Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does our local radio station annoy the hell out of anyone else?

• 13-07-2010 6:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Limerick_Lass

I dont like to complain :rolleyes:
    But we badly need a decent radio station, one without really annoying DJs and that doesnt have the same playlist day in day out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭cutymonalisa

Agreed, Live 95 drives me insane, the utter drivel spouted hour in hour out would almost make you switch over to Spin, its that poor - yer one 'out and about' with her traffic reports is an utter kn*bhead. Deaths in Limerick read out at 5.30pm WTF? Then the old classic 'its 15 degrees in Parteen and Patrickswell' - agggghhhhhhhh:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

I haven't listen to (in fact I refuse to listen) this station in over two years. It is woeful, outdated, offers nothing in way of music, youth , the arts etc etc.

All it seems to care about is Munster rugby and staying firmly on this bandwagon.

I know there was a licence review a couple of years ago with talk of one of the cranberries being involved in a new station which would focus largley on MUSIC! as a radio station should. Unfortuneately this was shot down.

In short, The station is an embarrassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Limerick_Lass

I can practically tell you all what songs will be played tomorrow.
    And do they have special auditions to get the presenters with the most annoying voices/accents. That guy who does the love songs...arghhhhh :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Vanolder wrote: »
    I haven't listen to (in fact I refuse to listen) this station in over two years. It is woeful, outdated, offers nothing in way of music, youth , the arts etc etc.

Given your mention of "youth".......do you mean "music" as in the 80% noise that Spin spew out ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I don't listen to it EVER.

Too much sport.

Too many bad presenters.

Too many obituaries.

Traffic reports drive me mad. Sounds like some fat one driving around getting free food off shops for calling out their name.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Given your mention of "youth".......do you mean "music" as in the 80% noise that Spin spew out ?

Yes an no, what I mean is specific programmes that give young people a voice and plays this sort of music.

The same goes with alternative or dance music.

Just a slight movement towards the 21st century would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭bonzer1again

I wonder if they'll play the cranberries again!!! tomorrow....I actually used to like their songs until I noticed that Live95 have no other songs to play, and really if you want a laugh have a look at who you've been listening to....
    http://www.live95fm.ie/on-air/presenters.aspx

Every now and again I try to listen to it, but then they go and play the obituaries or the weather.....I have to turn off....and NO I'm not the LIVE95 Banker.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

95 FM's idea of youth-oriented broadcasting extends no further than their shambles of a breakfast show. The people involved seem to think that they need to dumb everything down to an insulting level. It's appalling to have to hear their rubbish first thing every morning (when others have control of the radio, of course).

The music play-lists have barely changed since 2001. Sonique's "Feels So Good", Robbie Williams' "Rock DJ" and Nickleback's "How You Remind Me" haven't been relevant for years but are still played almost every day, in between the clichéd choices of Irish acts (B*Witched, Westlife, U2, etc).

The only way of telling you're not listening to a played back recording from the archives is from listening to the news every day. At least with the news there's some guarantee of variety every day. Trouble is, they usually end up re-playing the same recorded news bulletin every hour to fill up time between advertising notices...

Yes an no, what I mean is specific programmes that give young people a voice and plays this sort of music.

The same goes with alternative or dance music.

Just a slight movement towards the 21st century would be nice.

OK, so you're looking for a better "mix" of music.

Given your mention of the arts, etc, would you extend that to, say, country, classical, Irish, etc ?

Just curious.

I wonder if they'll play the cranberries again!!! tomorrow....I actually used to like their songs until I noticed that Live95 have no other songs to play, and really if you want a laugh have a look at who you've been listening to....
    http://www.live95fm.ie/on-air/presenters.aspx

Every now and again I try to listen to it, but then they go and play the obituaries or the weather.....I have to turn off....and NO I'm not the LIVE95 Banker.

Christ, i've heard the expression a face for radio before but never has it so aptly suited.

I got asked by about ten people not so long ago was I the banker.. I didnt have a clue what was going on.... I was tempted to say yeah when I was clued in as to what it was but the calibre of the people asking led me to believe I may not escape without physical harm if I did so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,294 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Oh God I hate it sooooooo much! I swear to christ when I used to work in Dell that it was left on just to torture us!!!LOL
    Not only do they have a playlist full of ****e but they play it in the same order every day!!!
    You could nearly set your watch by the cranberries or 'why does it always rain on me'!!!
    It was aural sadism!!!!:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I can practically tell you all what songs will be played tomorrow.
    And do they have special auditions to get the presenters with the most annoying voices/accents. That guy who does the love songs...arghhhhh :mad:

You can guarantee Sonique at least once a day. Sh*t song in the 90's, and sh*t song now.
    Sometimes I amuse myself by turning on live 95fm in the car just to see If they'll play that song,and they without fail always do!Gives me a little chuckle.

Their rugby obsessed. I tuned in to listen to one of the football league games but they were live from the hurling. They didn't even announce the score of the football game at the end of the match or on the next two news bulletin. Very poor form for local station.

West Limerick radio is really growing on me. They actually play music from this decade!

OK, so you're looking for a better "mix" of music.

Given your mention of the arts, etc, would you extend that to, say, country, classical, Irish, etc ?

Just curious.

Yes, most certainly. I know its a local station and doesn't have the money the national broadcasters have but surely programmes like we have both mentioned can be introduced in some manner. The same inane bland programmes hour after hour are cringe worthy and provide little to the county as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Today FM ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

banie01 wrote: »
    or 'why does it always rain on me'!!!
    It was aural sadism!!!!:P

Oh god yeah,talk about a depressing song!
    There always playing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

it has not driven me bonkers in the last five years, i never tune it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Haven't listened to it for any significant length of time in the last few years. I have caught the ads for the breakfast show now and again. They sound like the worst thing you could wake up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

This thread has come way too late, i wholeheartedly agree, its a woeful station with no character whatsoever, awful music(I dont mind pop, but I hate slightly out of date pop), and some weak presenters.

The only area the station has talent is in self promotion.

• RLO and Gerry Hannon!

"Do ya want sauce on yer burger?"

FTW!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Ha, what's Gerry up to these days? His internet cafe on William St is gone as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

I have to listen to it everyday as our company insists we listen to it in our shop its hell pure hell

Yes, most certainly. I know its a local station and doesn't have the money the national broadcasters have but surely programmes like we have both mentioned can be introduced in some manner. The same inane bland programmes hour after hour are cringe worthy and provide little to the county as a whole.

Well firstly, fair play.....not many people see beyond their own tastes when suggesting what a radio station should play.

The issue is that - in general - one radio station can't really cater for everybody; I remember being somewhat surprised to visit my mum and find her listening to Rihanna......when I asked her, she said that she was waiting for the deaths to come on.

Ideally, Limerick would have at least 2 radio stations, and that's what was originally planned in 1988 when the licences were given out.

That's not by way of an excuse, btw; I do think that an awful lot of radio stations - not just Live 95 - are fairly narrow-minded when it comes to music, preferring not to take any chances whatsoever, and only playing music from well-known artists or after some other radio station makes a particular song a "hit"; this gives a catch 22.

And that's not even fully the radio stations' fault; it's reflecting their audiences, who baulk at the idea of hearing anything other than the latest X-factor tripe or the latest gone-next-week disposable rubbish. I've even heard teenagers complain that a 6 month old track was "too old".

There are basically 2 trains of thought; either have a mix of music across every show, or else have specialised shows catering for specific tastes at specific times. The mix idea provides a chance for a listener to discover stuff they mightn't even realise they liked, while the specialist programming gives them a specific reason to tune in at that time.

Example : Clare FM do weekday evening trad shows; Live 95 do their "speciality" shows at weekends (although their "greatest hits and best of Irish" is somewhat diluted, with a strong emphasis on the former). Their indie/rock/Irish scene show is pretty good, but it's "only" on Sundays.

A single "full service" radio station is a rarity nowadays - not just in Limerick - because it would pretty much have about an hour a day of any particular type of show.

The bottom line is the fear that most stations have : that people will switch over to something else if they don't like something they hear, and not switch back.

And - unfortunately - while I don't agree with it, I do understand it, because it's down to the tolerance level of the majority of their target audience.

I'd have loved a tribute to Live Aid this evening
    Kit in Kilmeedy would like to hear Jimmy Buckley and other "Country & Irish"
    My niece probably wants to hear some x-factor or "RnB" tripe
    Mark in Mount Kenneth probably wants to hear "da choons" and some trance, bud!

It's impossible for a single station to even contemplate squaring that circle, so the vast majority of them "play it safe", and even in Dublin where there are specialist stations, the general complaint is that you could end up hearing them all play Lady Antebellum at the same time some day, because its chart/easy listening/country/rock(ish) basis manages to "fit" the middle-ground genre that they all end up drifting towards.

Used to have to listen to it non stop in Dell - did me head in!

Spin isnt that good, but by god its a lot better than 95fm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Have not listened to the radio in about a decade, is John the man still alive?
    Only time it's on is when herself listens to the news and deaths, or sometimes on a Sunday she leaves it on in the kitchen and there is some terrible terrible
    Depressing Bridge over troubled waters and the likes on it.

Last time I remember tuning in it was this horrid long wave radio Atlantic 252 and only cos they were ringing people with a catch phrase that got you cash if you regurgitated it.
    ~b

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Normalperson

Woe be Jesus, anyone know if they still play that f-in song-over
    "Limer-ick-s nine, nine-y fiiive-FM! Niney-fiiive-FM!"
    to Beyonce's "Baby Boy U Scrub My Back" is it, or something???!!!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Well firstly, fair play.....not many people see beyond their own tastes when suggesting what a radio station should play.

The issue is that - in general - one radio station can't really cater for everybody; I remember being somewhat surprised to visit my mum and find her listening to Rihanna......when I asked her, she said that she was waiting for the deaths to come on.

Ideally, Limerick would have at least 2 radio stations, and that's what was originally planned in 1988 when the licences were given out.

That's not by way of an excuse, btw; I do think that an awful lot of radio stations - not just Live 95 - are fairly narrow-minded when it comes to music, preferring not to take any chances whatsoever, and only playing music from well-known artists or after some other radio station makes a particular song a "hit"; this gives a catch 22.

And that's not even fully the radio stations' fault; it's reflecting their audiences, who baulk at the idea of hearing anything other than the latest X-factor tripe or the latest gone-next-week disposable rubbish. I've even heard teenagers complain that a 6 month old track was "too old".

There are basically 2 trains of thought; either have a mix of music across every show, or else have specialised shows catering for specific tastes at specific times. The mix idea provides a chance for a listener to discover stuff they mightn't even realise they liked, while the specialist programming gives them a specific reason to tune in at that time.

Example : Clare FM do weekday evening trad shows; Live 95 do their "speciality" shows at weekends (although their "greatest hits and best of Irish" is somewhat diluted, with a strong emphasis on the former). Their indie/rock/Irish scene show is pretty good, but it's "only" on Sundays.

A single "full service" radio station is a rarity nowadays - not just in Limerick - because it would pretty much have about an hour a day of any particular type of show.

The bottom line is the fear that most stations have : that people will switch over to something else if they don't like something they hear, and not switch back.

And - unfortunately - while I don't agree with it, I do understand it, because it's down to the tolerance level of the majority of their target audience.

I'd have loved a tribute to Live Aid this evening
    Kit in Kilmeedy would like to hear Jimmy Buckley and other "Country & Irish"
    My niece probably wants to hear some x-factor or "RnB" tripe
    Mark in Mount Kenneth probably wants to hear "da choons" and some trance, bud!

It's impossible for a single station to even contemplate squaring that circle, so the vast majority of them "play it safe", and even in Dublin where there are specialist stations, the general complaint is that you could end up hearing them all play Lady Antebellum at the same time some day, because its chart/easy listening/country/rock(ish) basis manages to "fit" the middle-ground genre that they all end up drifting towards.

RedFM in Cork do a fine job of catering to all tastes, why is it so hard for Limericks "local" station to do the same? Its not that hard in fairness, it just takes people with a bit of a clue about music variety.

Its not just the music though, everything about it is the problem.
    That banker lark was an embarrasment!

Its not just the music though, everything about it is the problem.
    That banker lark was an embarrasment!

Yeah its a complete mess of a station, I was one of the mass misfortunes to be subjected to it every day in Dell :mad: That banker thing was just thick. How many people dressed in shirts and ties got chased and accosted because of it? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

DarkJager wrote: »
    RedFM in Cork do a fine job of catering to all tastes, why is it so hard for Limericks "local" station to do the same? Its not that hard in fairness, it just takes people with a bit of a clue about music variety.

Was Red FM not previously owned by UTV PLC which Live 95fm still is owned by?

Woe be Jesus, anyone know if they still play that f-in song-over
    "Limer-ick-s nine, nine-y fiiive-FM! Niney-fiiive-FM!"
    to Beyonce's "Baby Boy U Scrub My Back" is it, or something???!!!! :eek:

They tend to add that into a lot of their songs - its atrocious!!

Their sports coverage I think is bad at times, its like they only cover what suits them!

Would expect better from a station owned by UTV

RedFM in Cork do a fine job of catering to all tastes

Red FM is primarily a youth station.....I can't imagine that they play Country & Irish or diddley-eye or classical or easy-listening ?

If I'm wrong, then feel free to correct me.

Berty wrote: »
    Was Red FM not previously owned by UTV PLC which Live 95fm still is owned by?

Well if that is the case maybe they need to get rid of UTV PLC!!! I can't say a bad word about RedFm, anytime I have it on (day or night) the mix of music genres is spot on and it just seems a lot better organised than anything on 95fm.

Red FM is primarily a youth station.....I can't imagine that they play Country & Irish or diddley-eye or classical or easy-listening ?

If I'm wrong, then feel free to correct me.

They don't need to really. Country and Irish is catered to by plenty of stations (and lets be honest, doesn't have a large enough listener base to be played on every station in the country), LyricFM does everything classical and believe it or not, I have heard many easy listening tunes on Red as well.

Mark and Catriona on the breakfast shooooooooooooooooooooooooow....
    no wonder so many people are depressed getting up :rolleyes:

Mc Love wrote: »
    Their sports coverage I think is bad at times, its like they only cover what suits them!

Would expect better from a station owned by UTV

To be fair they cover a LOT more live sport than 96FM in Cork. I could be wrong, but I don't think 96FM have ANY live coverage of rugby, soccer, hurling or football ?

Mark and Catriona on the breakfast shooooooooooooooooooooooooow....
    no wonder so many people are depressed getting up :rolleyes:

Tis only Mark now I think, with his "hilarious" sketches of things and people completely irrelevant to anyone living outside the UK. Maybe Catriona saw some sense at last, or just realised the utter cringe fest she was involved in.

They don't need to really. Country and Irish is catered to by plenty of stations (and lets be honest, doesn't have a large enough listener base to be played on every station in the country), LyricFM does everything classical and believe it or not, I have heard many easy listening tunes on Red as well.

OK - so some "easy listening"......

So what is this amazing "music mix" that you said Red FM has comprised of ?
    RedFM in Cork do a fine job of catering to all tastes

.....and what "plenty of stations" are playing all this Country & Irish ?

Plus (while I'm no fan of it) I'd suggest that C&I has a far bigger listener base than Alexandra Burke or whoever.........

There should be a price on his head. 95fm used to be quite good when Dempsey was there. Think he moved to Red or 96fm in Cork. Did work experience there and it was a savage time.

The problem with Limerick is.... they dont have a "mix" :rolleyes:

95fm should take a leaf out of Today FM's book. Its got the best setup in terms of varied music, shows, presenters etc.

Well then, be pro-active!

I presume someone from there* reads boards, so list off what ye'd like to hear in this "cater for everyone mix"......

* For the record, no, not me; I just posted re some of the realities/considerations behind-the-scenes

OK - so some "easy listening"......

So what is this amazing "music mix" that you said Red FM has comprised of ?

Everything form house to trance, rap to easy listening, Indie and Rock to the unfortunately obligatory "pop music". Pretty good mix of tastes I think but that's down to personal opinion really.

.....and what "plenty of stations" are playing all this Country & Irish ?

Plus (while I'm no fan of it) I'd suggest that C&I has a far bigger listener base than Alexandra Burke or whoever.........

Eh no, I would somehow doubt that C&I has a big listenership outside of the bogs and farms of Ireland (unless it's got closet fans who won;t admit their shame :D). And I wouldn't listen to Alexandra Burke or any of that karoake tripe in a fit but I'd take it any day over TR Dallas or Showband tunes. Sunday afternoons are your best bet for a bit of twangy balladry if that floats your boat. 95fm being an example and WLR.

Well then, be pro-active!

I presume someone from there* reads boards, so list off what ye'd like to hear in this "cater for everyone mix"......

* For the record, no, not me; I just posted re some of the realities/considerations behind-the-scenes

Are you a DJ on Clare Fm by any chance?

Everything form house to trance, rap to easy listening, Indie and Rock to the unfortunately obligatory "pop music". Pretty good mix of tastes I think but that's down to personal opinion really.

Precisely my point.....it's "down to personal opinion".
    Eh no, I would somehow doubt that C&I has a big listenership outside of the bogs and farms of Ireland (unless it's got closet fans who won;t admit their shame :D).

C&I has a MASSIVE listenership. I'm not gone on it, but I can't deny that it's SERIOUSLY popular.

Your dismissive stance on it does show that you've got a preconceived idea of what the limits of the "mix" should be. You don't believe in the "cater for everyone" that you mentioned earlier.
    And I wouldn't listen to Alexandra Burke or any of that karoake tripe in a fit but I'd take it any day over TR Dallas or Showband tunes.

I'd be slow to listen to either, but I wouldn't interfere with someone's right to hear it if that's what they wanted as part of their "cater for everyone". I'd also listen to either of those before "trance" or what passes for R&B (barely, but I would).
    Sunday afternoons are your best bet for a bit of twangy balladry if that floats your boat. 95fm being an example and WLR.

My point being - why should they not be catered for at other times ?

BTW, I'm partially playing devil's advocate here, but I'm just pointing out that "catering for everyone" is by no means an easy task, as you've indicated yourself by claiming that Red caters for everyone and then completely dismissing C&I enthusiasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭ABEasy

Busted...... and IMO 95FM are sheer dribble, esp with JP Dillon playing that 'ain't nothing going to break my stride' ****e for the past 15 blody years....

UTV seem to own a very high percentage of licences in the country, think the licences come up for renewal every few years, let BCI know the ****e they are ploughing out down here and they may decide to give us a proper station....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Builderfromhell

Havn't listened to 95FM in years.
    Couldn't stand the guy with the English acent. What's wrong with an Irish accent.
    Even my 12yo and 16yo kids insist on switching to Spin. I prefer the talk show stations or Radio 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭jamezy

What i would like to know is who actually listens to it. Every year the listener figures come out and is crammed down our throats by the Live95 crowd.

Is it a case that it is used as mass background noise? Do people enjoy the same 8 songs in rotation?

I believe anyone who actually listens to it either has is not really into music or is some sort of sociopath.

Spin is as bad.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

jamezy wrote: »
    Is it a case that it is used as mass background noise?

It is exactly this. A lot of local businesses seem to insist on playing it round the clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭jamezy

It is exactly this. A lot of local businesses seem to insist on playing it round the clock.

To the bemusement and torture of their employers.

How sadistic.

Would that have any bearing on whether or not anything I've posted makes sense ?