Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Legislation From the Irish Government Will Allow Foreign Police On Irish Streets.

• 04-08-2010 10:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The Irish Government are currently drawing up legislation that would allow Gardai to be sent abroad to other E.U countries and for foreign police forces to be sent here to police Irish streets.

We were warned many times coming up to the Lisbon Treaty that this would be the situation if the treaty passed. This was denied by our Government and dismissed as conspiracy theory nonsense at the time, However as warned this is exactly what is happening now.

We will be sold off by the media and Governments that this is a good thing, fighting so call terrorism when in fact it is one step closer towards a global facist state.

Thanks again to all those that voted Yes in this farcical referendum.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gardai-get-new-powers-to-tackle-terrorists-overseas-2281787.html

Maybe they'll smack the junkies instead of letting them terrorise/harrass people

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

No harm to them i wouldn't like foreign police controlling my streets they could do anything, thank god we didn't do that treaty!! Is this the start of them trying to join up all the european contries which have no similarites to here at all?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

But how will I talk my way out of a ticket by using my connections now? :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Has Jim Corr hacked into the OP's account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

The Irish Government are currently drawing up legislation that would allow Gardai to be sent abroad to other E.U countries and for foreign police forces to be sent here to police Irish streets.

We were warned many times coming up to the Lisbon Treaty that this would be the situation if the treaty passed. This was denied by our Government and dismissed as conspiracy theory nonsense at the time, However as warned this is exactly what is happening now.

We will be sold off by the media and Governments that this is a good thing, fighting so call terrorism when in fact it is one step closer towards a global facist state.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gardai-get-new-powers-to-tackle-terrorists-overseas-2281787.html

:rolleyes: Are you a member of Coir/Youth Defence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

My bollocks they are.
    The legislative measure, currently being drafted, will allow the ERU to be dispatched to another European state to help local police tackle a terrorist or criminal-related crisis.
    It will also give the go-ahead for the authorities here to request the assistance of a special intervention unit from another European force if this country is confronted by a similar crisis.

Try reading it without the glasses that came with the Cadburys Fruit and nut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Allows garda unit be sent overseas in the event their help is requested by foreign police forces due to a major crisis and vice versa. Standard fare tbh. Far cry from policing the streets.

What next, britscum planes patrolling our skies after a terrorist attack?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Nodin wrote: »
    My bollocks they are.

Try reading it without the glasses that came with the Cadburys Fruit and nut.
    I was just about to post that paragraph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

WindSock wrote: »
    But how will I talk my way out of a ticket by using my connections now? :(

Tits will work with any nationality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭conno3001

"Security officials last night acknowledged it was unlikely the measure would be used by the Government here unless there was a threatened total breakdown in law and order."

Yeah its martial law alright... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

did you even read the report? are you always this paranoid?

chill the f'uck out, big euro brother is not about about to repress the sh'it out of us just yet

Rojomcdojo wrote: »

Aw god here we go:rolleyes:.... EVERY SINGLE THREAD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Hope they send over some Roma police to sort our Roma problem.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Sulmac

owenc wrote: »
    No harm to them i wouldn't like foreign police controlling my streets they could do anything, thank god we didn't do that treaty!! Is this the start of them trying to join up all the european contries which have no similarites to here at all?:rolleyes:

Uh, yes you did. Every EU member state did.

Cool. Maybe a combined force could actually do something about the bleedin' gangs of Dublin/Limerick.

Sulmac wrote: »
    Uh, yes you did. Every EU member state did.

Oh.. did they not reject it because some poll said 70% of the county didn't want it or something. EDIT: we did, but who cares i couldn't care less i don't want to have anything to do with any european country trying to take all our money and has nothing in similarity to us so they can just get lost!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

How do you walk outsie your door without seeing a conspiracy in everything?

because some poll said 70% of the county

That's a very insular view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Nevermind_

Ah jaysus RTDH do you ever tire of writing this crap?
    Also interesting link to the "Gnostic Liberation Front" (probably quite believable if you like licking windows)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Bloody foreigners, coming over here, policing our foreigners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

It basically says that only im emergencies, where our own emergency response is not adaquete we can get help from other EU forces. I don't see a big problem with this to be honest. However, if it's abused - and allows other foreign forces to gather intelligence on Irish citizens - then that is something that should be addressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

How do you walk outsie your door without seeing a conspiracy in everything?

There are no doors to walk outside of anymore :eek:. It was in Lisbon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Rojomcdojo wrote: »

Why would that be a bad thing? is it the whole 800year thing

No harm to them i wouldn't like foreign police controlling my streets they could do anything

Welcome to the nationalist community! :pac:

drdeadlift wrote: »
    Why would that be a bad thing? is it the whole 800year thing

probably and is it not 900 years now. Who cares its just stupid saying what he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

did you even read the report? are you always this paranoid?
    yes, have a search of threads...

No thanks.

No thanks.

Because the view you expressed regarding foreign police is exactly how they felt about the RUC.

The RUC are native people to northern ireland.. my dad was in it hes native.. what do you mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

But it can only be used where a member state's own emergency-response teams are unable to cope with a particular crisis and seek help from elsewhere in the EU.

It does not cover natural disasters, such as earthquakes or floods.

A member state can seek such specialist assistance where a criminal or terrorist offence poses a serious threat to the security of the country.

Security officials last night acknowledged it was unlikely the measure would be used by the Government here unless there was a threatened total breakdown in law and order.

Surely that gives peace of mind, no?

Another crash and burn from RTDH

Good work mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Personally I have a major problem with this legislation - say in the event of the "terrorists" attacking Britain again our guards could be expected to go to England to put their lives at risk to defend the English people...

Now if I was to join the guards I'd be joining up knowing that there's the possibility of injury/possibly death but it'd be for the Irish people... I wouldn't be worrying about international terrorists targeting Ireland because I feel Irish foreign policy on attacking middle east states is sound enough to prevent Ireland ever becoming a target...

If any of our guards are ever injured because they have to serve on foreign soil it's a disgrace - They didn't sign up to fight someone else's war - they signed up to enforce the law in this country... not another country who's laws and policies make it a prime target to be attacked...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Aw god here we go:rolleyes:.... EVERY SINGLE THREAD
    Oh.. did they not reject it because some poll said 70% of the county didn't want it or something. EDIT: we did, but who cares i couldn't care less i don't want to have anything to do with any european country trying to take all our money and has nothing in similarity to us so they can just get lost!

OWEN PLEASE STOP TAKING THE BAIT :pac:, you do it in every single thread. By the way the United Kingdom is part of the Lisbon Treaty whether you like it or not so I don't see how you think that you aren't????

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/6901353.stm

but they'd get danger money and over time, they'd all be up for it. :D

OWEN PLEASE STOP TAKING THE BAIT :pac:, you do it in every single thread. By the way the United Kingdom is part of the Lisbon Treaty whether you like it or not so I don't see how you think that you aren't????

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/6901353.stm

Idk its confusing i don't care too much about it so maybe the last time i heard about it was when they were discussing joining it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

but they'd get danger money and over time, they'd all be up for it. :D

And if they are based in London, they get to kill brazillians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

I hope they bring over some yummy Iraqi police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Rabble rabble rabble rabble loss of independence rabble rabble rabble 1916 rabble rabble RUC... Stupid thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Did you even read the article you linked to? It was first implemented in other European countries after the Madrid bombings.

NOTHING TO DO WITH LISBON.

Also, it's only if the police force of the country in question request assistance from other EU police forces.

Your paranoia is ridiculous sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    Personally I have a major problem with this legislation - say in the event of the "terrorists" attacking Britain again our guards could be expected to go to England to put their lives at risk to defend the English people...

Now if I was to join the guards I'd be joining up knowing that there's the possibility of injury/possibly death but it'd be for the Irish people... I wouldn't be worrying about international terrorists targeting Ireland because I feel Irish foreign policy on attacking middle east states is sound enough to prevent Ireland ever becoming a target...

If any of our guards are ever injured because they have to serve on foreign soil it's a disgrace - They didn't sign up to fight someone else's war - they signed up to enforce the law in this country... not another country who's laws and policies make it a prime target to be attacked...
    Excellent point.

I wonder does our government have a say in the matter if such a situation arose whereby another EU country requested Irish Gardai to aid them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

The RUC are native people to northern ireland.. my dad was in it hes native.. what do you mean?

Ah, so that explains your views.

El Siglo wrote: »
    Rabble rabble rabble rabble loss of independence rabble rabble rabble 1916 rabble rabble RUC... Stupid thread.

Was just remarking on a contrapoint to Owen's usual patter on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

As said in the first line of the article, it's only the highly trained Garda elite squad that would be requested to do this. It's up to the Irish Govt whether they want to send assistance or not.

Also, I'm sick of people pointing at the EU doing something they don't like and blaming it on people voting for Lisbon. It just further backs up the idea that the no voters (in general) didn't have a clue what Lisbon was about.

Was just remarking on a contrapoint to Owen's usual patter on boards.

*sigh* I have an interest in politics through at unionist view so you should expect me to say things like that, but no i am a loser because i do this, its not fair the way i have to get banned because of this, its discrimination. Look just forget about this i don't want a permabann.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

What about Irish people who die on UN sanctioned peacekeeping missions so, is that a disgrace? We've been sending our people abroad to serve in different countries for years, because our concept of justice and order goes beyond narrow self-interest.

If we ever suffered a major man made or natural disaster and didn't have sufficient resources to deal with it ourselves I would be hoping and praying that other countries don't share your attitude and would be willing to send people over to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

hehe. Daggers in that there tongue.

Yes, and a large number of the Pied Noir were "native to Algeria", an accident of birth which was of minor relevancy when they were torturing the native Algerians on behalf of the French state they claimed nationality from, and loyalty to, in the 1950s and 1960s (before some 900,000 of them were forced to flee Algeria in 1962 and "return" to France).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

El Siglo wrote: »
    Rabble rabble rabble rabble....

Not very original of you, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

Damn right. There's no "us" and "them" with the UK. We are closer than we have ever been as countries. The UK is not the UK of the past, as we are not the Ireland of the past. We are all European citizens. If London was in trouble, or Paris, and people over there were in danger, I'd expect the Irish police force to lend a hand if needs be. And vice versa.

eightyfish wrote: »
    If London was in trouble, or Paris, and people over there were in danger, I'd expect the Irish police force to lend a hand if needs be. And vice versa.

Lend a hand to Paris......

eightyfish wrote: »
    If London was in trouble, or Paris, and people over there were in danger, I'd expect the Irish police force to lend a hand if needs be. And vice versa.

why, what could our measly Garda "force" do that the British or French army couldn't simply step in and do instead.

I'm not sure I get the point of this legislation, apart maybe from info sharing, but that's what Europol is for