Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fox coming into estate

• 14-07-2010 11:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭

Hey lads, there is a couple of red lads comming into my housing estate from the fields accross the road, iv seen them a few times over the last few weeks, must be getting food somewhere! but there are lots of kids in the estate including 2 of my own so im not very happy about it. I have permission to shoot in the fields where they come from but with the licence in the backlog in the garda station and my rifle in the shop im at a loose end! the farmer said he'll shoot any he sees but hasnt seen any when he is around.

so my question is this, how would i go about catching them and dispatching them without a gun, and am i ok to kill them without a gun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Hey lads, there is a couple of red lads comming into my housing estate from the fields accross the road, iv seen them a few times over the last few weeks, must be getting food somewhere! but there are lots of kids in the estate including 2 of my own so im not very happy about it. I have permission to shoot in the fields where they come from but with the licence in the backlog in the garda station and my rifle in the shop im at a loose end! the farmer said he'll shoot any he sees but hasnt seen any when he is around.

so my question is this, how would i go about catching them and dispatching them without a gun, and am i ok to kill them without a gun?

do a little research on the use of snares and their usual route of travel. If they're getting fed you can use a cage trap as well and let your friend dispatch them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

foxes are oppertunist hunters/scavengers so will look for and find food most places birdtables pet food bowls etc and have allways been floating around every housing estate ever built
    i wouldn't worry about your kids for even a second , i'd be more concerned about your neighbourhood dogs than foxes , the incident in london is a 1 in a million
    if your living near a housing estate chances are if you set cage traps all you'll get is moggies and if you start snaring you'll get them too except puss in boots in a snare is good fun if you want to let him go belive me and god forbid if you get someones dog and it sits there howling and is found by it's owner in a snare your life won't be worth living
    wait till you get your rifle then go deal with the 'problem' as you see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

man the red fellos no longer live in the country LOL most of them around or near towns as food is always there for them. i would look into were abouts they are coming from i.e road,rail track as they will mostly use the same way to enter the area and set a snare:D

i had a fox set under neath my trampoline one day watching our kittens in the grass, so dispatched my .17hmr and tat was that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Hey lads, there is a couple of red lads comming into my housing estate from the fields accross the road, iv seen them a few times over the last few weeks, must be getting food somewhere! but there are lots of kids in the estate including 2 of my own so im not very happy about it.?

Don't buy into the silly season media hysteria on this subject. There are plenty of reasons to shot or trap foxes, but this isn't one of them:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Don't buy into the silly season media hysteria on this subject. There are plenty of reasons to shot or trap foxes, but this isn't one of them:rolleyes:
    Im not buying into anything, I would shoot them anyway but cant at the moment as my rifle is in the shop waiting!!
    .204 ruger coming up tonight with a friend so we should have some fun:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... .204 ruger coming up tonight with a friend so we should have some fun:D
    I'm a bit puzzled. They are not a threat to the kids, it's a residential area with no chickens, geese, ducks or other farmyard fowl so as they appear to pose no threat, why shoot them? Is it just because you can, for "fun", although I fail to see any "fun" in killing? Is it for bounty? How do you propose disposing of the bodies?

As the foxes are habitually entering a residential area, some mindless idiot is not securing bins or leaving pet-food out at night. Why not find out who the idiot is and spare the foxes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

mathepac wrote: »
    I'm a bit puzzled. They are not a threat to the kids, it's a residential area with no chickens, geese, ducks or other farmyard fowl so as they appear to pose no threat, why shoot them? Is it just because you can, for "fun", although I fail to see any "fun" in killing? Is it for bounty? How do you propose disposing of the bodies?

As the foxes are habitually entering a residential area, some mindless idiot is not securing bins or leaving pet-food out at night. Why not find out who the idiot is and spare the foxes?

Because you will never stop idiots :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

foxes are vermin and will be shot on sight. they carry mange and other undesireable stuff.
    the country would be overun with these creatures if they were not controled. and then you would be hearing about more biteing insedents and god forbid worse.
    as it is the fox population is very strong and helthy. left un managed it would be a different story.
    people have bin shooting vermin for as long as there have bin guns to shoot them.
    before that they were trapped and snared, yet still they are as abundent as ever.
    you and others like you dont see the bigger picture in all this.
    i'm not trying to wind you up its just a fact.

having said that i do agree with you on the point of our waste and how its managed.
    its a pitty we throw away so much that it can feed a wild population of vermin, ie fox, rats etc.

Shooting and hunting is a hobby, which i and many others who post here enjoy so you are right, it is fun to shoot foxes. like paul said they are vermin and just seeing one is all the reason you need to shoot it, provided it is safe to do so;)

also agree with your comment about the way waist is stored and i have had a look around to see if they had been at bins in any front gardens but they had not been. not much else i can do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

I'm a bit puzzled. They are not a threat to the kids
    Oh yes they are..ever hear of Canine parovirus?foxes carry that,along with tapeworm,and a host of other pretty nasty diseases that can be passed onto kids.God help us if this country ever gets rabies..
    it's a residential area with no chickens, geese, ducks or other farmyard fowl so as they appear to pose no threat, why shoot them?

Uhmmm Cats,small dogs,puppies are also quite tasty to mr Fox.

As said, you cant regulate idiots.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Is it just because you can, for "fun", although I fail to see any "fun" in killing?
    It took me a while to figure it out (because I came into shooting from the target shooting end), but when people say they have fun shooting foxes, or that they enjoy it, there's a nuance there that most people miss. It's not exultation in the death of the fox itself, the act of killing doesn't get anyone's pleasure centers riled up; it's the success in the hunt. There's a fine line dividing them, but it's there nonetheless. It's not a wanton act of cruelty; it's a necessary act, technically challenging and difficult to carry out.

Besides which, Grizzly is correct - foxes do carry various pathogens and parasites that can be transmitted to humans, and they are also basicly small wild dogs under all the niceties we attribute to them, and need to be treated as such, especially in an area where there are children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Oh yes they are..ever hear of Canine parovirus?foxes carry that,along with tapeworm,and a host of other pretty nasty diseases that can be passed onto kids.God help us if this country ever gets rabies..

Uhmmm Cats,small dogs,puppies are also quite tasty to mr Fox.

As said, you cant regulate idiots.
    Canine Parvovirus is not dangerous to people.:cool:

It is dangerous to your pet dog tho which means its then your problem;)

My dog is fully vaccinated against Parvo, so no problem to my Dog. Thanks for concern though;)

So what i am reading is , a fox is coming onto a residential estate . Which is built over the fox's natural habitat. Despite what you read in tabloids, your kids are more at risk cycling a bike or playing football.

So what i am reading is , a fox is coming onto a residential estate . Which is built over the fox's natural habitat. QUOTE]
    whats your point?

So what i am reading is , a fox is coming onto a residential estate . Which is built over the fox's natural habitat. QUOTE]
    whats your point?

Its right under that sentence.

well aware of the dangers thanks but like whats been said in previous posts they are dangerous and they vermin and will be shot on sight!

No sign of them last night by the way, we're gonna try get out again tonight(weather permitting):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Because he'd end up in jail if he shot the idiot

well aware of the dangers thanks but like whats been said in previous posts they are dangerous and they vermin and will be shot on sight!

No sign of them last night by the way, we're gonna try get out again tonight(weather permitting):p

LOL really have you been attacked by one ? ?

whats that got to do with anything??

You said that fox's were dangerous , i just wanted to hear your experience with them ?

No iv never been attacked by a fox but again, for those who cant seem to read, they carry diseases. only experience i have with them is shooting them tbh

also hit 1 with the car once

No iv never been attacked by a fox but again, for those who cant seem to read, they carry diseases. only experience i have with them is shooting them tbh

Well alot of things carry disease. :rolleyes:

i love fishing , but i dont say i am going fishing because i want to make the world a better place , and im only thinking of the kids .

I fish because i enjoy it. I have friends who enjoy hunting fox's for sport. I have not tried it myself yet

Just a tip .
    If you are only hunting to help fight disease, you will do more good, by donating money to research in diseases which are actually killing people.

Of course not, he's an adult. Foxes have been noted recently having a nibble on infant humans though...

i love fishing , but i dont say i am going fishing because i want to make the world a better place , and im only thinking of the kids .

I fish because i enjoy it. I have friends who enjoy hunting fox's for sport. I have not tried it myself yet

Just a tip .
    If you are only hunting to help fight disease, you will do more good, by donating money to research in diseases which are actually killing people.
    what are you trying to do here? your just bein a smart arse imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

I fish because i enjoy it. I have friends who enjoy hunting fox's for sport. I have not tried it myself yet Just a tip .

and we shoot foxes because we enjoy it, stop trying to cause trouble, if you dont like foxes being shot dont look in hunting, and as you say above, you havent tried it, dont knock it until you have

fodda wrote: »
    I thought foxes were "wildlife" part of the nations natural make up of in this case "wild animals". I thought vermin were animals or maybe insects which had started to interfere with a farmers stock by over running the farmers defences.

Are you saying that any animal or any animal which isnt of use or protected in anyway is vermin and deserves to die?

All animals including us two legged ones carry disease, infact you would be more likely to pick up a parasite or infection from another human than any animal, so if you intend to eradicate disease you will be very busy.
    Your paying too much attention to what DRE has been saying, all he is doing is trying to cause trouble, foxes are vermin and by law can be shot. the only person talking about eradicating disease is the person who doesnt shoot, the rest of us are talkin about controling vermin:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

why do people feel the need to come in here and tell us that your pass time is wrong, who do ye think ye are telling us whats right and whats wrong, lately every post about foxing has one or two antis telling us why we should stop, if ye dont like hunting STAY OUT of the hunting forum :mad:

jap gt wrote: »
    why do people feel the need to come in here and tell us that your pass time is wrong, who do ye think ye are telling us whats right and whats wrong, lately every post about foxing has one or two antis telling us why we should stop, if ye dont like hunting STAY OUT of the hunting forum :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Sparks wrote: »
    It took me a while to figure it out (because I came into shooting from the target shooting end), but when people say they have fun shooting foxes, or that they enjoy it, there's a nuance there that most people miss. It's not exultation in the death of the fox itself, the act of killing doesn't get anyone's pleasure centers riled up; it's the success in the hunt. There's a fine line dividing them, but it's there nonetheless. It's not a wanton act of cruelty; it's a necessary act, technically challenging and difficult to carry out.

Besides which, Grizzly is correct - foxes do carry various pathogens and parasites that can be transmitted to humans, and they are also basicly small wild dogs under all the niceties we attribute to them, and need to be treated as such, especially in an area where there are children.
    if you live in england you will see many foxes in the towns and cities,they are often very tame,when i worked in trafford park near man u ground,we had three foxes who would come up the the security lodge for titbits, they would feed from your hand, one old girl would follow me to the canteen and wait outside for me to bring her a chicken or cheese snack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭leedsfan88

I disagree with hunting, but i can understand the concerns of a parent.

But if people are leaving food out and bins open then new foxes will come around after the current foxes are murdered. So for a long term solution make sure peoples bins are secured and food isn't left out over night.

Also its very rare for foxes to attack people or kids, I know there have been two cases over the last few months, one in London and another somewhere in Ireland. It is more likely that one of your kids would be attacked by a dog in the estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

leedsfan88 wrote: »
    I disagree with hunting, but i can understand the concerns of a parent.

But if people are leaving food out and bins open then new foxes will come around after the current foxes are murdered. So for a long term solution make sure peoples bins are secured and food isn't left out over night.

Also its very rare for foxes to attack people or kids, I know there have been two cases over the last few months, one in London and another somewhere in Ireland. It is more likely that one of your kids would be attacked by a dog in the estate.

Yes but if a dog attacks a child then the owner is held responsible for the dog, and its put down!
    If a fox attacks a child, who's held responsible?
    Do those who feed the foxes, come forward and say, well we'll pay all your hospital bills because its kind of our fault this happened!
    Dont think so!

leedsfan88 wrote: »
    murdered
    Completely the wrong verb right there.

Okay, mod hat on. The hunting forum charter states very clearly:
    This is a hunting forum so if you're anti-hunting, don't post and don't read any posts; you are going to be offended. Any muppetry will result in a temp or perm ban.
    So if you really can't keep an open mind, posting in here is probably just going to do bad things to your peace of mind and blood pressure.

The charter also says:
    If you have a problem with a post, use the "Report Bad Post" link (it's marked on the left side of each post with a symbol) to report it to the moderators. Do not take it on yourself to regulate the forum.
    So jap and kildare, quit telling people where to go. Back seat modding isn't welcome.

And most importantly, the very first rule in the shooting forums is Be Civil to one another. If folks feel they can't discuss something in a civil manner, they shouldn't post at all.

and we shoot foxes because we enjoy it, stop trying to cause trouble, if you dont like foxes being shot dont look in hunting, and as you say above, you havent tried it, dont knock it until you have

Yes my point exactly.
    But this OP says he is doing it as disease control and stopping children from being hurt . I was just pointing out easier ways to do that .

There aren't really any easier ways though Dre. Certainly, it's a simple idea to find the idiot whose poor hygiene habits are causing the problem, but how do you stop them? There's no law against attracting pests, and no effective means to control their behaviour. They're adults, not children. Shooting the fox is the most effective means available.

i would not think shooting a gun at a fox on a estate is safe,and i am sure its against the law

getz wrote: »
    i would not think shooting a gun at a fox on a estate is safe,and i am sure its against the law
    I'm pretty sure noone's standing in their neighbour's driveway with a .223 waiting for the fox getz.

fodda wrote: »
    There may not be anyone feeding the foxes Sparks, it may be just the amount of food which is thrown away in dustbins or the usual toss it out the window brigade
    That's precisely what everyone's been saying.
    However, most of us don't throw waste food out our windows and most of us seal our rubbish bags and put them in closed bins to prevent the buildup of rats and foxes and other pest species around our homes.
    However, we don't have laws against the less fastidious of our neighbours and no way to control our neighbour's behaviour; so we have to control the pest species instead. And the most effective way to control foxes is simply to shoot them.

Foxes are lovely animals. But the fact of the matter is that they cause a lot of damage to smallholdings and farmland. I know of a man who lost 80 ducks to the one vixen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

I honestly don't mind people coming onto the hunting section to discuss a topic once there not trolling!
    I don't think all of these people are anti hunting either!
    I do believe they have a problem putting foxes in the same category as rats!
    Most people, (even anties, if they were being completely honest) wouldn't tolerate having rats in their back yard!

For people like us who have an understanding of wildlife and know that foxes are not just harmless little things, but like rats! are a nuisance, and there numbers have to be kept under controll!
    I wouldn't tolerate any vermin in my back yard wether it be rat, fox, magpie or hooded crow, and i think most people on this section feel the same way!

I'm pretty sure noone's standing in their neighbour's driveway with a .223 waiting for the fox getz.
    sorry i must not be reading kildare17hmrs post correctly

You're correct in that you're not reading his post correctly. It's the fields outside the estate where the foxes are coming from that they're talking about shooting over, not within the estate itself.

Yes my point exactly.
    But this OP says he is doing it as disease control and stopping children from being hurt . I was just pointing out easier ways to do that .
    I never said anything about disease control that was some1else, i shoot for fun wether it be targets, rabbits or foxes.
    shooting would be done in the fields opposite where they come from and where i have permission to shoot
    So jap and kildare, quit telling people where to go. Back seat modding isn't welcome.
    QUOTE]
    dont think i told any1 where to go sparks but if i broke a forum rule i appologise:D

Really???Maybe you should have a word with your Doctor and Vet before issuing ill informed statements!!!
    Point being???? Because vermin looks cute it's ok to have them running amuck next to humanity??Good job rats arnt cute then...:rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

[
    Most people, (even anties, if they were being completely honest) wouldn't tolerate having rats in their back yard!
    Havent heard of some of the more head the ball antis around here then???:rolleyes:.Too much of that whaccy baccy I reckon.

Really???Maybe you should have a word with your Doctor and Vet before issuing ill informed statements!!!
    Point being???? Because vermin looks cute it's ok to have them running amuck next to humanity??Good job rats arnt cute then...:rolleyes:
    I am a vet. Canine parvo is not a zoonosis. You need to check your info before issuing ill informed statements!!!

whats goin on with the quotes???? they are comming up as the wrong person. mods???

Really??You are a vet??You are pretty quiet for some reason on the other transferable diseases that foxes can communicate to humans!Maybe it doesnt suit your defence of poor put upon foxie woxie!
    So do tell us about
    mange,tapeworm,toxocariasis ,weils disease and the ultimate... rabies!
    All communicable to humans BTW,and pretty nasty,spread by the fox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

lads calm down
    canine parovirus is different from canine parVovirus afaik one is transmitable to humans one is not
    grizzly kids are as likely to catch any of the things you are talking about from playing in the garden where family pets DO as where a fox is rumaging around
    i shoot as many foxes as the next lad ,!!no probably more , and i think using the reason that they are where the kids might be is a feeble one