Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beverly [Cooper] Flynn: amazingly, she gets more arrogant

• 29-07-2010 6:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭

I sincerely have to wonder about the ethics of a large number of the electorate of Mayo. This is a woman who sued RTÉ for libelling her when they said she had encouraged clients in her bank, NIB, to evade, a criminal offence (not avoid), paying tax to the Irish state - and she lost the case.

Despite this, a large number of people in Mayo re-elected her. Unsurprisingly, the Fianna Fáil party let her back into that party. She is the most brazen, arrogant individual in Irish politics since her stomach-turning father went on The Late Late Show (jump to 2.32 for the start of the question and Flynn's political suicide) to tell the Irish population about all his houses and cars.

Oh yes, and didn't the aforementioned individual refer to her as "a class act". Indeed.

Rant over. As most of you probably know, she is already claiming over €10,000 every two months in expenses alone. Today, her latest two fingers to the Irish public is that she has topped the poll of political representatives who have missed most committee meetings in the Oireachtas: 'Fianna Fáil Mayo TD Beverley Flynn was absent most in the last three weeks - she failed to attend six meetings [out of 23 meetings]'

Any politician with a bit of fear of the electorate would at least make an effort to at least be seen to improve.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0729/politicians.html

When will the troglodytes of Mayo do the honourable thing at election time regarding this contemptible little parasite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Is this any surprise - really? Why blame the people of Mayo?
    Kerry/Dublin/Cork/Donegal/Limerick amoung others, all have their "outstanding" politicians who have been voted in be the electorate countless times despite some serious dodgy history hanging over them.

The majority of the current crop of politicians are crooks, coming from long lines of political "dynasties" voted for by the same people who get the same favours.
    Most people knocking them however have rarely voted themselves or made any coherent effort to change things. Until that time comes we are stuck with these kind of reports about politicians every few months.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Dionysus wrote: »
    I sincerely have to wonder about the ethics of a large number of the electorate of Mayo. This is a woman who sued RTÉ for libelling her when they said she had encouraged clients in her bank, NIB, to evade, a criminal offence (not avoid), paying tax to the Irish state - and she lost the case.

Despite this, a large number of people in Mayo re-elected her. Unsurprisingly, the Fianna Fáil party let her back into that party. She is the most brazen, arrogant individual in Irish politics since her stomach-turning father went on The Late Late Show (jump to 2.32 for the start of the question and Flynn's political suicide) to tell the Irish population about all his houses and cars.

Oh yes, and didn't the aforementioned individual refer to her as "a class act". Indeed.

Rant over. As most of you probably know, she is already claiming over €10,000 every two months in expenses alone. Today, her latest two fingers to the Irish public is that she has topped the poll of political representatives who have missed most committee meetings in the Oireachtas: 'Fianna Fáil Mayo TD Beverley Flynn was absent most in the last three weeks - she failed to attend six meetings [out of 23 meetings]'

Any politician with a bit of fear of the electorate would at least make an effort to at least be seen to improve.

When will the troglodytes of Mayo do the honourable thing at election time regarding this contemptible little parasite?

maybe , but about the same chance as the troglodytes in dublin not electing gormley and bertie .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

danbohan wrote: »
    maybe , but about the same chance as the troglodytes in dublin not electing gormley and bertie .

In absolute fairness, how can you put John Gormley on the same level as Bertie Ahern?

When it comes to corruption and unethical behaviour, Gormley is on a different planet to Bertie "No bank account but Minister for Finance" "oh he just gave me a free house for nothing" "oh I just signed any cheque that was in front of me" "oh I managed the economy brilliantly" Ahern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

In all (as well as absolute!) fairness, it may be fashionable to howl about Bertie now but large numbers of people all over the country thought he was a fine fellow altogether at the last election despite the tribunal.

I'm unsure if Bertie is running again (has he said anything about that??) and somehow I doubt Gormley will be reelected. Maybe if he can stop the incinerator from being built?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

fly_agaric wrote: »
    In all (as well as absolute!) fairness, it may be fashionable to howl about Bertie now but large numbers of people all over the country thought he was a fine fellow altogether at the last election despite the tribunal.

I'm unsure if Bertie is running again (has he said anything about that??) and somehow I doubt Gormley will be reelected. Maybe if he can stop the incinerator from being built?:)
    People in Mayo obviously thought Bev was a fine woman despite her past indescretions......

Come on, they are all a pile of shysters - blaming Mayo people above anyone else for voting some of them in is plain daft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

fly_agaric wrote: »

I hate the way history is being rewritten by Ahern apologists.....some of us saw through him while his corruption was still unknown and unproven, y'know!

We're not all gullible muppets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Absolutely despise the woman and lack of morality that she stands for. There is no way that she would get away with this in the UK, she would be forced to resign.. Was only in Castlebar once, but even then I felt like knocking her door down to tell her how despicable I think she is.

RTE should NEVER never have let her off with the fees she owed them.... Justice should have been done and been seen to be done, by bankrupting her and as such making her ineligible for political service (though she even had the arrogance to challenge this law in the courts)... :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

In absolute fairness, how can you put John Gormley on the same level as Bertie Ahern?

When it comes to corruption and unethical behaviour, Gormley is on a different planet to Bertie "No bank account but Minister for Finance" "oh he just gave me a free house for nothing" "oh I just signed any cheque that was in front of me" "oh I managed the economy brilliantly" Ahern.

how can you put John Gormley on the same level as Bertie Ahern?

true i should not , and i appolgise sincerely to the entire ahern family for doing so.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Insulting the people of Mayo does your argument no favours. There are countless other instnces. the Healy Raes, Micahel Lowry, Ned o' Keefe, Ray Burke, etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

Hmm you are right, he is one level worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

My gorge rises at the mention of the name,Beverly Cooper Flynn.She,her sister Audrey and father Padraig are truly representative of the well heeled ,cunning clever political types that exploit their position of privilege to a parasitic extent in this country.They and many like them throughout this sorry State thrive materially with amoral arrogance at local and national level. .Self interest is their first principle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

RTE should NEVER never have let her off with the fees she owed them.... Justice should have been done and been seen to be done, by bankrupting her and as such making her ineligible for political service (though she even had the arrogance to challenge this law in the courts)... :mad:

I think RTE may have had a little help in making their decision, don't forget FF was trying to garner as many votes as possible.

I can never see what qualities this woman has, unless she's the local bike and even then I'm stumped.
    How can anybody who voted for her stand up and say they are proud to have her as their representative. To say somebody is your representative is to say they hold the same values, goals and ambitions as yourself, this does not say much for the integrity of her electorate, or for that of Lawlor, Burke, Ahern, Lowry et al.
    Of course, people can be misled but how many times? As the saying goes, "fool me once..........."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Insulting the people of Mayo does your argument no favours. There are countless other instnces. the Healy Raes, Micahel Lowry, Ned o' Keefe, Ray Burke, etc etc
    Ray Burke's shady dealings weren't common knowledge nor flaunted by him in front of his electorate.

Rural constituencies DO fall for the "I'll show them lot up in Dublin blah blah bah" shoite and elect such twats with gusto. The Dublin electorate is more fickle (Ahern aside).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭transylman

bmaxi wrote: »
    I think RTE may have had a little help in making their decision, don't forget FF was trying to garner as many votes as possible.

I can never see what qualities this woman has, unless she's the local bike and even then I'm stumped.
    How can anybody who voted for her stand up and say they are proud to have her as their representative. To say somebody is your representative is to say they hold the same values, goals and ambitions as yourself, this does not say much for the integrity of her electorate, or for that of Lawlor, Burke, Ahern, Lowry et al.
    Of course, people can be misled but how many times? As the saying goes, "fool me once..........."

The reason I was given by someone voting for her once was, "look at what michael lowry did, and the ones down in Tipperary voted him in again". In spit of this, in the last two elections she has scraped in as the fifth candidate. She has been riding on the reputation of her dad (he got a lot of money for Mayo in the early 90s) while she has done almost nothing, and will be lucky to be elected again next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

My old man is fromy Mayo and I've campaigned there during the 2007 election.
    From friends and relatives who live in the county, she's inherited the same voting bloc as her father. Flynn Sr would always focus on his Castlebar constituents, as he knew the rest of the county wouldn't vote for him. His daughter is no different (Michael Ring is a very popular man in places like Westport for example, whereas Enda has a following of his own, especially as the leader of a party with the hope he'll be Taoiseach) My old man always has a special place in the venom of his heart for her and her father, exemplifying the cute hoor dynasty policies (especially with Padraig's complaint about running houses and her infamous attempt to maintain her Independant allowance after she'd rejoined Fianna Fáil)

She's fairly unpopular in the rest of the county, her mansion is quite famous (especially when she was being let off fees by RTÉ), as were her ridiculously photoshopped campaign posters (I literally didn't recognise her when I saw her)Lay off the accusations of troglodytes though, there's voters like that all across Ireland.

All the above is my own experiences though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

I have said this before more than once....families such as these, are capitlaizing on the old Irish psyche of..

'my father voted for them, my grandfather voted for them... and seeing as that I am incapable of independant thought, I will vote for them too..'

The Flynns, and many others like them, truely believe that they are members of the new ruling class... a hangover of post colonialist Ireland. Land and personal wealth being a measure of their success, rather than their merits as individuals.
    Flynn on the Late Late Show is a perfect example of this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 932 ✭✭✭paddyland

We might well term her fan club 'The Beverly Hillbillies,' for future reference...

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭freewheeler

I have said this before more than once....families such as these, who are steeped in political tradition, inheriting seats etc. are capitlaizing on the old Irish psyche..

'my father voted for them, my grandfather voted for them... and seeing as that I am incapable of independant thought, I will vote for them too..'

The Flynns, and many others like them, truely believe that they are members of the new ruling class... a hangover of post colonialist Ireland. Land and personal wealth being a measure of their success, rather than their merits as individuals.
    Sad...but TRUE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

I'm in agreement when you say Gormley is not in the same league of corruption as Ahern but let's face it, there are few who are.
    I do take issue though, with the perceived portrayal of Gormley as an innocent abroad. He was involved in the coalition talks with FF, he knew the sort of people he was dealing with and that is an unforgivable sin.
    All this talk of, "We went into Government to implement change", is bullsh*t. FF were always going to do their own thing and they have, all the Greens have managed to do is increase taxes and save a few deer from having heart attacks, laudable though that may be it's not the stuff of governing a country.
    Gormley has played into the hands of Cowen & Co. and is just there to make up the numbers, IMO he is guilty of selling out the electorate for thirty pieces of silver and hopefully will inherit the same place in history as the last guy who did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

kippy wrote: »
    The majority of the current crop of politicians are crooks
    Total exaggeration.

The majority are not crooks, most people who are either involved in politics, or in the media, or simply have an interest in Irish politics would disagree with you here.
    Anybody who has ever worked alongside a backbencher or opposition TD will be acutely aware of just how powerless they really are, and as such, how ridiculous the term "crook" is when applied to them. And they are, numerically, in the majority.
    The majority of the current crop of politicians are... coming from long lines of political "dynasties"
    No, they are not. This is an often repeated misconception or simply a deliberate exaggeration. A few come from constituencies where their parents or other relatives held seats but that's it. These people are certainly far from being a majority, and none of them (0) inherited their seats.

They were all voted in democratically by the people.
    voted for by the same people who get the same favours.
    One man one vote. You seem to paint a picture of a minority voting a representative into democratic office. It is quite a ridiculous suggestion that the only people who elect TDs are some sort of shady benefactors of political favours.

I'm only replying to this particular post because it's the typical sort of meaningless tripe that gets flung around in taxicabs and on message boards and sheltering from the rain making small talk with strangers on this island. It's the most base and the most unintelligent form of political action next to robbing election posters, ironically by people who actually consider themselves capable of deeper thought than the general voting populace.

It does nothing to engage with politics, it does nothing to change things, and it only adds to the perception of opposition politics as mindless whinery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

I agree with the point that we have quite a few TD's who shouldn't be, for various reasons.

But we here talk about politics. What gets these lads elected is a great system of doing politics: Shaking hands, attending funerals, getting things done for people. They're TD's you'd want to be your TD because if you have a problem, he or she will help get it solved.

After that you look upon anything else they do about the same as a family member: If you see someone get in a fight outside a club, you might think "Scumbag." If your cousin gets in a fight, it's more of a "Tsk" moment... But he's still your cousin.

Being an errand boy wins votes. And the people get the government and TD's they deserve.

Re: inherited seats, from a previous thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64494680
    According to our findings, 37 of the current 75 Fianna Fail incumbents in the Oireachtas have or have had at least one family member also serve in Leinster House.

Twenty-two members of Fianna Fail have more than one family member, with three having three or more other relatives, who were national politicians.

Sixteen members of Fine Gael have or have had relatives serve in Leinster House.

Showing that the proliferation of political dynasties links back to the Civil War, only six elected members of the Labour Party have had any relations in national politics and only one of the Green Party has any family history in politics.

Ciaran Cuffe is the only Green TD with any dynastical links, and even then it is only a distant one. He is the grand-nephew of Patrick Little, who was a Fianna Fail TD between 1927 and 1954.

Cowan, Lenihan and Coughlan, the top three in the government by rank, are all from family dynasties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

true i should not , and i appolgise sincerely to the entire ahern family for doing so.!

Are you implying Gormley is corrupt?

"The people of Mayo" as you put it is not, it may surprise you to know, the same as "a large number of the electorate of Mayo", as I put it. The difference should be very clear.

There is a solid group of people in Mayo who support this reprehensible parasitic little woman, Beverley Flynn, and ensure she gets re-elected. Why are you defending them by trying to change this into an argument which equates them with the entire population of Mayo?

Likewise, a 'large number of the electorate' in Tipperary, Cork and Dublin are responsible for re-electing the above individuals. It should be possible to dedicate a thread to one of these people at a time, particularly when the one in this thread has just topped another poll of breathtakingly arrogant "fúck the ordinary people" public representatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

See some coments on this thread about her

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055976145

paddyland wrote: »
    We might well term her fan club 'The Beverly Hillbillies,' for future reference...

:mad:

I think that could stick. Neanderthals, all of them.

You're on the money with all of that. 100%. That Late Late stuff was beyond ugly, beyond revealing. This Mary O'Rourke/Lenihan crowd are no better.

She's fairly unpopular in the rest of the county, her mansion is quite famous (especially when she was being let off fees by RTÉ)

Tell us more. Never heard this one.

as were her ridiculously photoshopped campaign posters (I literally didn't recognise her when I saw her)

Or this.
    Lay off the accusations of troglodytes though, there's voters like that all across Ireland.

If these people elsewhere in Ireland vote for people like her, they are troglodytes. How else can one describe them?

ok, On Beverly I know little about her, I live in her constituancy (did not vote for her) To be honest she keeps a low profile and does not do much (as far as I can see)

She is a TD because of her Father, who like it or not, did a lot of good for Castlebar, Castlebar took off under Flynn... while Ballina who had no local TD did not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Tell us more. Never heard this one.
    Oh she's just got a big feck-off style mansion near Castlebar. If I remember rightly, she's married some rich lad, although it does seem stupid that she can avoid paying RTÉ the money they're entitled to, and yet she can live in a mansion.
    I passed by it a couple of times a few years ago. Big house.

Or this.
    By the looks of things,she heavily photoshopped her campaign posters. I know most candidates do it, but I literally didn't recognise her when I saw her in person, such was the extent. Does anyone know where one of the posters can be seen? They're very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

If we are to make any fair economic and political progress in this state people such as the Flynns must be constantly exposed for their hubris,selfishness,cutehoorism and then of course,ostracised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭john hanrahan

i agree with most of the comments and you couldn't vote for her but what has always amazed me is

she worked for a national bank selling a bank product, was there no one else in

the bank selling these products?

did the bank suffer were they fined?

she was hounded, but she said really some stupid things.

she can not have been the only one in nib selling these products.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

i agree with most of the comments and you couldn't vote for her but what has always amazed me is

she worked for a national bank selling a bank product, was there no one else in

the bank selling these products?

did the bank suffer were they fined?

she was hounded, but she said really some stupid things.

she can not have been the only one in nib selling these products.

They are probably overseeing NAMA, but to extend that valid query, how many were public representatives with deep connections to the leading party coaxing people to evade the tax, which is the very life blood of the country. If there were more exactly like her doing the same thing, why did they not only get off scott free, but not even come to our attention?;)
    The big one will be in ten or twenty years time when we find out who we should go after but they've since retired and legally can't be touched.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

alex73 wrote: »
    ok, On Beverly I know little about her, I live in her constituancy (did not vote for her) To be honest she keeps a low profile and does not do much (as far as I can see)

She is a TD because of her Father, who like it or not, did a lot of good for Castlebar, Castlebar took off under Flynn... while Ballina who had no local TD did not.
    That's the nationwide problem. The local gains are seen as apart from the national collective loses.
    A case of, no jobs, crippled by the economy, but Pee got funding for a GAA pitch/club house kinda thing. There is no separation, bar the doorstep call come election where they claim to not be party to the party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

alex73 wrote: »

This is exactly the problem. People think it's reasonable to vote for someone because they'll get something done for their town.
    So Castlebar gets a new road, or hospital services or an Industrial park at the expense of some other place, just because the local TD favours it.
    It's a form of corruption, but the voters who accept this are as corrupt as the politicians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭john hanrahan

dvpower wrote: »
    This is exactly the problem. People think it's reasonable to vote for someone because they'll get something done for their town.
    So Castlebar gets a new road, or hospital services or an Industrial park at the expense of some other place, just because the local TD favours it.
    It's a form of corruption, but the voters who accept this are as corrupt as the politicians.

people vote for politicians who get them grants or jobs or whatever and when they don't they are considered useless, often grants that they are not entitled to this is what is expected of politicians it is corruption and most people are in on it. it may be changing but there is generations of politicians out there still doing it, when young politicians call it as lucinda Creighton did they get shot down

politicians certainly ministers need to be separate from there constituency work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Oh look over there .... tumbleweed..... trundling by.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭simonj

Flynn at first offered to settle with RTÉ for €590,000. RTÉ rejected this and moved to have her declared bankrupt in 2007.

Being bankrupt would stop her being a TD

In June 2007, Flynn announced that she had reached a final settlement with RTÉ, with Flynn paying €1.24 million of the outstanding €2.4 million.

That leaves the tax payer with a bill of €1.16 million for RTE's legal bill as RTÉ, Ireland's public service broadcaster, is part-funded by a television License fee.

It also shows a two tier law system, a person fined 600 Euro could not say to the courts 'I'll pay half of it' - she essentially did.

I have tried to ascertain Bev's expenses while on the Western Health board, but was not given them - I was told I would have to pay 700 Euro in admin costs to get those - so much for freedom of information

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

politicians certainly ministers need to be separate from there constituency work
    In the UK, where the ratios a much smaller there is a system of Citizens Advise Bureaus that help people to access services. We should have something like that here and leave politicians stick to policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

In the UK, where the ratios a much smaller there is a system of Citizens Advise Bureaus that help people to access services. We should have something like that here and leave politicians stick to policy.

We have this!
    And it's a fantastic service

http://www.citizensinformation.ie
    Excellent website

If you don't have internet access then call the helpline, again they'll point you in the right direction
    The Citizens Information Board is the statutory body which supports the provision of information, advice and advocacy on a broad range of public and social services. It provides the Citizens Information website, www.citizensinformation.ie, and supports the voluntary network of Citizens Information Centres and the Citizens Information Phone Service 1890 777 121*. It also funds and supports the Money Advice and Budgeting Service (MABS) 1890 283 438*.

They have offices in towns all over the country.
    Just drop in, wait a few minutes and someone will meet you. I had difficulties with Social Welfare once and they made a call on my behalf and helped me. Realy, that's what they do for people.
    If you have a sensitive issue, for example accessing health services then they have private meeting rooms and will go through your options in confidence.

If I need help with accessing State services , I go here and not to my local TD or councillor.

For all the negative stories we have, this is absolutely one service that is doing a great job and should not be abolished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

simonj wrote: »
    In June 2007, Flynn announced that she had reached a final settlement with RTÉ, with Flynn paying €1.24 million of the outstanding €2.4 million.

This, for me, is what really stinks.... At the same time that she was carrying out negotiations with RTE... she somehow found the funds to simultaneously contest the legislation that declared any bankrupt Irish citizen unsuitable for public office...

RTE should have called her bluff, because if it came down to it, her rich partner (Tony Gaughan, who back in 2004 was estimated to be worth between 10-18m euro) would have paid the entire amount to prevent her being declared bankrupt, if she asked him nicely..
    in addition to her €106,000 basic salary, she qualified for the €41,000 allowance as she won her seat as an independent TD.

or maybe she could have saved up and paid off her debt to Ireland herself before qualifying herself as a legitimate candidate for office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭chelseavera

Best Post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Wide Road

One quote sums it all up, "All Politics Is Local".

Wide Road wrote: »
    One quote sums it all up, "All Politics Is Local".

That is 100% correct, The Flynn's are very popular in castlebar, and the end of the day they gave results, de facto results. And that's all the matters when Beverly needs to get elected, She only needs those people to be happy. The whole RTE fiasco, and the waste of money to tax payer stinks, Personally I would never vote for her, but to many who know the flynns their 1st preference vote for her is like religion, they won't change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭chelseavera

Tell me there'll be a new generation, who forgets civil war politics and in light of the abuse of power evidenced by the current government - will actually start to look for standards and honesty and vote for Lucinda Creighton etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

transylman wrote: »
    The reason I was given by someone voting for her once was, "look at what michael lowry did, and the ones down in Tipperary voted him in again". In spit of this, in the last two elections she has scraped in as the fifth candidate. She has been riding on the reputation of her dad (he got a lot of money for Mayo in the early 90s) while she has done almost nothing, and will be lucky to be elected again next time.

hopefully you are right, unfortunately though, the Fianna Fail Plan B will kick into action then, she'll sit for election to the Seanad, if that fails Plan C will kick in, she'll be appointed to the Seanad by the Taoiseach.
    It worked for Ivor!

i would be very suprised if O'Donoghue, O'Dea, Lowry and BCF are not all relected next time out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Madd Finn

about the same chance as the troglodytes in dublin not electing gormley and bertie .

I don't think you can put Gormley in the same room as Flynn or Ahern, but rest assured: he will be out at the next election. The voters of D4, his constituency, are more sophisticated than the Beverley Hillbillies.

Although elected by Northside Dubs, I think you'll find that Ray Burke was of pure Mayo stock.

Actually, when you think of it, what has Mayo ever done for us? Who of great personal character has it ever given us?

The Flynns
    The Baileys
    The Burkes
    Enda
    Lucinda Creighton (who the sophisticated burghers of D4 are going to have topping their poll at the next election)
    I think even Charlie Haughey, doyen of all that is venal, corrupt and megalomaniacal about our political caste had strong Mayo connections too.
    Then there was the Letitia Dunbar Harrison affair back in the 1930s. I know. It was a long time ago, but I think you have to go back as far as Michael Davitt to have a worthwhile public figure from Mayo.

Willing to be proved wrong. But I can't think of any more recent goodies off the top of my head.

Unless you include Westlife......:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Mad Finn, IMHO one of the most important political and economic events in Irish history was the founding of the Land League by which all the tenant farmers become freehold owners of their farms. Thie movement started in Mayo and a famous Mayo man Michael Davit was one of it's founders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Madd Finn

nuac wrote: »
    Mad Finn, IMHO one of the most important political and economic events in Irish history was the founding of the Land League by which all the tenant farmers become freehold owners of their farms. Thie movement started in Mayo and a famous Mayo man Michael Davit was one of it's founders.

A contribution which I did indeed acknowledge in my post.

But what have they done for us lately?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

shes a bad arrogant woman, but if the people of mayo elect her , they get what they deserve.......