Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CHiPs

• 18-07-2010 11:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,702 ✭✭✭✭

So Anyone used to watch these fellow with Ponch and John chasing people up and down the highways. Used to love the bike chases and seeing the speed they were doing and the amount of small stories they would roll into the 45 min show. Class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭minister poxbottle

I remember it well, what a set of teeth yer man had :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

I love CHiPS. Easily in my top 10 tv shows,I even still watch it on dvd regularly. Good clean innocent fun.:)

OP must've been watching CHiPS 99 on TV3 last night.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I've never met another man who wanted to be Jon - only Ponch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,702 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

whats Chips 99, never heard of it?
    Watching episode at moment about criminals stealing plants along the highway, don't you love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Ha... Watched chips 99 the weekend which was a spin off of the series. Its not as good as the orig but has the same nostelgia attached....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hAidnO64NE4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

I used to fecking love CHiPs when I was a young lad. I remember living in leitrim when i was about 8 and being driven up to crumlin hospital at about 4 in the morning as GP had sent me for emergency admission (had very bad asthma and was in/out of the place a lot). My poor mother got lost coming into Dublin (I was lying down in back seat in fairly poor condition), and she was pulled up by two guards on motorbikes, because of her hesitent driving.
    She explained the situation to them and they gave her escort to hospital, with sirens and lights, taking alternat turns to stop traffic at junctions etc
    I nearly shat myself with excitement and happiness.:D
    One of the happiest childhood memories I have :-)

TheDriver wrote: »
    whats Chips 99, never heard of it?
    Watching episode at moment about criminals stealing plants along the highway, don't you love it!

They done a tv movie of the show called CHiPS 99. Tbh it was pretty crap. It was on tv3 last night. The original show was brilliant though. Great to hear i'm not the only other person still watching it these days!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭stone roses

loved chips use to play chips on my grifter!!!! also had the figures :-)

Has to be one of the legendary theme tunes.

I remember humming it to myself as a kid when travelling along any road bigger than a street. :D

its just that there was one big story but lots of little ones would pop out of nowhere in the middle of an episode. Being older now, John is definitely cooler!!!
    I love the in bike shots and the stuntmen were excellent in horsing them around the place!
    apparently Ponch broke few ribs once when he got thrown from a bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I loved CHiPs! I have the MP3 of the theme tune on a CD of theme tunes for 70s and 80s TV shows that I play in my car :D

I always wanted to be Jon, never Ponch, I must be a racist :(

Incidentally, both actors HATED each other!

r3nu4l wrote: »
    I always wanted to be Jon, never Ponch, I must be a racist :(

Incidentally, both actors HATED each other!

I always wanted to be Jon too.

About a year ago i was in the states and Estrada was reduced to doing commercials for time share condo's in California. I believe he's a deputy sheriff now!!

and he has put on serious weight!
    Never knew they hated each other, must be like the A Team

r3nu4l wrote: »
    I always wanted to be Jon, never Ponch,!
    lord lucan wrote: »
    I always wanted to be Jon too.

Weirdos.

This is 7 Mary 3 responding! Who even thought of the callsigns!

TheDriver wrote: »
    This is 7 Mary 3 responding! Who even thought of the callsigns!

There was a band named after that callsign iirc.

Edit: Here they are:

Oh,and here's what 7 Mary 3 means:"7M3: police radio call sign; 7 designates the patrol beat, M for Mary designates that he is a motorcycle unit and 3 is his unit number".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I used to have a Chips 'motorbike' when I was about 5, used to get pushed up and down the street on it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The Kawasaki Z1000's were the business. :)

There is no way they could have done some of their chases on Harleys. I never missed a series of this when it was out.

003.jpg

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Use to watch this as a kid,saw the film on sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭Dude111

That was a good show!!!!

I used to watch it ALL THE TIME during the 80s :)

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh the 80s!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Oh yes, didn't RTE show it on Fridays back in the day?

I was more concerned with Grossburger and his weight problem.

Several years later I stumbled into a one-man Edinburgh fringe show that Grossburger (the actor) was doing about his wife and her terminal cancer (spoiler : she died).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Oh yes, didn't RTE show it on Fridays back in the day?

I was more concerned with Grossburger and his weight problem.

...nearly sure there was an on-going joke about his weight in the series as well...always pictured with a burger in his hand...

have to say though...looking back...what a totally cheezy program it was- especially the crappy endings where there was some sort of stupid joke...

Cicero wrote: »
    have to say though...looking back...what a totally cheezy program it was- especially the crappy endings where there was some sort of stupid joke...
    Most 80's TV shows aimed at the family market did that though, think TJ Hooker, The Fall Guy and the A-team, once all the shootouts were over, everyone retired to a diner where they shared a joke and had a laugh. Hell even McGyver and Airwolf had that sort of ending iirc.

I like it cheezy

Cicero wrote: »
    especially the crappy endings where there was some sort of stupid joke...

Often there was a 'moral' ending,eg. Don't forget to wear your helmet if you're riding a bike,only cross the road at pedestrian crossings etc.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Does anyone remember a cop called Bruce coming into it? Think he may have been Ponch's partner for a while, though can't remember where Jon went:confused:. Just remember this Bruce guy cos thought he was hawt!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

lord lucan wrote: »
    Often there was a 'moral' ending,eg. Don't forget to wear your helmet if you're riding a bike,only cross the road at pedestrian crossings etc.:)

Yeah for some reason always remember Ponch pulling someone over on the freeway for making an unsafe lane change:)

73Cat wrote: »
    Does anyone remember a cop called Bruce coming into it? Think he may have been Ponch's partner for a while, though can't remember where Jon went:confused:. Just remember this Bruce guy cos thought he was hawt!!

He replaced Jon following a fallout with the producers by Larry Wilcox iirc. I'm nearly sure Ponch (Estrada) walked out for a while at some stage too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭johndoe99

I bought both of the Series 1 and Series 2 boxsets for €10 each in Golden Discs Waterford about 2 weeks ago. There were still a few when I was in today.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,701 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

We used to all love it back in the day, I would have been 6 or 7 and we'd be playing on our bikes, pretending to be Jon and Ponch, brilliant, saw the TV Movie remake they did, and they all still look cool!

73Cat wrote: »

Well Bruce Jenner the Olympic athlete (Gold in decathalon in 1976) and actor came into the series for a while. The same Bruce Jenner is now a motivational speaker and stepfather to the Kardashians (of Kim Kardahsian fame).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

I saw the CHiPs guys in an IBM ad for Super Bowl 97 (I think) but I can't find it anywhere online ...

The ad went something like this:

An IBM truck collides with another truck on the freeway. The second truck sheds its load which consists of thousands of footballs which were being delivered to the Super Bowl:confused:. Chaos and pandemonium ensues until two Highway Patrol officers roll up and they are of course ... Ponch and Jon !

I saw this ad at an IBM conference and it got a huge round of applause since no-one had seen the guys since the end of the series in the 80s.

But now I'm beginning to wonder if I dreamt the whole thing since the video doesn't seem to exist on-line ...