Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE or TV3

• 15-07-2010 11:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭

Simple question.

Which station has the best TV coverage of the GAA

Which station has the best TV coverage of the GAA? 101 votes

RTE
    0%
    TV3
    100%
    IllkillyaAtomic PineappleTouchingVirusFlukeyPsychedelicRaoul DukeTribesmen7applehunterFrank SpencermikemacHavermeyerdeisedevilBluetoniccastiehomerjay2005Dayshamisty floydpatmacghostdancerJonathanAnon 101 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

TV3
    Easy one: RTE. RTE has better everything and I find TV3 sometimes get too involved with off the ball incidents instead of focusing on the free about to be taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

unknown13 wrote: »
    Easy one: RTE. RTE has better everything and I find TV3 sometimes get too involved with off the ball incidents instead of focusing on the free about to be taken.

I have to disagree with you there.

My first reason is that TV3 are the ones who try to bring the best atmosphere to their coverage. They could easily do what RTE do for the so called small games and stay in their Dublin 4 studio. Instead TV3 are prepared to bring their whole broadcasting team to any particular match and makes the atmosphere of a match a lot better. Apart from the Munster Final last weekend, RTE have been in their studio every single match they have broad-casted live as far as I can remember. This shows a lack of respect to these small provincial matches which is why I feel TV3 gives the best coverage of the GAA.

My second reason is the pundits. I'm sick of listening to Pat Spillane trying to be the Eamon Dunphy of GAA. While I like watching The Sunday Game highlights show, every-time I watch their live coverage, you wouldn't know there was even a match going on as the pundits waffle on.

TV3
    DH2K9 wrote: »
    They could easily do what RTE do for the so called small games and stay in their Dublin 4 studio.

Really RTE use a studio on nutley lane to do analysis when the matches are on.
    Instead TV3 are prepared to bring their whole broadcasting team to any particular match and makes the atmosphere of a match a lot better.

Because there is no space in croker.
    Apart from the Munster Final last weekend, RTE have been in their studio every single match they have broad-casted live as far as I can remember. This shows a lack of respect to these small provincial matches which is why I feel TV3 gives the best coverage of the GAA.

I have been in a box very near the RTE box and I can say that all the pundits watch the game outside on the allocated seats.
    My second reason is the pundits. I'm sick of listening to Pat Spillane trying to be the Eamon Dunphy of GAA. While I like watching The Sunday Game highlights show, every-time I watch their live coverage, you wouldn't know there was even a match going on as the pundits waffle on.

Pat Spillane says it as it is. I don't mind him but there is a few, I don't really like on the Sunday game but that is a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

TV3

Ah now bad as Pat can be Liam Hayes and Senan Connell aren't an improvement. Have to say I think Canavan is good though.

TV3
    SomeFool wrote: »
    Ah now bad as Pat can be Liam Hayes and Senan Connell aren't an improvement. Have to say I think Canavan is good though.

Bernard Flynn and Colm O Rourke are the worst by a mile. They are ridiculously biased against Dublin.

Really RTE use a studio on nutley lane to do analysis when the matches are on.

Because there is no space in croker.

I have been in a box very near the RTE box and I can say that all the pundits watch the game outside on the allocated seats.

Pat Spillane says it as it is. I don't mind him but there is a few, I don't really like on the Sunday game but that is a different story.

Ye they watch the game when they're in Croker for the big games but I'm talking about these matches that RTE broadcast early in the championship where they broadcast from their Dublin 4 studio it is pathetic. They couldn't be bothered to go to the likes of Castlebar or even Fitzgerald Stadium for a match between two of the top three teams in the country (Kerry and Cork). Instead they broadcast from their studio so their therefore analyzing what they see on a TV monitor.

AS I HAVE SAID THERE HAS ONLY BEEN ONE MATCH RTE HAS BROADCAST FROM THE ACTUAL STADIUM IN WHICH IT IS BEING PLAYED AND NOT IN A WARM DUBLIN 4 STUDIO WAS THE MUNSTER FINAL LAST SUNDAY. WE ARE NOW IN THE MIDDLE OF JULY. NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

TV3
    Ye they watch the game when they're in Croker for the big games but I'm talking about these matches that RTE broadcast early in the championship where they broadcast from their Dublin 4 studio it is pathetic. They couldn't be bothered to go to the likes of Castlebar or even Fitzgerald Stadium for a match between two of the top three teams in the country (Kerry and Cork). Instead they broadcast from their studio so their therefore analyzing what they see on a TV monitor.

AS I HAVE SAID THERE HAS ONLY BEEN ONE MATCH RTE HAS BROADCAST FROM THE ACTUAL STADIUM IN WHICH IT IS BEING PLAYED AND NOT IN A WARM DUBLIN 4 STUDIO AND THAT WAS THE MUNSTER FINAL LAST SUNDAY. WE ARE NOW IN THE MIDDLE OF JULY. NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

The poll is speaking for its self. As much as you probably hate it. RTE is winning by a massive margin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

TV3
    If I could give TV3 a single piece of advice, it'd be to tell their match director to stop showing shots of the crowd every 10 seconds!! I watch a match for the 30 players on the field, not the rest of them sitting on their arses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

TV3
    The commentary on TV3 is pretty bad imo... Camera work can also be lacking on occasion. They do make an effort as mentioned above at getting to different provincial venues which is something to do have over RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

TV3
    RTE heads down... I just can't stick listening to the TV3 commentators and pundits in general... maybe it's just because I've been rared watching the sunday game but I just like the sunday game - marty morrisey, michael lyster, michael o'muircheartaigh - they've just been what I've always grown to associate with the gaa on tv...

also the actual punditry just seems better overall somehow - not the biggest fan of spillane but he has his role too...

rte heads down is better imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

TV3
    Bernard Flynn and Colm O Rourke are the worst by a mile. They are ridiculously biased against Dublin.

Colm O Rourke hates everything west of the Shannon wouldn't mind but hes real a Leitrim man:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

TV3
    The only good thing about the TV coverage is Peter Canavan tbh. He's an excellent pundit, calls everything straight without the pantomime antics Spillane can sometimes engage in.

I like Matt Cooper in general, but Michael Lyster is untouchable in the anchor role for GAA.

Liam Hayes is a terrible pundit IMO, Senan Connell is fairly bad too.

They also have some fairly terrible graphics they insist on showing every game - that side-scrolling one showing people who scored is just awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

TV3
    Like RTE the most.

I find TV3s commentary boring. Plus they don't even have a signal where I live(not the middle of nowhere) so I have to go to a mates to watch any matches they have. Grrr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭jwcurtin

TV3
    gooch2k9 wrote: »
    Like RTE the most.

I find TV3s commentary boring. Plus they don't even have a signal where I live(not the middle of nowhere) so I have to go to a mates to watch any matches they have. Grrr!

Tell your mate if its a big match to turn down the TV (on TV3 or RTÉ) and put on Michael O Muircheartaigh, best commentator in sport, makes the whole match better*.

"My opinion"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

TV3
    Can't stand O'Muircheartaigh tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Cormac2791

BBC

TV3
    keane2097 wrote: »
    Can't stand O'Muircheartaigh tbh.

Brian Carthy is worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

TV3
    this is like comparing A ferrari to a Lada FFS.

i cannot see anything or any reason why TV3s coverage is good. it sucks, to the core. everything about them is simply s*it. Ger Cannin is a terrible commentator, but still, even him aside, the standard on tv3 is appaling.

and lol, one vote for tv3.DH2K9 must be Liam hayes or that lad that keeps saying "of course" on tv3 sports...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

TV3
    One criticism of RTE I would have is the huge gul;f in class between theuir hurling and footballanalysts.

I absolutely love the hurling lads, their passion as well as their insight and they're so likeable, enjoy a bit of craic and banter too: Loughnane, Duignan ("he did nothin wrong there Ger...he only hit him a small belt of the hurl:pac:), Cyril "as such" Farrell, Mulcahy, Flynners, Skippy Ruth....a really likeable bunch, always good for at least one epic one-liner per broadcast.

The football lads on the other hand are just so wooden and unlikeable. It says a lot when Pat bloody Spillane is the most watchable of the lot: at least he's always good for an aul wind-up.

But even on their worst day, RTE are streets ahead of TV3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭srfc19

TV3
    The Tv3 camera work is shoddy, was watching sligo-galway a couple of weeks ago and when an off the ball incident was going on they were too busy showing shots of the same parts of the crowd we had already seen.
    RTE is a million miles ahead of TV3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

TV3 camera work is really bad, half the time they miss where the ball is. TV3 keep looking for lovely girls in the crowd which is nice but not the point! Also the commentator on TV3 spoke over the National Anthem last week which is just not on and a very amateur mistake.

If RTE gave Darragh Maloney more matches, they would be even better. Just muted Ger if he annoys you, problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

TV3
    keane2097 wrote: »
    Liam Hayes is a terrible pundit IMO, Senan Connell is fairly bad too.

Senan Connell is terrible, I don't know why they gave him that job. David Brady isn't great either. I like Matt Cooper as a presenter though.
    They also have some fairly terrible graphics they insist on showing every game - that side-scrolling one showing people who scored is just awful.

Some of the TV3 stats are pointless. Like showing how many possessions a player has had, a raw stat like that tells you very little. It doesn't tell you anything about what he did with the ball when he got it, or off-the-ball runs, tackles, general donkey-work etc. It's just gimmickery really.

Brian Carthy is worse

I actually like Brian Carthy. But Tom Rooney was a great radio commentator, not the same without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

TV3
    best commentator is Jim Carney.

"dan the man came to thurlus looking for a goal today...............................
    and he got it...."

quality stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭buzsywuzsy

TV3
    chinguetti wrote: »
    TV3 camera work is really bad, half the time they miss where the ball is. TV3 keep looking for lovely girls in the crowd which is nice but not the point! Also the commentator on TV3 spoke over the National Anthem last week which is just not on and a very amateur mistake.

If RTE gave Darragh Maloney more matches, they would be even better. Just muted Ger if he annoys you, problem solved.

Couldn't believe it when he continued talking.. the national anthem always sets the mood of a match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 davedaly7532

TV3
    Kevin McStay is undoubtedly the best pundit on either station- inciteful,funny and tells it as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

TV3
    It is a simple question and there is a simple answer: RTE. Granted, I don't very often see the live coverage because I am nearly always at a match, but from what I do see, and what I know from their other coverage, RTE are miles ahead, as they are in much of their sports coverage compared to other channels.
    jwcurtin wrote: »
    Tell your mate if its a big match to turn down the TV (on TV3 or RTÉ) and put on Michael O Muircheartaigh, best commentator in sport, makes the whole match better*.
    "My opinion"

That doesn't really work, as the radio broadcast is slightly ahead of the TV coverage by a few seconds.
    best commentator is Jim Carney.

Are you having a laugh? He is absolutely awful. :( Jim Carrey would be better. :) On TV, Darragh Maloney should be given the premier position over Ger Canning. Ger's American-sytle statistics get a bit annoying after a while. The "It's his 68th point in championship football" kind of stuff. Darragh Maloney is far better and hopefully he will get the main slot soon.

On Radio, nobody compares to Micheál O'Muircheartaigh. I have heard that he is retiring after this year. There is no one to replace him. Brian Carthy of the overlapping of the overlapping sentences is nowhere near him. You know the kind of thing: "It's a goal, a goal for Longford."

Micheál O'Muircheartaigh gives you a much better idea of what is happening compared to other commentators. He'll not only tell there has been a score, but how it came about. It is as radio commentary should be. Others tend to forget at times that their audience can't see what is happening and so they are very limited on the details they give.

If any of you have seen the documentary on Micheál O'Muircheartaigh, "The Sound of Sunday" you'll see him talk about his style. One thing he said is that he never stops talking and fills any gaps in play with something. When you listen to him you might be thinking why is he telling us what happened in some match over half a century ago, instead of the current match or sending greetings to someone he heard about or met? It is to keep on talking when there is nothing to actually comment on in the current game. It keeps the listener engaged and means there is never silence, unlike with some commentators. If he is retiring, he will be sorely missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭jwcurtin

TV3
    Brian Carthy is worse

Much worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 davedaly7532

TV3
    Brian Carthy:"The right footed kick from ... and it sails over the bar"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

TV3
    RTE by far, especially for the hurling, Pat Spillanne and to a lesser extent Joe Brolly can be very annoying

Will the person who voted TV3 as well as me please stand up for themselves!!!

To be honest I have to agree with alot in what you are saying but I still think TV3 bring something different to the GAA.

I don't know how to multi-quote (somebody tell me how!)

Obviously like everyone I watch the Sunday Game every Sunday night and I do like their highlights programme even if Des Cahill is a bit boring but I do feel that RTE live coverage is a bit dull.

TV3 build up to their live games 1 hour before their live coverage, while RTE take only 30 mins. Like I've also said before the big games they cover are half decent but the small minority games coverage is just pathetic you would have to agree?

I also think TV3 feel privileged to broadcast our national sport while RTE seem to take it for granted. A quick example would be the fact that TV3 used their big morning show Ireland AM to do the qualifiers draw a couple of weeks back. That was a nice touch and again gave us something different, something to look forward to on a Monday morning even if it was still a little to early for most of us! In a lot of other TV3 programmes they advertise their GAA live matches with a sense of pride.

As for the TV3 commentary I would agree its a bit dull and boring but apart from Darragh Moloney who last time I checked was presenting the rubbish games at the World Cup they have no other decent commentators. I couldn't listen to Morissery commentate on last weeks Munster Final while Ger Canning is only marginally better.

The panelists I would have to go for TV3 as I think its RTE and not TV3 that are always looking for controversy. An example is last year when Tyrone lost and Spillane said to Brolly "Don't give me this crap about team of the decade".
    To me he is always looking to be the focul point in RTE coverage and his comments are often out of place and WRONG!

The anchor men are pretty much the same with Lyster and Cooper but both are fairly decent with out being amazing.

As for the camera shots when they show, why would't they show the crowd? They're the reason we have the Championships and are just as important as the players are maybe even more. Again TV3 gives us something different.

TV3
    Is this thread going anywhere it seems to DH2K9 against pretty much every member of the forum and the poll is showing that.

Ye but if RTE had TV3's commentators, panelists and all round coverage you would all be raving about them but because its TV3 you think they're rubbish!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

TV3
    RTE have the massive advantage in budgets so not really a fair fight.

I like Eugene McGee on TV3. Speaks with real conviction and knowledge.

Don't like Bernard Flynn, Joe Brolly or McStay, but analysts like Spillane, O'Rourke and Anthony Tohill are all worth listening to.

The hurling panel have really gone stale in the last couple of years. Tomás Mulcahy, Cyril(Game on now Ger) Farrell and Ger Loughnane are supposedly the big 3 but apart from the fact that they all talk over each other, none have anything worth to say.

Michael Duignan is great though. You can really feel his love for the game when he speaks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Magi11

TV3
    Duignan is great! Loved the way he threw his 2 cent in about Louth!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

TV3
    Michael Duignan is great though. You can really feel his love for the game when he speaks.

Agree about Duignan, he is very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

TV3
    RTÉ by a country mile. The pundits could be on the moon for all I care.

TV3
    Kevin McStay is undoubtedly the best pundit on either station- inciteful,funny and tells it as it is.

Are you kidding me? All he does is quote the rules and bore the life out of everyone.However he did well with his comments on Dermot Earley. Very heartfelt and sincere.

I've heard people say that TV3 take to many ad breaks. If anybody was watching the Munster Final on RTE after the match was over they took a break came back on, cup was presented for 2 seconds, took another break, came on again and spoke for the best part of thirty seconds with no interviews at all. POINT PROVEN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 wavinpipe

TV3
    My opinion .....RTE by far !!!ie. 1: Nicky English one of the greats of hurling but has to be said bad bad Commentator..2: Matt Cooper has to stick to politics and the last word because he hasn't a clue of Football every time another pundit argues with his comments on a situation he changes the sudject !!
    Rant over .:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

TV3
    Half of what Duignan says can't be understood. He gets the first names of players wrong way too much. Recently during the Munster semi he said he'd heard Ken McGrath had terrible knee problems and wouldn't play again. Ken came off the bench to score a long range point to seal the game.

Imagine if you are trying to show tourists or foreigners our national sport. How are they supposed to understand either him or Cyril Farrell!?

TV3
    I've heard people say that TV3 take to many ad breaks. If anybody was watching the Munster Final on RTE after the match was over they took a break came back on, cup was presented for 2 seconds, took another break, came on again and spoke for the best part of thirty seconds with no interviews at all. POINT PROVEN.

TV3 are actually allowed to take more ad breaks than what RTÉ do so you have proven absolutely nothing.

RTÉ will have shown the adverts that were previously booked to be shown at that time. What you saw would have been shown during Father Ted which was supposed to be shown at 9pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,801 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

IMO RTE's coverage is stale, poor and lazy. The 'analysis' typically consists of brolly and pateen stoking up the coals and looking for controversary....witness last week and pateen calling for replays etc. for leinster final and him watching the game from a tv monitor in Thurles. Like a lot of RTE (and inded other stations) coverage is more about the mouths on the panel than the actual talent ie the players --- e.g.Hool anf Pope on rugby, Eamo and Giles on soccer, Pat and Brolly on GAA, panel on irelands got talent or whatever its called.
    TV3 has potential if they go their own way and try to inovate a bit - their use of the fancy formation graphics b4 games is a copy from BBC but at least is different from RTE's traditional '4 lines of 3' formation. Aldo Brady canavan and mcgee know what they are talking about even if cooper hasn't a clue
    One bugbear of mine:RTE ususlly has panel analysts watching games from miles away on TV, eg yesterday Derry v Kildare being analysed from thurles, and mcstay and whoever else talking about conditions and athmosphere without having a clue no more than the rest of us. This is lazy IMO...if we really need half time talking heads at least have them at the game and seeing what is happening ie off the ball movements formations etc, the rest we can see for ourselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

There are a few things about RTE that annoy me.

Marty Morrissey should not be let commentate a football match...Marty there is no harm to show a bit of excitement!

Darragh Maloney should be the main commentator for football (never seen him do a hurling match), he sounds like he actually enjoys the game he is watching.
    Remember Eoin Mulligans goal against dublin a few years ago and Maloney was commenting...he portrayed how everyone felt watching it, that we had seen one of the best goals ever in croke park!
    Get him All-Ireland finals asap!

Hate the way the football panel acts. In every sport there is not always going to be a classic match. There last sunday at half time of the Leinster final they slated into a very enjoyable game.
    Dublin Vs Mayo, one of the games of the decade they found fault with....jesus, they cannot go a game without giving criticism to the game of football no matter how good it is. Lads if ye don't enjoy the game that much then don't be an analyst:mad:
    Thats one thing TV3 doesn't do...and Peter Canavan is better than any of them on RTE.

(oh...and who ever that basketball commentator that did a few matches last year, please bring him back!! Love his enthusiasm)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

TV3
    They're both terrible but RTE are not quite as bad. TV3's commentary is just awful and I personally can't stand Matt Cooper in studio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Mweelrea wrote: »
    They're both terrible but RTE are not quite as bad. TV3's commentary is just awful and I personally can't stand Matt Cooper in studio.

I hate pretty much everything that TV3 goes near. But in Peter Canavan is the best analyst by a distance on TV at the moment, TV3's use of graphical analysis shows greater thought than RTE's (who you would presume would have a far higher budget, watch their ideas being copied next year). While the commentators on TV3 are no great shakes, I've never heard a more inept performance than Marty Morrissey's last night I never thought there would be a worse commentator than Ger Canning, but Morrissey is it. The fact that they are unsackable is another plus point for TV3.

TV3
    I thought Morrissey did a fine job last night.

TV3
    I'm changing my vote to TV3. The camera work by RTE today was pathetic. All the mistakes that TV3 was being pilloried for about a year ago are now being made by RTE. How many quick kickouts were missed by showing replays? At one stage after a Dublin score, they had a free in by the time RTE reverted to live action. And as for the Dublin goal, just sack the director and his arty farty shots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

TV3
    I always find the TV3 coverage very parochial... very pro Dub.. Cant stand Matt Cooper's voice either.. he seems like a decent guy, but I just cant listen to him. .

Sick of the three same panelists on RTE, but they are still better than the TV3 coverage... Wish they could find the same dream team that they have for the soccer.. never understood they have Spillane as panelist when Kerry are playing, Brolly when Derry playing etc etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

I always find the TV3 coverage very parochial... very pro Dub.. Cant stand Matt Cooper's voice either.. he seems like a decent guy, but I just cant listen to him. .

Sick of the three same panelists on RTE, but they are still better than the TV3 coverage... Wish they could find the same dream team that they have for the soccer.. never understood they have Spillane as panelist when Kerry are playing, Brolly when Derry playing etc etc...

VERY pro dub, they want to do that because they know dublin are the most followed team in the country and by getting most of dublins games they're trying to get the most viewers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

RTE missing O'Garas goal was annoying.