Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nationalist fundamentalism on Dublin Bus

• 25-07-2010 10:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭

I was on the bus through town there two hours ago, when two very loud lads from norn iron got on. Since i was the only person on the upper deck of the bus, I knew it was immediately a bad sign when one of them sat beside me and the other sat behind me...

anyway, the two cnuts in question proceeded to extremely loudly spout the greatest pile of bravado shyte i've ever heard about stabbing this protestant cnut and that protestant cnut, and every other protestant cnut that was in between. the two of them were talking about the "poxy PSNI cnuts" and how "at least an garda siochána can speak fcuking irish when they're arresting you, they're patriots like, when you speak irish to the PSNI they just throw you in the car". at this stage, i couldn't hold it in anymore, and, as uncomfortable as i felt, i broke my bollix laughing. They both started angrily asking why I was laughing - "Do you not agree with us? You proddy cnut, we're fighting for this country, we're the real IRA and patriots and we'll kill you".

So I figured I might aswell get a laugh if I'm going to be knifed by the "REAL" IRA and I asked the loudest one: "Cad is tírghgrá ann, an gceapann tú? Ní ceapaim go bhfuil an beirt agaibh sa tír ceart" and the pair of them just looked at me and said "can you not speak english you proddy cnut?". At this stage the bus stopped and they decided they were getting off to mouth obscenities at me from outside. Fine by me.

I have to say, despite my smart-arsery I did feel fairly uncomfortable though. How do pricks like this not know that nobody actually gives a fcuk what they have to say? Are they actually aware that they are completely fcuking redundant and bear no relevance in the real world?

To be honest I find attitudes like theirs fairly frightening, especially when they were around my age (early/mid twenties), given that the troubles were all but over by the time they were old enough to read.

Anyone else had any run ins with such gobshítes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

Good call on speaking Irish. I did that in a pub debate once with some w*nker who was pro-IRA and I was anti. ( I am somewhat nationalistic but anti-terrorist). Same response from the idiots. Couldnt understand a word. These guys were Dubliners.

What can be done?

Nothing. I would have left these guys alone, they sounded dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

OP is awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Neanderthal bone heads. Thankfully, they are a very small minority, and are mostly a relic of our troubled history. Same breed that were present at the Love Ulster march in Dublin a few years back I would imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I usually find those kind of people are massive hypocrites. They understand hardly any Irish, don't have a clue about Irish history and follow british teams and watch british telly etc.

I guess every country has to have it's share of idiots and these kind of guys are ours.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

What did you say in Irish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

"what is patriotism, do you think? cos I think you pair are in the wrong country."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

That's a good story, but I'm not sure you have a proper conception of religious fundamentalism. Do you think it mentions stabbing prods and the IRA in the bible? There's no need to respond to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

In fairness, I don't think that is as much religious fundamentalism than mere nationalism. It's just mere sectarianism. It's hardly as if they were going to kill people for their differences in theology, or even that they knew what differences there were.

Besides if they really wished to stab a "protestant cnut" they have plenty of opportunity to do so in the Republic let alone in the North. Not that that is even relevant, since many of the Irish rebels were actually Protestants themselves (Wolfe Tone, Robert Emmett etc.)

Pittens wrote: »
    Good call on speaking Irish. I did that in a pub debate once with some w*nker who was pro-IRA and I was anti. ( I am somewhat nationalistic but anti-terrorist). Same response from the idiots. Couldnt understand a word. These guys were Dubliners.

What can be done?

Nothing. I would have left these guys alone, they sounded dangerous.

fair play to you. Yeah, I would have said nothing, but at the end of the day I was going to be started on anyway given where they sat on the bus. Wrong place wrong time and all that. I'm fcuking really annoyed though.

It's the second funny gaeilge story I've been involved in though - once I was working in security and a cnut started on me in front of his mates cos I was speaking Irish - he was angry at my kind coming over here taking all the jobs! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

genericguy wrote: »
    "Cad is tírghgrá ann, an gceapann tú? Ní ceapaim go bhfuil an beirt agaibh sa tír ceart" ?

For someone who got a D1 in pass Irish :o:p what does the above mean?

" What is.... do you understand? You don't understand......"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

"Cad is tírghgrá ann, an gceapann tú? Ní ceapaim go bhfuil an beirt agaibh sa tír ceart"

Translate: What is patriotism, what do you think? I don't think that the two of you are in the right country.

But yes, I've had several run-ins in the past with **** from both sides of the fence (Republican and Unionist) and both extremes are equally bad and equally obselete.

But the "Ooh ah, up da 'Ra" crowd who think they're deadly and know nothing of history or culture of what they are chanting about are the biggest tools and jerks going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Fair Balls man! Could of got your head kicked in for mouthing off!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I was on the bus through town there two hours ago, when two very loud lads from norn iron got on. Since i was the only person on the upper deck of the bus, I knew it was immediately a bad sign when one of them sat beside me and the other sat behind me...

anyway, the two cnuts in question proceeded to extremely loudly spout the greatest pile of bravado shyte i've ever heard about stabbing this protestant cnut and that protestant cnut, and every other protestant cnut that was in between. the two of them were talking about the "poxy PSNI cnuts" and how "at least an garda siochána can speak fcuking irish when they're arresting you, they're patriots like, when you speak irish to the PSNI they just throw you in the car". at this stage, i couldn't hold it in anymore, and, as uncomfortable as i felt, i broke my bollix laughing. They both started angrily asking why I was laughing - "Do you not agree with us? You proddy cnut, we're fighting for this country, we're the real IRA and patriots and we'll kill you".

So I figured I might aswell get a laugh if I'm going to be knifed by the "REAL" IRA and I asked the loudest one: "Cad is tírghgrá ann, an gceapann tú? Ní ceapaim go bhfuil an beirt agaibh sa tír ceart" and the pair of them just looked at me and said "can you not speak english you proddy cnut?". At this stage the bus stopped and they decided they were getting off to mouth obscenities at me from outside. Fine by me.

I have to say, despite my smart-arsery I did feel fairly uncomfortable though. How do pricks like this not know that nobody actually gives a fcuk what they have to say? Are they actually aware that they are completely fcuking redundant and bear no relevance in the real world?

To be honest I find attitudes like theirs fairly frightening, especially when they were around my age (early/mid twenties), given that the troubles were all but over by the time they were old enough to read.

Anyone else had any run ins with such gobshítes?

That has nothing to do with religion, it's political bollocks.

raah! wrote: »
    That's a good story, but I'm not sure you have a proper conception of religious fundamentalism. Do you think it mentions stabbing prods and the IRA in the bible? There's no need to respond to that.

sorry raah and jakkass, I did mean for the term to be used lightly - these pricks seemed to think that they were doing what they claimed to be doing to "proddy cnuts" because they were "proddy cnuts". I know better, but the fact that they didn't seem to is what annoyed me the most about the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Something about them not being in the right country.

I'm very rusty and can't figure out what tírghgrá means though.

EDIT: Doh...too late. Didn't see DazMarz's post above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Cuddlytroll

Strangely, this kind of sectarianism/nationalism doesn't actually bother me too much - scumbags are scumbags everywhere. Having lived in Belfast the last year I take more issue with armchair republicanism from people who should no better.

I have the feeling that YourShields did not read the thread.

OP, would be a good idea to change the title to Nationalist extremists on Dublin Bus, or somesuch,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Leave them alone they were just expressing themselves.

Faith+1 wrote: »
    Fair Balls man! Could of got your head kicked in for mouthing off!

cheers, although i reckon saying nothing can get you just as much grief. one of these days i will get a slap though cos i can never help myself and keep my mouth shut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

The amount of times ive heard skangers say we are in or know members of the IRA. The fact that they say it proves that they are not. These skangers are dieing out hopefully. Fair play for calling them up on it.

I remember some random skanger was talking to me when i went outside of a pub for a smoke. He asked me about some Celtic match and i said i dont follow them. He asked me who i supported and i said Shelbourne. He said "but ya like celtic yeaaah" and i said i hated them. This ensued with a tirade of "You're just a west brit" :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Uneducated gobschite's thats all they were, OP.
    They probably couldn't hold a decent informed conversation or debate with anyone here in AH.
    Just stupid gobschites and not more. I wouldn't give them a second thought.
    I'd be more worried about "will I get to the pub before it closes?" to be honest!

caseyann wrote: »

here we go, the daily troll - they called me a protestant cnut and threatened to kill me, that's not freedom of speech. píss off back to your gaff under the bridge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

caseyann wrote: »
    Are you fúcking kidding me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Are you fúcking kidding me?

Yes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Religious fundamentalism on Dublin Bus- 'I don't know what a jihad is'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

My favourite part is when they get out to say things from outside :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

raah! wrote: »
    My favourite part is when they get out to say things from outside :D
    They were probably moving to their usual position anyway.
    Out in the cold (and still not a clue between them)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Retards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

I think this pretty much sums up those types of people anyway, if you're to take the video literally that is:pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

OP as Samuel Johnson once said, "Patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

Pittens wrote: »
    OP, would be a good idea to change the title to Nationalist extremists on Dublin Bus, or somesuch,

exactly - OP its called sectarianism not religious fundamentalism - two seperate breeds

TBH I think you purposely posted a wrong header

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

Risteard wrote: »
    I think this pretty much sums up those types of people anyway, if you're to take the video literally that is:pac:.

Funny thing is their making fun of those people like the OP met and those lads take it seriously 'Oh ya up their 'Ra their great blah blah blah.' However if you actually presented them with the facts and what the IRA were REALLY like and maybe brought them up to NI and showed them the people whose lives on both sides they had destroyed they'd be quick changing their tunes.
    Imagine being someone who had lost a family member in an IRA bombing and having to listen to that carry on!? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Funny thing is their making fun of those people like the OP met and those lads take it seriously 'Oh ya up their 'Ra their great blah blah blah.' However if you actually presented them with the facts and what the IRA were REALLY like and maybe brought them up to NI and showed them the people whose lives on both sides they had destroyed they'd be quick changing their tunes.
    Imagine being someone who had lost a family member in an IRA bombing and having to listen to that carry on!? :mad:
    the two lads in the OP WERE from northern ireland?

I dont think for a second that those tools have ever been involved with any IRA for one second.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

zuroph wrote: »
    the two lads in the OP WERE from northern ireland?
    I didn't say that, I said that maybe if they were brought up to NI and presented with the real facts about the IRA and shown someone whos life had been severely affected by them they'd change their tune and wouldn't be glorifying them or think that harming a person purely based on their religion is 'cool'. I mean how did these guys even know they people they supposedly said they had killed were even protestants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

sorry raah and jakkass, I did mean for the term to be used lightly - these pricks seemed to think that they were doing what they claimed to be doing to "proddy cnuts" because they were "proddy cnuts". I know better, but the fact that they didn't seem to is what annoyed me the most about the situation.

They''re not all like that. There is scum in many places...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

These guys were talking utter shhhiteee anyone that was ever a member of the IRA have to take an oath of alligance and are not permitted to speak to anyone outside their own unit about their membership or any activaties they were involved with going against this is punishible by death.:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    I dont think for a second that those tools have ever been involved with any IRA for one second.

ya don't think :P :P Doubt too many of the Provos back in the day or even actual RIRA or CIRA men today go round on the Dublin Bus threatening people by saying their members of a secret paramilitary organisation and that gives them a right to kill you...

seeing as one of the obligations in the Green Book is that you don't even tell your own family that your a member or that you have an involvement I can't see too many IRA men showing off their true colours on a bus now :P

some boys these lads were but took a bit of balls to start giving a bit of cheek back now - could have turned nasty lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

EDIT - I use the term 'religious fundamentalism' lightly (Can a mod change the title from religious to nationalist please?)- the fact is cnuts like these have no idea whatsoever why they hate the people they purport to hate. why won't they hurry up and die out?

You can change the title yourself.
    Just double click beside it (not on it, just to the right) when you're on the front AH page.
    Or click Edit in your first post, go advanced and change it in the title field there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Uneducated idiots, typical twats who are anti protestant for no reason at all, spouting off crap like that. If they had any clue they would realise the one all republicans including myself look up to is Wolfe Tone, a protestant.

I havent any time for people like this who only want to be part of a problem and not interested in reading history to learn from it and try contribute to a solution and a new future.

Fair play OP for pulling them up on it, stupid scumbags, people who talk don’t know and those who know don’t say a thing. I wouldn’t believe these to be involved with any organisation, just typical wannabe idiots who know nothing if making sectarian comments like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

I love the way they were calling you a proddy cnut after you spoke in Gaeilge.

I've also come across chavs that try to make out they're IRA when the twats probably don't even know who Michael Collins was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

*picture of guy wearing Celtic jersey protesting foreign sports at Croke Park*

These guys were talking utter shhhiteee anyone that was ever a member of the IRA have to take an oath of alligance and are not permitted to speak to anyone outside their own unit about their membership or any activaties they were involved with going against this is punishible by death.:eek::eek::eek:

the phrase that immediately springs to mind is

"there are two types of people; those that do things, and those that talk about doing things."

what really bothers me is that a pair of cnuts like this exist, and that they will undoubtedly find more impressionable young people to contaminate during the course of their lives.

bastards, i'm still a bit annoyed now about it. time for a fry i think. ahh, sabbaticals. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

MUSSOLINI wrote: »

Nothing worse then southerners putting their R in where it does'nt concern them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

A little bit of education would go a long way with people like this, I never cease to be amazed at how stupid these people are, all the "Real" IRA have been for a long time is a bunch of petty criminals and drug dealers who seem to be able to justify any action - no matter how low on patriotism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

smell of BS imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

You seem to have in-depth knowledge of IRA internal rules. Hmm...do want to admit to something?

:p

You seem to have in-depth knowledge of IRA internal rules. Hmm...do want to admit to something?

:p
    Haha, he is fairly right though... from what I have read ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Call me a cynic but OP's story seems to be a might unbelievable.

Maybe I have under-rated the power of " an cupla focál "