Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Graduation Schedule 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

I'm only going into third, but do these things change much? I mean as it stands if this was next year's schedule I'd be graduating with literally none of my friends. Which would suck. I know doing it alphabetically probably makes all the sense in the world, but for some reason I had it in my head that they'd do it in clusters of departments or something. I don't know. Damn. I'll have to go make new friends now... ones whose surnames are close to mine. :rolleyes:

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

I graduate on my fecking own. Every single one of my friends are in the 2 ceremonies before me and I get to graduate last. :mad:

I do enjoy the being finished college bit though so c'est la vie! *irish dancing music*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I graduate on my fecking own. Every single one of my friends are in the 2 ceremonies before me and I get to graduate last. :mad:
    I won't even be graduating on the same day as my friends as they're all in different courses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭pakb1ue

Im graduating nearly two months after my friends. Stupid repeats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 marii

Does anyone have an opinion on whether or not extra tickets may become available before the ceremnony or is it worth trying to request 1 extra ticket?? Really need one!

*Graduation pack comes in the post*

Mammy (screeching and nearly in tears)- "It's from the conferring office!!!!"

Me: *opens envelope excitedly and scans letter*

Me: "YES! There's a finger buffet afterwards!"

I think this is a fantastic idea. Some soakage before the session to end all sessions. (I'm in the 3.30 ceremony on the 8th Sept, so the plan is graduate-photos-buffet-Roost)

I'm actually a bit excited now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭meganj

Me: "YES! There's a finger buffet afterwards!"

I think this is a fantastic idea. Some soakage before the session to end all sessions. (I'm in the 3.30 ceremony on the 8th Sept, so the plan is graduate-photos-buffet-Roost)

I'm actually a bit excited now!

Graduated at that time last year.. Be warned the finger buffet is SHITE after that ceremony, much better if your graduating early in the afternoon. Also finger buffet means tea and if your lucky a hang sandwich.

meganj wrote: »
    Graduated at that time last year.. Be warned the finger buffet is SHITE after that ceremony, much better if your graduating early in the afternoon. Also finger buffet means tea and if your lucky a hang sandwich.

Sandwiches? *shudder* (No, I really do hate sandwiches)

This is disappointing... I'm not arsed with the whole going for dinner with the family thing afterwards (cos I'm moving to Spain on the Sunday so having a thing on the Friday) so was looking forward to some soakage before going out :(

Ah who cares, finished college! (for now)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

2 years ago there were cocktail sausages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Aurongroove

I learned two things from the "pack" I was sent in the post:

I graduate on the 8th
    the ball is on the 11th

the rest was basically ads for things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Technically the ball is an advertisement....anyone going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭masherella88

€45 to rent robes!! Robbery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

Technically the ball is an advertisement....anyone going?

I really don't think I will.

Yeah me neither. I think Graduation, phinger phood, photos and a night on the razz will be enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Aurongroove

ha! that sounds better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭eire2009

€45 to rent robes!! Robbery!

Do you have to wear one .. I dont plan on paying €45 and spend 3 years in college to wear a dress and a stupid hat (no offense to people who cant wait to throw one on) ..

What happens if you don't collect it, how long will it take to be sent out??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Will there be any alcohol served at the reception?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

eire2009 wrote: »
    Do you have to wear one .. I dont plan on paying €45 and spend 3 years in college to wear a dress and a stupid hat (no offense to people who cant wait to throw one on)

Christ, while I wasn't happy with the price I went with it, getting your robes & hat (if you're a girl) is sort of a rite of passage, no?

I wouldn't have missed my graduation, and not just for my sake either, it was a proud day for my parents too :)

Christ, while I wasn't happy with the price I went with it, getting your robes & hat (if you're a girl) is sort of a rite of passage, no?

I wouldn't have missed my graduation, and not just for my sake either, it was a proud day for my parents too :)

Definitely not going, Id honestly id feel like a twat, I dont think people wearing them are twats ;) But me personally would feel like a twat, and im not wearing it, im not going so do I get mine in the post or can I collect it the next day? Id be a twat if I was the only one not wearing one also .. Either I feel like a twat or a id be a twat therefore not going :confused:

eire2009 wrote: »
    Definitely not going, Id honestly id feel like a twat, I dont think people wearing them are twats ;) But me personally would feel like a twat, and im not wearing it, im not going so do I get mine in the post or can I collect it the next day? Id be a twat if I was the only one not wearing one also .. Either I feel like a twat or a id be a twat therefore not going :confused:

There was some card in the graduation pack that you have to send off if you're not going.

Totally agree with Touching Virus though. I hate all that standing about taking photos crap but I'm the eldest and neither my mam nor dad have a degree hence have never been to a university graduation, so I'm doing it as much for them as I am for myself. Nana's not even going to the ceremony and she's bought a new outfit for the day that's in it.

Each to their own I guess.

P.S. I've never heard an Irish person saying twat, you remind me of Del Boy! :P

There was some card in the graduation pack that you have to send off if you're not going.

Totally agree with Touching Virus though. I hate all that standing about taking photos crap but I'm the eldest and neither my mam nor dad have a degree hence have never been to a university graduation, so I'm doing it as much for them as I am for myself. Nana's not even going to the ceremony and she's bought a new outfit for the day that's in it.

Each to their own I guess.

P.S. I've never heard an Irish person saying twat, you remind me of Del Boy! :P

Neither have mine and my sis never finished so best not to make a big deal of it. As for twat seemed appropriate

Hold on a minute. What's this "if you're a girl" business. Are the hats only for girls? I wanted a hat!

I've been wanting this photo for about 15 years now. I'll have to steal one of the girls' hats...

Yeah its traditionally women only, signifying the 'cap', or the highest they will achieve in their academic career. Load oh ****e, but funky looking none the less.

Tradition be damned. How is this attitude still around? It should be the same for everyone. Wear them, don't wear them, or give everyone the choice.

That's mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭hypersquirrel

Yeah its traditionally women only, signifying the 'cap', or the highest they will achieve in their academic career. Load oh ****e, but funky looking none the less.

Nah pretty sure that's a myth. My understanding is that it's just to do with etiquette. A gentleman should never be seen indoors with a hat.

Makes far more sense anyway! :)

Will there be any alcohol served at the reception?

Anyone?

Also, how dressed up would guests have to be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Anyone?

Also, how dressed up would guests have to be?

In keeping with the University's alcohol policy I would think there'll only be Wine on offer. You only get two tickets for guests for the reception, usually it's the parents who head in.

Smart Casual (A shirt, cords & nice shoes for men, a nice dress or trousers with a dressy top) or dressier (Suits etc) is highly recommended. Casual, as in Jeans and a T-shirt will certainly look out of place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭CK2010

what do we wear under the robes then?! like do we get dressed up?! is there a point in doing so if the robe covers it :confused::)
    obviously if people are going somewhere straight after... but generally?

I'm suiting up anyway.

In keeping with the University's alcohol policy I would think there'll only be Wine on offer. You only get two tickets for guests for the reception, usually it's the parents who head in.

Smart Casual (A shirt, cords & nice shoes for men, a nice dress or trousers with a dressy top) or dressier (Suits etc) is highly recommended. Casual, as in Jeans and a T-shirt will certainly look out of place.

Ok thanks. I won't be inviting a certain guest if there's any alcohol being served and the only other person I'd like to come only owns jeans. I don't think I'll bother going at all.

CK2010 wrote: »
    what do we wear under the robes then?! like do we get dressed up?! is there a point in doing so if the robe covers it :confused::)

The robes are open at the front so I'd recommend a suit for the lads and a suit/dress for girls. Big heels aren't a great idea though because if you're getting photos then the entrance to the marquee can be a swamp.

cool, ive never seen pics or anything so dunno what the norm is! :)

Be a rogue wear nothing ha :D

Ok thanks. I won't be inviting a certain guest if there's any alcohol being served and the only other person I'd like to come only owns jeans. I don't think I'll bother going at all.

Big up the casuals, who couldn't be arsed .. I say we get a big bag of cans instead of the 45 euro for the robes and mess up the lovely green outside .. Any surplus cash can go towards a generator and a set of decks whoop whoop!!! :D:D:D

Jeans etc aren't really a problem. In all honesty, **** whoever thinks otherwise! As for the alcohol, you don't HAVE to go into the buffet thingy! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jethro081

graduation number one last year was alcohol free im pretty sure, and they only let you in the hall for about 45 minutes to an hour so even if there is alcohol you wont get much.

as for the caps, i didnt see any lads wearing any.

also the grad is almost entirely for the mammy, its not a lot of fun, but its a good idea to go me thinks, i wuldve regretted it if i hadnt.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 194 ✭✭KidKeith89

So people (lads) are wearing suits? It's horrible having to dish out €45 for a robe - we don't even get to throw the hat up in the air :mad:

Are many people going to the grad ball? We got our tickets about three weeks ago and it didn't seem like there were many buying them ...

€90 for the cheapest set of photographs with the parents? Someone please tell me I'm wrong.

My parents have just asked for the individual photos each year. They say the others are too expensive, but I know the truth, they're just ashamed of me :(.

Quick Q- what the hell is the story with the green graduation hood/sash thingy? I don't know if I got a dud or what, but I just tried on my robes there and my sash thingy is all arseways at the back. Instead of lying flat (like I thought it should), the whole thing is just kinda sticking up and I can't make it sit any other way.

Also, do we just turn up in the robes or is there an appropriate time to robe up, so to speak.

Quick Q- what the hell is the story with the green graduation hood/sash thingy? I don't know if I got a dud or what, but I just tried on my robes there and my sash thingy is all arseways at the back. Instead of lying flat (like I thought it should), the whole thing is just kinda sticking up and I can't make it sit any other way.

Also, do we just turn up in the robes or is there an appropriate time to robe up, so to speak.

i was told they robe you up when you get there as theres a certain way of doing it. dunno though, maybe thats just for those who dont know how to do it! :)
    still have no outfit for the day!

i was told they robe you up when you get there as theres a certain way of doing it. dunno though, maybe thats just for those who dont know how to do it! :)

That'd be me so. I went up and collected them just there and got home and realised I have no idea how to do that poxy green yoke.

i guess just bring it along with you and ask someone to help you when you get there! i havent even collected mine yet so il prob be in the same boat!

I've never been able to figure those things out. I couldn't work it out last time and I can't do it this time either. If you're getting photos with Lafayette then just make sure to get them done first. They'll fix it perfectly for you.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 194 ✭✭KidKeith89

Graduated today! :D The ceremony itself lasted less than an hour and was okay, but waiting in Humanity House before walking to the Aula Maxima was a killer - it was roasting and they kept us there for ages. Other than that the day was good. Congratulations to all those who have graduated already or are so in the next few days. :o

I had such a good time yesterday. KidKeith is right, the waiting was a bollox and the windows steamed up and everything it was like a fcuking sauna in Humanity house but it didn't take as long as I thought (the ceremony I mean). Ah, it was a bit of craic and it made the oul pair happy so win-win!

Congrats to all who have or who are about to graduate now or in October :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭pakb1ue

October Schedule is now up
    http://conferring.nuim.ie/Oct10.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

10AM on Wednesday 27th. My mum was not happy when she got the news of 10AM :P

It'll be quicker for the photos though.