Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oxegen

• 12-07-2010 12:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭

You got p!ssed on, in a field, listening to an ever-declining standard of rock music (now so bad they're getting rappers in to headline) for three whole days, you are now hungover, possibly on a comedown, dirty, wet, and have probably been robbed.

Lie to me ... tell me it wasn't sh!t?

I'm in my thirties now, and have a family, but back in the day I was slim, good-looking, full of booze, drugs and optimism, and it still rained, and therefore it was sh!t* ... so I'll see right through your lies ;)

*And we had The fcuking Cure headline, not Beyonce's other half!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

And to round it all off you cant **** or bang in peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Whynop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

I wasn't at Oxegen either, but you Sir sound like a jealous :mad:. It's not the fault of 20-year-olds that they are 20, just like it wasn't your fault that you were 20 when you were 20. I'm sure the 30-year-olds of your day made fun of the music you listened to also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

davyjose wrote: »
    You got p!ssed on, in a field, listening to an ever-declining standard of rock music (now so bad they're getting rappers in to headline) for three whole days, you are now hungover, possibly on a comedown, dirty, wet, and have probably been robbed.

I'm in my thirties now, and have a family, but back in the day I was slim, good-looking, full of booze, drugs and optimism, and it still rained, and therefore it was sh!t* ... so I'll see right through your lies ;)

Whether or not people actually enjoyed it they will tell you they had a great time simply because the weekend costs so much. When someone invests a lot of time and/or money into something they will convince themselves it was good even if it wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Whats the story with a guard getting knocked down last night ?
    It sounded like someone left early and drove through a checkpoint and floored a guarda.
    Stupid cnut ,ruining it for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

not Beyonce's other half!!!

A.K.A the most famous rapper atm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

Electric picnic's in September old man! :)

yoshytoshy wrote: »
    Whats the story with a guard getting knocked down last night ?
    It sounded like someone left early and drove through a checkpoint and floored a guarda.
    Stupid cnut ,ruining it for everyone.

You talk as if this is a statistical anomaly. **** happens every year.

I think if you're of undergraduate age (i.e. under 22), it would be good fun. Although I can think of much better ways to spend €300. The baldy, youth-obsessed 30 year-olds who haven't grown up and are still living in indebted consumer lah-lah land are the ones I feel sorry for.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Couldn't afford good music then either...:rolleyes:

Whynop wrote: »
    You talk as if this is a statistical anomaly. **** happens every year.

I think if you're of undergraduate age (i.e. under 22), it would be good fun. The baldy, youth-obsessed 30 year-olds who haven't grown up and are still living in indebted consumer lah-lah land are the ones I feel sorry for.

Never heard of someone knocking a garda down at a checkpoint. Thats just stupid ,regardless of what your on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Sure thing Abe;

"I used to be with it, but then they changed what it was. Now what I'm with, isn't it anymore......................."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

I was 28 at last years Oxegen and I genuinely had a great weekend. I didn't go this year thank god!! That rain put a shiver down my spine every time Oxegen entered my mind this weekend, there'll be lots of GP visits and sick puppies this week. But, my plan is, if I'm still alive and if there's a few that take my interest on the line-up next year, and any hope of good weather, I think I might brave it once more, for good measure....I'll be 30!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Ehhh The Cure were shit back in 05.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I was at it, came home this morning because I split my head yesterday diving into a big load of mud. But I had great craic doing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

l3LoWnA wrote: »
    I was 28 at last years Oxegen and I genuinely had a great weekend. I didn't go this year thank god!! That rain put a shiver down my spine every time Oxegen entered my mind this weekend, there'll be lots of GP visits and sick puppies this week. But, my plan is, if I'm still alive and if there's a few that take my interest on the line-up next year, and any hope of good weather, I think I might brave it once more, for good measure....I'll be 30!! :eek:

You do realise that rain or water in general doesn't make you sick, right?

Onkle wrote: »
    I was at it, came home this morning because I split my head yesterday diving into a big load of mud. But I had great craic doing it

Fair play to ye.

Don't forget to make a little donation to the St John's Ambulance Corps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

you Sir sound like a jealous :mad:.

Hey, I told you I was in my thirties - don't mean I've got red, angry face - waiting for my forties for that.

Kinda wish I was jealous, but I'm not. i think youth is all a big trick, tbh. i went to pearl Jam a few weeks ago, had some beer, got a taxi home, took the following morning off, played Ten to my 8 month old the following morning while dancing around with him, kissed my wife, then went to work.

If there was a secret to being young, I missed it. Thing is - i stopped looking for it too. And tonight I'm dry, and my balls don't smell of muck :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

It annoys me when people criticise the standard of music at this year's Oxegen.

Arcade Fire were there for God's sake. They are so full of win that the lead singer's name is Win Butler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Heard someone died at oxegen. young male. RIP.

F1ngers wrote: »
    Couldn't afford good music then either...:rolleyes:

Just awesome music - and the strokes opened, and had procurred some ecstacy. And being wet and muddy for 72 hours, STILL fcuking sucked!!!

I know dozens of people who were at oxygen last year.

Kids like getting sick on themselves ,that wears off after a while.

I was 28 at last years Oxegen and next year I'll be 30!! :eek:

:mad: that. Festivals are the kinda thing that you're either into or you're not. If you're "into" them at 20, 22, 25, then you'll be into them at 40, 42, 45. If you can't be arsed at 22, you won't be arsed at 23, 24, 25 .... 35. You either like them or you don't.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Ehhh The Cure were shit back in 05.

So basically ... you've improved my point!

They played a lot of the dark stuff that night -- Music to my ears. Obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

I wasn't at Oxegen either, but you Sir sound like a jealous :mad:. It's not the fault of 20-year-olds that they are 20, just like it wasn't your fault that you were 20 when you were 20. I'm sure the 30-year-olds of your day made fun of the music you listened to also.

It's true what you say there, Older people allways forget about the things they did when they were young and critasise what young people do when they get older leave the young people alone and let them have fun we only live once from an older member:D:D:D

Heard someone died at oxegen. young male. RIP.

That's really terrible to hear. Rest in peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Fair play to ye.

Don't forget to make a little donation to the St John's Ambulance Corps.

I made that mistake yesterday and I certainly won't be making it again, it was the Order of Malta guys that looked after me

:mad: that. Festivals are the kinda thing that you're either into or you're not. If you're "into" them at 20, 22, 25, then you'll be into them at 40, 42, 45. If you can't be arsed at 22, you won't be arsed at 23, 24, 25 .... 35. You either like them or you don't.

I'll go out on a limb and say you are in the first age bracket you mentioned there?

Hey, I told you I was in my thirties - don't mean I've got red, angry face - waiting for my forties for that.

Please see sig. In all my posts :mad: = a certain swear word. Unfortunately some people don't have sigs enabled. They miss out. :D

I'll go out on a limb and say you are in the first age bracket you mentioned there?

I'm a few weeks shy of 28. Careful on that limb there. :D

Onkle wrote: »
    I made that mistake yesterday and I certainly won't be making it again, it was the Order of Malta guys that looked after me

Great bunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I refuse to tarnish the good name of rock by calling it a rock music. I label it Indie/Pop and yes i agree its absolute pants. 1 "good" album usually warrants a headline slot at Oxegen, then a year later they are non existent.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Id rather go to Download and Rock Am ring rather than oxegen with their crap line up (bar the few but still not worth it). And no stupid pikeys trying to rob you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Never been to Oxygen, too many horror stories. I head to Belgium for my festivals, Regae Geel being the big one. Now that's a festival. No trouble (that I witnessed), higher chance of good weather, good food and the toilets are cleaned.

There are plenty of spa hotels and seafood restaurants on the west of Ireland that are about to go bust who'd love to take your €300 off you. Don't know why anyone would want to sleep in a field alongside violent knackers off their heads on drugs.

Please see sig. In all my posts :mad: = a certain swear word. Unfortunately some people don't have sigs enabled. They miss out. :D

Excuse me for not realising you were being rude and insulting, my bad. Listen, i tried to convince myself that things that weren't fun, were fun, turns out they weren't. Hangovers, freaky one night stands, comedowns, 300 bills to listen to mediocre music in the p!ssing rain - all sh!t.

you are right in one way though - you can be a :mad: at any age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    Id rather go to Download and Rock Am ring rather than oxegen with their crap line up (bar the few but still not worth it). And no stupid pikeys trying to rob you

I went to Download this year and it was freaking amazing. We had legendary bands playing instead of the fad bands that play Oxegen, that will be gone in a few years. Not a scumbag in sight either despite there being 30,000 more people there than there is at Oxegen :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Only home rain put a bit of a downer on it but still had a great time

There are plenty of spa hotels and seafood restaurants on the west of Ireland that are about to go bust who'd love to take your €300 off you. Don't know why anyone would want to sleep in a field alongside violent knackers off their heads on drugs.

Do they still burn peoples tents on them? i'd imagine the rain had one benefit in that regard. The tipping of portaloos though, that's be even funnier, I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

And I was just gonna invite you along to Electric Picnic in September.

The Waterboys, Steve Earle, PIL, Massive Attack .. plenty to keep us thirty somethings happy.

Come on, you know you want to ;)

Only home rain put a bit of a downer on it but still had a great time

That's why you came home a night early?

OutlawPete wrote: »

The Waterboys, Steve Earle, PIL .. plenty to keep us thirty somethings happy.

Grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

That's why you came home a night early?

It's over pal nomore music

OutlawPete wrote: »

The Waterboys, Steve Earle, PIL .. plenty to keep us thirty somethings happy.

A bit of PIL would go down a storm.

Curses - now i resent my happy familial life for trapping me in a world without civilized, thirty-something geared festivals, with warm showers :(

Turtyturd wrote: »
    You do realise that rain or water in general doesn't make you sick, right?

Of course I do!! But bein damp and slightly dehydrated and sleep deprived for 3 or 4 days certainly won't discourage illness. If there is any little viral or bacterial infection or flu lingering within a human body, waiting for it's moment of glory, a few nights at home, tucked up in a warm bed and eating and drinking correct amounts of food and water may just help the thing to f*ck off before a doctor is even needed. On the other hand, if your body is dealing with the early onset of any illness and you camp for 3 nights in the rain, sleep very little and dehydrate yourself with alcohol, chances are you could end up sick the following week. With so many thousands of people camping in close proximity to each other in warm wet conditions, and also a good percentage of them touching/fondling/kissing each other don't you think contagious illnesses may spread a bit? My friend came to oxegen last year and ended up in hospital on the Saturday night (having stayed up all night Friday night, drinking etc and gtting soaked on the Saturday to boot) with a kidney infection and throat infection and dehydration. Who's to know if they would have attacked or been so problematic and acute if she didn't put her body through the ordeal.

It happens, and I guarantee there will be loads of sniffling little heads all week after Oxegen this year, colds, flus, UTIs, STIs even will be rife

Just let me be happy in the knowledge that I'm feeling fit and fresh and dry and healthy right now because I didn't go to oxegen :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Grow up.

Your point?

Tell me it's not that you think thirty somethings shouldn't be attending music festivals.

As if that was your point, it is you that needs to grow up.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

A friend of mine just posted this up on Facebook:
    ‎3 dead at oxegen and another chick raped apparently. appalling

I really hope it's just a rumour :(

It's over pal nomore music

Over shmover, any real cool, awesome, hip youth knows the last night is the best. When you can barely stand the sight of your mates, but still allow them take one or two of your few remaining cans, before hovering over a portaloo in which the **** rises higher than the toilet seat, before queueing for days to sit on a seat on the bus beside your now former best mate, who's feet you can smell and strangely remind you of the aroma of a toasted cheese sandwich, before rolling into a bleak, bar in town where you can't seem to get drunk, and the scorching threat of reality nears ever closer.

Can't believe you missed that.

Excuse me for not realising you were being rude and insulting, my bad.

Oh, don't worry about it dear. In fact, most people don't even find me "insulting" or "rude", but then, they probably pay attention so these confusions do not arise. Or offend.
    Listen, i tried to convince myself that things that weren't fun, were fun, turns out they weren't.

It's great that you know what works for you. But it would be even better if you could realise that just because things aren't fun for you don't mean they aren't fun for everyone else.
    Hangovers,
    I don't get hangovers.
    freaky one night stands,
    I've never had a one-night-stand.
    comedowns,
    I've had my share of "rip your eyes out to make the pain stop comedowns" and I've had a suprising amount of "I'm coming down? I've had highs that didn't feel as good as this" comedowns
    300 bills to listen to mediocre music in the p!ssing rain
    can't argue with that, but I've never actually been to Oxegen itself.
    you are right in one way though - you can be a :mad: at any age.
    YEs you can. Although I'm sure no-one needed your permission for this.

When I'm 39/40 I'm afraid I'll be hangin' up my wellies, as my oldest daughter will then be 17/18 and all going well, I'll be the embarrassing mum who still tries to be cool and she won't want me anywhere near any festivals she's going to (but I'm hoping festivals just might not be her thing) :D

Of course I do!! But bein damp and slightly dehydrated and sleep deprived for 3 or 4 days certainly won't discourage illness. If there is any little viral or bacterial infection or flu lingering within a human body, waiting for it's moment of glory, a few nights at home, tucked up in a warm bed and eating and drinking correct amounts of food and water may just help the thing to f*ck off before a doctor is even needed. On the other hand, if your body is dealing with the early onset of any illness and you camp for 3 nights in the rain, sleep very little and dehydrate yourself with alcohol, chances are you could end up sick the following week. With so many thousands of people camping in close proximity to each other in warm wet conditions, and also a good percentage of them touching/fondling/kissing each other don't you think contagious illnesses may spread a bit?

If I may? That was a pretty good comeback. Kudos!