Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Trailer gives away a bit, but will still be seeing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

The trailer does suggest that it is taking a lot from the book it is based upon.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

The trailer really does give a lot away, but it looks very good. Plus, Rebecca Hall is in it.

And i do love Rebecca Hall :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭purpur1

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0840361/

Its Ben Affleck's second film as director

Will definitely be checking this out. Thought his first effort, "Gone Baby Gone" was really good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I probably will see it.

But am I the only one who realises that it stars Ben Affleck?

The guy is a terrible actor.
    Terrible might be a bit of a strong word, he's certainly not good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,195 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    I probably will see it.

But am I the only one who realises that it stars Ben Affleck?

The guy is a terrible actor.
    Terrible might be a bit of a strong word, he's certainly not good though.

He is not back as long its not with JLo :D Jeremy Renner and John (Mad Men) Hamm are also in the cast

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,278 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Kiith wrote: »
    The trailer really does give a lot away, but it looks very good. Plus, Rebecca Hall is in it.

And i do love Rebecca Hall :o

I wholeheartedly agree with your sentiments regarding Rebecca Hall. She's great, and I firmly believe she is the most attractive out of the three female leads in Vicky Christina Barcelona. I always cause raised eyebrows with that opinion, but there.

Won't bother with the trailer if it does give a lot away, but Gone Baby Gone was a surprisingly effective debut, so colour me cautiously optimistic.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,669 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I wholeheartedly agree with your sentiments regarding Rebecca Hall. She's great, and I firmly believe she is the most attractive out of the three female leads in Vicky Christina Barcelona. I always cause raised eyebrows with that opinion, but there.

I would second that, she's delectable.

This looks pretty ood, trailer gives away waaaaay too much though. Had zero expectations for Gone Baby Gone, thought it was a great detective movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭MrSir

Gives way too much away in the trailer but it has an awesome cast and looks really well made like Gone Baby Gone and Ben Affleck thankfully looks decent in it.

Oh and a little off topic but Rebecca Hall is purrrrty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

i agree with all of the above said

group-hug!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Since you all asked so nicely... :o

rebecca-hall.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,278 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

*tempted to rename thread 'Rebecca Hall Appreciation society'*

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,669 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Was going to suggest just that johnny :)

isn't she lovely though? i mean seriously.

Let's hope Rebecca Hall doesn't find this thread. She might be a little creeped out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

why would she be creeped out? we have haven't mentioned the nanny cam we have in her bedroom yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Who's the ripped guy doing pull-ups, can't be Affleck surely?

Skerries wrote: »
    why would she be creeped out? we have haven't mentioned the nanny cam we have in her bedroom yet
    This thread just went from interesting to FASCINATING.

Who's the ripped guy doing pull-ups, can't be Affleck surely?

I think it is

Rebecca Hall is not only stunningly beautiful she is also a very talented underrated actress

Blake Lively from Gossip Girl is also in the film as Ben's character's ex girlfriend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Why did Warner Bros. claim copyright to their own trailer :confused:

Ben Affleck's acting in it though.. might give it a miss.

I think Affleck gets a bad rep because of is idiot of an ex-wife shafted his career. He's not the worst.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    I think Affleck gets a bad rep because of is idiot of an ex-wife shafted his career. He's not the worst.

He was never married before but I think you mean JLo right?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    He was never married before but I think you mean JLo right?

Yeah my bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

trailer gives alot away but i will still check it out your one hall is hot

Well it topped the Us box office at the weekend with over 23 million

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

This got fantastic reviews in the States..

.. as I've said before, maybe Affleck should stick to the directing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭patch

His acting was decent in good will hunting, which he also got an oscar for writing along with matt damon.

I think he's a bit more likeable since kevin smith started talking nicely about him in stand up. Strange but true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

Jon Hamm is amazing, that's the only reason I've any interest in this movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

Thought he was pretty good in Hollywoodland and Daredevil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Seeing this tomorrow at a special screening :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Vinny-Chase

Have never understood the hatred toward Affleck. Have been a fan of his since his early Kevin Smith collaborations. And he comes across as very likable and not afraid to take the piss out of himself. Always thought he gave very believable performances.

Mallrats, Chasing Amy, Good Will Hunting, Dogma, Boiler Room, Changing Lanes, Jersey Girl (wha? I like it), Hollywoodland, State of Play?

That's some nice flicks to have on your CV. And even the sh!t films he was in, I always thought he credible in them.

I'm happy he's getting the recognition he deserves with Gone Baby Gone and The Town. Really looking forward to seeing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Thought it was a brilliant film lads. Very interested to hear what ye all think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Just came home from this in cineworld. I also never understood people's hatred of Ben Affleck. I've always liked him and this film confirms it. Fantastic. Really well paced, didn't get too involved in the clichés, cast was great, direction fantastic and Affleck's own performance was unstoppable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Saw this film this morning. Outstanding piece of work. Affleck puts in one hell of a performance, he really is great in it, but as expected, it's Jeremy Renner who steals the show. Fantastic film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

Very Good.

A Solid 8.5/10 from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

Good film but not great - it seems to me to be trying too hard, especially plot-wise, and lacks a certain "feel". It's Heat-lite and, in my opinion, suffers greatly from the comparison. Acting wise - Affleck good, Renner better.

More rounded than Gone Baby Gone, though I seem to be in the minority that thinks that film was better reviewed than it deserved to be (was still a very good debut). Casey Affleck's performance was good enough to paper over the clunky plot.

All-in-all though, it proves that GBG was not a fluke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

One of the best films I have seen this year. As it was directed by Affleck and I am not his biggest fan, I was not expecting a whole lot, but I was very pleasantly surprised.

It ticked along at a good pace, held my interest from the very start and not one bad performance.

It reminded me a lot of the wire, where you see both sides of the fence, neither side being particularly good or bad. It made the ending unpredictable and heightened the tension throughout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Excellent film, kudos to Mr Ben :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭Deisler

In a year of tripe rehashes, sequels and cgi heavy crap this is a breath of fresh air. Best mainstrean movie of the year imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Good film alright with good action scenes. Not a masterpiece but its well worth seeing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

It was alright, but I basically got what I expected, Ben Affleck being terrible.
    This one just wasn't for me, was well directed though and I liked the camerawork and editing.
    But I just could get past how much I hate Ben Affleck and think he is a terrible actor.

The person I went with didn't think much of it either.
    Film students unite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭conorhal

It's been referred to has Heat lite and I think that is a fair criticism not merely because the plots are similar but because both films try to reach beyond their heist thriller formula and to say something more profound about the destiny of their respective lead characters. Both question whether their protagonists can overcome their past and connect with the world outside their carefully constructed, disciplined lives or will their history shape their ultimate fate?
    In the case of The Town, that past feels a bit unexplored. It is addressed in a series of conversations and a couple of confrontations, most notably between Doug and his father, but still feels under developed and but for some stellar performances by all involved (Affleck has as much a talent for casting his films with the right actors as he does in shooting them) I can't help but feel that the contrivances of the plot would have sunk the film.

That said I liked it quite a bit, and as is often the case with films that I like quite a bit I tend to be more harsh in my criticism of its failings, simply because I find it that much more frustrating when I see a film that is so close to being great that falls just short of the mark.

As a solid heist thriller it works brilliantly, but I cant help but feel that there is another half an hour of character work on the cutting room floor that was sacrificed to ensure box office returns by crafting the film into a tightly paced thriller that merely hints at more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

I haven't seen this yet, but I'll have to check it out seeing as it's been pretty well received. I wasn't overly bothered when I saw the trailer...my first words after seeing it were "well, I don't need to see the film now that I've seen the trailer!", there seemed to be a lot given away. But if it's as good as people are saying, my curiosity is definitely piqued!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

really busy at the moment but gone baby gone was magnificent and I love the cast in this so I,m going to go as soon as I can.The sheer amount of great films coming out of boston over the last few years is staggering-good will hunting, mystic river, shutter island,gone baby gone,the departed and now this.Southie/charlestown has become the in locale.

Has anyone else noticed something weird as well.Irish people are starting to take pride in their irish-american cousins now that they,re cool after mocking them for "not really being irish" for decades.I was on a J1 in boston a few years ago and the whole house was running around doing bad hahvahd yahd accents for the summer.In an Irish times interview with affleck at the weekend it was mentioned that GBG played for months and months here and I,d say every Irish person under 30 has a copy of the departed and can quote chunks of it verbatim.Are we now starting to look to irish american culture even as irish americans look to us!!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Pontificatus

jonsnow wrote: »
    really busy at the moment but gone baby gone was magnificent and I love the cast in this so I,m going to go as soon as I can.The sheer amount of great films coming out of boston over the last few years is staggering-good will hunting, mystic river, shutter island,gone baby gone,the departed and now this.Southie/charlestown has become the in locale.

Has anyone else noticed something weird as well.Irish people are starting to take pride in their irish-american cousins now that they,re cool after mocking them for "not really being irish" for decades.I was on a J1 in boston a few years ago and the whole house was running around doing bad hahvahd yahd accents for the summer.In an Irish times interview with affleck at the weekend it was mentioned that GBG played for months and months here and I,d say every Irish person under 30 has a copy of the departed and can quote chunks of it verbatim.Are we now starting to look to irish american culture even as irish americans look to us!!.

No. I really liked the way Hamms character took the piss out off the accent.

It was a decent film and nothing special. It is being a little overblown because of the crap that is currently coming out.

On the Boston theme, i really hope they make some more of Denis Lehane's work with the same care and attention given to Mystic River and Gone Baby Gone.

Back from this and would echo the enjoyable but not a masterpiece sentiment. As a heist film, it works great - plenty of entertaining set pieces. Absolutely loved the
    'nun mask' heist scene, especially the final payoff when they exit the car. The climatic stadium robbery also engages: claustrophobic and well staged.

As a character film, it isn't great though. Nothing we haven't seen lots of times before. Affleck's character is well written (selfish!) but the situations are never as engaging as they could be.
    The ending particularly feels like it's cut a bigger narrative off short: the sunset beach escape is well overused at this point.

Mostly, the performances are good. As a big John Hamm fan, it was great seeing him play a much angrier character, he had some great lines throughout. Affleck is fine, not bad but not amazing either. You could call him bland alternatively, but he's not as untalented as many suggest. Rebecca Hall...well, I never object when Rebecca Hall is onscreen. Otherwise, solid performances, except for the bizarre accent of Pete Postlethwaite and a wasted Chris Cooper.

All in all, I enjoyed Affleck's direction - after Gone Baby Gone and this he has proven himself more than capable of producing high standard Hollywood thrillers. It may not be entirely original or spectacular, but it has a consistently engaging pace and plenty of entertainment. A higher quality Hollywood thriller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭distraction

not bad as they go really liked the editing .... ... .. .

and of course
    Kiith wrote: »
    Since you all asked so nicely... :o

rebecca-hall.jpg

There's a brief subplot in the film about ghetto kids verbally abusing fair Ms. Hall.

Odds are they've posted in this thread :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Good film though not what i expected.

Loved the scene
    after they escaped over the bridge and see a lone cop staring at them in the nuns masks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Vinny-Chase

Seen this last night. Really enjoyed. Wouldn't put it down as exceptional but definitely worth seeing. Affleck definitely knows how to do tension.

Loved this bit:
    The bit with Jeremy Reiner's tattoo when he meets Affleck and "your one" was excllent I thought. The tension of it, will she it, won't she it