Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tarmac Contractor

• 23-07-2010 4:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭

Does anyone of a very good contractor for laying Tarmac the driveway of my home. I don't a cheap job, I want someone whom does a very good job (that will last a long time) for a fair price. Thanks for all your help.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭tinner777

Does anyone of a very good contractor for laying Tarmac the driveway of my home. I don't a cheap job, I want someone whom does a very good job (that will last a long time) for a fair price. Thanks for all your help.:)

where you at? Lehanes of macroom just done a grand job of my place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Just got a price from Clarkes from Ni. They do a supreme job, they did our last house 6 years ago and it still looks brand new, 10 year guarentee.
    It's Asphalt, machine laid in two layers just like motorways..

Pay peanuts and you get monkeys.. If the house is a keeper then get a good job done..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭King Mallie

Thanks for your replies. Im in galway county. Forgot to put it in original post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭yeahme

I know of a company just outside castlebar, O Malleys i think their name is, when i was there last in mayo I used to see a lot of their trucks around the place. and not too far away from you.

Thanks,
    I will look them up.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

There are a few around Mayo ya, can't think of any more but I heard of one who are very resonable and very good. O'Malleys can be a tad dear.

Would Clarkes go all the way to Mayo to do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

I've just been quoted to do mine by Creggs Driveways. Don't really know much about them but have heard they do alot of school yards so should be reputable enough, anyone heard of their work ??

Works out about €10 sq m. He's laying kerbs for me as well. I was shocked with the price to be honest, we hadn't planned getting tarmac laid yet but because the price seems so good we're gonna go ahead with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

Anyone recommend a good tarmacadam contractor in the Kildare area?

We've had a few call to the door - they drive round and see a house like ours with 804 stone for a driveway and come a knocking - and they quoted us €3,500 - €4,000 for our 280 sq metre driveway.

I'm very dubious of guys knocking on spec as if they were busy, they wouldn't have to drive round looking for business. I'm the cynical type but I've had way more than my fair share of cowboys working on this house.

Nothing laid yet. still doing my homework as it is a huge investment. I have about 900m2 to be laid.

Can anyone PM the number of O malley's ???:)

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=O+malley%27s+road+construction+castlebar+%20

sixth one down ;)

Michael O Malley Roadmaking,
    Ballynew,
    Castlebar,
    Phone: 0949022005

Great, thanks.:rolleyes:

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=no+problem

:) i love this site!!

yeahme wrote: »

We all very happy for you. :eek:

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Be interested to hear what your quote is when you get it. Trying to get an idea of what prices would be to do ours! :)

yop wrote: »
    Be interested to hear what your quote is when you get it. Trying to get an idea of what prices would be to do ours! :)

Jesus there's a possibility that I'll have my drive tarmaced before Yop :eek:
    I followed your self build blog before and while we built our Gaff !!

Heres a simple idea,
    why dont the 3 of you meet up and decide to get your work done together. (AS long as your all from the same area of course) get quotes from all the guys around and bargain for more of a discount. 3 people-families, have more bargaining power than just one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

I'm having Tarmac laid monday next, I'll post details of the contractor here if he's 100%, but I've no doubt he will be, he's been throughly vetted,quizzed,checked and recommended by clients etc.

Jesus there's a possibility that I'll have my drive tarmaced before Yop :eek:
    I followed your self build blog before and while we built our Gaff !!

Lol, plenty to do on ours and lack of the old funds put a stop to the work! :)

Hope u didn't get too many bad habits from our build!!!!! ;)

Fella arrived to start ours last Thursday, kerbs have been laid now waiting for him to return to lay tarmac supposed to be today.

CIMG0454.jpg

CIMG0455.jpg

Will post pic of completed job soon (Hopefully !!)

Nice house should look savage with tarmac done. How much per square metre r u being charged ???

Thanks. I think his rate is €10 per sqm. He's laid the kerbs for me as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭selfbuilder1

I recommend this crowd. They done the drive around my house last week and i am delighted with the job. They use a machine to lay the tarmac so you get a very level job. They are based in Mayo.

Hi ya. Will ya PM their number and how much per m2 is cost. Thanks.

Not sure the price per m2 but I got the following quotes €4500 + VAT from O'Malleys, €3850 incl VAT from Moran, €3500 incl VAT from Mooney & Kirrane, €3400 incl VAT from Michael Harrington.

The price from Mooney & Kirane and Michael Harrington is for a hand laid drive. The price from O'Malley and Moran is for machine laid. O'Malley is very good but I couldn't justify the price difference. Moran had done alot of work around my area and cannot be faulted. I recently saw an asphalt drive he done and it was perfect.

I have PM'd you his number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 littlemeadow

Hi All, sorry for resurrecting this thread, I'm looking for a contact number for Michael Harrington & also Moran's for tarmac

If someone could help me out that would be great :-)

PM sent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 littlemeadow

Thanks a million, that was quick :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭jprboy

Can anyone recommend a tarmac contractor in North Tipp or at least within travelling distance of Nenagh?

Two quick questions also:
    1. Kerbing - is it best to get the tarmac contractor to do this also?
    2. Entrance walls & gate - would it be correct to say that these should be in place before any tarmac is laid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Delboy1999

Hi Selfbuilder,

I am looking to get my driveway machine laid - could you sent me the contact numbers for O'Malley and Morans.

Delboy

If anyone has prices of the Mayo lads per sq m it would be good if you could post them up.

Also what is included in the price?

I have kerbing done and the drive done in hardfill and maintenance.

Delboy1999 wrote: »
    Hi Selfbuilder,

I am looking to get my driveway machine laid - could you sent me the contact numbers for O'Malley and Morans.

Delboy

PM sent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

self builder can you pm me prices for sq m and contractors numbers please i'm looking for prices in the south sligo area
    thanks

cavan4sam wrote: »
    self builder can you pm me prices for sq m and contractors numbers please i'm looking for prices in the south sligo area
    thanks

PM sent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭bugsntinas

this is slightly off topic but does anyone know how much the tarmac is that the councils use to fill holes in the road is?i have a path and a bit of drive to do and as money is tight would like to do it meself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 snowpajero

Hi all, can someone please post up the number for morans tarmac contractors in mayo, can find all the others in phone book, but morans tarmacadam is impossible to find ive heard good things about their work, (super secret CIA tarmacadam contractors or what!!!)
    Thanks in advance.................snow pajero

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

Got a driveway and road in to house done by Mooney and Kirrane last week, really good job, great machinery. Saw a lot of their work before i employed them, other customers were extremely pleased and now I see why. No connection apart from being a very happy customer.

thanks for the reply, ill give them a bell.

hi i'm getting michael harrington to do mine , casey from ballaghadereen area is also good but alas my budget doesnt stretch this far

hi, Casey is coming to price mine around weekend and mooney and kirrane price on monday, I never thought about Harrington, Any harm asking you how much hes doin it for and did you get many quotes

Hi all, Called about 5 different tarmacadam contractors, one turned up next day measured and gave price on the spot...........about 1500 over price chancing his arm. one other came after a week measured up and jumped into van and never gave quote, gave it a couple of days rang office told id be rang back with quote.....another 2 days nothing......rang office again....pretended she knew nothing and it was all new to her even though we had only spoke days earlier!!
    continously rang another man eventually got answer explained my location ( about 4 miles outside ballina) he knew my road ...claimed he had worked in the area......was on the way would be there before i left for work.........that was Wednesday.......its now Monday...no sign.
    I seriously give up, these f**kers are not busy, just pissed off they cant rip people off anymore like the good old days of 2005!!F.Y.I. to future people who find this thread I have been informed by a man in the construction game (hes seen it all !) the going rate in the day was €14/sq meter now its roughly 10 to 11/ sq meter...I wont be taken for a fool, I will however pay a fair price for a good job.............not happy :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

can you re-tarmac over old tarmac or does it have to be taken up first and should it be cheaper or more expensive going over existing tarmac

It would be better to remove old tarmac in my oponion but im no expert.

just had michael harrington do my drive this week , sma for great price AND top class work done , no one in sligo area can touch him on price and believe me i've priced a good few , i can highly reccomend him , pics availible for any genuine enquiries

Hi,glad to hear your job went well, can you send on a pic please? Harrington due to do mine at end of month.
    Quick question, I have the whole drive/yard filled with 804 up to the bottom of the curb.
    I take it they will fill it up the rest of the way before they lay the tarmac?
    Michael Harrington priced it and seemed happy enough so I just took it he was doing it.

snowpajero wrote: »
    Hi,glad to hear your job went well, can you send on a pic please? Harrington due to do mine at end of month.
    Quick question, I have the whole drive/yard filled with 804 up to the bottom of the curb.
    I take it they will fill it up the rest of the way before they lay the tarmac?
    Michael Harrington priced it and seemed happy enough so I just took it he was doing it.

hi there just wondering did you get all done and were u happy with the job harrington did ?

Hi, ya all done! Harrington did a great job, very happy .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭lucybousy

hi anyone any number for sma tarmac in the mullingar area please want someone that does very good work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Thomas Higgins

Hi all,,

i live in Cork, we have contacted over 30 tarmacadam contractors in cork
    each and every one gave ur the run around,,

Buckley Quarries sent there agent out to us,, he gave me a Quote of €30,000 out from drainage and that would of been around another €5000 so TOTAL of €35,000 so been honest thats a joke,,

i stopped at a local guy who had a tarmacadam job done around 5 years ago and still looks like new, asked how much is cost and for a contact number,,

so i contacted Feeney Tarmacadam he was out on the day we agreed on, gave me a price of €14,000 now that makes more sense to me,, here is pictures of my house and i will keep posting as its getting done,, should take around 2 to 3 weeks,, that price covers everything ( Tarmacadam ground work kerbs everything )

Name: Feeney Tarmacadam Address: Ballyduff Upr Waterford Category: Tarmacadam Contractors Phone: (058)60294

tarmacadam25.jpgtarmacadam21.jpgtarmacadam34.jpg
    tarmacadam25.jpgtarmacadam3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭tinner777

google lehanes in macroom, did a great job for me, my before and after pics are on his website, number 7 and 8