Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Giving out to other peoples children!

• 22-07-2010 09:56PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Dont know where the best place to put this so putting it here

Bascially what happened was brought children to Leixlip playground the other day and anyone that knows this playground knows you can sit in your car while the kids play and have full view of the playground

Anyway the kids were playing for about 30 mins when the eldest child came over to the car with the youngest who was crying and all distressed and inconsolable he eldest explained that the youngest was pushing a girl on the swing and she fell off and the mother had come over to her screaming at her saying who "who do you think you are you little bitch" you get away from these swings who do you think you are pushing my child like this"etc she went on and on

When they came over to me and said what had gone down I approached this women who was clearly unstable and said she had no right to upset a 5 year old child like she did How dare she I kept a calm tone throughout (even though I wanted to punch her in the face) my parting words were bloody foreigner and proceeded to leave the playground She thought about what I had said and chased me to the gate screaming "What!!!! you call me bloody forginer" over and over like a lunatic making all the other kids in the playground scared I dont know how I kept my cool I left

The child now does not want to return to this playground

So is it acceptable to give out to someones elses child , would you?

(personally if I had a problem with a child I would approach the parent not scream at the kid)

Giving out to them if they're being brats and parent is nowhere in sight, yeah maybe.
    Roaring abuse at them, not on your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

bloody foreigners coming over here stealing our jobs scaring our kids...

rabble rabble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

What the fúck does her being a foreigner have to do with anything? You're a closet racist madam, and in my humble opinion, no better than that other well know hater of foreigners, Hitler.

Oh, and as an aside, the correct protocol for dealing with another persons children is to pinch them when their parent isn't looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

So you called her a "bloody foreigner" and you're surprised she came shouting after you? Seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

who calls a 5 year old child a bítch?

Op, the woman must have been a fúckwit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Within reason you can,for some circumstances,but not in a matter such as that.It was an accident she is five.What a bully :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

BluesBerry wrote: »
    my parting words were bloody foreigner

And with that you lose all credibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Bascially what happened was brought children to Leixlip playground the other day and anyone that knows this playground knows you can sit in your car while the kids play and have full view of the playground

With that description, don't name the playground whatever you do, for the sake of the kids!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I'm not being smart, but if i brought my kids to the play ground i wouldint sit in the car no matter how close it was to watch them.

The woman was out of order but had you been there (physically, as opposed to sitting in the car) would things have been different?

As i said, not having a go at you but maybe she felt free to verbally abuse a child who had no obvious guardian in sight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Maybe if I saw a child doing something potentially dangerous to themselves and/or other kids and I couldn't see any sign of their parent(s) I might advise them to be careful etc in a gentle but warning tone, but shouting at them? Absolutely no way. And being verbally abusive? That woman sounds crazed!

The "bloody foreigner" thing was completely unnecessary though, even if you were understandably fuming...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭mojesius

TBH, I wouldn't have approached the woman at all. It's one child's words against anothers, there is a chance she was pushed off the swing. Best to leave them to sort out their playground rifts themselves

and not sit in the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

calling your daughter a little bitch is really wrong....

Op if your daughter was running around on a train making loads of noise, Out of curiosity, would you have an issue if some one asked her to be a little more quieter.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Ah you both fucked up, zero sum game. Don't ever lose your moral right by resorting to prejudice, destroys your argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Hm.

From her point of view, an unsupervised kid pushed her child down. I would be upset too since, as the many threads in AH can attest to, unsupervised children are a menace to society can cause problems when you are just trying to mind your own business.

Did you actually ask her what happened and if she called your kid a bitch? Or did you just lay into her?

And what does her being a foreigner have to do with anything? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

I was just stating what happened yes she was foreign I was incredibly annoyed the child was distressed call me a racist all you want but I could have called her way worse I mentioned that just to show you how erratic this woman was she was only short of assaulting the child

Hm.

From her point of view, an unsupervised kid pushed her child down. I would be upset too since, as the many threads in AH can attest to, unsupervised children are a menace to society can cause problems when you are just trying to mind your own business.

Did you actually ask her what happened and if she called your kid a bitch? Or did you just lay into her?

The 5 year old is a very quiet shy child never causes trouble going to the playground for ages now never had a problem until that day

and by the way when did calling someone a bloody forginer become a "racist term" dont care what you think of me I didnt verbally abuse a child and potentially damage that childs self confidence and at the end of the day she was in the wrong and reacted like that to play the racist card because she was accosted in public to make me look the bad person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Heckler

The 5 year old is a very quiet shy child never causes trouble going to the playground for ages now never had a problem until that day

Why don't you get your ass out of the car and actually interact with your child in the playground ? The hell were you doing there ? Just sitting watching ? As stated earlier you lost all credibility with the "bloody foreigner" bit. Christ, i despair sometimes. Why don't you just watch some kids on Tv that way you wouldn't even have to leave the house.......................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

If what your child said is true, then she was out of line going mental. But on the other hand you should take more responsibility for your children, and even if the other woman was unstable answering back in a cowardly way a racist comment is childish if nothing else. And I'm curious if you couldn't see what happened your children then how was it ok for you to sit in your car?

If you're expecting sympathy maybe you should've left out the racism. Or you should've posted in the parenting forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

bloody foreigner

How dare you blah, blah, blah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I was just stating what happened yes she was foreign I was incredibly annoyed the child was distressed call me a racist all you want but I could have called her way worse I mentioned that just to show you how erratic this woman was she was only short of assaulting the child

Ok then - you are a racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

If you ever meet her again and she upsets your child in that manner don't call her a bloody foreigner for fear of upsetting people, just loaf her clear into the head;)

I'm sure that would be less frowned upon

Edit; just a joke obviously for those of you who are overly sensitive :)

racist
    the belief that all members of each race possess characteristics, abilities, or qualities specific to that race , especially so as to distinguish it as inferior or superior to another race or races

Term doesn't fit here, find another bandwagon........

But how do you know what happened if you were in the car?

Maybe he pushed her too hard and it was an accident. But you weren't there, and all this other parent saw was that their kid got pushed down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

A sort of Drive-In Playground? Cool :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

I didn't know it had gotten to the stage where parents are so lazy that they will sit in the car while their children play in the playground. Ridiculous!

squod wrote: »
    Term doesn't fit here, find another bandwagon........

Ah, why just point out my post?

Racist is clearly the wrong term. Care to tell me the correct term then?

Susie_Q wrote: »
    I didn't know it had gotten to the stage where parents are so lazy that they will sit in the car while their children play in the playground. Ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

Blaydin Fordeners

and by the way when did calling someone a bloody forginer become a "racist term" dont care what you think of me I didnt verbally abuse a child and potentially damage that childs self confidence and at the end of the day she was in the wrong and reacted like that to play the racist card because she was accosted in public to make me look the bad person

I didn't call you a racist. I just asked you what her being a foreigner had to do with anything. If she was just mental, then she's just mental, but even that is questionable at this point, since all we know is the kid's version of the story as you apparently didn't ask, and admitted that you weren't actually there.

A sort of Drive-In Playground? Cool :cool:

Or drive-thru playground?

Drive in, throw your child onto a swing, let them hop off (or get pushed :rolleyes: ) and you drive around and let them fall right back into the car. Brilliant stuff. All the fresh air and social interaction they need in 10 seconds.

Hm.

Ehm, OP said the child was pushing the other child on a swing and she fell off!! Accident by the sounds of it rather than one child assaulting another and while we're on the question of where the mothers were, why was the mom in the playground not pushing her own child on the swing??

In fairness, I dunno.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

OP don't mind the PC brigade on here. Obviously a heat of the moment thing after your child was abused.

You did well to keep your calm though mostly. The Holier than thou crap on here does my head in. So don't react, they love it when you do.

I didn't call you a racist. I just asked you what her being a foreigner had to do with anything. If she was just mental, then she's just mental, but even that is questionable at this point, since all we know is the kid's version of the story as you apparently didn't ask, and admitted that you weren't actually there.

I was upset annoyed like I said I could have called her something much worse

maybe if i had of gone up and screamed bitch in her childs face would that have made all of you happy?

Take your pick;

Intolerant, narrow-minded, partial, prejudiced, sectarian, small-minded, xenophobic.

Discrimination against mental people aswell now is it ? Bluddy hell OP when are you gonna stop. Jebus.

I hope I'm not being included in this so called 'PC brigade'. The point I was making was that yer one being foreign has absolutely nothing to do with the argument and yer one tellin the story is being a right feckin cow acting like that.

Shove your ideas of pc-ness up your effin hole.

Ehm, OP said the child was pushing the other child on a swing and she fell off!! Accident by the sounds of it rather than one child assaulting another and while we're on the question of where the mothers were, why was the mom in the playground not pushing her own child on the swing??

OK, pushed on the swing and she fell off is pretty damn close to pushed (and she fell) down. :rolleyes:

If you read my earlier posts, I did suggest that it could be an accident. We don't actually know what the woman said to the kid; 5 year olds aren't exactly crack eyewitnesses. I wouldn't be surprised if she reprimanded him and it probably did scare him a bit (especially since his mother wasn't there)...

And again, what does any of this have to do with the fact that the other woman was a foreigner?

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Take your pick;

Intolerant, narrow-minded, partial, prejudiced, sectarian, small-minded, xenophobic.

How the Mods let Trolls like you persist, is baffling.

Does us a favour and stop bringing down the quality of the forum.

Sectarian, haha...get a grip...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I don't know, I usually interpret the phrase "bloody foreigner" as a judgement on the persons behaviour, in the sense of "bloody foreigner, you wouldn't find my people doing x y or z".
    We'd need to ask the OP what she meant when she used it I guess.

maybe if i had of gone up and screamed bitch in her childs face would that have made all of you happy?

It might have made you happy, but I don't think it would be a good example of behaviour to set for your kids.

Then again, shouting at someone that they are a "bloody foreigner" isn't much better, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

yeah sounds alot better, so are you still going to sit your fat ass in the car when you go to the play ground? or maybe you might hire a bloody foreigner to bring the kids there

DB10 wrote: »
    OP don't mind the PC brigade on here. Obviously a heat of the moment thing after your child was abused.

You did well to keep your calm though mostly. The Holier than thou crap on here does my head in. So don't react, they love it when you do.

How does she know the kid was abused if she was in the car?

Most little kids cry is they are reprimanded sharply by adults, especially strange adults.

OP, did you hear her call your child a bitch?

Did you ask her if she called your child a bitch?

And what does her being a foreigner have to do with anything?

OP, you should request a change for the thread to the parenting forum where your query will be discussed in the correct way. You've asked a serious question in a forum not suited to it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Dont know where the best place to put this so putting it here

Anyway the kids were playing for about 30 mins when the eldest child came over to the car with the youngest who was crying and all distressed and inconsolable he eldest explained that the youngest was pushing a girl on the swing and she fell off and the mother had come over to her screaming at her saying who "who do you think you are you little bitch" you get away from these swings who do you think you are pushing my child like this"etc she went on and on

When they came over to me and said what had gone down I approached this women who was clearly unstable and said she had no right to upset a 5 year old child like she did How dare she I kept a calm tone throughout (even though I wanted to punch her in the face) my parting words were bloody foreigner and proceeded to leave the playground She thought about what I had said and chased me to the gate screaming "What!!!! you call me bloody forginer" over and over like a lunatic making all the other kids in the playground scared I dont know how I kept my cool I left

The child now does not want to return to this playground

So is it acceptable to give out to someones elses child , would you?

(personally if I had a problem with a child I would approach the parent not scream at the kid)

Clearly not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭seamy_orr

Racist < Over-reactive / Over-protective Mother

DB10 wrote: »
    How the Mods let Trolls like you persist, is baffling.

Does us a favour and stop bringing down the quality of the forum.

Sectarian, haha...get a grip...:rolleyes:

If you don't like my posts - report them to a Mod. I doubt they'll find anything in them that would be considered "trolling" & would probably take more of an exception to your backseat modding & you calling other posters "trolls".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

You claim you can see your kids playing, yet you didn't see any of this happen?

ffs, get out of your car and take some responsibility for your kids. If you were doing that none of this would have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

How does she know the kid was abused if she was in the car?

Most little kids cry is they are reprimanded sharply by adults, especially strange adults.

OP, did you hear her call your child a bitch?

Did you ask her if she called your child a bitch?

And what does her being a foreigner have to do with anything?

Also [Samuel L] Does she look like a bitch [/Samuel L]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Did anyone say "Wont someone think of the children" yet?