Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time to end the safety net for failure?

• 04-08-2010 2:05am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

In this country you can be on dole for life and have medical card for life.

I think this is wrong and unfair to us taxpayers.

I think it's time to end it. The scumbags living at our expense and robbing many at the same time of course should be made homeless and destitute if needed. **** them - we don't need them.

Basically what I am saying is if after 2 years you don't have a job then ALL entitlements should be taken away....including your council house. You deserve homelessness and it will give a bolt up the arse to alot of the population to do something or suffer the consequences.

Right now the fear is not there but it should be. Failure should equal starvation IMO. That would sort, not only the scum, but the country pretty quick IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

ibtl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LpPepper

You Sir are an Idiot

Not everyone on the dole chooses to be you know . A lot of people would love to be out working 5 days a week and getting the money they need to pay bills and the lot. If you can't find a job within 2 years so what? What if you actually cant find one that someone is interested in employing you? Dont judge everyone the same just because a lot of scangers and low life's live off the dole , their the ones who should have their mass amount of free money and coucil houses taken away . Though the majority on the dole would rather get up at 6am every morning and come home at 5pm for a good days pay .

3 of my relations are on the dole and I know for a fact they'd love to be out working 5 days a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Not another dole rant thread. :rolleyes:

IBTL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭hello932

but what will all the skangers do then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Not another dole rant thread. :rolleyes:

You can't have too many of them. Same with Muslim and Jesus threads, and legalising drugs threads. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

darkman2 wrote: »
    Failure should equal starvation IMO

pizza :pac:

Yea plenty of jobs going around at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Yeah, that's it. Put the scum who's only ambition it is...is to be on the dole and steal onto the streets with nothing.

Wonder what will happen then....what with their vast array of skills for the workforce....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Sh!te thread.

Anyone want to discuss Robocop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

OP's post has hit 3 of the major AH rant "must haves";

- Dole bashing
    - Scumbags
    - Unfair things on the taxpayer

Not bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

The new Robocop reboot or 80's Robocop?

Does no one else see a problem with lifetime welfare scroungers? i mean the current recession aside there seems to a lot of people who before the recession were still single parents but actually cohabiting couples, on the dole but working part time, getting free houses and phone lines, health card and all that. Which i guess is ok if your a skanger. But sure the middle class will pay for all this via taxes wont they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭30H!3

Sh!te thread.

My friends call me Murphy, but you can call me.............. ROBOCOP!!!!

Do do do doooo do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

I'd make a joke about this but I'd there'd prob be a tirade of posts accusing me of being downright sick...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Lone parent thread. I'd forgotten that one. NTLBell, step right up. :D

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    The new Robocop reboot or 80's Robocop?

Oh yeah i heard about that remake, Think its out next year? Im afraid its doomed really but im still curious to see how they will go about trying to modernise the 80's ultra-violent robo legend.

The original is quite simply the best sci-fi action future thriller movie ever & really can't see how the hell the remake is going to come anywhere near it.

I imagine it'll be something like Rambo 4....the worst sequel from an 80's trilogy ever.

Mind you the last Rocky was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Peppapig

Hide your kids, hide your wife

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

No, im very serious, after 2 years screw them - I gaurantee an end to scumbags and serious money saving for the country - as for cost - most would be homeless and starving - it is the right solution - they would work.

And BTW enough with the "there are no jobs" crap - there are jobs - 85% of us are working. Get a fcuking job within 2 years or face the consequences is what im saying. Cleaning toilets, working in Macs, cleaning sh*t from the pavement - get a fcuking job within 2 years or be fcuked IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Sh!te thread.

What a movie! I think they should bring back a new modern version. Why are they bringing back Karate Kid? Robocop has so much more potential tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LpPepper

No, im very serious, after 2 years screw them - I gaurantee an end to scumbags and serious money saving for the country - as for cost - most would be homeless and starving - it is the right solution - they would work.

And BTW enough with the "there are no jobs" crap - there are jobs - 85% of us are working. Get a fcuking job within 2 years or face the consequences is what im saying. Cleaning toilets, working in Macs, cleaning sh*t from the pavement - get a fcuking job within 2 years or be fcuked IMO.

Yeah surprisingly enough theres no jobs cleaning toilets , working in "macs" or cleaning **** from pavements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Your opinion is hilarious. Putting unemployed people on the streets would do nothing other than increase crime rates, enjoy getting your house robbed OP.

Are there 450,000 vacant job positions in Ireland yeah? Do you honestly believe that?

I think 2 years to get a job is plenty of time even now. If you don't then you fail - simple.

A bit extreme but i have to agree. Its not right that decent hardworking people have to deal with pay cuts/reduced hours etc when others get everything handed to them from the state. Really makes me sick how much we pay for mortgages, food, esb, car tax and petrol and all the rest, but these assholes get it all subsidized from our taxes. Just goes to show how ****e the goverment is in making social policy.

hello932 wrote: »
    A bit extreme.

Not at all - in the US it is even less - 6 months to sort themselves or be homeless. Im giving 2 years - if you can't get a job in 2 years there is something wrong with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

in theory communism works too, reality's a bit different though

Not at all - in the US it is even less - 6 months to sort themselves or be homeless. Im giving 2 years - if you can' get a job in 2 years there is something wrong with you.

You know what the funniest thing about your posts is, the extremity of them will probably gain sympathy for people claiming jobseekers payments and in turn further protect them against daft policies like the ones you suggest.

Not at all - in the US it is even less - 6 months to sort themselves or be homeless. Im giving 2 years - if you can' get a job in 2 years there is something wrong with you.

Yours is a interesting proposal. But i cant unfortunately see it working it ireland. Firstly the government is absurdly corrupt. Secondly irish people are notoriously lazy. In a ideal world yes but i cant see this taking off in ireland-the idea of near full employment of all socio economic classes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Not at all - in the US it is even less - 6 months to sort themselves or be homeless. Im giving 2 years - if you can't get a job in 2 years there is something wrong with you.

Of course the US is a model society :rolleyes:

Saila wrote: »
    Of course the US is a model society :rolleyes:

Would you call ireland a model society?

Yours is a interesting proposal. But i cant unfortunately see it working it ireland. Firstly the government is absurdly corrupt. Secondly irish people are notoriously lazy. In a ideal world yes but i cant see this taking off in ireland-the idea of near full employment of all socio economic classes?

No what I am saying is that some would starve to death unforunately anyway - many would take the kick up the backside and do something to avoid that fate.

Fear = results

Oh i see. So its survival of the fittest-work and earn your keep or die alone and homeless. It sounds simple enough..if only this was law in ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

- Dole bashing
    - Scumbags

Not bad.

The Joemeister would be proud. Shuar shuar.

OP, have you thought about the consequences of your ideas or are you just being confrontational for the sake of it? There's already enough of a problem with social deprivation in Ireland, and you're proposing to make it ten times worse.

Society has manifested a huge gap between classes, the issue should surely be looking at bridging that gap and ridding ourselves of the 'us and them' attitude, rather than contributing to make it worse.

You don't make society more closely knit or effective by taking a hammer to the 'underclass' and knocking seven shades of shít into them, that's just Thatcherism all over again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

Loving your sig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

- Dole bashing
    - Scumbags

Not bad.

but should have mentioned

- lone parents
    - gippos
    - foreigners
    - romas
    - killing bertie cowan and creevie
    - NAMA some sort of way
    - that creepie bastard Anglo Seanie and his girlfriend in Boston

and for a full ding a ling would have included paedos, nazis, jews and nigerian asylum seekers for the ultimate thread bar naked photos of amanda brunker

and plus points for the child catcher who used to be the financial regulatot

In this country you can be on dole for life and have medical card for life.

I think this is wrong and unfair to us taxpayers.

I think it's time to end it. The scumbags living at our expense and robbing many at the same time of course should be made homeless and destitute if needed. **** them - we don't need them.

Basically what I am saying is if after 2 years you don't have a job then ALL entitlements should be taken away....including your council house. You deserve homelessness and it will give a bolt up the arse to alot of the population to do something or suffer the consequences.

Right now the fear is not there but it should be. Failure should equal starvation IMO. That would sort, not only the scum, but the country pretty quick IMO.

Awww did you have a bad day at the office?:(

Cuddle? come here.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Yours is a interesting proposal.

A Modest Proposal, even?

OP, I'm sure you regard yourself as a reasonable person (your posts would suggest otherwise, but hey, let's just ignore that for now). You've dismissed the long-term unemployed as "scumbags". Would you honestly expect any reasonable employer to give a job to a "scumbag"?

Urgh, you're either a Swiftian genius or just another tediously angry right-winger whose posts bear more than a passing resemblance to the kind of drivel that gets shat out onto the letters pages of the Daily Mail with monotonous regularity. Cheer up and be happy that you have a fucking job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭maninasia

LpPepper wrote: »
    You Sir are an Idiot

Not everyone on the dole chooses to be you know . A lot of people would love to be out working 5 days a week and getting the money they need to pay bills and the lot. If you can't find a job within 2 years so what? What if you actually cant find one that someone is interested in employing you? Dont judge everyone the same just because a lot of scangers and low life's live off the dole , their the ones who should have their mass amount of free money and coucil houses taken away . Though the majority on the dole would rather get up at 6am every morning and come home at 5pm for a good days pay .

3 of my relations are on the dole and I know for a fact they'd love to be out working 5 days a week.

To be honest it's hard to see why anybody couldn't get a job in a Spar or a supermarket during a two year period .

RayM wrote: »
    A Modest Proposal, even?

OP, I'm sure you regard yourself as a reasonable person (your posts would suggest otherwise, but hey, let's just ignore that for now). You've dismissed the long-term unemployed as "scumbags". Would you honestly expect any reasonable employer to give a job to a "scumbag"?

Urgh, you're either a Swiftian genius or just another tediously angry right-winger whose posts bear more than a passing resemblance to the kind of drivel that gets shat out onto the letters pages of the Daily Mail with monotonous regularity. Cheer up and be happy that you have a fucking job.

Well everyone has to start somewhere. If your long term unemployed then why cant you be employed to clean toilets or pick up trash? So you think it would it be better to have the state fund the deviant lifestyles of scumbags? If we cut off their benefits sure the problem would solve itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Well everyone has to start somewhere. If your long term unemployed then why cant you be employed to clean toilets or pick up trash?

I presume you've chosen toilet-cleaning and picking up rubbish because they're the most "demeaning" jobs that immediately spring to mind. There are over 100,000 people currently classed as "long-term-unemployed" in this country. Are there 100,000 vacant shit-cleaning jobs out there?
    hello932 wrote:
    So you think it would it be better to have the state fund the deviant lifestyles of scumbags? If we cut off their benefits sure the problem would solve itself.

Please, please tell me that your job (assuming, of course, that you have one) doesn't involve any form of problem-solving.

• Moderators Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Stupid thread.

IBTL.

The way i see it the country is currently bankrupt. If we can get more people off the live register and into employment paying tax and actively contributing to the economy, then this surely if for the benefit of society? its time we end this welfare dependency culture that is so acceptable here. Im not talking about the victims of the recession but people who see living entirely off the state as a viable option indefinably.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Oh wow, havent seen one of these threads in a week or two. Was just thinking society has taking its head out of its arse n'all.
    The way i see it the country is currently bankrupt. If we can get more people off the live register and into employment paying tax and actively contributing to the economy, then this surely if for the benefit of society?

Ofc, but their no job creation what so ever and when a job does pop up about 500 people apply for it regardless of what position is going.

This dole bashing would be grand if there were jobs going.

I pose one question, and one question only.

Where do you suggest, said scumbags, acquire said invisible jobs?

To all the naysayers in this thread-what do you propose? That we subsidize the poor for the rest of their lives? This is why ireland is such a ****e country-policy here is all over the shop.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

To all the naysayers in this thread-what do you propose? That we subsidize the poor for the rest of their lives? This is why ireland is such a ****e country-policy here is all over the shop.
    What do you propose?

x PyRo wrote: »
    I pose one question, and one question only.

Where do you suggest, said scumbags, acquire said invisible jobs?

Well if they couldnt get jobs during the celtic tiger well i think they should have the welfare cut. Its not like the country is made of money anymore.

In fairness though we definitely need a new government-ideally one that proposes a rational and coherent jobs strategy. Not fianna fail or fianna gael. Perhaps not even labour. A non corrupt non nepotist based party-if such a ideal will ever exist in irish politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

So we should fcuk them out on the street and have them begging for food and shelter like a famine ravished African nation?:rolleyes:

I'm sure the EU would love that on their doorstep and should they abandon us so too will JOBS, thus making the initial problem exponentially worse.

Do you expect the less fortunate to be, like the OP said, thrown out on the street because they can't find a job? Some people aren't able to get jobs because they are in such short supply due to the monumental fuck up by the banks, mainly. No money being given to smaller businesses equals people being laid off and no expansion, nor any jobs. You can't punish people and throw them out on the street because they were let go from work due to the people at the top lining their pockets with gold and running as fast as they could.

Count yourselves lucky you're able to pay tax, I'm not on the dole but I wish I was able to get a job as easily as the OP thinks it is. I've applied to numerous places without succession, jobs with little pay, the whole lot. People with degrees and higher qualification applying for every little job possible, most people can't compete with their shiny piece of paper. I'd love to be able to pay tax, I've applied to Tesco, McDonalds, KFC, Pubs, Clubs, everywhere I can without any luck. If there is a job available they're taken by college graduates who are going well below their capabilities to get one, most of the time there's no jobs though. I was in college by the way, can't afford to keep going so I've been forced to drop out as the banks won't give out any loans!

Most people on the dole can do feck all, people need to get over that and be glad they have some proper money coming through the door.

I'm just lucky I'm good at gambling. :pac: