timers would be gone after their ppv :rolleyes::(

ForFeckSake!
    Why have an open challenge at all when it's just going to be something mediocre?

I was really expecting someone from Ev2 to be the opponent.
    I thought that would've been a given.

Sabu vs Hardy could have been fantastic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭jimmy jailbreak

TNA seems to be putting in alot of effort to get ratings. Some of their tactics have been a little strange (Moore vs Hardy, the fu*k?). But at least they think they know what we want and their getting it right most of the time. And as Impact gradually gets better Raw absolutely plummets into a septic tank of sh*t.

feckin hell lads, if you're reacting while announcing spoilers, PLEASE use spoiler tags!

if this is a spoiler thread, please OP mention it in the thread name :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

i thought this would be live :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

i thought this would be live :(

Funnily enough I was thinking the same thing. Guess it would of cost too much to do it live.

That was incredible, fantastic, amazing, awesome, unbelievable, astounding, adrenaline pumping and thrilling all in one. Go as far out of your way needed to see that Guns/Beer Money match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭mixed up

This has being one of the best wrestling show i've seen in a long time the mcmg vs beermoney was brilliant then rvd and abyss just put on a brilliant match :D

Fantastic iMPACT!. Styles/Angle was a really fun opener, Moore/Hardy was actually pretty darn good and RVD/Abyss was very, very good. The Guns/Beer Money was mind blowing - best match of theirs yet and that's really saying something. It's up there with Angle/Anderson and HBK/'Taker for match of the year in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Great show. It's been better than alot of the recent PPV's. All the matches were solid. Was particularly impressed with the MCMG's and Beer Money. What a great match. Styles/Angle was amazing too.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Great Impact/PPV as everyone has said Beer Money vs MCMG was off the hizzle , the only match i wasnt into was the ME since im sick of Abyss. The ending was great and was actually expecting Sandman. Wonder who will be MCMG's next opponents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭EdK

Well that's the end of RVD in TNA he's clearly dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

I just watched the show. I enjoyed it alot.

The Motor City Machine Guns/Beer Money match was excellent. It's not really the style of wrestling that I'm into but credit where credit is due, you're not gonna see a more athletic, exciting match than that in 2010.

I wasn't really fan of the Ayss/RVD match. There was a lack of selling that made me not care too much about it.

All in all, a fine show though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,973 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

WOW! Just watched the show and have to say it's definitely the best wrestling show I've seen in a while!

Beer Money/MCMG match was amazing, reminded me a little of the tag matches in the original ECW.

Angle/AJ was great too and I really liked the shoot style of the ending.

Two thing that I really enjoyed however were the MCMG retrospective, as was mentioned here earlier this week, they made the belts the most important thing and it's all about being the best. I really enjoyed the style of it and it made it seem more "real".

As an ECW mark, I really enjoyed the ending and can't wait to see where it goes! Really wish they'd get the rights to Enter Sandman too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭DonOcelot

Now thats what im talking about!!!!

What a show.

Its been a long long long long time since a wrestling show got the adrenaline flowing like this one. Got a sense of nostalgia, kinda felt like i was a kid again in the good old austin era.

Since WWE has turned into a very very poor show, i turned to TNA, watched bits of it here and there and then really got into it last year. Its a great show, but since Hogan came in it was very inconsistent, flashes of brilliance but also flashes of stupidity, but over the last few months it has been obvious they have been listening to the fans and it slowly has turned into a solid show week in week out and after last nights fantastic show, which i watched just now, im absolutely delighted in the direction TNA seems to be going.

Wooooooooooo!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Mono-Stereo

Hi everyone! Long time forum member - first time posting. Been a wrestling fan for about 22 years.

Now, onto this weeks TNA Impact. This weeks show was awesome. Probably the best Impact ever from a wrestling perspective. It was totally refreshing to just have a show that concentrated solely on wrestling for once. No long boring in-ring promos or silly gimmicks to kill the momentum of the entire show that usually happens every week. Just totally uninterrupted wrestling - what wrestling fans in 2010 have been crying out for!!!!

The final Motor City Machine Guns vs Beer Money match in the "Best Of 5 Series" was from start to finish amazing!! The best wrestling match that has been on free TV this year and without a doubt a candidate for "Match Of The Year". If you haven't seen this match you need to see it now!!! Both teams have cemented their status as two of the best tag teams in the world right now.

The big angle at the end of the show with Fortune beating the hell out of the entire EV 2.0 group was pulled off really well too in my opinion. A great hot angle to finish the show.

From start to finish this weeks Impact was what a wrestling show should be all about. The new show afterwords - TNA ReAction - was really great too. The concept of the show is really cool and a fresh new perspective that pro-wrestling needs in 2010. It's shot in a kind of fly-on-the-wall documentary style with some interviews thrown in. It brings an edgy, realistic side to wrestling - gives some depth to storylines and angles in a good way - a way that hasn't been seen on wrestling TV shows before.

TNA could be onto a winning formula here with these two shows booked like this. If they keep booking Impact like they did this week - keep the emphasis completely on wrestling for 2 hours with maybe one hot promo or angle at the end of the show like this week - and keep the promos, confrontations and gimmicks for ReAction afterwords - then TNA could become a very interesting and exciting wrestling company to watch again.

I hope TNA management realizes what a winning formula they could have on their hands if they book these two shows right. But then again, this is TNA and what makes perfect common sense to the rest of us means that TNA usually ends up doing the exact opposite!!!

I'm keeping my fingers crossed that they might finally wake up!!!!

Yeah I really liked TNA Reaction too. It might be too long at 60 minutes but I enjoyed the majority of it. It was something new and was really well done.

Has anyone got a ''legal'' link ti the event?

I want to see that Tag match.

I seen the closing segment on the TNA website and I must say it was slightly disturbing, I think thats a good thing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

Dancor wrote: »

I seen the closing segment on the TNA website and I must say it was slightly disturbing, I think thats a good thing :)

I'd say the only legal way to watch it is probably on YouTube. Neither that or just wait for it tonight at 9.

The Whole F'n show did a 1.15 rating, which is fairly dissapointing

It'll be interesting to see what the repeat in the US does, assuming more people will watch after so many good things are being said.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Dancor wrote: »

Check Dailymotion

Who cares? It's the number they have been getting on average for 5 years. It's up a little. It's down a little. The same old thing for 5 years. Unless they do above a 1.4 or below a .8, it's just not newsworthy.

Dixie Carter said in her Youtube Shoot that they analyse ratings minute by minute. Well it clearly isn't working. The best thing they could so is ignore ratings for 6 months. It's a long term game.

It's even more pathetic that RVD is pumping his ego up that TNA got a 1.2 last week which they were getting on a regular basis all last year without the added cost of the 8 or so "top guys" they have brought in.

TNA have thrown so much at the wall this year with ratings not really moving giving big match after big match away. The only way they will ever grow ratings is over the long term putting on consistently good shows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Who cares? It's the number they have been getting on average for 5 years. It's up a little. It's down a little. The same old thing for 5 years. Unless they do above a 1.4 or below a .8, it's just not newsworthy.

Dixie Carter said in her Youtube Shoot that they analyse ratings minute by minute. Well it clearly isn't working. The best thing they could so is ignore ratings for 6 months. It's a long term game.

It's even more pathetic that RVD is pumping his ego up that TNA got a 1.2 last week which they were getting on a regular basis all last year without the added cost of the 8 or so "top guys" they have brought in.

TNA have thrown so much at the wall this year with ratings not really moving giving big match after big match away. The only way they will ever grow ratings is over the long term putting on consistently good shows.

Even doing this is no guarantee. ROH consistently put on the best wrestling shows in the US over a 3-4 period between 2004-2008 and they really didn't draw any noteable numbers at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Mono-Stereo

The problem with TNA Impact getting a 1.15 rating for a show filled entirely with wrestling this week and none of the usual over long in-ring promos and other lame gimmicks is that TNA management will most likely view this show as a failure and decide to go back to having loads of promos and silly gimmicks all through Impact again instead of having wrestling matches as the dominant feature of Impact like this week. TNA management will automatically think they need to fill Impact again with promos and gimmicks to boost ratings again when all they need to do is to be patient for a few weeks and let the word spread that Impact has some damn good wrestling on the show again. Then the ratings will slowly rise again. But of course, this is TNA, so that will never happen!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭DonOcelot

The problem with TNA Impact getting a 1.15 rating for a show filled entirely with wrestling this week and none of the usual over long in-ring promos and other lame gimmicks is that TNA management will most likely view this show as a failure and decide to go back to having loads of promos and silly gimmicks all through Impact again instead of having wrestling matches as the dominant feature of Impact like this week. TNA management will automatically think they need to fill Impact again with promos and gimmicks to boost ratings again when all they need to do is to be patient for a few weeks and let the word spread that Impact has some damn good wrestling on the show again. Then the ratings will slowly rise again. But of course, this is TNA, so that will never happen!!

Your probably right, unfortunately, but i hope that the management will recognize all the buzz on the web after what was probably the best TNA show ever and give this new more-action-less-talk approach a real chance.
    Heres hoping.