Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway V Tipp

• 18-07-2010 9:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭

OK time to kick this of who's going to win and by how much I cant wait for this one I think Galway are capable of the win but its to close to call Canning V Kelly as a Galway man Tipp V Galway has always been the big one and I think if and its a big if KK are going to be beaten this year its the winner of this game that's going to do it.Hope its in crocker

come on the tribes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I hope it's in Croker too. Some people are confident it will be so take that for what it's worth.

It is hard to know what Galway team will show up. The team that showed promise in the League (we lost to Tipp) or the team that struggled to beat Offaly and got lucky against Wexford.

We can only rely on Damian Hayes for so many matches. Hopefully Joe Canning will have a good match as he has been marked out of previous matches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I have no idea how to call this one. Tipp will have been brought on by the few games in the qualifiers no doubt, but the memory of how bad they were against Cork lingers. And Galway had a great league but were mediocre against Offaly and Wexford and a major disappointment against KK.

They really badly need to get themselves a win over one of the stronger counties at Croke Park, that'll be a huge psychological hurdle for them. Canning for me looks like a lad carrying an injury and moving him around the forward line will do him no good. Play him at FF and leave him there - the fullback line of Tipp looked very weak against Cork.

I'm leaning slightly towards Tipp on the basis of their big game experience in Croker last season, but I won't be putting any money on it and a Galway win wouldn't surprise me at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Would be surprised if tipp dont win this tbh. Galway rely too much on joe canning! Overall tipp have more scoring forwards and more match winners in there team! They will also have a stronger bench than galway! There half back line is unbelievable and should provide the platform to go on and with this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

If you look at the Championship form guide;

They both hammered Wexford but then Tipperary were comfortable against Offaly yesterday whereas it took Galway two attempts to see them off. Both have had a horrendous game each - Cork and Kilkenny.

As a Galwayman I'll be in Croke Park Sunday [should be a hurling QF double header in there; anything else is disrespectful to the 4 teams who've reached the QFs] but I'll be going more in hope than expectation. My head tells me Tipp by 4, my heart says a last minute JC penalty to win it by 1! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

There's no doubt that Tipp have to be favourites for this. The two games against Wexford and Offaly will have brought them on nicely and gotten the Cork game out of their system. I feared Galway were being talked up too much after the league final and recent performances would strongly suggest they were.

Galway will need to improve 100% from the Kilkenny game to win this. Play like that again and Tipp will win by 10 pts or more. Kilkenny were in cruise control the last day, Galway didn't even test them. Were it not for some uncharacteristically bad shooting KK would have won by a big margin. We all know Galway are better than that but it's time they started showing it. I have to admit I'm not at all confident about this, if I was a neutral I'd be strongly backing Tipp. If Galway can play to their potential they'll be thereabouts, but as always with Galway hurling teams that's a big IF.

No word on the venue yet?

'Tis Croker alright lad, Cork/Antrim at 2pm, Tipp/Gal at 4pm. Minor match betweeen Waterford/Galway at 12pm as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

Sunday 25 July

All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship quarter-finals
    Galway v Tipperary, Croke park 4pm
    Cork v Antrim , Croke Park 2pm

ESB All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship quarter-finals
    Waterford v Galway, Croke park 12pm
    Antrim v Dublin, Newry 12pm

Its a bit unfair to have Anrim v Dublin in the middle of nowhere. There won't be a single antrim fan there because of their quarter-final with Cork 2 hours later.

flahavaj wrote: »
    'Tis Croker alright lad, Cork/Antrim at 2pm, Tipp/Gal at 4pm. Minor match betweeen Waterford/Galway at 12pm as well.
    I'm delighted. There could well be a meet up.

DH2K9 wrote: »
    Its a bit unfair to have Anrim v Dublin in the middle of nowhere. There won't be a single antrim fan there because of their quarter-final with Cork 2 hours later.

That does seem a bit unfair alright. Surely they could have fixed that game for Saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Clemon

So excited about this. This will be the best sunday of the year.

Mass-Breakfast Roll-Train-Croker-Match-Galway Win-Train-Pub-Bed

Clemon wrote: »
    So excited about this. This will be the best sunday of the year.

Mass-Breakfast Roll-Train-Croker-Match-Galway Win-Train-Pub-Bed

Mine is Breakfast-Shower-Bus-Supermacs-Jurys Inn for a few drinks-Croker-Match-Win-Bus-Drink some more in Galway-Bed-Hangover

Can't wait for this.

Nothing beats Championship Sunday in Croke Park; especially when it's Galway - Tipp. :D

Seeing as I'm living in Dublin I'll throw my own spin on it;

Coppers-Bed-FryUp-TheCure-Quinns-Croker-LaughAtCorkLosing-CryAtGalwayWinning-Quinns-Coppers-Bed.

Come on ta **** Galway!

Forgive my stupidity but what or where is Quinns?

Ah g'way outta that!

Famous GAA pub in Drumcondra beside the train station. That and Fagans are where the pre & post match pints are at imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

opposite the entrance to clonliffe road a pub under the dart bridge its a cultie mecca

Culchie even? ;)

cson wrote: »
    Culchie even? ;)

ye thems 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Stupidity forgiven but your opinion on anything GAA related no longer matters. :D

The Antrim v Dublin minor game is actually in Crossmaglen at 12pm on Saturday. Not Newry on Sunday. That's according to the gaa.ie official website.

I think the Newry Sunday mistake came from hoganstand

They had the Galway v Waterford game down for Pairc Ui Chaoimh aswell which is obviously another mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

Here's the odds from PaddyPower, Tipp 4/7 v Galway 13/8. Other matches also on it.
    http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-sports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Joyce Country

Here's the odds from PaddyPower, Tipp 4/7 v Galway 13/8. Other matches also on it.
    http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-sports

tipp deserve to be favourites but 4/7 favourites? galway slightly long there imo. should a tight game, hopefully a cracker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

aidan24326 wrote: »
    The Antrim v Dublin minor game is actually in Crossmaglen at 12pm on Saturday. Not Newry on Sunday. That's according to the gaa.ie official website.

I think the Newry Sunday mistake came from hoganstand

They had the Galway v Waterford game down for Pairc Ui Chaoimh aswell which is obviously another mistake.

Ye, sorry about that. Makes sense anyway.

Here's the odds from PaddyPower, Tipp 4/7 v Galway 13/8

That looks about right to me.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,192 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I like the look of Galway (+2.0) @ evens.

Will wait till I see the teams first though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

It is an overpriced overpacked kip of a pub which plays the same six songs over and over again at top volume. If you want to pay 6.20euro for a pint bottle or 5euro for one of the worst pints of beer in Dublin then it's the spot to go to.

deisedevil wrote: »
    Stupidity forgiven but your opinion on anything GAA related no longer matters. :D
    That was harsh :(

A snobby Waterford fan :confused: :pac:

Nah I go to the one with the players painted on it or the Jury's Inn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭orl

It is an overpriced overpacked kip of a pub which plays the same six songs over and over again at top volume. If you want to pay 6.20euro for a pint bottle or 5euro for one of the worst pints of beer in Dublin then it's the spot to go to.

And they always run out of ice!

Have said some great nights there though. When Galway beat Kilkenny in the semi-final in 2005, when ireland beat england the first time they played them in croke park and the 2001 football all ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

All the pubs from Dorset St. down to Quinns are horrible. I didnt think pints were that expensive there though. I'd recommend walking up a bit and going to Kennedys or The Millmount House

Ah stop, its a great spot. Always a great atmosphere there before games and a great spot for bumping into people from home up for the game. I didn't find anything wrong with their pints the last time I was there either!

Can't wait for this match!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Joyce Country

to whet the appetite!

Same here!! Roll on Sunday!

Gaillimh abu!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

I enjoyed that and Galway really need to win this time. I can't wait for this one, COME ON GALWAY.

this game is massive for the future of this present Galway team if they don't win it will be very hard to pick up again I feel that Joe will show that hes gone no where as they say there's no show like a Joe show I really cant wait for this one either

UP GALWAY

I think Burke will strengthen our midfield and allow farragher to play more. Tipps half back line midfield wont suffocate our midfield area as much so we'll be able to get more ball into our full forward line which is were the damage can be done. Dont know how our own full back line can deal with tipps. Farragher, Hayes, Canning. If theese 2 get playin God ****in Help Tipp.
    Up Galway Boy!!!

Great line in there When Nicky Enlgish asked how much time did they have left after missing that penalty he said to the ref " How much time do we have left" To which sylvie Linnane replied "Ye have 12 months now":D

If the sight of Joe Connollys tears in the studio after that game doesnt get the spirit of galway hurlin to rise within ya nothin will.

think this is appropriate sheer class

Mine is Breakfast-Shower-Bus-Supermacs-Jurys Inn for a few drinks-Croker-Match-Win-Bus-Drink some more in Galway-Bed-Hangover

Ah lads I love this thread. This is why the GAA is the greatest organisation in the world - the build up to a big Sunday of Championship hurling - the feeling in the pit of your belly that gets worse and worse all week, the speculation about the line up and the mass panic when the rumour gets out that your free taker has a broker finger and the relief to find it was all boll*x when the team is named on a Thursday night, the night out on the Saturday where you meet some culchies in a the smoking area of you local night club and talk sh*te about hurling all night, waking up with a dirty hangover on match day that can only be cured with a big feed of sausages and rashers, getting the bus/train to Croker and the few cans and banter flying, stop off in Mc Grath's or Quinns which is way too full and smells like farmer's arse for some warm bottles of Bulmer's, missing the anthem and throw in becaus you're p*ssing buckets after all the beer, shouting yourself hoarse and cursing like a tinker for 70 minutes of raw passionate sport, that f*cking miserable song they always play in Croker that sounds extra loud when you lose, the f*ckers that text you with five miuntes to go and think you'll be able to reply when you're too busying calling the ref a blind c*nt for calling Johnny Mullane back for taking too many steps, the post mortem afterwards in the boozer, the quick bag of chips before legging it down to the bus just in time, more cans on the bus and home in time for last orders in the local and the Sunday Game re-run.

Love it.

Don't forget giving out about your underperforming full-forward and proclaiming Aisake is better :pac:

Should be a good day out.

Going with my best m8 who is a fcukin Tipp man which is great when we win but nasty if we lose , one of my happiest memory's is going to crocker with him and his dad the year tipp were cruising against Wexford 5 mins to go tipp are up by 6 points and martin story comes on his dad says they can bring on Jesus Christ at this stage wont make a difference oh i LOLed and loled and loled was one of my fondest Gaa memory's and Wexford won the replay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Cannot wait for it myself. I'm a Meath supporter through and through but the ould fella is from Kiltormer so I've always had a interest in the Galway hurlers. Can't see them winning this one though but they do always seem to have one big game in the them every year so here's hoping....

Clemon wrote: »
    Great line in there When Nicky Enlgish asked how much time did they have left after missing that penalty he said to the ref " How much time do we have left" To which sylvie Linnane replied "Ye have 12 months now":D

That's an absolute belter of a line. You'd only hear the likes of that in a GAA match.:D

Anyway, I'm thinking McIntyre might get the hatchet out after the last day and we'll likely see John Lee in the half back line; I wouldn't mind seeing a half back line of Lynch - Tony Óg - Lee. It'd be an imposing half backline and could well stop ball getting into the Tipp full forward line where they'll likely do all their damage imo.

Absolutely vital Burke and Farragher win the midfield too. And I know it's out of left field a bit but I'd nearly throw Hayes in at #11. He might tie up Conor O'Mahony and leave a bit of room for the other 5 forwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

Not at all looking forward to this match as I feel we simply haven't the half-forwards to progress. Tannian may be moved out but is probably injury-hampered and he doesn't show much interest in getting fit and is very hot and cold. From the KK match we have seen (once again) that Harte, Donnellan, Lynch (first touch very bad), and probably Callinan and Andy Smith are just not good enough. So where do you go from there? Put in (gulp) Ger Mahon at CHF? And all that is assuming that the backs will play as well as the last day, not a given by any means. Very fearful altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

Cannot see Galway been up to it, very disappointing as usual so far. Tipp got caught by Cork ( who are good don't get me wrong ), so with this second chance Tipp are not going to let this slip.

cson wrote: »
    Anyway, I'm thinking McIntyre might get the hatchet out after the last day and we'll likely see John Lee in the half back line; I wouldn't mind seeing a half back line of Lynch - Tony Óg - Lee. It'd be an imposing half backline and could well stop ball getting into the Tipp full forward line where they'll likely do all their damage imo.

So you'd drop David Collins? He's been one of our better players this year. And Tony Og is actually doing ok at centre back.

And I know it's out of left field a bit but I'd nearly throw Hayes in at #11. He might tie up Conor O'Mahony and leave a bit of room for the other 5 forwards.

Damien Hayes is not a centre forward and never will be.

I'd really like to see them play Joe Canning at full forward and leave him there, or if not enough ball is going in to him move him out to centre forward. This nonsense of playing him corner forward has to stop. He's our best forward by a mile so we need him on the ball at every opportunity, not stuck in the corner getting nothing. As a big physically strong player he's more suited to a central position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 davehedgehog

MfMan wrote: »
    Not at all looking forward to this match as I feel we simply haven't the half-forwards to progress. Tannian may be moved out but is probably injury-hampered and he doesn't show much interest in getting fit and is very hot and cold. From the KK match we have seen (once again) that Harte, Donnellan, Lynch (first touch very bad), and probably Callinan and Andy Smith are just not good enough. So where do you go from there? Put in (gulp) Ger Mahon at CHF? And all that is assuming that the backs will play as well as the last day, not a given by any means. Very fearful altogether.

so am I correct in saying you think out of 6 forwards, 1 is injured and / or doesnt want to play and / or is no good - the rest arent good enough so the solution is to throw in a wing back / corner back into Center Forward after not playing a single minute of hurling for galway this year... ...
    its very easy for lads here to say Play "X" or "Y" but can you actually imagining any inter county manager doing something like that - he wouldnt be too long in the job id say.
    I can see the value in playing a few defenders in the HF line against the KK half back line but we should be able to stand toe to toe with Tipp and battle it out without having to resort to drastic stuff like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 D0nal

Was thinking of going to this game. I'm looking to buy tickets online. I'm 16 and not able to get them from the club due to transport issues. I'm trying to find a juvenile stand ticket. Ticketmaster is offering them but they appear to be sold out. Does anyone know how if any more will become available? If not will tickets definitely be available outside on the day?

D0nal wrote: »
    Was thinking of going to this game. I'm looking to buy tickets online. I'm 16 and not able to get them from the club due to transport issues. I'm trying to find a juvenile stand ticket. Ticketmaster is offering them but they appear to be sold out. Does anyone know how if any more will become available? If not will tickets definitely be available outside on the day?

You will have no problem getting tickets on the day, there is not a snowballs chance in hell of croke park being full for these games.

You will have no problem getting tickets on the day, there is not a snow balls chance in hell of croke park being full for these games.

True. There is a building on the way to the Hogan entrance that sells them.