Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Junior Championships (Ciara Mageean wins 1500m Silver)

• 20-07-2010 5:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭

Paul Robinson has made it through to the 1500m final - well done to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

drrunner wrote: »
    Paul Robinson has made it through to the 1500m final - well done to him.

How about McBrearty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭drrunner

13th in his heat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭TrackFan123

I've been looking on the iaaf website and only results they have put up were the first heat of the decathlon 100m!! Absolute joke. No streams either or television coverage.

Thats great news about Robinson, tough on McBrearty he is clearly a better 800m runner but was entered in the 15

Its great news about Robinson he is clearly in his best shape and his coach is good at getting athletes performing at there best at championships (remember a certain Costello in Euro juniors)
    McBrearty had a good run considering injury this year. Alot of middle distance talent coming through its great to see

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Giants Causeway

Great run by Paul Robinson - great start to the championships!! It'll be good experience for Darren McBrearty - he was unlucky to be third fastest over 800m at the time of selection. Great to see the three of them there though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭longjump67

Great performance from Robinson ran close to his pb, Mc Bearty was ranked slowest in his heat which was stacked would have had to run 3.44 odd to make final. More to come from these talented bunch of middle-distance runners.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Robinson is one tough hombre, never beaten and gutsy as hell. I'd imagine championship racing will suit him.

Pa Maher 2nd in his heat goes through to the next round today. Tim Crowe fails advance.

Great running from the lads so far in Canada some solid performances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Tingle wrote: »
    Robinson is one tough hombre, never beaten and gutsy as hell. I'd imagine championship racing will suit him.

Great running alright. I think Colm McClean was our last distance finalist at World Juniors?

Unfortunately for Robinson, he has deal with this '18 year old' dictating the final at serious pace.

http://cache2.asset-cache.net/xc/88919134.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921CC759DF4EBAC47D0EAEEF3A611824C1235E6EABB2A37209E998E37B5B1036978E30A760B0D811297

ecoli wrote: »
    Pa Maher 2nd

Another tough hombre. As cool as customer as you are likely to meet. Has that attribute rarely seen in a young hurdler still learning his game, a vicious kick off the last hurdle. Will need to run 50. to make top 8 I'd say. Big ask but he has the cute Cork hoor mentality so we'll see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Tough draw for Maher. He's in the 3rd of 3 semis, and is the 5th fastest by SB, with two plus two fastest losers to progress. Jehue Gordon is in his heat. He ran 48.26 LAST year!

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Tough draw for Maher. He's in the 3rd of 3 semis, and is the 5th fastest by SB, with two plus two fastest losers to progress. Jehue Gordon is in his heat. He ran 48.26 LAST year!

Tough heat but you know what there is Gordon way ahead, then Jack Green and a gaggle after that within half a second. The way Pa ran at Nationals I believe he has a 50. in him. Whether that is tomorrow with the heat and all that I don't know, maybe not but you never know.

Christine McMahon will have to run a junior record to progress in the women. If she gets her patterns, I think she will run 58. and a new record. If she doesn't get her patterns, who knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭deco1610

Christine McMahon fails to advance to 400mH final running 60.19

http://www.iaaf.org/wjc10/results/eventcode=4146/racedate=07-22-2010/sex=W/discCode=400H/combCode=hash/roundCode=h/results.html#detW_400H_hash_h

Pa Maher running in his semi soon, and Robinson on later in the 1500 final

Pa Maher 6th in 52.46. Good experience for him and well done on getting to the semi final.

Great to see 6 europeans in the 1500m final and Paul amongst them.I think the standards in both Ireland and UK are improving in middle distance at junior level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭notsofast

I presume Ciara Magaen is running the 1500m heats tomorrow? no startlist yet on IAAF website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭TJC

Great running alright. I think Colm McClean was our last distance finalist at World Juniors?

Unfortunately for Robinson, he has deal with this '18 year old' dictating the final at serious pace.

http://cache2.asset-cache.net/xc/88919134.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921CC759DF4EBAC47D0EAEEF3A611824C1235E6EABB2A37209E998E37B5B1036978E30A760B0D811297

Sure he only looks 16 :rolleyes::rolleyes:

I see that a throw of 53.39M made the final of the womens hammer, young Hickey (KCH) would have been very close to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭smcclaw

longjump67 wrote: »
    I see that a throw of 53.39M made the final of the womens hammer, young Hickey (KCH) would have been very close to that.

3 of her throws at the nationals last week were further than that.

Am I right in saying that juniors and seniors both throw a 4kg ball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

smcclaw wrote: »
    3 of her throws at the nationals last week were further than that.

Am I right in saying that juniors and seniors both throw a 4kg ball?

I believe both Juniors and Seniors throw the same weight. Pity she wasn't there.

Pa won't be happy but that's because he is ambitious. Junior next year again.

Conditions are brutal over there.

In what way - wind, heat??

The 10k times indcated great conditions for that events.

In what way - wind, heat??

The 10k times indcated great conditions for that events.

Wind and pissing rain earlier. Has been scorching most other days.

Paul Robinson has withdrawn from the 800m in Canada and allowed Darren McBrearty the opportunity to race. I know it would be too soon after the 1500m final but still noteworthy that he made the call in time for McBrearty to run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭theflash800

Paul Robinson has withdrawn from the 800m in Canada and allowed Darren McBrearty the opportunity to race. I know it would be too soon after the 1500m final but still noteworthy that he made the call in time for McBrearty to run.

that's good. McBrearty is a class 800m runner. Definitely more 800 than 1500. Hopefully he runs as well as the National Seniors.

Wind and pissing rain earlier. Has been scorching most other days.

Yeah, think the pole vault was postponed a day due to the conditions.

Looks like the circle is gonna be slippy for the hammer qualifying

What a very sporting gesture by young Robinson, allowing Mc Brearty another crack at a final, speaks volumes for the young man

paul Robinson finnishes a creditable 9th place in the 1,500m final in 3.44.56 ;) well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭IrishTrackFan1

paul Robinson finnishes a creditable 9th place in the 1,500m final in 3.44.56 ;) well done

well done to Paul, his family, his coach and all the people at his club!

Ciara wins heat 2 of the 1,500m and qaulifies for the final in 4.16.73 :D about 4 seconds slower than heat 1;)

Post race interview from IAAF site

Ciara MAGEEAN (IRL) - 1st in HEAT 2 - 4:16.73

The first heat was very fast, and our heat was slower. It’s nice to be able to qualify with a more comfortable time. I’m really happy that I qualified.

I really just went out to qualify. I knew the first three qualified, so that was my aim, just to get in the first three. I’m delighted that I won, I was happy with my kick at the end.

It’s a heat, so you never want to run too fast in your heat. I’m happy enough. It’s a good time, and I’ve still got some left for the final.

I believe everybody should go into the race with the idea that they can win, so that’s going to be my aim, but hopefully all goes well.

Great performance through the championships.

The race was dictated at a pace that just didn't give him (or most others in the race) a chance to get involved.

Emmet Jennings finished 14th in 9:20 in his Steeplechase heat. The slowest qualifier ran 8:55. The peachily named Dakota Peachee of the USA found things tough in heat 1, finishing last.

Mark Patterson got 4th in Heat 3 of the 800m in 1:50.47. He is currently 3rd fastest loser with 6 to go through. McBrearty in in the 5th of 6 heats.

McBrearty also finished 4th, in 1:51.51 and so is eliminated. Patterson is still 4th fastest loser with one heat to go, so here's hoping.

Darren Mc Brearty misses out finnishing 4th in a very tight heat in 1.51.41 wont make the semi-final:(.
    Mark Patterson still 4th fastest should make semi-final unless the last heat is very fast.;)

Semi-Finals. :)

Mark Patterson makes the semi-final as 4th fastest loser:)

Good stuff from Mark and Ciara

Is Ciara better suited to a fast or slow pace? Which would e better for her in terms of winning a medal?

Just starting is the Hammer qualifying, with Conor McCullough one of the gold medal favourites. He won silver 2 years ago. His Da is still 4th on the Irish all-time list.

Found this link on athletics on tv, watched some great athletics last night.:)
    smcclaw wrote: »
    If you follow this link and click on the "Other" tab you'll see a few options to watch the juniors in Moncton. For some reason only the afternoon session seems to be viewable (about 22.00 our time)

http://www.atdhe.fm/

Thanks must go to smcclaw for finding the live stream;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Does anybody know where I can get live streaming of Ciara's final tonight?

This one's working for me at the mo.

LOL at the announcer: Kee-yara Mag-yan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭chrissor

Silver!!!

Super run by Ciara smashin her PB to get silver. Ran very smart not going with the opening 61 lap

What an inspired run by Mageean, silver in a new NJR 4:09.51.

All Ireland is proud of you girl!

And she crossed a whole 3.5 sec ahead of Hasay too

What a run, what an athlete, brill :D:D:D

Wow brilliant performance. 2nd best in the world wih another year is some achievement ... and to be honest the age of the african junior athletes is always suspect anyway so she could be the very best