Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting high by listening to your iPod

• 20-07-2010 9:00pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭

Its called iDose. Sounds like a load of shít but did anyone here try it out.

Im too afraid to try it out as ending the sound suddenly while using this can cause brain damage.... :eek::rolleyes:

Theres things you have to do to achieve this "high".

What should I do to try this out?

1. Sit or lie down in a comfortable place.
    2. Wear your headphones.
    3. Choose your desired state from the following list: http://www.i-dose.us/
    4. Close your eyes and enjoy the ride.

Videos of people spazing out while listening to these mp3s:

I CALL SHENANIGANS or is this another bs thing started on that 4chan website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I prefer to get high...

...in a lift!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

We had a thread on this already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Whats wrong with drink drugs and ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

orourkeda wrote: »
    Whats wrong with drink drugs and ****

Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Bit pricey innit

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Bit pricey innit

free on stream,i suppose you could just record a stream on audacity and transfer it to your ipod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

people are using this to get high??

Good news for deaf people....MORE WEED!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

If this worked, how long would it take enterprising musicians to jam as much of it as possible into their records?

My guess is about half an hour.

It doesn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,112 ✭✭✭Sarn

Is this not iDope?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Sarn wrote: »
    Is this not iDope?

hi dope

found myself a free download,shall give a response

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

There's an example of these binaural beats on Wikipedia, I spent about 10 minutes listening to it. Think the effect is mostly a placebo, I just felt kind of relaxed, unless the one uploaded to Wiki is much weaker than the ones you'd buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Robby91

Hmm... first guy seems a bit suspicious - facial expression is a tad similar, at times during the video, to
    i_came_anime.jpg?1274507044

Getting high to his iPod, ye...
    >.>
    <.<

Brendog wrote: »
    Good news for deaf people....MORE WEED!!!

Why are you SHOUTING, they can't hear you - they're DEAF - duuh :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Dude I listened to, like, your link and, like, woah.... totally deja vu! :eek::eek::eek:

Like..... totally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Why are you SHOUTING, they can't hear you - they're DEAF - duuh :rolleyes:

oh yeah sorry...

what I meant was: ..:`..::.`.:`.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

Never heard of it but Gimodo have an article about it today:

http://gizmodo.com/5591975/parents-your-kids-arent-getting-high-i+dosing-mp3s

Sounds interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

best to be drunk whilst listening to your ipod to get 'high' cause I got 'high' because I got 'high'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Does no one else just see this as kids listening to music? You know the kind of songs that really speak to you, mean something? I always get a rush off them, sometimes even a boner or two

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭minister poxbottle

Joe duffy think about it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

It's interesting to think though that there could be a "Digital" Drug. No doubt that Teens will experiment with this, whether it works or not, an alternative to Head Shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Dman001 wrote: »
    Never heard of it but Gimodo have an article about it today:

http://gizmodo.com/5591975/parents-your-kids-arent-getting-high-i+dosing-mp3s

Sounds interesting.
    I want my information speedballs. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

I doubt it will make anyone strip naked and climb a tree to shake hands with God anytime soon.

Though if you did and got busted by the filth can you imagine trying to explain that it was all your ipods fault.

You'd be off to Dundrum in record time and not to the shopping centre either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Podman

There are another two of these..

The iGullible, and

The iDrink-a-bottle-of-bleach

the second one is usually followed by The iFlip-around-on-the-floor.

why, why, why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 fnikator

The concept is certainly interesting. I'm hearing more about it from other sources around here, apparently its starting to take off a little in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

I can imagine lads on street corners selling LS-CD's that they downloaded

yeah i just fell asleep listening to it,no trip

I tried the i-doser.com samples... the Orgasm one certainly was... interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

What is this I don't even..

danniemcq wrote: »
    I can imagine lads on street corners selling LS-CD's that they downloaded

Theres a dealer affiliation program on i-doser.com :D

fnikator wrote: »
    Theres a dealer affiliation program on i-doser.com :D
    yeah some email like gilligansisland32@jailmail.com

seems a bit dodgy for me now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

This reminds of a lad I knew who used to sell idiots herbs and stuff pretending it was hash, and they all believed they were getting high and kept buying the stuff.

The Placebo Effect (and no I don't mean the automatic reaching for the off button on the radio when Placebo comes on)

Wow, theres quite a few of these sites around.
    "Binaural beats" seems to have been around for quite a while. Sounds a bit new-age to me, but I may try one or two anyway.

I don't see the big deal. Some of the ambient noise one's on the .us site are kind of relaxing but the one's off the .com site are crap. Poor quality, really white noisy. Might be someway better if the audio was cleaner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

I tried this a few years back, it did sweet feck all... :D I've known people that its apparently worked for but I'd say the placebo effect more than anything....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Brown noise is the best one it's free on youtube too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Binaural_beats

Go to the wikipedia page above and listen to the Binaural Beats Sample 2. Even 5 or 10 mins of it, then turn it off and listen to normal ambient noise. Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Wow...it...really...works...here...are...my...money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 ChallengerDeep

I downloaded one of them, but at 30 minutes long I just do not have the patience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Podman

There are quicker ways to self-harm, you need a shrink more than you need this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 ChallengerDeep

I was just curious really, wanted to see if there was anything in it.

I tried one out over lunch...

it definitely had an effect! its pretty odd alright. did not expect that at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Opinicus

This reminds of a lad I knew who used to sell idiots herbs and stuff pretending it was hash, and they all believed they were getting high and kept buying the stuff.

Knew a guy who cut up a sod of turf and sold it to several fellas who were smokin for the first time.

It was priceless watching them smoking and trying not to cough:cool:

orgasm one works,more just a tingle in the balls rather than a full out fap session though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I'm listening to the binaural beats on Wikipedia and they're just annoying. It sounds like my laptop's dying :(

WONT SOMEBODY PLEASE THINK OF THE CHILDREN?!

I love the comments.
    When I started I-Dosing a year ago it was just for fun. I had an otherwise normal life. Fast forward to now... I've been layed off, I lost my car, and I I-Dose every chance I can get. To pay for my fix I rob unlocked cars and a couple of times prostituted myself, just for the iTunes money. I'm probably losing my apartment soon, but I don't care, all I need is my iPod and my headphones. Can't wait to iDose again...
    - Stuart Miller, Sheboygan, USA, 21/7/2010
    I was at a local basketball court in Philadelphia and some friends and I were playing a game. A couple of guys came down the street and they were listening to headphones. They were talking crazy and started fighting. Turns out, they were "dosing." My mom was so upset she sent me to live with my aunt and uncle here in California.

- F Prince, Belair, US, 21/7/2010 13:17

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

They all pronounce Hades like "hayds" .:(

It costs $200,wtf?
    Smart people making money off idiots.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

ScumLord wrote: »
    Brown noise is the best one it's free on youtube too.

Don't think most folks would be able to get that'un loud enough...

...wouldn't be the brown affect I'd be worried about with that'un though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

Isn't getting a large number of your neurons to fire in synchrony the prerequisite for an epileptic seizure?