Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I help you? No thanks

• 13-07-2010 9:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

Is it just me or does anyone else get pestered by overly pushy retail staff?

I've stopped going into Body Shop cos as soon as I approach the products I normally buy just to check the price I am interrupted by "do you need any help?" so since she's just doing her job I say "no, fine thanks" - I turn around to look at another product and get the same thing from another assistant. Now I'm a well dressed working woman...........so its not a question of acting suspiciously. I believe these assistants have been trained to act like this - but the thing is that far from encouraging me to buy it puts me off.

I was at the top of Grafton Street today ready to go down to Body Shop - but remembering my last few trips there I turned around and dropped into Boots instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

They are either working off commission or they think you are a well dressed shoplifter.

Walk in talking to yourself the next time & they probably won't go near you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

Yes. I'd much prefer if they were quiet, grumpy and unhelpful as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

easyeason3 wrote: »
    They are either working off commission or they think you are a well dressed shoplifter.

Eh or helping customers is just beneficial to them as it helps pass the time during a long day on the floor. If I didn't have customers to help on products and adivse them where I work (alright an electrical shop,where people would need advice) I'd crack up standing there all day.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

A lot of places have guidelines for approaching a browser within a certain window of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Waking-Dreams

I believe these assistants have been trained to act like this - but the thing is that far from encouraging me to buy it puts me off.

Think it's bad here? During my time in Canada many sales people often tried having a very awkward and unauthentic conversation. Just asking, "do you need help?" and then walking away wasn't their tactic. "We must engage the customer and help them buy something, even if they're just browsing."

Sales people are all drilled to act this way. Sell, sell, sell, they're told, and even though the ground staff know they can be coming across as pushy, do you think the upper management give a rat's ass? They just want the person to buy something, regardless if they need it or not.

Yet, they contradict themselves all the time. In meetings they tell staff, "we want to provide customers with a positive experience so they'll come back" AND THEN LATER "we need you to sell this product to these customers, the bottom line is make the sale".

Welcome to consumerist capitalism and all its oxymoronic personas.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

It's a bit annoying alright. I found it irritating when I used to play Warhammer, that any time I walked into the Games Workshop the staff assumed I needed help or that I was in there buying for my boyfriend or brother or whatever. Aaaagh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Joker.

greetings wrote: »
    Eh or helping customers is just beneficial to them as it helps pass the time during a long day on the floor. If I didn't have customers to help on products and adivse them where I work (alright an electrical shop,where people would need advice) I'd crack up standing there all day.

Theres nothing helpful about jumping down peoples throats with 'are you ok there' the second you step foot inside the shop, what the hell is that all about seriously ! The ****ers dont even give you time to browse

As opposed to being asked 101 questions & not getting a sale?

I don't mind a shop assistant asking me if I want help, can be great at times when I don't know where to find things. But I don't need someone constantly asking me. That's just annoying.

When I worked in retail we were told to ask every customer if they wanted any help, which in theory sounds good but in reality it got a lot of people pissed off. Most people found it intimidating to be asked by two or three different people did they need any help.

The_Joker. wrote: »
    Theres nothing helpful about jumping down peoples throats with 'are you ok there' the second you step foot inside the shop, what the hell is that all about seriously ! The ****ers dont even give you time to browse

Well I'd tend to give them a few minutes to look before I approach them. I've seen people's awkward reactions when they're asked would they like help before they have even reached the appliances they are looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

It's a bit annoying alright. I found it irritating when I used to play Warhammer, that any time I walked into the Games Workshop the staff assumed I needed help or that I was in there buying for my boyfriend or brother or whatever. Aaaagh!

well tbh a girl (especially one that actually doesn't look like a man) in a warhammer shop sticks out like a clown at a funeral. no wonder they thought you needed help.

As opposed to being asked 101 questions & not getting a sale?

I don't mind a shop assistant asking me if I want help, can be great at times when I don't know where to find things. But I don't need someone constantly asking me. That's just annoying.

When I worked in retail we were told to ask every customer if they wanted any help, which in theory sounds good but in reality it got a lot of people pissed off. Most people found it intimidating to be asked by two or three different people did they need any help.

Why would there be several people asking them? If we ask someone and they don't want help,we tend to let the other workers know that we've approached them so we don't have all of us going down annoying the customer

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

well tbh a girl (especially one that actually doesn't look like a man) in a warhammer shop sticks out like a clown at a funeral. no wonder they thought you needed help.

Well... Depends who you ask :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Waking-Dreams

hahah those poor souls in GW deserve a whole thread of their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Better then being ignored by staff who stand around chatting and texting and ignoring customers

I'd prefer to be approached

Now I'm a well dressed working woman...........so its not a question of acting suspiciously.

That means absolutely nothing.
    Not all women who shoplift are in tracksuits and hide stuff in their childs buggy though that's a stereotype
    You're as likely to steal as anyone in the store

Why would there be several people asking them? If we ask someone and they don't want help,we tend to let the other workers know that we've approached them so we don't have all of us going down annoying the customer

Different people in different sections, someone back from the stock room/ break/ lunch etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Joker.

I think the shop assistants should wear a radio controlled electrified dog collar , and when the customer requires assistance , on each shelf/rack should be a button the customer can press to electrocute the assistant to get their attention.

Different people in different sections, someone back from the stock room/ break/ lunch etc.

That's fair enough,there's only 4 or 5 of us so at least we don't have that problem,which I understand how annoying it would be.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

You should be thankfull that they are helping you they are only there to help you and be kind, leave people alone. God its bad now when people moan about getting help whats it going to be like in 10 years time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,047 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

It's the sole reason I hate Claire's Accessories. They are the preppiest people ever.

I don't mind some one saying, "If ya need a hand, gizza shout".

I hate the "Well today we have this offer when you buy this you get this. Over there, the ____ are half price. (My thought: "I know, the frickin' sign with 50% off is the size of the shop itself.") You also get this cute fluffy pen when you pay."

I DON'T WANT A FLUFFY PEN!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

Is the art of sales not all about understanding the needs of customers? My need is not to be repeating "no thanks - I'm fine" over and over. And so I take my business to places that seem to be able to understand that if I need help I'LL ASK FOR IT.

Just sayin........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I thought the Bodyshop people were grand. I've often gone in there to buy herself some bombs(bath ones that is:)) and they were always helpful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

I would say better then when you go into shops and cant find staff,and then you get a moany cow who doesn't like her job and makes you feel like you are putting her out:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭neil_18_

Mystery shoppers are the problem. They're afraid that a person hired as a mystery shopper will come in and if they don't approach them they will get told off by the boss. When i worked in a mens clothes shop we were told that we had to acknowledge every single customer by at least saying hi to them.

The other day i walked into Champion Sports and i stopped at a table of t shirts. Half a second later a girl comes over saying do you need any help. FFS i didnt even get look at the t shirts yet. I don't mind if i clearly look like i'm searching for a size or something and then they ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Retail staff are getting a lot of sthick on AH this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

This practice of asking customers if they need help should be more common. It's only polite... and it deters potential shoplifters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

Thomas828 wrote: »
    This practice of asking customers if they need help should be more common. It's only polite... and it deters potential shoplifters.

How many times is reasonable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

i am guilty of been annoyed about it,when i am in a bad humour.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

It takes less than one second to say "no thanks". Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I used to work for a well known make-up brand and we were told we had to approach people within a certain time frame and ask did they need any help.

I myself hate getting asked "Can I help you?" but I also hate when shop assistants either ignore you or are no where to be seen. So if a customer came into the shop I used to go up to them and pretend to fix something on the shelf or look for stock and say "Hi, if you need help with anything give me a shout. I'll just be over there". It meant I was acknowledging the customer, I was offering my assistance and if needed nhey knew where to find me if they needed it. Simples really! It was going against what we had been trained to do but worked for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

owenc wrote: »
    whats it going to be like in 10 years time!

2020?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Keogg

Larianne wrote: »
    I used to work for a well known make-up brand and we were told we had to approach people within a certain time frame and ask did they need any help.

I myself hate getting asked "Can I help you?" but I also hate when shop assistants either ignore you or are no where to be seen. So if a customer came into the shop I used to go up to them and pretend to fix something on the shelf or look for stock and say "Hi, if you need help with anything give me a shout. I'll just be over there". It meant I was acknowledging the customer, I was offering my assistance and if needed nhey knew where to find me if they needed it. Simples really! It was going against what we had been trained to do but worked for me.

Yeah, when I was in retail we'd get in trouble if we didn't ask people if they wanted help - I tried avoiding it a good deal because I know well how irrtating it is, but it's pretty obvious when people are looking around trying to make eye contact with one of the sales assistants, and then they're really appreciative when you walk up and ask them instead of them having to ask you.

There's nothing more annoying then when you need help and can't get it, or when you walk up to them and they ignore you because they're having their own conversation and don't stop to help you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

Lush are the worst for this, imo. Everytime I go in, only just in the door I get someone asking me do I need any help. I say no thanks but they still drag me into seeing some demonstration. Like many other people, I'm not assertive enough to tell them to fuck off.

And the rare time they do leave after I say no thanks I'm guaranteed to be approached again within a few seconds. I haven't been to Lush in months as a result, I know it sounds odd but I just feel under pressure that I have to buy something every time I go in. I hate it. In reality, if they left me alone and let me make my own decisions I'd probably purchase more and would still be a customer there.

Lush are the worst for this, imo. Everytime I go in, only just in the door I get someone asking me do I need any help. I say no thanks but they still drag me into seeing some demonstration. Like many other people, I'm not assertive enough to tell them to fuck off.

And the rare time they do leave after I say no thanks I'm guaranteed to be approached again within a few seconds. I haven't been to Lush in months as a result, I know it sounds odd but I just feel under pressure that I have to buy something every time I go in. I hate it. In reality, if they left me alone and let me make my own decisions I'd probably purchase more and would still be a customer there.

Ah here, do you know enuff about womens stuff to be left alone to browse?:confused:

I don't. I've often found them very friendly buying stuff for my OH, not intimidating as lets face facts us blokes havent a clue about womens stuff :D

gurramok wrote: »
    Ah here, do you know enuff about womens stuff to be left alone to browse?:confused:

I don't. I've often found them very friendly buying stuff for my OH, not intimidating as lets face facts us blokes havent a clue about womens stuff :D

:eek: I'm a girl! haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭pixie_dust

Well, it's their job - they're being paid to do it. At least they're being friendly & approachable towards a potential customer.

I know some can be incredibly annoying; as mentioned earlier Claire's Accessories - "would you like a shopping bag?" as they fling a small black bag towards you. eh no thanks.

But you'd get over it - they're only trying to help the customer at the end of the day & in turn pushing sales of course..which is the shop's main objective!

In my opinion, it's much worse when they have bad manners, are rude/ignorant to customers (which can totally put you off shopping there in the future).

:eek: I'm a girl! haha

Ah then you have it a very easy shopping experience:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

Happened to me in Sunglasses hut, asked me did i need help within a second of walking in hadnt even got a chance to look, but then Stood looking at me while I look quite annoying, Im not gonna buy 150e+ sunglasses on a whim because they pressure me, I left.

gurramok wrote: »
    Ah then you have it a very easy shopping experience:D

The added bonus being that I've never been mistaken for a man when I've been out shopping :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I guess if retail staff didnt ask if you needed any help you'd have people complaining bout that. Cant please em all, they are only doing their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

mars bar wrote: »
    It's the sole reason I hate Claire's Accessories. They are the preppiest people ever.

I don't mind some one saying, "If ya need a hand, gizza shout".

I hate the "Well today we have this offer when you buy this you get this. Over there, the ____ are half price. (My thought: "I know, the frickin' sign with 50% off is the size of the shop itself.") You also get this cute fluffy pen when you pay."

I DON'T WANT A FLUFFY PEN!! :mad:

Haha I went in there a few years ago looking for something for my sister for Christmas. Was met by a stout woman asking did I need any help only seconds after I entered. Told her I was just looking for something for my sister blah blah blah. So she went ahead and dragged me around the shop picking out a load of ****e.

She recommended a make-up set that was worth €2. I know nothing about buying presents for girls but jeez you definitely don't go and give someone something like that. Told her grand then dropped the things and walked out. Brutal sales person. No need to be shoving things down people's throats like that. May try ignoring the staff from now on see if they get the hint that I don't really need help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,978 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

i was working for a clothing range over in Edinburgh 2 summers ago and they were developing a short course on how to approach customers, the manager reckoned it was being looked into for becoming a college course!
    i stuck to my guns on the floor, greet very politely with "hello", just to let people know you are there, if they engage in conversation with me sound, if not then sound, they know where i am if they needed me.

some of them are aweful in your face, its horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Chiorino

Unfortunately yes, some companies do have a policy of getting staff to approach customers. The Irish mentality just isn't suited to it as I once tried (in vain) to explain to a visiting english area manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Like many other people, I'm not assertive enough to tell them to fuck off.

A simple 'no thanks' works much better than 'f*ck off.' I find.

Haha I went in there a few years ago looking for something for my sister for Christmas. Was met by a stout woman asking did I need any help only seconds after I entered. Told her I was just looking for something for my sister blah blah blah. So she went ahead and dragged me around the shop picking out a load of ****e.

She recommended a make-up set that was worth €2. I know nothing about buying presents for girls but jeez you definitely don't go and give someone something like that. Told her grand then dropped the things and walked out. Brutal sales person. No need to be shoving things down people's throats like that. May try ignoring the staff from now on see if they get the hint that I don't really need help

Your first mistake was going into Claire's Accessories looking for a Christmas present. Oh wait.... do you hate your sister?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Or maybe they are just trying to be friendly and polite? Or they are simply doing what they've been trained to do?

When I worked in retail my manager was forever drumming into us the importance of approaching every customer and making them feel welcome and letting them see that you were ready and willing to help them.

I know it can be annoying but would you honestly rather you were completely ignored walking in? I wager half the people complaining now would pitch a fit if no-one spoke to them.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I dont mind being approached and asked if I require help, its starting to happen more often in Ireland probably due to the fact that shops are not as busy anymore and staff are not stretched as much.. I've been in stores before that you couldnt even get a staff member to make eye contact with you let alone help you. You would almost have to start chasing them around the store to try and get some attention or assistance..

In the US its the complete opposite.. you get completely harassed, its very annoying.. you dont even get 30 seconds to browse and see what they have before someone comes over and starts questioning you, pulling out stuff etc..

I know basic wages are crap and its all commission based but harassing a customer is hardly going to make them purchase anything..

Tox

I don't particularly mind it in regular shops.. I want to punch every butcher who asks me tho.
    I will have a look at everything and then ask the butcher who is no more than two metres away when i'm ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭source

I worked in a shop before and the owner had a great approach, his idea was keep doing what you're doing and if you see the customer hover around a product for a bit, or looking around then approach them. If they don't look like they need help then they probably don't.

The till was right near the door so every customer was greeted with a simple hello as they came into the shop.

I've also worked for a few shops which operate the pounce as they enter ideal, so many people got pissed off with it it's not even funny.

• I always find that when I'm blatantly just browsing or passing time, I'm approached and hassled, yet when I'm looking around, looking for help, I get ignored. It's bloody annoying. If I get asked 'do you need any help?' within 2 seconds of setting foot in the store, I usually just leave. It makes me really uncomfortable. How would I know if I needed help if I haven't even seen what's on offer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

Ya'll haven't lived till you go shopping in the USofA, overly happy, how can I/we help you today, welcome to "X" store have a nice time ! So false and tacky.

Or when paying for the stuff at the till... they start acting like your mate saying "ohh I know belt that would look great with those jeans" legs it off to get said belt, and now you feel you have to buy the thing !!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins