Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft Tears

• 29-07-2010 10:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭

Ok i have being playing airsoft for some time now and i just wanna hear some stories of people taking the game to heart and starting fights and so forth.

I think its funny how upset people get if they dont get things to go their own way and start talking trash and threatening people, afterall its only a game.

What are your experiences with people like this?

Shane
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

TBH, most lads are big men on the field about shouting at people to take hits, but turn into pussycats when you call them on it afterwards.

It's best to just have it out as adults, and get to the bottom of things, otherwise everyone goes away with a bad impression of everyone else.

Most of the time, though, they just go "Ah, it's grand, sure I might not have hit him" and back down if they're actually called on it. I've only had one exception to that so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Shanewalsh

I was suprised that a grown man when i hit him didnt take the hit and when i calmly said it to him he went mental, and i would not mind people around me seen it too and he blew the pot.

Others think that grown men find it embarrasing when someone younger than them nail them. I can see the frustration their.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Rooky1

Personally it doesn't matter who hits you! A hit is a hit.
    Take the hit and move on to the regen.:)

Luckily it only seems to be a small minority that have invisible shields;)

This is only a game so it isn't worth getting to heated up over someone not taking a hit. Mention it to a Marshall, if the marshall is doing his job right he will have a quiet word and monitor any further shots.

The game is about having a good time, not getting all stressed out over the odd dodgy player.:)

Good point. What frustrates me is the abuse. Its uncalled for and imature. A hit is a hit fair and square take it and go.

And yeah thank god its only a minority otherwise the game would be ruined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Rooky1

I agree. The abuse is uncalled for.
    Better to just walk away and not get dragged down to the other persons level!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Advice #1: Leave it. It's a game, not life or death. Stop starting fights about whether white plastic balls hit your replica body armour or the mag attached to it. Talk about it like adults, be respectful and give your opponent the benefit of the doubt. We're fallible humans, not walking pressure sensors.

Advice #2: Leave it on the field. Even if something happens out there, don't bring it into the safe zone and cause more drama than a 24 marathon, and definitely don't decide to air grievances and take it upon yourself to "name and shame" on public fora. That will only end in unmitigated disaster for all involved, and a lot who weren't.

Being passionate is an excuse for buying flowers for your girlfriend, not an excuse for being a díck to your fellow player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭jeawan

NakedDex wrote: »
    Advice #1: Leave it. It's a game, not life or death. Stop starting fights about whether white plastic balls hit your replica body armour or the mag attached to it. Talk about it like adults, be respectful and give your opponent the benefit of the doubt. We're fallible humans, not walking pressure sensors.

Advice #2: Leave it on the field. Even if something happens out there, don't bring it into the safe zone and cause more drama than a 24 marathon, and definitely don't decide to air grievances and take it upon yourself to "name and shame" on public fora. That will only end in unmitigated disaster for all involved, and a lot who weren't.

Being passionate is an excuse for buying flowers for your girlfriend, not an excuse for being a díck to your fellow player.

Couldn't agree more it is a game what happen on the field stays on the field is my motto same as when i played rugby.

Mind you one game we played i though a guy was going to deck one of the RATS after they both called a bang kill and he stormed into the house shouting and holding his fist up i was like bloody hell its a game chill man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Danin

In my opinion, I think it's best to call a Marshall to one side on a one to one basis and explain the situation and not confront anyone in the first place, hence it negates any aggressive behaviour towards you and the "assumed" guilty party is less likely to respond in the fashion described above with a Marchall for fear of a site ban.

there should never be a time to find yourself in a situation where you feel you need to stand toe to toe with anyone on an airsoft site and TBH if you do your better off looking for a new site to play on because if that's happening it wont be long before someone gets hurt and no one wants that.

how far was the nearest Marchall when this took place ?
    and what action did they take ?

Danin wrote: »
    In my opinion, I think it's best to call a Marshall to one side on a one to one basis and explain the situation and not confront anyone in the first place, hence it negates any aggressive behaviour towards you and the "assumed" guilty party is less likely to respond in the fashion described above with a Marchall for fear of a site ban.

there should never be a time to find yourself in a situation where you feel you need to stand toe to toe with anyone on an airsoft site and TBH if you do your better off looking for a new site to play on because if that's happening it wont be long before someone gets hurt and no one wants that.

how far was the nearest Marchall when this took place ?
    and what action did they take ?

Off the top of my head i'm not sure it happened and was over very quick though and tbh if he had of tried to hit the guy i would of stopped him as i was behind him at the time.

I hope to never see a fist fight at any venue, especially when their is younger folk involved it can be very intimidating seeing grown men talk trash.

And i agree that all issues should be kept on the field and not in the safe area or wherever else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Lad in the warehouse kicked a pallet into my face whilst I was behind it (and he knew it) and when I got to my feet and squared up to him he called me a fat c*nt, so I proceeded to nut him.

Also had an incident with someone calling me a cheater and acting a real dope about it and although I wanted to put his face through his car window, looked like his son was beside him and I didn't want to get bared from one of my favorite sites so I left it.He'd already made himself look an epic arsehole infront of his team so probably enough embarassment was done to him.

As said above most people act hard and tough screaming from 100 yards away but close up they just back down completely. The amount of fake bravado is unreal sometimes.

Few times I've had someone screaming from miles how I should " take my hits you dirty c*nt". I find on most sites a marshall isnt there to intervene and alot of times don't do anything anyway. Funny enough they forget what they called you when you ask them to say it again to your face after the game.

Other then that I don't think I've got angry enough to level someone. Granted theres been incidents where cheating has got me infuriated or something like that.

Me old fella always said that a mouth will always keep mouthing until you hit him so hard his mouth stays shut, and a mouth always gets cracked at one time or another.

Not advocating boiyz noizin everyone on the field, but some people dont know where they are sometimes and just cross a line....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

I remember one "incident" in a site some years ago. Bit of a falling out was had between two players, instead of decking the other bloke (which it looked like it was about to happen) Player "R" we shall call him, very calmly put down his gear and walked up to the safe zone where he got a shovel. He walked to a remote part of the site, but still in view of the players where he proceeded to dig what could only be described as a grave.... Needless to say the other bloke, after watching this excavation for nearly an hour, was on the verge of crying as he begged people to get him out of there as he thought he was done for.

Little did he know, player "R" was digging a sniper hide :D

Thats ****ing airsoft lore at this stage, hilarious :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

fayer wrote: »
    I remember one "incident" in a site some years ago. Bit of a falling out was had between two players, instead of decking the other bloke (which it looked like it was about to happen) Player "R" we shall call him, very calmly put down his gear and walked up to the safe zone where he got a shovel. He walked to a remote part of the site, but still in view of the players where he proceeded to dig what could only be described as a grave.... Needless to say the other bloke, after watching this excavation for nearly an hour, was on the verge of crying as he begged people to get him out of there as he thought he was done for.

Awesome!

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha legendary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 BradBrown

I had beef with a guy at a local field and walked away. Later though we found some of our gear missing. We were never able to prove it but I know that douche took it. I hate stupid people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Others think that grown men find it embarrasing when someone younger than them nail them. I can see the frustration their.

It's funnier when you're a marshal and you try to explain the dead men don't talk rule to a guy who was quite a bit older than me, most people know how old I am. Needless to say, he got quite cheeky with me, whilst I kept my cool, I haven't seen him since.

I've been on the end of the "you cheatin' cúnt!" thing once or twice, I always apologise and explain that I didn't feel/hear it. Had one lad go a bit apesh*t at me once, that was interesting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Dogwatch

Leftyflip wrote: »
    It's funnier when you're a marshal and you try to explain the dead men don't talk rule to a guy who was quite a bit older than me, most people know how old I am. Needless to say, he got quite cheeky with me, whilst I kept my cool, I haven't seen him since.

I've been on the end of the "you cheatin' cúnt!" thing once or twice, I always apologise and explain that I didn't feel/hear it. Had one lad go a bit apesh*t at me once, that was interesting...

Tell us more you ratbag. If its interesting, WE want to know :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Private Snafu

Had an unfortunate incident before were someone thought it'd be funny to continue shooting me point blank in the face after I'd called hit. I had to remind him a hand in the air and someone calling deadman normally means your out (quite calmly considering Id nearly had my teeth removed), only to be told to eff off it's a game.

Little did he know I was a marshall on site ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭markomongo

My first large airsoft event.
    I stepped out from cover and see two enemy with their backs to me walking towards the line. I decided to plug them before we moved and after literally one shot into the back each the larger built man turns around and starts going absolutely ape**** saying he was already hit... "why havent you got your hand up then", was my response and he actually said it should have been obvious he was hit from where he was (wtf?) and that if he catches me again doing anything like that he would (shouting at the top of his voice full on aggro) ''come down and shove that gun up your f***ing arse''...
    On hearing this I knew it was pointless engaging with the maniac so I shrugged it off (although a little taken back by the level of abuse) and went to walk away.
    Now as calm a head as I may be my team mate however is a different kettle of fish.
    He steps out from cover on hearing this and challenged the dude to follow through right there and then and see what would happen...this led to a 2 minute long shouting match (with me in the middle trying to calm my team mate down!) and it ended when the man in question got verbally raped, stepped back from the threat he had made, turned and walked away with his tail between his legs. What a dick we thought...maybe he learned his lesson though...
    Fast forward a year or more later at a Red Hammer event... myself and fellow team mate creeping through bushes... all of a sudden we hear this lad going absolutely ape at somebody for firing at them... we couldnt see him but we knew it was the same dude instantly and cracked up laughing out loud at him as he literally went border line psycho...at a bush!
    He shouted into the bushes at somebody he couldnt see behind us for ages at the top of his voice and eventully I shouted at him to shut the f*** up, that it was only a game and to move on...

Some people should play with real guns...and die...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Anybody who uses the threat of violence or uses an act of violence against another player on the field regardless of what names are called

Deserves to be perma banned from all sites

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Gatling wrote: »
    Anybody who uses the threat of violence or uses an act of violence against another player on the field regardless of what names are called

Deserves to be perma banned from all sites
    thats all good an well gat,but if you get shot in the arse from 20-25 feet away,while havin your back to someone YOU KNOW YOU HIT,and they pop
    out and shoot you,like i did and i took it,was gonna report it when i saw someone,and when they shoot you full auto,i get red mist,im not proud of it.
    but i shout an scream at them,why should i get ban,for playin the game the
    way its mengt to be,yet that arsehole gets to play on,on all sites???i did not
    hit(punch) anyone btw,came close yet why should the honest player be the one
    who gets singled out???we all know the bad seeds,so why do they get to
    play on over all the real players??(his reason,he said i was blockin his shot at our team,when in truth every one else f- off to another part of site,cause they would not take their hits)
    ps:so shootin me in the arse legs from 20-25 feet (full auto,hi speed motor)is not voilence,with my back to him,while im returnin to respawn??really

everybody gets red mist at somestage or another verbal is one thing ,
    when it comes to swinging digs or stamping on heads then there's a serious issue ,

ive been shot point blank to the face on more than one occassion ,had mags and batterys taken out of my bag never to be seen again ,at one stage i was to be lynched by a team for somebody elses he said ,she said crap

there will always be muppets who play the big man wheather its for show or bragging rights and will never understand the the idea of airsoft being an honor sport ,

true,so like has been said before we need the sites to be harder on these
    people,an not to be worried bout losin numbers,cos lettin this goe as is,is worse for sites,who of us goes back to sites after ****e thats not delt with??
    a site wiil lose more money by lettin this goe,a site that stamps this type
    of player out will be around for a long time,and this is the thing that some
    site owers need to learn.imo.
    edit: most sites need to learn,kick rule breakers out,full ban.end of.
    edit again:the player is banned,not the team,unless they are found out 3 times,imo
    this should work,yea some mistakes are made,and would be alwould for

fayer wrote: »

Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

In Airsoft, tensions can run pretty high, and there can be a lot of passion and emotion which causes people to vent in one of the only ways they know how; anger.

I agree with Gatling. Physical violence, or the threat of physical violence, should have a zero tolerance policy. It doesn't matter the circumstances. There is a protocol. You report the issue. Stay calm, and call over a marshall. Don't 'take matters into your own hands' as you could literally be done for assault. If nothing is done about it, report it to the site owner. And if nothing is done about that, report the incident and failure to act to the IAA.

If you instead merely resort to physical violence, you're not solving anything. Believe me, you are better off sticking to the protocols - that way you're being a good representation of the sport/hobby, and will hopefully result in making a small change in the offender, or at least the site's policy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Bemused

Agree with Inarii 100%. Aggression in any form has no place. Rule of thumb should be to presume positive intent and where you are certain that something malicious occured, bring it directly to the Marshall's attention. Some people clearly lose the rag way too easy and should not be playing airsoft.

I was shot recently point blank in the face from behind (Hi Noel! ;-). Got in under the full face mask and left a fine welt. I guessed it was someone new, calmly asked him to fire to the body in future and asked the marshall to reitterate this warning at lunchtime (not to pick on him but just for safety). I could have lost the head but it was a genuine mistake and I'm sure it will never happen again, right?

The guy. we'll call him "Noel" (for that is his name) felt really bad about it and apologised. I of course will continue to wind him up over this but that's the sum total of the discomfort that anyone other than me will experience because of this incident - I never want to see anything like some of the events described above where I play - leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

Gatling wrote: »

there will always be muppets who play the big man wheather its for show or bragging rights and will never understand the the idea of airsoft being an honor sport ,

Clearly forgetting the first time we ever played together, lolz :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Soberts

I have to admit that I lost my head recently while playing at my favorite site. During the warm up game it was an attack and defend in a dense woodland area. In the first 10 minutes I was overkilled, when I say overkilled I mean I was hit with about 10-25 extra pellets. When I was hit I raised my hand in the air and shouted 'HIT, HIT.........HHIIIIITTTT'. It happened again after the next respawn. On the third time, I was crawling on the ground through trees and I was shot with full auto in the face, I shouted 'HIT, HIT, HIT' and raised my hand, the pellets continued to hit me and a few hit above my glasses on my eyebrow (had a raised welt/bruise for 3 weeks), I shouted 'IM F**KING HIT, JESUS', the pellets still hitting me. Then I went mad and shouted as loud as I could 'IM HIT FOR F**KS SAKE'. The shooting ceased and a roar of laughter and joking came from him and his team in the base. I walked back to the respawn infuriated. The marshal then came up to me and said 'You must have a sign on your head saying 'overkill' because i have seen it happen to you a few times now, I have had a word with a few players saying watch the overkill'.
    I was happy with the way it was dealt with but throughout the day the team continued to cause tensions, and even argued with another marshal at one stage. I have heard a few people having problems with this team but now I have seen it for myself.
    This still does not mean that me losing my temper was ok.
    It is not fair for people to come in and take pleasure from not obeying game rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

I wouldn't say you lost your temper, more reacted to it in a normal way. The good thing is that you were the bigger man and didn't go mad overkilling them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

I'm as stubborn as a mule, But I'm an honest Mule.
    If I have any doubt about getting hit, I will stick my hand up high. The trouble is when I am convinced I have not been hit, thats when I dig in my heels and wont back down.

I've only had a tiny few experiances where people
    have said they had hit me and they did not.

If I thought they hit me, or if I was a little unsure I would have no problems backing down and walking away but
    I'f I am full sure I did not get hit then my mind wont be changed despite what anyone says.

There have been lots of times where I have been unsure and held my hand up and called hit even on some ricochets
    where something touched the toe of my boot.

But there have been some situations which caused me a little frustration.

The First I was on the ground in a bush prone, and nobody knew I was there. The other team shot someone that was close by me who took their hit and walked away. The shooter then got close where I was hideing where I shouted Bang! He responded with along the lines of I hit you! (when I was sure he did not and he was sure he did)
    He ended up walking away. In hind sight the two of us should have walked away if nothing could be proved as it
    was only a feckin game)

The other was a Lad that came up to me after the game in the safe zone to say he had hit me several times, and the entire game I had never seen, heard, or felt any hits from the guy. And he was noticable Huge Rambo like Polish dude where you could play a game of handball off his back so you would know if he was about.
    Sound out bloke though he did not mind in the slighest when we had a chat, but felt a wee bit of coldness from my fellow Irishman who thought he shot me.

From the shooting side of things, I still think its very difficult to tell if you have hit someone or not, unless you see a BB bounce off of someone (or in one case accidently burst someones lip instead of doing a bang kill) its hard to tell where they land. See a stream of white BB's flying off in an arc towards someone but you dont know if they have landed in the ground in front of them or not. :mad:

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

Soberts wrote: »
    In the first 10 minutes I was overkilled, when I say overkilled I mean I was hit with about 10-25 extra pellets. When I was hit I raised my hand in the air and shouted 'HIT, HIT.........HHIIIIITTTT'.

Reminds me of this video :)

Thats him just being a dick, try putting your hand up next time pal haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Some guy was arguing with my team mate that he hit him first, Little did he know i was behind him "Now your hit..." He lost the head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Bemused wrote: »
    Agree with Inarii 100%. Aggression in any form has no place. Rule of thumb should be to presume positive intent and where you are certain that something malicious occured, bring it directly to the Marshall's attention. Some people clearly lose the rag way too easy and should not be playing airsoft.

I was shot recently point blank in the face from behind (Hi Noel! ;-). Got in under the full face mask and left a fine welt. I guessed it was someone new, calmly asked him to fire to the body in future and asked the marshall to reitterate this warning at lunchtime (not to pick on him but just for safety). I could have lost the head but it was a genuine mistake and I'm sure it will never happen again, right?

The guy. we'll call him "Noel" (for that is his name) felt really bad about it and apologised. I of course will continue to wind him up over this but that's the sum total of the discomfort that anyone other than me will experience because of this incident - I never want to see anything like some of the events described above where I play - leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

that welt looked very point blank i remember commenting on it (the welt i didn't see you get hit) but you were more annoyed with people not pushing forward that you were about it

thats what the game is about to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭wahmeister666

Its this ****e plus cheating that'd put me off playing it altogether. There is NO point playing otherwise. And not calling hits...says a lot about the honesty of the person. I am an honest man away from airsoft,I am sure going to be that when playing it,as I HATE dishonesty and cheating...just says a lot about the kind of people you'll come across...they are a minority though...most of the people are generally easy going and pretty decent people who enjoy playing the game. Anyway just putting forward my opinions

Inari wrote: »
    In Airsoft, tensions can run pretty high, and there can be a lot of passion and emotion which causes people to vent in one of the only ways they know how; anger.

I agree with Gatling. Physical violence, or the threat of physical violence, should have a zero tolerance policy. It doesn't matter the circumstances. There is a protocol. You report the issue. Stay calm, and call over a marshall. Don't 'take matters into your own hands' as you could literally be done for assault. If nothing is done about it, report it to the site owner. And if nothing is done about that, report the incident and failure to act to the IAA.

If you instead merely resort to physical violence, you're not solving anything. Believe me, you are better off sticking to the protocols - that way you're being a good representation of the sport/hobby, and will hopefully result in making a small change in the offender, or at least the site's policy
    ok,so here it is i did report it thats 1,2 i did not threaten him,i just called him on it,i never took it "into my own hands"like i said i did hit this guy,i could only see his head and so i used single shots,i saw him react,so yea i got him.
    I ALWAYS STICK TO PROTOCOLS,as you say,and say i said why should we,
    as honest gamers put up with this ****e,and by the by one of the guys that thanked you left that game because of this player,i find it very frustating
    that everone says good game,even when they know that cheatin was gonig on thruout a game,why do people find it so hard to say,no hang on a mo,
    you were cheatin all day,even after bein told not to??and i see two more post
    here relatin to the team i was talkin bout,yet most of said team are great,honest players,an that big guy is one of the best bullets.i am really pissed of
    by this.real players play,take thier hits,and even when they know they hit the other guy,like i did,then get hit,will respawn,report later,but why should we
    put up with ****e,if they dont here it from the people they are playin agianst they will keep doin it,these people dont care bout the iaa,imo
    side note: i did report it to the team,pointed him out in a photo,so i am lookin forward to playin these team
    again,to see if it was acted on,cos truth be told,on a whole they are good guys that mostly play fair tbh
    and id just want to state that im not havin a go at you,i hope you understand this,that we are just
    chatin about our hobby and how it should be improved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Soberts

Leftyflip wrote: »
    I wouldn't say you lost your temper, more reacted to it in a normal way. The good thing is that you were the bigger man and didn't go mad overkilling them.

Haha, what I actually did is I took out my pistol so I could move easier into the base. You should have seen the frustration on one guys face when i got him in the tower with one shot!

@Deco: You don't have to put up with it, that's the point. But you should never resort to physical violence, or the threat there of. That doesn't mean you have to put up with it. You can still confront them verbally, but just stay calm and don't threaten them. What I meant by taking matters into your own hands in my other post was flipping out like Rambo.

You can still talk to the person. If they flip out and are threatening you, you don't have to stand for that; call over the marshall report his threatening behaviour. I'm sure most sites will have (or they should have) quite a small tolerance to that behaviour. Just don't lower yourself to that as well. I know it's hard to do, and sometimes you'd rather settle it with your fists...but in reality you're better off abstaining from that.

Never believe you have to put up with cheating...and never accept it or brush it off as 'Part of the game'. You will find cheating in all walks off life, but it's still not acceptable. So instead become the change you wish to see, play honourably and if the sites continue to do nothing to stop the cheating, then promptly remove your custom in favour for sites that don't stand for it.

hahaha at the weekend in The Office Block i was behind a door looking through a small glass window when a guy ran at the door and jumped and kicked it knocking the door into me crushing my helmet against the wall, made it split in 2 and cutting my head.

Instead of lashing out i let of a few rounds into thin air and then hit the lad who did it in the back 7 times with my pistol(And guss what he didnt take the hit) hahaha.

Although its fine to kick doors open i was hurtin but i managed to keep it cool and then have a laugh about it when we got back to the safe zone. I just have to fork out money for a new helmet now hahaha.

Shanewalsh wrote: »
    I just have to fork out money for a new helmet now hahaha.
    Lucky you wore one in the first place...that sounded nasty

yeah it was nasty it was a hard blow, i will try get the pictures up soon if i can remember who took them haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Shanewalsh wrote: »
    hahaha at the weekend in The Office Block i was behind a door looking through a small glass window when a guy ran at the door and jumped and kicked it knocking the door into me crushing my helmet against the wall, made it split in 2 and cutting my head.

Instead of lashing out i let of a few rounds into thin air and then hit the lad who did it in the back 7 times with my pistol(And guss what he didnt take the hit) hahaha.

Although its fine to kick doors open i was hurtin but i managed to keep it cool and then have a laugh about it when we got back to the safe zone. I just have to fork out money for a new helmet now hahaha.

I have the video uploaded! :D I think the worst was nearly being crushed by that coffee machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Ayrtonf7

Personally nothing about means more in airsoft to me than being honorable. I am the same by the way. If I am ever in doubht about taking I hit, ill take it. Giving somebody the benefit of the doubht should count both ways.

As for people getting aggro. Well that happens in all paths in life, even over the interwebs o.O. Just gotta try stand above it and smile at the man hurling the abuse.

Ive never been a victim of this kind of abuse nor have I ever dished it, but I have seen a few players use verbal abuse. Even out of airsoft I find the need for abusive language unecessary and often degrading (when used against other people) and it digusts me to see people use it in Airsoft were its supposed to be a friendly or honorable sport.

As for the other players Ive seen dish out this abuse. Ive seen a guy get so annoyed he resorted to cheating (cutting his respawn by 20 minutes) which was dissapointing as I had thought he was a good man beforehand.

In hindsight I really should have reported this but I didnt want to feel like a) a snitch and b) cause unecessary drama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭evilrobotshane

The more of this kind of thing I hear the more I think we should be using dead rags - a bright orange cloth (or hat) you stick on your head or gun to signify that you're off-game or 'injured'. Keeping your hand up even for a quick jaunt back to respawn can be pretty tiring, and in games where you might be down as a casualty for 25 minutes it's utterly impractical. A readily visible marker would cut down massively on shooting the already-shot. Anyone any idea why we don't seem to use them in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,812 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Anyone any idea why we don't seem to use them in Ireland?

People would:

-Moan about having to use one

-Others would forget them/refuse to use them

-Complain about the expense if they had to be purchased

It probably wouldn't have much effect on "shooting those already dead" as most of the instances I've seen of it, the shooter could clearly see the persons hand and just did it to be hard and give the "oorah...I is a marine etc" vibe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭J.D.R

There will also be the case of people forgetting they have them on, getting back in the game, and the resulting arguent of I didn't shoot you cause I thought you were dead.

Personally, I think holding your hand up is the easiest and best thing. There isn't as much dead shooting that people think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

The more of this kind of thing I hear the more I think we should be using dead rags - a bright orange cloth (or hat) you stick on your head or gun to signify that you're off-game or 'injured'. Keeping your hand up even for a quick jaunt back to respawn can be pretty tiring,

Got given a bit of orange cloth Satuday for a dead rag,
    but bloody heck, spent more time shouting HIT am HIT stop fecking fireing, followed by hit am hit, for fu*ks sake waving a bloody orange pieces of cloth over my head stop fecking shooting!!!.

Did spot one guy with an orange florescent Hat though which may have worked out a little better if people had enough sense to realise it was a kill rag or I'm not activly playing type of thing.

~B

The more of this kind of thing I hear the more I think we should be using dead rags - a bright orange cloth Anyone any idea why we don't seem to use them in Ireland?

Its been suggested but "oh thats what the yanks do" we dont do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭evilrobotshane

J.D.R wrote: »
    Personally, I think holding your hand up is the easiest and best thing.
    Maybe so, but people hardly ever do it. I'm packing a dead rag from now on, and I'd encourage others to do likewise. It seems more polite when lying in bleed time, for example, to clearly mark yourself as such.