Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Head down toilets in school?

• 23-07-2010 11:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭

The statement on the other thread made me think? Is that still going on.Isnt it perceived as a form of bullying? And has it happened to you?

I haven't had experience of it,but i have heard things from guys i know,where it damaged their first year of school and kind of damaged them a bit also.
    How did you feel about it if happened to you,and if you were the bully why would you do it? To belittle another kid and make yourself feel superior?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

caseyann wrote: »
    The statement on the other thread made me think? Is that still going on.Isnt it perceived as a form of bullying? And has it happened to you?

I haven't had experience of it,but i have heard things from guys i know,where it damaged their first year of school and kind of damaged them a bit also.
    How did you feel about it if happened to you,and if you were the bully why would you do it? To belittle another kid and make yourself feel superior?
    Is there any other way to perceive having your head dunked into a toilet? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Markom5a

Cos it's funny? :p

Ah no seriously the state of school toilets these daysit would be fairly harsh! You'd want a serious grudge against someone to do it to them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Ahhhhh noo...

It is rare. Most bullying these days takes the form of setting up bebo pages etc.

Some guy tried to do it to me and I bet the crap out of him, problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Is there any other way to perceive having your head dunked into a toilet? :confused:

I should hope there wouldn't,but people tend to mock it and accept it like its some kind of right of passage,pardon the pun,would you if in school seeing it done to someone who is already terrified of new school and beginning watch or stop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I remember kids being actually being pissed (by groups of others) on in my school. Don't remember heads ever going down the toilets though.

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Ahhhhh noo...

It is rare. Most bullying these days takes the form of setting up bebo pages etc.

Some guy tried to do it to me and I bet the crap out of him, problem solved.

lol haha the proper justice i salute you :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Isnt it perceived as a form of bullying?

When it happens in school = bullying
    when it happens anywhere else = crime

stovelid wrote: »
    I remember kids being actually being pissed (by groups of others) on in my school. Don't remember heads ever going down the toilets though.

Thats disgusting :mad:

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,529 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Yay i inspired a thread.

Seriously though, it was more a thing that happened to every (male) first year in my school, it was a form of bullying for sure but it wasn't like they were picking on the one kid every day. More a rights of passage thing. The other was getting hung head first over the banister by the leaving certs. And then on our birthdays(not something you'd make common knowledge if you could help it) all the lads in the class would pin you down and slap your stomach really really hard, these were your supposed mates. Teenage boys are NASTY. :)

Girls got egged on their birthdays.

God my school sounds like a prison! IT really wasnt too bad.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    When it happens in school = bullying
    when it happens anywhere else = crime

Sorry shouldnt it be crime in both areas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Never happened in my school, more likely any of the cheeky kids got a few digs to set them straight

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Yay i inspired a thread.

Seriously though, it was more a thing that happened to every (male) first year in my school, it was a form of bullying for sure but it wasn't like they were picking on the one kid every day. More a rights of passage thing. The other was getting hung head first over the banister by the leaving certs. And then on our birthdays(not something you'd make common knowledge if you could help it) all the lads in the class would pin you down and slap your stomach really really hard, these were your supposed mates. Teenage boys are NASTY. :)

Haha, the birthday beatings!! When your son asks to stay home on his bday let him!

Anyone else get their bags turned inside out and "knobbed" with tipex? Thats what everyone does these days. Explaining that to the mother is fun.

Yay i inspired a thread.

been egged is kind of a joke and do it to each other,which while not good for the clothes not bad i dont think.
    The other stuff you mentioned sounds like way out there:eek:

Sorry shouldnt it be crime in both areas?
    No, they are just kids. Pressing charges or anything is OTT.

been egged is kind of a joke and do it to each other,which while not good for the clothes not bad i dont think.
    The others are kind of jokes too. Guys always push it to the next level :)

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,529 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

No idea if it still goes on, I'm 27 now a lot could have changed, but yeah after typing it like that it sounds like a mad house. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

Never seen it happen but my old school did it with style...

Roman Candle firework lobbed into an occupied jacks.

Sweeeet;).

Anyone else get their bags turned inside out and "knobbed" with tipex? Thats what everyone does these days.

Or cutting the bottom out of school bags so when they were picked up, everything fell out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

Yay i inspired a thread.

I'm sooo glad I wasn't a boy! But got fecking egged a few times on my birthday / if I got an award for something...it was still fecking sore and a pain to wash out, especially if it was an egg / flour mixture :(

I never heard of anyone actually ever getting their head flushed down a toilet though, perhaps it was just something that was kept quiet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I've actually never seen it happen. The first school I was in, everyone used to get 'jocked' by the 6th years.
    Second school everyone was too busy looking cool, being slightly stoned and complaining about commercialism.

Stuff like turning bags inside out is not really bullying because I think everyone has had their bag turned inside out by their friends but I do not think too many of my friends were willing to stick my head down a toilet

Or cutting the bottom out of school bags so when they were picked up, everything fell out.
    Yeah haha, Or supergluing books shut! :)

Bags in my last post had to be those cheap 80s school bags with UNITED or LIVERPOOL on them...they had a kind of a square bottom so you could cut them off.

We also used to call Wegdies, Frizzies for some reason.

One time we threw this guys bag out the window onto a roof below. When he was leaning out to get the bag we grabbed his legs and threw him out on to the roof too, then locked the windows. When the teacher got back she wasnt happy! haha

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    Stuff like turning bags inside out is not really bullying because I think everyone has had their bag turned inside out by their friends but I do not think too many of my friends were willing to stick my head down a toilet

Friends only beat you up on your birthday, it was the older kids that would do the ducking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

We padlock peoples bag and in my old school there was th dreaded "Wedgie week" for the last two weeks of school, basically the sixth years wedgied/kicked the shít out of the first years.

Having people who commit assault and/or criminal damage charged with these crimes = OTT

Your ideas are intriguing to me and I wish to subscribe to your newsletter............

I wouldn't imagine been charged but they are in their late teens and alot older,but punished would be something to be done.I dont know i was pretty lucky in school and anyone pushed me bully wise i got them ten fold.Or once i got punched by a guy in higher year than me, the people in the class reported his ass :D
    The others are kind of jokes too. Guys always push it to the next level :)
    Maybe because i am a woman and i see it from emotional side,i see it a problem and boys dont?
    No idea if it still goes on, I'm 27 now a lot could have changed, but yeah after typing it like that it sounds like a mad house. :o

lol sounds very mad,or are you still mucking about doing whacked out things :D

Thats disgusting :mad:

Toughens a chap up. Look at Bear Grylls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Jaysus, I thought it was tough to be a girl growing up!!! Sooo glad I wasn't a lad :eek:

Most we ever got was egged on our birthdays!!!!

That doesn't happen to my sons but then again they are on the school rowing team and on their birthdays the birthday lad gets a "leg and a wing" into the river corrib!!! Definitely nicer than some of the stories here:D

Another thing we used to was Squashing,basically if anyone was stupid enough to get near a corner they get shoved into the corner and anyone in earshot basically would squash them in. We had wooden partitions separating some of the class rooms, one day we knocked one off the hinges. The biggest squash i ever saw happened in the toilets, so many people piled in the the person in the corner got pushed up to the ceiling and managed to escape over the top of everyone. Kind of like horizontal pile ups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

Forgot another great 'old school' prank:

Ham, egg and onion sandwich strategically placed down the back of those long, flat radiators in May.

The 'bang' was incredible when we went back to school in September and the caretaker hadn't a fcukin' clue what was causing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Most we ever got was egged on our birthdays!!!!
    Egged and natural yogurted. Hair would be in outstanding condition afterwards though...

Having people who commit assault and/or criminal damage charged with these crimes = OTT

Your ideas are intriguing to me and I wish to subscribe to your newsletter............
    Ah you know what I mean. A schoolyard fight aint assault. Somones bag getting wrecked is not criminal damage.

These things get dealt with in the school. Lines etc.

PM me your CC details and I will see what I can do ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Why what happened in your IT?!

I wouldn't imagine been charged,but punished would be something to be done.I dont know i was pretty lucky in school and anyone pushed me bully wise i got them ten fold.Or once i got punched by a guy in higher year then me and i the people in the class reported his ass

Punished within the school system yeah.

Having people who commit assault and/or criminal damage charged with these crimes = OTT ?

I remember kids being actually being pissed (by groups of others) on in my school.
    Surely forcing a minor to participate in watersports makes them sex offenders in Irish law ?

lol sounds very mad,or are you still mucking about doing whacked out things :D

haha sure occasionally. Ah I was a quiet lad in school though kept me head down, didnt get it as bad as some of the other lads. Good times!

Surely forcing a minor to participate in watersports makes them sex offenders in Irish law ?

Think it was a mistake. The victim said Urin me way and it all started from there.

A schoolyard fight aint assault. Somones bag getting wrecked is not criminal damage.

These things get dealt with in the school. Lines etc.

So normal criminal law doesnt operate on/around school grounds ?

So you think in the case of a schoolyard fight, and a bag being wrecked police should be involved?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Boys are boys, they are boisterous and it's part of their development. If you applied the full rigours of the law to the schoolyard there would be few who would get through school without being on probabtion.

Sure I've had punch-ups with mates about the arse of a fag ffs, and we'd still be sharing a seat on the bus on the way home

We're not talking about systematic bullying here, we're talking about the ordinary rough and tumble of growing up. Wrap kids up in cotton wool and you'll get weaklings. And thats not being macho, thats common sense

Think it was a mistake. The victim said Urin me way and it all started from there.

There's a pun appreciation thread over in the humour forum. I suggest you go over there and THINK ABOUT WHAT YOU'VE DONE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Dudess wrote: »
    Egged and natural yogurted. Hair would be in outstanding condition afterwards though...

Best recession tip I've heard in a while Dudess......I'd forgotten all about this concoction for conditioning hair.

Although I remember some biatches used to mix it with flour and that was tough to get out!!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

So you think in the case of a schoolyard fight, and a bag being wrecked police should be involved?

Depends on what happens in the fight tbh.Bag being wrecked, no.As mentioned in the thread, getting pissed on by a group of people would be pretty bad

If the victim wants it dealt with by the police/courts is there any reason why it shouldnt be ?

I remember corridor of death, corridors in my school were real narrow so half the class would stand on one side and the other half would stand on the other side. Any first year walking in between was ping ponged around the group until they could break free. Was horrible experience to walk through as a first year but funny to watch after that as long as it was not pushed too far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Never encountered this before... Isn't it more of an American/American movie thing?

If the victim wants it dealt with by the police/courts is there any reason why it shouldnt be ?
    lol, thats ridiculous.

Unless the kid is badly hurt.

If a child of yours got a bloody nose in school would you ring the cops? For gods sake man. The courts have better things to do than settling playground feuds.

lThe courts have better things to do than settling assaults.

FYP