Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Final Today

• 11-07-2010 9:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭

Just home today after going to Leinster final, I am disgusted today by the people that attended. I am not a meath or Louth fan but was in Croker to see a game.

It was a terrible game of football, but what happened at the end was a disgrace. Ok Louth should have won. But the display of the players first was brutal, at final whistle they just started to hit anyone in the area. That was a joke.

Then people running onto the pitch and boxing the head of referee was a joke, the garda where a joke, they stood back while the referee was getting boxes to the head, then he tried to run to the cornor to get away, first a 60+ man came running after him trying to kick him and then 10-15 year old kids came after him. Then some guy from crowd threw a can(green can) and knocked a steward straight out. Had to be brought out on stretcher, a joke. Louth should be banned from all sports. If they want to act like that then stay at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

The two Gardai, there's about 50 Gardai in Croke Park for every game getting overtime, where were they today when they were needed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Whynop

The dark underbelly of GAA is not a pretty sight...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Apparently there's more Gardai at a Bohemians v Shamrock Rvs game (att 5000) than at the All-Ireland Finals (att 80000). At least in soccer here the crowd just attack each other and not the referees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Gardai have to stay at their posts in fairness, there's stands all over the pitch and they can't just abandon them. Two ran over to the ref, he didn't get hammered, don't see why the cops are getting a hard time. As usual.

The fans that ran on were scumbags, the ref has a hard job, don't know why anyone would do it when this is what you get

Whynop wrote: »
    The dark underbelly of GAA is not a pretty sight...

GAA fans have big bellies alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    The two Gardai, there's about 50 Gardai in Croke Park for every game getting overtime, where were they today when they were needed?

at one stage, there was a nut job Louth person trying to get past a girl Garda, she was trying her best and called in support, another girl Garda came over, this Louth person was trying to hit them straight in face with a box

Gardai have to stay at their posts in fairness, there's stands all over the pitch and they can't just abandon them. Two ran over to the ref, he didn't get hammered, don't see why the cops are getting a hard time. As usual.

The fans that ran on were scumbags, the ref has a hard job, don't know why anyone would do it when this is what you get

Not giving the Garda a hard time, they done the best they could!!! nobody can expect scumbags like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 rrbm

OP why should Louth be banned from all sports for the actions of perhaps 15 people? And the Louth players got involved in no messing after the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Big Nelly wrote: »
    Just home today after going to Leinster final, I am disgusted today by the people that attended. I am not a meath or Louth fan but was in Croker to see a game.

It was a terrible game of football, but what happened at the end was a disgrace. Ok Louth should have won. But the display of the players first was brutal, at final whistle they just started to hit anyone in the area. That was a joke.

Then people running onto the pitch and boxing the head of referee was a joke, the garda where a joke, they stood back while the referee was getting boxes to the head, then he tried to run to the cornor to get away, first a 60+ man came running after him trying to kick him and then 10-15 year old kids came after him. Then some guy from crowd threw a can(green can) and knocked a steward straight out. Had to be brought out on stretcher, a joke. Louth should be banned from all sports. If they want to act like that then stay at home.

They'll never play in the World Cup again! :mad:

rrbm wrote: »
    OP why should Louth be banned from all sports for the actions of perhaps 15 people? And the Louth players got involved in no messing after the game.

The louth players started boxing the head of one of the meath player, the kicker, I dont know his name, he ended up sitting down cause there was 5 of them round him throwing punches and put on he had cramp. Until they opened the gates and the Meath fans got in the Louth players left him. Scumbags. Should be never allowed in Croke Park again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Ruu wrote: »
    They'll never play in the World Cup again! :mad:

Ever hear of Hurling????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Hurling is a good game but Gaelic Football is becoming more and more a game for nacks who would do anything to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

rarnes1 wrote: »
    GAA fans have big bellies alright.
    That'll be the Bulmers and the hang sandwiches!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

Jesus vicious, just saw it there on highlights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Louth threw it away with missed frees and terrible misses. The umpires ruined the referee's decision but ye should have had the match won by extra-time.

It was disgraceful to see the Louth fans go after the ref who isn't paid properly. He is a regular man who only gets paid expenses for travel and he has a day job (if he is lucky ATM).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

big mistake by the ref/umpire but the scenes afterwards were an absolute disgrace. Firstly the Louth players involved in fighting after the game need to receive very lengthy bans.
    secondly the fans (and I use that term very loosely) who attacked the ref need to be banned from all GAA matches/activity for life because a message needs to be sent out that this behaviour should not be tolerated. I also believe the thugs involved should have been arrested on the spot for assault. If this happened out on the streets they would have been.

I'm ashamed to be a die hard GAA supporter today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

the ref's career in gaa is effectively over though. he'll never get a big game again (if he gets games at all). maybe he deserved a few slaps :D

having said that, the thugs were completely out of line. it's just football. if it was hurling i'd understand. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

the ref's career in gaa is effectively over though. he'll never get a big game again (if he gets games at all). maybe he deserved a few slaps :D

having said that, the thugs were completely out of line. it's just football. if it was hurling i'd understand. ;)

If it was Hurling, RTE would gloss over it and just say that the referee and the fans were just "getting to know each other".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

These people attacking the ref were middle aged men. You would think they would know better at their age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

the poor man got bottled for nothing, bloody hell , alot of anger out there, thank god it wasnt hurling they wud get bett to death with the hurls. there wont be a replay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

The refereeing decision was an absolute disgrace.

So were certain Louth fans.

The fact is, though, that 6 or 7 thuggish Louth fans (who are clearly visible on-camera and will hopefully done for assault) shouldn't ruin it for all of the decent Louth fans.

Louth deserve the cup, and failing that they should AT LEAST be given the replay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭greenmachine88

I'm glad the scumbags behavior at the end of the match is now on camera for all their friends, family and work colleagues to see, what kind of animals bring violence into sport. they should be jailed, especially the guy in the nike t shirt who was the first to swing at the ref, if the Louth player wasn't standing there he would have hit him full force. What sickened me was all we saw happen was him being pushed aside and on he strolled back to his seat, what a scumbag he should be in jail tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

It was a lot more entertaining than the world cup final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    The refereeing decision was an absolute disgrace.

So were certain Louth fans.

The fact is, though, that 6 or 7 thuggish Louth fans (who are clearly visible on-camera and will hopefully done for assault) shouldn't ruin it for all of the decent Louth fans.

Louth deserve the cup, and failing that they should AT LEAST be given the replay.

If they won't use video evidence to disallow the goal then they shouldn't use it to prosecute Louth fans.

I've just considered one other factor.......given that FIFA and their ref bolloxed up Ireland's World Cup, the GAA should prove that they're more behind "fair play" and should run the replay, showing the proper sporting example.

I'd also be curious as to how many Meath supporters who might have called for a replay after the Henry fiasco would be in favour of a replay.

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    If they won't use video evidence to disallow the goal then they shouldn't use it to prosecute Louth fans.

Why not ?

The match was over, so what happened was blatant assault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

PogMoThoin wrote: »

Lots of Guards are actually volunteering to be in Croke Park for matches.

nlgbbbblth wrote: »

There is a massive difference in a sporting injustice and actual criminal assaults. Throwing bottles, punches, pushes, intimidation etc have no place in any part of society. Especially towards people who are volunteering to be there.

This is why people need to be kept off the pitch at Croke Park.

Anyway I don't think After Hours is the place for reasoned discussion on this issue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭greenmachine88

johngalway wrote: »
    It was a lot more entertaining than the world cup final.

Gaelic is generally more entertaining than football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Gaelic is generally more entertaining than football.

Yeah in the same way that watching two drunks having a fight in a carpark can be entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Get John Delaney to start the campaign for a replay

There is a massive difference in a sporting injustice and actual criminal assaults. Throwing bottles, punches, pushes, intimidation etc have no place in any part of society. Especially towards people who are volunteering to be there.

This is why people need to be kept off the pitch at Croke Park.

Anyway I don't think After Hours is the place for reasoned discussion on this issue

To be honest I am sick, pure animals out there, No excuse. No result or nothing. I never though an Irish person would behave like that. We are acting like every other s**thead country! I am sick to believe Ireland has turned out like this

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

That steward who got knocked out with a bottle was my cousin :mad:, no pity for the Louth supporters - they went way too far.

My elderly mam was at the match and she told me a louth woman threw a can at her as she went down the stairs - who the f*ck do they think they are?

To be honest I am sick, pure animals out there, No excuse. No result or nothing. I never though an Irish person would behave like that. We are acting like every other s**thead country! I am sick to believe Ireland has turned out like this

They were a disgrace really. Imagine what people here would say if that had been English fans after the German game. Those idiots on the pitch deserve criminal action and I feel sorry for the Louth fans who have been shamed by those idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Bit of an over reaction there. Theres always a minority acting the goat, its not a recent thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

no pity for the Louth supporters - they went way too far.... who the f*ck do they think they are?

No, a handful of them went too far. There is a very obvious, and quite important, difference.

Louth was robbed and the decent thing for the Meath County Board to do at their meeting tomorrow night is to offer, at least, a replay.

That steward who got knocked out with a bottle was my cousin :mad:, no pity for the Louth supporters - they went way too far.

My elderly mam was at the match and she told me a louth woman threw a can at her as she went down the stairs - who the f*ck do they think they are?

Seen what happened, it was mad. Could not believe it. We where going mad and some "fans" beside it thought it was a great laugh!!!!! We told them what we thought and they left

Sorry to hear that, but try to bear in mind that not every Louth supporter behaved like those thugs.

Did the ref deserve an earful ? Absolutely.

Did he (or anyone else) deserve to get assaulted ? No.

Dionysus wrote: »
    No, a handful of them went too far. There is a very obvious, and quite important, difference.

Louth was robbed and the decent thing for the Meath County Board to do at their meeting tomorrow night is to offer, at least, a replay.

The whole of Louth where a disgrace, what was the booing crap????? I have gone to Croker for years and never heard that crap. Stay in Louth. We dont want you near Croker, rather a good game of footie without your crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

The whole of Louth where a disgrace, what was the booing crap????? I have gone to Croker for years and never heard that crap. Stay in Louth. We dont want you near Croker, rather a good game of footie without your crap

come on, off your soap box now... there's a good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭c-note

from louth

was very proud of our boys right untill the final whistle.
    was never an example of great football from either side but an entertaining game to watch.

whether or not the football was good louth still put themselves in a postition to contest the leinster final and should rightfully have won.
    In my mind the lads are rightful leinster champs.

as for the carry on after the match, i only saw what was on telly.
    the spectators who assaulted the ref should be identified and given lifetime bans imo. not just to send out a message, but because its what they rightfully deserve. the ref and umpires got the call totally wrong but in no way deserve that sort of abuse.

i didnt see any fighting between players, but if there was any thats a matter for ccc and is very dissapointing to hear.

its just a shame that neither louth nor meath can be proud of today.
    meath as undeserving as france being in the world cup and louth letting themselves down not keeping their emotions under control.

Rugby is a shining example of how a ref should be respected, of player discipline and of the absolute value of a video ref.

its so unfortunate that so many football matches are marred by one or other incidents which need post match reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭glanman

where is the facebook campaign already...

I take it you have never been when Dublin are playing then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Some amount of high-horse jockies here. "no sympathy for Louth fans" yada yada yada. Be quiet. Did all 25,000 Louth fans get up and simultaneously assault every steward and Meath person that moved? No. You havn't a clue. By all means, ban those that caused the trouble, but they were a TINY MINORITY! Bloody hell, some people.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Ahem. It is possible to be from Meath and concede that Meath robbed Louth. It actually sounds very silly to be in denial of it.

At any rate, I suggest you remove that Net Nitrate fertiliser bag that passes as your rainhood and you'll hear Meath's finest embracing that noxious habit also. You know, the sort of people who would blame all the people of a certain place for the actions of a few.

Louth was the better team and a Meath player cheated no less than three times in the space of 20 seconds to rob them under the guise of an incompetent referee. Every single member of the Meath panel knows that they did not deserve this win. It is tarnished. The sensible, and decent, thing for the Meath County Board to do is to offer a replay.

Pack of ****. Everyone they work with will see it and they should and will be judged. And it's obviously a tiny minority.. You can't hold a team responsible for it's hooligans.

C-note is right about rugby, the respect the ref gets in that game is a refreshing sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭uriah

You must be joking! the dubs can boo with the best (much better than they can play football).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Are you actually being serious here? Like, seriously? Do you expect dead silence at every kick? My god, you have every right to be appalled, many are. But labelling the whole of Louth a disgrace is ridiculous and plain wrong. Moaning and b*tching about a bit of booing, f**k sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Leroy Lita

those Louth ''fans'' should stick to the League Of Ireland
    we dont want those sorts in the GAA