Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LIDL warehouse clearout for tenth Birthday

• 23-07-2010 4:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭

I go this release hot off the presses
    Lidl Celebrates 10 Years with Off Site Warehouse Clearance Sale!

Lidl Ireland has just launched its 10 year celebrations, and to commemorate with shoppers, there are 10 weeks of competitions and mega promotions in every single store across the country. In addition to these celebratory in store activities, Lidl has a special birthday present for Dublin and surrounding areas. From Saturday 31st July until Monday 2nd August, Lidl will host a massive, once off warehouse clearance sale at Gulliver’s Retail Park located (Ballymun exit off the M50), Northwood, Dublin 9, which will give bargain hunters the opportunity to get their hands on Lidl’s legendary non food specials at slashed down prices.

Whether you are looking to drive away with bargains on sat navs, sweep up deals on vacuum cleaners or pick up televisions at prices that your eyes won’t believe, there is something for everyone from household and kitchen products to garden and DIY items. That are many items that are colour coded with stickers and are reduced to eight price bands – prices ranging from just 50 cent to 30 Euros not to mention a huge range of customer return items priced to clear with up to 75 percent off! With lots of top of the range electronics at half price like mobile navigation systems (now just €49.99) and HD digital camcorders (now just €64.99) just to mention a couple, there will be bank holiday mayhem at Gulliver’s Retail Park as crowds flock to the warehouse to get in on the birthday blitz event activities.

There are also two other warehouse clearance sales happening around the country if Dubliner’s are out of town for the weekend and don’t want to miss out on Lidl’s birthday bargains. Check out Lough Sheever Corporate Park, Castlepollard Road in Mullingar and East Point Retail Park, Ballysimon Road in Limerick. Opening times for all sales are Saturday 9am till 6pm, Sunday and Monday 10am till 6pm.

Lidl’s commitment to Ireland over the past 10 years has been unwavering and this has certainly been matched with staunch commitment from both staff and customers alike, something the retailer recognises has assisted it to reach this important milestone. Lidl has received huge support in all 121 store locations throughout the country and in acknowledgement of the warm reception and encouragement Lidl has received over the years, it is Lidl’s intent to commemorate this landmark birthday with a bang! For further information about Lidl or to locate your nearest store, visit www.lidl.ie or check out the fan page on Facebook by visiting www.facebook.com/lidlireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

they're putting up billboards for this one, expect throngs of people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭peckerhead

More here.

lidl.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

looks like alot of Harvey Normanesque hype to me, normally the best bargains are the descrete ones that the bargainites spot and post here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Barr

If they advertise it well , it will be thronged with people and you have to get there early before its all gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

They have put up one of those traffic announcement boards beside the main roundabout near the Lidl distribution centre in Mullingar,

It WILL be busy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Oracle

There's a huge billboard for this in Limerick, you can't miss it, it's opposite the exit to Aldi :D Cheeky!

I got 10% off my shopping at Lidl last week, great deal, it was 1 day only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

i want the external hard drive might take a trip over on sunday for it

they've also put one up ON THE MOTORWAY in limerick. Who do I complain to about this illegal sign?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭peckerhead

Oracle wrote: »
    There's a huge billboard for this in Limerick, you can't miss it, it's opposite the exit to Aldi.
    That's not a billboard, that's the new Roxboro drive-in cinema.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Innervision

Does anybody know if there'll be limits on how many of the products on offer you can buy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭IrishEmperor

peckerhead wrote: »
    That's not a billboard, that's the new Roxboro drive-in cinema.

Actually, I'm pretty sure it's a moon ...or a spacestation.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

It's too big to be a spacestation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Anyone know if the steam cleaner would be worth getting for cleaning carpets etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

The steam cleaner is brilliant. But for tiles or wooden floors etc. Not sure if you can use it on carpet.....

I <3 my steam cleaner :)

amdublin wrote: »
    The steam cleaner is brilliant. But for tiles or wooden floors etc. Not sure if you can use it on carpet.....

I <3 my steam cleaner :)

jesus dont use a steam cleaner on a wooden floor. Not a good mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭squishywishy

Anyone know exactly where it is in Dublin?? Know Gulliver Retail Park well. Saw signs for the sale today but drove into retail park and signs vanished....arrows point in weird directions......v confusing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭thomasjad

Never mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭thomasjad

When you go into the gullivers park it's left at the first roundabout it's beside B&Q you'll see it

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Moon

Does anyone know how many units of these things they'll have or what other stuff they'll have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

peckerhead wrote: »
    More here.

lidl.gif
    Pikey? Can't see this going down well with PP :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

I want me one of those bag less vacuum cleaners...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭unklerosco

I've had two of them... They're muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭freebee23

Got one but it was so bad put it out in the shed. Only using it to clean the outdoor playhouse and even at that it's not great.

Steer clear!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭sohappy

thomasjad wrote: »
    When you go into the gullivers park it's left at the first roundabout it's beside B&Q you'll see it

Ther aint no B&Q in Gullivers retail park only Homebase..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Van Occupanther

Anybody been to one of these yet? Notice if they're selling those bluetooth car stereos on the cheap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 sk8gr8

I've been at the warehouse around 9:30 am; car park full 90%, and a 200m - 4 rows waiting line , with restricted access inside( 10 pers /group at once).
    By the looks of it , there were giving something for free .:rolleyes:
    Anyway, the hurdle spirit was all over the place, with people buying all unnecessary stuff, just because there were cheap.
    probably most of the people were there to practice shopping therapy ( they just can't say no to spending )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,774 ✭✭✭jd

Big queues out the door in Gullivers today..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭wingnut

Picked up a few bits but as said earlier people were clearly buying tons of stuff they will never use lol. I was in Limerick, I got:

Wireless keyboard with built in touchpad: 20
    Satellite receiver with HDMI cable (and HDMI out obviously): 20
    White window boxes: 2
    Toilet Seat: 10 ;)

Also of interest might have been a car stereo with Bluetooth, SD card playback etc for €30. Good bargain but wouldn't buy it, my JVC has been going 5 years +

Targa 22" Monitor €80

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

unklerosco wrote: »
    I've had two of them... They're muck.
    freebee23 wrote: »
    Got one but it was so bad put it out in the shed. Only using it to clean the outdoor playhouse and even at that it's not great.

Steer clear!!!!!!!

Cheers for the heads up!! Off to buy a dyson or a Henry Hoover :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

wingnut wrote: »
    Picked up a few bits but as said earlier people were clearly buying tons of stuff they will never use lol. I was in Limerick, I got:

Wireless keyboard with built in touchpad: 20
    Satellite receiver with HDMI cable (and HDMI out obviously): 20
    White window boxes: 2
    Toilet Seat: 10 ;)

Also of interest might have been a car stereo with Bluetooth, SD card playback etc for €30. Good bargain but wouldn't buy it, my JVC has been going 5 years +

Targa 22" Monitor €80

I also went out to have a look in Limerick,saw the queue outside,didnt bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭gussieg

so d'you reckon its worth a go ? or am i better served sitting in til tomorrow or monday i+f even-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

jd wrote: »
    Big queues out the door in Gullivers today..
    went there at 1 and a crazy queue in the rain, said **** that and went home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Anyone in the Dublin store today?....anything worth going for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭ricman

THERES bike saddles gel filled, ten euro, full carpenter type rotary saw,20euro reduced from 40.SATELLITE SYSTEMS ,WITH DISH,LNB, 38 EURO.
    good sds drill 30 euro.1gig mp3 player,ten euro or 15 ,not sure of the price on this item . loads of pliers/tools various sizes 1 euro each,drill bits,BOX OF SCREWS 1 OR 2 EURO.
    mechanics,builders ,rechargable worklight,3ft long,ten euro.
    theres profesional type racing bikes around 600euro.They look nice, i don,t know its thats a good price for a bike.
    various types of duvets, duvet blankets, ten to 15 euro, 150cm,or 200cm sizes.
    builders workwear ten to 15 euro.THERES LOADS OF TOYS AND clothes for kids.
    i was waiting in the queue for 35mins, bring a good coat,or umbrella.THEY let x amount of people in , bit by bit, otherwise it would be mayhem.
    wireless keyboard with wireless mouse 20 euro.special chimney ,soot vacuum cleaner 20euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Decent enough sale. Loads of crazy prices like a 1GB MP3 player for €15 :eek: but plenty of bargains too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭ricman

yeah the mp3 player is 15 euro.I just checked my receipt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

Did anyone get the steam cleaner & decide they don't want it, or even pick up 2 ?

My bloody car wouldn't start this morning & I couldn't get it going until now so I didn't get the chance to go & really wanted one of these. Will pay €50 for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Anyone know if they have the dog seat covers (big enough to cover the entire back seat) in this sale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭wingnut

Racing bike has good components (Ultegra groupset) but looks fugly. It was €699.
    AFAIR the Monitors do not have HDMI. If they did I would have considered it as a bedroom set with the HDMI sat receivers for €20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 allenn

Was up at the sale today in Gullivers Park in Dublin . We were there by 9am to get our place in the line. We were told immediatly that all the external hard drives and sewing machines were gone. I asked the girl managing the queue how many of each item were brought in. Shockingly she said 100!!. Hardly a hundred items constitutes a warehouse sale. Should it not be called a multi-pallet sale? Isn't a warehouse a building which can hold a lot more goods?

If Lidl are going to advertise the hell out of this promotion, why couldn't they have been bothered to make sure that there was adequate stock to match demand

We had coffee in the Eurospar adjacent. Within 10 mins the length of the queue had doubled and there was also a line of cars bumper to bumper on the way in. (It was 9:30 at this time)

Very disappointing.

If this was deliberate to build up a lot of hype around the event and save money by offering small amounts of the stuff, then Lidl have sucessfully pissed off a few thousand people who life myself, wasted their morning.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭phill106

allenn wrote: »
    Was up at the sale today in Gullivers Park in Dublin . We were there by 9am to get our place in the line. We were told immediatly that all the external hard drives and sewing machines were gone. I asked the girl managing the queue how many of each item were brought in. Shockingly she said 100!!. Hardly a hundred items constitutes a warehouse sale. Should it not be called a multi-pallet sale? Isn't a warehouse a building which can hold a lot more goods?

If Lidl are going to advertise the hell out of this promotion, why couldn't they have been bothered to make sure that there was adequate stock to match demand

We had coffee in the Eurospar adjacent. Within 10 mins the length of the queue had doubled and there was also a line of cars bumper to bumper on the way in. (It was 9:30 at this time)

Very disappointing.

If this was deliberate to build up a lot of hype around the event and save money by offering small amounts of the stuff, then Lidl have sucessfully pissed off a few thousand people who life myself, wasted their morning.:mad:

Id have thought 100 of an items was a good amount. When i went into the limerick one yesterday the satnavs was the thing most people were going for. Had a huge bin of them and a staff member in front handing them out, organising them into a line first. Seemed ok way to do it (barring asking the queue outside who wanted what and giving out tickcets). Was busy in there though, optimistic people bringing in trolleys, then abandoning them inside once they realised the added width of the trolley was impeding there shoping dexterity!
    Seen one couple grab 4-5 of those red hoovers yesterday and 2-3 sat navs. They must have one very dirty house somewhere, but not sure how to get there!

Anyone know of any good random stuff on sale today that wasnt in catalogue? A kids playhouse would be great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭jodaw

Never Again ... Was there this morning ... got a printer and got the hell out of there ... Would prefer to pay full price for the feckin printer next time ... I think foreigners should be taught how to form an orderly line ... was there about 10th or so and waiting for 3 poxy hours ... then you see all the little snakes worming their way in at the top of the line ... Giving the ole handshake and chinwag thinking they'll blend in ... no fkin chance sushine ... ten minute before skip to the top of the line and had a argument with Gangoly and his 50 family members that arrive ten minutes before opening ,,, argghhhhh ... poxy kip ... got what i wanted but could not be bothered doing anything like it again ... Funny thing is looking behind me i seen loads of people waiting from really early in the morning and they were demoted to 50th in the line ... Why do people put up with that **** ??? And why dont other people have the common courtesy to join the line at the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭grudgebringer

jodaw wrote: »
    Never Again ... Was there this morning ... got a printer and got the hell out of there ... Would prefer to pay full price for the feckin printer next time ... I think foreigners should be taught how to form an orderly line ... was there about 10th or so and waiting for 3 poxy hours ... then you see all the little snakes worming their way in at the top of the line ... Giving the ole handshake and chinwag thinking they'll blend in ... no fkin chance sushine ... ten minute before skip to the top of the line and had a argument with Gangoly and his 50 family members that arrive ten minutes before opening ,,, argghhhhh ... poxy kip ... got what i wanted but could not be bothered doing anything like it again ... Funny thing is looking behind me i seen loads of people waiting from really early in the morning and they were demoted to 50th in the line ... Why do people put up with that **** ??? And why dont other people have the common courtesy to join the line at the end?

Feel for ya, has to be one of my worst pet peevs .... I hate waiting so long in a queue only to have people skipping, it's for exactly that reason that I will not even go to this 'sale' :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭El_Drago

Have you ever heard of punctuation,or are you going to blame the lack of it on foreigners as well?

I wont even bother to respond to that ... I am sorry but the only people i seen skipping in line were indeed foreigners ... Do they think they have some kind of exemption from this? Or that it could be seen as racism to confront them ??? Bull s hit .. it is called manners and respect for other people and some people badly need to learn a litlle ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭El_Drago

I wont even bother to respond to that ... I am sorry but the only people i seen skipping in line were indeed foreigners ... Do they think they have some kind of exemption from this? Or that it could be seen as racism to confront them ??? Bull s hit .. it is called manners and respect for other people and some people badly need to learn a litlle ...

The same skipping happens at bus stops,mass,shops....need I go on? The common denominator being that both Irish and foreign people do it. Lets also teach these manners to some of our own as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭MuhammadUmar

I am a foreigner but totally agree that many foreigners lack discipline and this is very clear during the sales.

I was in lidl warehouse yesterday and knew about 4 different people who were in the beginning of the que at around 10am. I greeted them and when offered to join I refused. I went whole the way back with my cousin (about 300 meters back) and qued for more than an hour to get in.

I did not get to buy the sat nav and the Hoover, but if I could get a chance to beat the que still won't do it. I should have just woken up earlier.

One thing I noted many of those who showed lack of manners and discipline were from Africa. This is not a racist comment but my observation yesterday in Lidl and always in sales in Next.

Those who are well educated are mostly also the most well mannered. I think education and upbringing Also has an effect on the behaviour and attitude of people.

El_Drago wrote: »
    The same skipping happens at bus stops,mass,shops....need I go on? The common denominator being that both Irish and foreign people do it. Lets also teach these manners to some of our own as well.

Yes it is true that all people do it. But really do they not understand how crazy it can make people? There was a really frenzied atmosphere beginning to build up out there this morning. And lidl did not help. For example if they said we have 30 hard drives on a ticket only basis ... many people would not bother turning up. And just lets make it clear that I am not singling out foreign persons for the sake of it, it is the clear lack of consideration that really got in my nerves. But i done a line skip myself and was one of the first 10 inside myself. A couple of other (non irish i might) followed me up also and we made sure we got in ahead of the skippers. But looking back i really did feel sorry for some people. One girl (also non irish) was ahead of me and was sitting on the ground for hours. When the doors opened there were about fifty people gone ahead of her. I just thought to myself ... i would be flipping if i was her!!! Anyways i got what i wanted ... trolleys were a no go. I was going to hang around a see what else was on offer but could not be bothered as it was a real get the hell out of here atmosphere. I do not even think the prices justified the amount of people. I mean the prices are good and everything but it is not like the stuff is free !!! Just my take on things .. i would not go again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭jakdublin

El_Drago wrote: »

Not this morning mate. I was there and it was just foreigners chancing their arm with the queue jumping. It's not racist to point that out either. I know some of these people are coming from countries where skipping queues is the norm but that's no excuse. I read this Irish/Nigerian magazine a couple of years back and it had a guide for newcomers living in Ireland. It actually pointed out that in Ireland you should join a queue for buses and in post offices etc. That said, Lidl staff should have policed the line better this morning.

It was madness up there this morning. I didn't bother hanging around. Anybody know why the gardai were called at about 10.15am? They were coming in with the blues and twos on as I was leaving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 paul20990

jakdublin wrote: »
    Not this morning mate. I was there and it was just foreigners chancing their arm with the queue jumping. It's not racist to point that out either. I know some of these people are coming from countries where skipping queues is the norm but that's no excuse. I read this Irish/Nigerian magazine a couple of years back and it had a guide for newcomers living in Ireland. It actually pointed out that in Ireland you should join a queue for buses and in post offices etc. That said, Lidl staff should have policed the line better this morning.

It was madness up there this morning. I didn't bother hanging around. Anybody know why the gardai were called at about 10.15am? They were coming in with the blues and twos on as I was leaving

Lidl prices were so good the gardai thought you were robbing the place....