Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spots and moves that you hate

• 19-07-2010 7:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭

So have you ever like me watched a match where a wrestler does a spot that you absolutely hate?

My main one is the setup for the 619. Its so contrived. I can get past the drop-toe hold as a setup. But when the opponent takes a chairshot or a drop kick and just so happens to fall into position for the 619 instead of falling to the ground as they would any other time it annoys me. I think it looks terrible.

Another one is the scissor kick. I like the move itself, but when the likes of Booker T starts looking around him and then runs the ropes while his opponent just stays bent over in the one position. Terrible.

So is it only me that notices these things or does other people? Any other spots that you just cant stand seeing in the middle of a match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

The one during Cena's comeback where he ducks a punch into a spinning slam (the Protoplex). It makes me angry that every time somebody throws that punch and every time Cena ducks, you'd think somebody would learn not to do it after all this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭BrianSlipknot

Cena in general. You would think that when he does the diving shoulder blocks they would just stay down cause they know whats coming!

P.S. I do know its not real. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

When Jericho has someone in The Walls of Jericho and they reach the ropes, he starts celebrating a victory then arguing with the ref only to turn around into a belt from his opponent. It happens in most Jericho matches and annoys the sh*t outta me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

The set up for the 619 also annoys the hell out of me.

Some other spots that annoy me are basically any where a guy gets dropped on his head to the extent that it's obviously dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

When 2 guys go for a chokeslam on each other,nobody ever gets chokeslamed!!

Any unnecessary spots that could damage a guy.
    I hate ladder spots where they punch each other and one gets dazed. I also hate when they feign exhaustion and start to crawl around the ring, makes for some really boring stuff (if it's done badly) I have no problem with the sort you'd see in HBK-Taker just the ones where you know they haven't taken enough damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Agreed on the above such as 619 and everything involving Cena!

I really dislike how in the Royal Rumble, moves that ordinarily flatten somebody, turn into moves that make them pop up and land perfectly at the ropes for an elimination (Stone Cold Stunners for example).

Cage matches where they are clearly moving into position to throw one or either off the top of the cage (same applies for ladder matches).

Over the top rope dives where guys just amble around waiting for somebody to dive out on them...why wander around aimlessly? Surely they can be more inventive at this stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

Wades Barretts finisher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I hate when guys go to ram their opponent's head on the announce table. It just looks so obviously fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Jolt2007

Ref bump spots. Hate seeing refs getting knocked unconscious for minutes over a little shove..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Jolt2007 wrote: »
    Ref bump spots. Hate seeing refs getting knocked unconscious for minutes over a little shove..
    +1, really annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Jolt2007 wrote: »

Happens in every sport:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

Speaking of refs and spots, the old ref eye injury where they can't see seriously annoys me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

The ref never noticing the face team getting the tag, or believing that they have done so and but just accepting the heels have tagged even if he hasn't seen it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

The whole Cena routine to hit the Attitude Adjustment. Cena getting beaten, weird twisty suplex, 5 knuckle shuffle which the opponent instantly gets up from and then the AA. Hate it:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

The whole Cena routine to hit the Attitude Adjustment. Cena getting beaten, weird twisty suplex, 5 knuckle shuffle which the opponent instantly gets up from and then the AA. Hate it:mad:
    Ladies and Gentlemen, this is vintage Cena.

Voltwad wrote: »
    Ladies and Gentlemen, this is vintage Cena.

It just grinds my gears

grinds-my-gears1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

The Scorpion Death drop does my head in tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

The Tag team spot were the ref argues with the faces whilst the heels double team the other face in the ring.. Now that grinds my gears:pac:

+1 same goes for outside interference. Hate it!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I hate punches. They all look fake and rubbish. Bring back the old no closed hand punch. Make punches illegal again. Bring back 80s NWA style enforced rules.If someone like Cena decked you you would not just stagger a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,468 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

if you hate Cena for his comeback, you've got to hate HBK's.

almost equally contrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Omg HBK is setting up the band for sweet chin music... oh he misses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 ThatCrazyGuy

I agree with the cena comments.

Near enough everything he does is "over the top" ... not to mention his facial experessions too. They make me cringe sometimes. Definiently an over-actor when it comes to facials. In nfact, an over-actor all around. Most of the things he does has to be "over...the...top!!!!" .... super cena huh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Alex Kidd

When Michaels did the stomps before the Superkick and the crowd counted along, it's Sweet Chin Music not Sweet Chin Maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,108 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

The set up for the worm used to annoy me big time. Espically when the opponent landed in the wrong place on the mat after the bulldog and you could see them sort of shuffle into the correct position as scotty pranced about the ring.. that was always lame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,734 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Yeah, Tuning up the band for Sweet chin music annoys me. If HBK knocked me down, then when trying to get up I hear him stomping his foot and the crowd counting, id just roll out of the ring. Its HBK, I know what he's doing. Frig that, I'm outta there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

SlickRic wrote: »
    if you hate Cena for his comeback, you've got to hate HBK's.

almost equally contrived.

HBK is not awful though so he is allowed :D

Seriously though, HBKs could work when he did it at a big moment in a big match. But I do disagree with doing it every single time. That really gets my goat...why must they always do the same moves in the same combination every time. It can ruin the tension of a near fall when you know that such and such a move has not happened yet, so the match is not over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

SUPERPLEXES!!!!!!!!!!!!! Is there not another ****ing move that two wrestlers can do on the top rope?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Just ref bumps are the main one for me. A ref bump means poor bookiing for me. Means the writers just do not know how to prolong a feud.

Its not a spot or a move, but when there is a scuffle after a match, why does the "timekeeper" keep ringing the bells. Has the ringing of the bell ever actually stopped anything? Does it add to the drama? No is the answer to both there, its just irritating.

I hate how wrestlers forget how to climb a ladder in a ladder match.

When there is outside interference and a fella is flattened with a chair, its life threatening, but when it happens in a match, its shook off grand and quick.

What about ref bumps in the diva matches ... you know the one, where all 3 of them fall to the ground and the poor ref is stuck in the middle of a diva sandwich and they roll around on the floor for a while :rolleyes:. Mildly amusing once, terrible every time after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

What about ref bumps in the diva matches ... you know the one, where all 3 of them fall to the ground and the poor ref is stuck in the middle of a diva sandwich and they roll around on the floor for a while :rolleyes:. Mildly amusing once, terrible every time after that.
    I'm sure the referee likes it though!

Yeah, Tuning up the band for Sweet chin music annoys me. If HBK knocked me down, then when trying to get up I hear him stomping his foot and the crowd counting, id just roll out of the ring. Its HBK, I know what he's doing. Frig that, I'm outta there
    Ditto with everyone shouting "GORRREEEEE!!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

The hot tag. Yeah, I know, it's a staple, but it played a major part in killing kayfabe for me. And it's so so so so contrived.

the 'run the ropes with one guy ducking under, then leapfrogging the other fellah who's clearly ducking to facilitate him' bit. In a real fight, one of the pair would cop on to what's happening and clock the other.

(more of an indie/live one this) the 'clap, clap, get me out of this tight headlock' spot done by faces. Not particularly bad in itself but it's so overused.

The reeling back and forth trading punches spot. It's less common now but, up to about six months ago, every PPV match with either Cena or Orton seemed to have it.

Generally, any move that completely kills credibility or reminds us of the scripted nature of what we're witnessing. Actors don't p*** all over the audience's attempt to suspend their disbelief, so who do wrestlers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

As said in another thread the Ric Flair flop, just ruins a match for me everytime

Another one would be Edge's pulling his hair back... Stop, you look like a tw*t doing it.

Flairs flop back in the day was cool, was not done every match.

The atomic drop. Even as a kid I never got how that move would hurt you. It was just a knee in the bum and it was quite the popular move back in the early 1990s.

Thankfully I think it's on the ban list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭Ridley

The atomic drop. Even as a kid I never got how that move would hurt you. It was just a knee in the bum and it was quite the popular move back in the early 1990s.

Thankfully I think it's on the ban list.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coccyx

You never hurt your Coccyx/ass bone? It is so ****ing sore. Your tailbone mate.

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    You never hurt your Coccyx/ass bone? It is so ****ing sore. Your tailbone mate.

I can't say I have!

Maybe I am wrong so. I'll never look at a Hulk Hogan reverse atomic drop the way I once did. He knew where to hurt you it seems!

I did once when playing rugger, you can barely walk.

The only atomic drop I ever liked:

I've learned something today though. It's used to be my cousins finishes on me when I was younger. In hindsight, I'm glad he was a careful worker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Jolt2007

I love the guy but JoMo's starship pain annoys me more every week. Grab the ropes, about to jump, stop completely to look around again to see if opponent moved into position, do move and miss opponent pretty much completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Obviously all of Cena's offence deserves a mention here but I'm surprised that nobody has singled out his STF submission finisher. This move looks about as painful as a pillow and yet is sold by opponents as such a painful move that instant submission is required.

In a tag match where the face on the outside try's to get into the ring to help out, the ref goes over and stops him and both heels attack the face in the ring. I hate that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KrazeeEyezKilla

I never liked Hogan so the whole Hulk Up routine pi$$ed me off. Just once they should have had the other guy roll out of the ring and wait for him to calm down. Then as Hogan got older and he couldn't punch anymore he had to put his hand on peoples heads to hit them right.

The way when Rikishi was around wrestlers would just fall and land with their head on the bottom turnbuckle.

Ref bumps:mad:

Any time wrestlers do incredibly stupid things which no-one would ever do in real life. If they had smarter characters the whole show would be better.

Reganio 2 wrote: »

Another one would be Edge's pulling his hair back... Stop, you look like a tw*t doing it.

The single most annoying thing in wrestling today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,734 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Ladder matches where people climb slow up the ladder, then start trying to reach the case or belt even though they're about 4 rungs too low on the ladder

Refs not seeing the face teams tag, yet the heel team just clap once without the ref seeing and are allowed a tag. But what really annoys me is when they do that even though they are near each other. Why not just tag properly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Dolph Zigglers finisher he basically slams himself into the ground.
    Oh and the spot where they pick up a guy on their shoulder and try to ram him head first into the ring post.its countered 99.999999% of the time.
    Hate sleepers too if you had someone in a hold like that they`d be out in half a minute at most.