Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2008 Audi R8 going for auction this Wednesday - any bidders?

• 12-07-2010 7:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭

What do you think this R8 will make at auction this week? The guide price is between 90 and 100k but my money's on 70 - 80.

audi_r8.jpg

With road tax of over 2,000 a year (not to mention the fuel bill) maybe money won't be the first thing on the successful bidders mind?

Having said that, even if you had the cash, is this the kind of car you want to be seen driving in a recession? Does it send out the wrong signals or are you entitled to reward yourself if you're doing well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Motorcheck wrote: »
    Having said that, even if you had the cash, is this the kind of car you want to be seen driving in a recession? Does it send out the wrong signals or are you entitled to reward yourself if you're doing well?

I'd drive what ever the hell i wanted to drive. Recession or no recession, a bitchin sports car is still a bitchin sports car.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

i heard a that either Keith Duffy himself or an agent acting on behalf of Keith Duffy will be bidding on this car!

feck the recession, if i had the moneey i'd be bidding myself! people shouldnt worry about what other people think fo their car, if i like it, i buy it, end of and stuff everybody elses opinion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Motorcheck

Keith's a good friend of the auctions so I wouldn't be surprised if he lobs in an offer (or two).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I cant see any major bargains being had. There are still people waiting for that kind of stuff. Surely keith Duffy would get away with a uk plate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭ROSSKI

Where is the auction on and is it only cars for sale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

ROSSKI wrote: »
    Where is the auction on and is it only cars for sale?

You after the footballers wife it originally came with?

It's on in Naas this Wednesday. Full details here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,722 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

mickdw wrote: »
    Surely keith Duffy would get away with a uk plate?

Yes his manager Louis Walsh does.

Seriously? How do you know that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,722 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Seriously? How do you know that?

He has a Maserati with UK plates, parked regularly around the city centre. I suppose with VRT it's not what you know it's who you know.

http://www.zimbio.com/pictures/V0jFQcP32RM/Louis+Walsh+Needs+Park+Car/2YGMRCD_9Ks/Louis+Walsh

Unbelievable. He must be claiming residency in the UK but I'd have thought that the car still has to be registered in Ireland if it's going to be here regularly. Maybe the Garda turn a blind eye to celebs?

if he is UK resident then technically he would be visiting here.....would that work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mhigh86

saw an r8 in galway city today.

Only 1 registered in Galway back in 2008. Was it Silver?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Amazing stats there motorcheck. Very impressive.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭ROSSKI

You after the footballers wife it originally came with?

Depends on whose the footballer !!

Thank you Sir! Feel free to browse around - If you're into stats (like we are) you can find numerous ways to waste a lunch hour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,470 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

if you have the cash you are entitled to spend it how so ever you like imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Cyrus wrote: »
    if you have the cash you are entitled to spend it how so ever you like imo
    +1. Very dated looking car though, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Anan1 wrote: »
    +1. Very dated looking car though, IMO.

Really? I still think it's an incredible looking car, had a good look at one a few weeks back parked in carrickmines and it was just stunning.
    Different strokes for different folks i suppose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

it's not the guards job to enforce VRT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

I suppose with VRT it's not what you know it's who you know.

He easily spends half the year in the UK and other foreign countries, nothing dodgy or illegal about it whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    He easily spends half the year in the UK and other foreign countries, nothing dodgy or illegal about it whatsoever.
    Not that simple. Main place of residence etc all make a difference. See the thread with the guy who's wife had a house in NI and he had a house in Dublin, she worked 4 nights of the week in NI, however she was forced to pay VRT.
    As per usual in Ireland it's one law for the superwealthy and the rest of us put up with the crap.
    Westlife Sligo members had UK registered Ferrari 550's also. I'm not sure where they live though.

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    Westlife Sligo members had UK registered Ferrari 550's also. I'm not sure where they live though.

In cuckoo land IIRC :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Squall19

But the R8 is not really a super car, this one has the same engine as the Rs4, its nearer mock rally car performance than supercar 911 Turbo, Nissan GTR etc performance.Class looking machine, but without the 5.2 V10 its pointless buying one imo.

How Audi can put such a weak engine into the R8 is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mhigh86

looked like it was grey and black, only got a quick look at it from me flat, but the noise of it was unreal.. didnt expect that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

http://www.motorcheck.ie/blog/stats/?y=2009&county=d&make=hummer&cat=1

love the stats

I see 2 hummers in dublin registered in 09

Apparently they are minbuses or are these Limos I woner

MidlandsM wrote: »
    it's not the guards job to enforce VRT.

What makes you think that? In my experience it's always been the Garda who've seized cars on the side of the road (with the exception of targeted customs operations).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

What makes you think that? In my experience it's always been the Garda who've seized cars on the side of the road (with the exception of targeted customs operations).

its Customs and Revenue's job.

Sorry to hijack thread slightly, I'm heading down for a look tonight (interested in the '07 GTI). Does anyone know if/how you can review the service history?

If you go down early you should be able to get a look at the service book in the car. After that it's a case of tracking down the dealer it was bought from originally or last serviced with (look for stickers / number plate surrounds) and giving them a call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Squall19 wrote: »
    But the R8 is not really a super car...
    How Audi can put such a weak engine into the R8 is beyond me.
    ....driven one, much, have you ?
    Really? I still think it's an incredible looking car, had a good look at one a few weeks back parked in carrickmines and it was just stunning.
    Different strokes for different folks i suppose.
    LIGHTNING wrote: »
    So the audi R8 with a 4.2 V8 isnt a supercar but a 911 with a 3.6 Flat 6 is? Thats some very interesting logic.
    Perverse, more like.

But hey, I'm biased anyway :D

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Prov Sale for 76

76,000 for the R8?

Yep, just back. Jim Rock (boxer) bought it.
    Have most of the prices if anyone is interested.

Cool. I'd like to post them on the Motorcheck blog if you have them handy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭sk8board

crazy cheap price.

what about the '06 535d?

Cool. I'd like to post them on the Motorcheck blog if you have them handy!

Too many to list fully, but here are a few of note

07 E200 17.2K
    06 CLS 250 22K
    06 350 23.5K
    08 CL500 71K
    08 S500 47K
    07 S320 37.5K

05 A4 CABRIO 13.1K
    08 A6 2.0TDI 23.5K
    08 R8 76K

04 520I 7.3K
    07 520d 17.1K
    04 X5 11k

90 911 10.4
    03 CAYENNE 7.4K

06 TOUAREG COMM 9.4K
    07 GTI DSG 14.4K

sk8board wrote: »
    what about the '06 535d?

my money's on 70 - 80

Wonder what the odds would have been?

Bargain of the night I thought was '89 S Class 420, 1 owner, 100K miles went for €1,600

that gti dsg is far from cheap no?

I was looking at 2 GTIs in January, both black with DSG, leather, 18 inch alloys and low mileage and both were 16k

GTI was mint, full beige leather, heated seats, full service history (with receipts), 35,000KM. Being Black and 5 door was only down points (for me at least)

was thinking that myself.

I forgot to say the ones I was looking at were '07s too, both with beige leather and both 5-door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Too many to list fully, but here are a few of note
    06 350 23.5K

03 CAYENNE 7.4K

Was than an S350? Good price for the Cayenne!

Yes - S350 Auto 127,000KM, Cayenne had flood damage but was running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Yes - S350 Auto 127,000KM

Bargain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Squall19

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    So the audi R8 with a 4.2 V8 isnt a supercar but a 911 with a 3.6 Flat 6 is? Thats some very interesting logic.

911 is Turbo charged and has almost 300nm torque advantage.Everyday supercars like the 911 Turbo and GTR will smash 0-100 in less than 3.5secs and 0-240 in less than 21 secs, the 4.2 V8 Audi takes 4.5 and 26secs, thats leagues apart!!! The new M3 is near that.

Thats not supercar performance, that engine is in the luxury RS4 and many others.R8 should have got something special imo, thats all im sayin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,470 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Squall19 wrote: »
    911 is Turbo charged and has almost 300nm torque advantage.Everyday supercars like the 911 Turbo and GTR will smash 0-100 in less than 3.5secs and 0-240 in less than 21 secs, the 4.2 V8 Audi takes 4.5 and 26secs, thats leagues apart!!! The new M3 is near that.

Thats not supercar performance, that engine is in the luxury RS4 and many others.R8 should have got something special imo, thats all im sayin

RS4 isnt a luxury car, and torque is king in a car with no gearbox ;)