Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you go on a tv dating show?

• 20-07-2010 1:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭

So as the title says would you or have you been on a tv dating show?

I've been asked if I want to appear on some dating show on channel 5 and my first reaction was ha ha no, but then thought it might be a bit of a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭dublingal80

ah go for it!! it would be hilarious and a different experience :)

I dont think i could do it without a friend with me or something (yeah im sad i know)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

ah no way! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

If I were sinlge I'd definately go for it ... sounds like fun

Not the type of opportunity to come up often!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭LilMsss

Hell no!!! But that's just me ... I would have no interest in doing any kind of reality type show, I value my privacy and anonymity too much.

In saying that, I love watching them, perhaps for the voyeurism aspect, so if you are genuinely interested in taking part, then do it. What's the worst thing that could happen as a result of appearing on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

I was watching Dating In The Dark last night (very entertaining BTW) and thought "would I go on something like this?" I really can't decide wether or not I would. WouldI get slagged by my mates if I wasn't picked or if I didn't end up with a date, would it be worth it..... I probably would give it a go.

What show was it OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Fago! wrote: »
    I was watching Dating In The Dark last night (very entertaining BTW)

Dating in The Dark is a good show! It's interesting to see how people get on when they meet in the light, having known each other for days in the dark.

The first image that sprang to mind when I read "TV dating show" was of that poor guy from Northern Ireland who was a contestant on Blind Date. He was stood up at the airport and had to go on the romantic holiday by himself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Eugh, my life already feels like a TV dating show. Broadcasting it over the airwaves would be the final straw! :pac:

Dating in The Dark is a good show! It's interesting to see how people get on when they meet in the light, having known each other for days in the dark.

The first image that sprang to mind when I read "TV dating show" was of that poor guy from Northern Ireland who was a contestant on Blind Date. He was stood up at the airport and had to go on the romantic holiday by himself...

Poor guy, I'd just die in embarrassment. Two lads in the dark one were waiting in a room for each girl, expecting them to walk in. But then they see the girls walk out the front door. I thought "I couldn't take that humiliation, especially"

It's kinda degrading. Feck what I said in my post earlier, I would never do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

What show was it OP?

Some new show that, according to your one who contacted me, trying to be "different" by getting people on who they think have interesting talents/jobs/passions so I was asked to talk about comics.....which hmmm yeah, I've found unless your into comics yourself it's not all that interesting. They didn't give anymore information so I'm not sure how exactly the whole thing is suppose to work.

I think if I had to do a dating show it be Take Me Out cus Paddy McGuinness is really funny on that show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

ztoical wrote: »
    Some new show that, according to your one who contacted me, trying to be "different" by getting people on who they think have interesting talents/jobs/passions so I was asked to talk about comics.....which hmmm yeah, I've found unless your into comics yourself it's not all that interesting. They didn't give anymore information so I'm not sure how exactly the whole thing is suppose to work.

I think if I had to do a dating show it be Take Me Out cus Paddy McGuinness is really funny on that show.
    I'd worried how they might decide to portray you. They could tell you that they think the comics thing is really interesting but they might try to make you look like a bit of a weirdo because the show needs characters and not people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Id love to :D

They might be able to match me with someone who I should be matched with instead of the weirdos I pick :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

Feck no, I wouldn't! I'd be morto.

My friend said I should go on Paisean Faisean because I speak Irish, but most of the men on that show are either young students, teachers or Guards? And I wouldn't trust any of them to get me decent clothes either! :D

(not that there's anything wrong with being a student, teacher or a Garda, but i'd like to see a bit more variety!)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Having ended up on the radio because of a misguided snog, and sweated bullets for fear anyone I knew hearing it, I can safely say that there is NO way on earth I would go on TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

maple wrote: »
    Having ended up on the radio because of a misguided snog, and sweated bullets for fear anyone I knew hearing it, I can safely say that there is NO way on earth I would go on TV.

If there ever was a story that had to be told ... this is it! :D

Do continue ...?!

/Gets popcorn

No. I still have nightmares about it.

The moral of the story is that it's never, ever a good idea to text a breakfast show.

NEVER. :D

maple wrote: »
    No. I still have nightmares about it.

The moral of the story is that it's never, ever a good idea to text a breakfast show.

NEVER. :D

Please tell me? Even pm me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Please tell me? Even pm me.

Me too! Me too!

no chance Fago, no chance. :D

/erases Maple from will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Feck no, I wouldn't! I'd be morto.

My friend said I should go on Paisean Faisean because I speak Irish, but most of the men on that show are either young students, teachers or Guards? And I wouldn't trust any of them to get me decent clothes either! :D

(not that there's anything wrong with being a student, teacher or a Garda, but i'd like to see a bit more variety!)

One of my little brother's friends went on that and won the date, actually the girl was in my older brothers class at school. It was so funny, he's a very good looking, funny, smart lad (quite the catch) but he did such a piss take of it. Quality viewing. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,023 ✭✭✭Barr

Go for it , you have nothing to loose :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

/erases Maple from will

o.0
    :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

**** it, why not? Could be a good laugh. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

not a chance:p

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I was on one!

It was 11 years ago (feeling old!). It was a TnaG one called Cleamhnas. The deal was that a person's parent would matchmake out of a choice of three suitors. I was one of the suitors and was picked! We had a date and all, all expenses and we got paid for being on the show too. It was a brilliant experience and I got on really well with the guy.

Unfortunately / fortunately it aired just after I met my now husband so it was pretty embarrassing to watch it with him. He still tells the story whenever it's brought up!

I made some life long friends on it. I would say go for it OP, it can be a bit cringey but it was one of the most fun experiences of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Not a chance in hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

Years ago, I got an email from a casting company -- they were looking for women for the upcoming season of The Bachelor (I think it was the one in Italy?). I thought it was hilarious, but I never once considered it. a) I didn't really think I'd want anything to do with a guy on that kind of show, and 2) I didn't think I could handle being around the other women.

No thank you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 edvedfan

depends on if it's an rte production or not, cos i'd say if its rte / tg4 production it would be a bit o' banter but if it were like a channel 4 / english one, it would be more mortifying.

Ya know how rte tends to cheese things up in a light hearted, 'typically Irish' manner. :)