Guards chewing gum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

What planet do you live on??? Is you're life that boring and uncomplicated that all you can complain about is a Garda chewing gum and having their arms folded?

Do you really care THAT much?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

Would you be bothered if your surgeon came into your ward chewing on gum right before your operation, and looking generally disinterested. After all, it's just gum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

shakin wrote: »
    sure it was an ipod, a radio earpiece maybe? even if it was, does it matter, ill assume he was using just 1 headphone?

Most definetely an iPod. I felt it was unprofessional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

personally, it wouldn't worry me! Doesn't effect his ability to do his job and it probable that he wouldn't give a toss as to what I think of him anyway! He has a job to do and so does a Garda, Paramedic, shop assistant in Penneys. Doesn't really matter where you work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,487 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

sesna wrote: »
    Would you be bothered if your surgeon came into your ward chewing on gum right before your operation, and looking generally disinterested. After all, it's just gum.

That's hardly comparable a surgeon works in a sterile environment, the guard is standing on the street there's nothing wrong with a guard chewing gum they're only human.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭maryxyz

Standards appear indeed to have gone to the dogs

I frequently see Gardai who
    • chew gum or eat while on duty
    • wear thick tarty make-up
    • wear earrings
    • have elaborate hair styles
    • have water bottle on belt
    Don't their superiors enforce standards any more ? !

Maryxyz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

i have no problems with gardai who chew gum or those that happen to carry a bottle of water etc.

maryxyz wrote: »
    [*]have water bottle on belt

How dare a human need water!

maryxyz wrote: »
    Standards appear indeed to have gone to the dogs

I frequently see Gardai who

eat while on duty
    have water bottle on belt

Maryxyz

Oh dear god. Seriously. You walk around wearing a pair of heavy trousers, boots, shirt and tie, stab vest, hat and hi-viz jacket in warm weather and tell me you don't want water! Actually, tell me you don't need it!

And there is nowhere that says we are not allowed to eat. Actually it's quiet helpful in keeping up your strenght for when you have to suddenly sprint after a criminal wearing a pair of trainers, tracksuit bottoms and a t-shirt.

Kop yourself on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

McCrack wrote: »
    Eru is that your only response to my points regarding this thread? Actually maybe that shabby dis-interested looking Garda on post duty was you, hence the denial and attempted jusification.

Bye bye.

It wasn't :rolleyes: I agree that the sight was fairly unflattering, but I disagree that it was unprofessional - we all have our unflattering moments.

Firstly, if a scumbag took the opinion that that particular Garda was disinterested and robbed a bag, that Garda is not supposed to leave their post. The GPO is meant to be posted 24/7. However, pretty much anybody who had their bag stolen, or needed directions would ask that Garda for help whether he was chewing gum or looked entirely disinterested or not. He would still have helped, because not to do so would indeed be unprofessional.

Furthermore, I challenge you or anybody else to look interested in what must be one of the most boring tasks - standing outside the GPO, looking uber professional and ready to save the world, in the baking heat, lashing rain or heaving snow for 4 hours at a time. Remember, no gum, no hands in your pockets, no water bottle on your belt, no iPod, nothing. In fact, judging by the poster above, the Garda on duty shouldn't even spend some time on their hair, there are citizens to be saved! Stand to attention for every second of those 4 hours. Oh, and you get to do that a few times a week. I'm sure there are other things that Garda wanted to do, even I would take walking the beat as a step up and I'm not a member of the force and have never had to stand at the GPO.

Force morale probably isn't the greatest, it's a menial job (beat walking and the GPO post), things like this will happen. I'd say the Sergeants and Inspectors have their unflattering, hands in their pockets moments too. It doesn't affect how the Garda will do his/her job and that's what they're being paid for. In my opinion the people who notice these things really need to check the bigger picture. The chewing gum epidemic isn't what is wrong with the force at the minute, pretending otherwise means you're fooling yourself.

Just to add, I've seen much much worse in other countries, American police eating burgers, UK police having a smoke with all the appearance of being off duty, and I still went to them for assistance. Some people need to cop on a bit tbh

Blay wrote: »
    That's hardly comparable a surgeon works in a sterile environment, the guard is standing on the street there's nothing wrong with a guard chewing gum they're only human.:rolleyes:

Why not just ban all food from hospitals if it's a pre-requisite to manintaing sterility. In any case, I doubt the surgeon would have scrubbed in for an operation while in a general ward. That would be just a bit stupid.

Furthermore, I challenge you or anybody else to look interested in what must be one of the most boring tasks - standing outside the GPO, looking uber professional and ready to save the world, in the baking heat, lashing rain or heaving snow for 4 hours at a time. Remember, no gum, no hands in your pockets, no water bottle on your belt, no iPod, nothing. In fact, judging by the poster above, the Garda on duty shouldn't even spend some time on their hair, there are citizens to be saved! Stand to attention for every second of those 4 hours. Oh, and you get to do that a few times a week. I'm sure there are other things that Garda wanted to do, even I would take walking the beat as a step up and I'm not a member of the force and have never had to stand at the GPO.

Force morale probably isn't the greatest, it's a menial job (beat walking and the GPO post), things like this will happen.

Poor, poor garda on generous salary with good pension, great overtime, expenses etc. Amazing how people in retail, services industry etc can get by without chewing gum.

Why not just ban all food from hospitals if it's a pre-requisite to manintaing sterility. In any case, I doubt the surgeon would have scrubbed in for an operation while in a general ward. That would be just a bit stupid.

I never said he/she would have..your drifting from the topic, the fact is Gardai are human, you can't stop them chewing gum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

I hope the OP never goes to Italy. The police are very laid back in Rome. Ipods, cigarettes, gum, take-away coffee and sitting about the city monuments.

At least they are out on the streets. I don't mind them being laid back provided that they are visible around the city centre.

I never said he/she would have..your drifting from the topic, the fact is Gardai are human, you can't stop them chewing gum.

You deliberately drifted from the analogy with a nonsensical comment about hospital environment sterility. :rolleyes:

Fact is a garda in uniform chewing gum in direct sight of the public is unprofessional and sloppy. When you're doing your job in uniform, you have an image to uphold. Same as any other profession/job including surgeons, etc.

Poor, poor garda on generous salary with good pension, great overtime, expenses etc. Amazing how people in retail, services industry etc can get by without chewing gum.

Is that a giant chip on your shoulder? Why yes, it must be :rolleyes: There are plenty of threads around the place about Garda salaries, you'll be more at home in there with topics like that. The Gardai don't get paid to not chew gum
    Fact is a garda in uniform chewing gum in direct sight of the public is unprofessional and sloppy.

FYP

Unprofessional - Below or contrary to the standards expected in a particular profession - I don't expect the Gardai to not chew gum. I don't think it's a standard to not chew gum. I expect them to uphold the law and ensure citizens do too, which most of them do

Is that a giant chip on your shoulder? Why yes, it must be :rolleyes: There are plenty of threads around the place about Garda salaries, you'll be more at home in there with topics like that. The Gardai don't get paid to not chew gum

FYP

Unprofessional - Below or contrary to the standards expected in a particular profession - I don't expect the Gardai to not chew gum. I don't think it's a standard to not chew gum. I expect them to uphold the law and ensure citizens do too, which most of them do

No chip on my shoulder. However, no sympathy for a garda having to stand on-duty for a few hours as is his job description.

Thanks for an obvious explanation of unprofessionalism. Sorry that you have no idea of basic work standards though.

You deliberately drifted from the analogy with a nonsensical comment about hospital environment sterility. :rolleyes:

The comparison between surgeon and garda by the poster was flawed from the beginning, they operate in different environments with differing requirements for conduct, there's nothing wrong with a garda chewing gum, they're standing guard not posing in front of Buckingham Palace, get over it they aren't statues.:rolleyes:

Chewing gum in one thing but then you have other people denying them water..what next that their socks aren't correct?

The comparison between surgeon and garda by the poster was flawed from the beginning, they operate in different environments with differing requirements for conduct, there's nothing wrong with a garda chewing gum, they're standing guard not posing in front of Buckingham Palace, get over it they aren't statues.:rolleyes:

Chewing gum in one thing but then you have other people denying them water..what next that their socks aren't correct?

Water denying was brought into the discussion as a stupid diversion.

What is different about the operating environment. Both are in the eye of and dealing with the public, same as retail workers, bank clerks, etc.

Water denying was brought into the discussion as a stupid diversion.

What is different about the operating environment. Both are in the eye of and dealing with the public.

Surgeon- Talking to people, operating

Garda- Standing guard, bored

There's no reason to deny a guard a piece of chewing gum jesus if that's all people had to worry them they'd have easy lives.

Surgeon- Talking to people, operating

Garda- Standing guard, bored on duty in uniform in eye the of the public, serving the people not with force but by moral authority.

There's no reason to deny a guard a piece of chewing gum jesus if that's all people had to worry them they'd have easy lives.

One would have thought these basics were taught in primary school. If he wants to chew gum, he can do so while in the station or during his break.

It's a simple thing for him to chew it on his break, while in garda station etc. I would have thought these basics are taught at school.

Maybe he just didnt pay attention in that class:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭PrimalTherapy

No chip on my shoulder. However, no sympathy for a garda having to stand on-duty for a few hours as is his job description.

Thanks for an obvious explanation of unprofessionalism. Sorry that you have no idea of basic work standards though.
    don't get paid to not chew gum
    most ridiculous thing i ever read

Water denying was brought into the discussion as a stupid diversion..
    that is what you will find here when you question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,345 ✭✭✭kirving

I was passing by the GPO at about 7 one freezing Sunday morning in December. Gard standing there with his hands in his pockets, collar pulled up as far as it would go, iPod in, about to fall asleep. The poor guy was proabably there all night, bored out of his tree! He's only human sure!

I do feel sorry for the garda you saw facing the elements.
    If theres a problem with cold exposure etc, higher ranks should roster them differently to get more relief/rotation after a couple of hours, so they are not exposed as long without adequate breaks etc.

Garda- Standing guard, bored on duty in uniform in eye the of the public, serving the people not with force but by moral authority.

One would have thought these basics were taught in primary school. If he wants to chew gum, he can do so while in the station or during his break.

A garda chewing gum reduces their moral authority? Surely you're having a laugh? You must be, or else those primary schools really beat it into you that chewing gum is wrong :rolleyes:

If you honestly expect a person, and that is all they are, to maintain the utmost appearance at all times of their shift, while doing all manners of things then I'm afraid that while I appear to have no knowledge of "basic work standards", you're sadly out of touch with people on a general basis. No amount of money would make me not get bored at the GPO, even were I to count it in my head during my entire shift on it.
    most ridiculous thing i ever read

You mustn't read a lot. I doubt there's anything in Garda practice/handbooks along the lines of no chewing gum, no bottles of water in your belt etc. There probably is something about maintaining appearances, but let's face it, there are a few moaners on this thread and that's about the height of it. Hardly a shocker now, and you'd all still run up to the Garda who's chewing gum were you to get a syringe in the face or be robbed. I think it's time to find a new minor thing to rag on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

I don't know if you're in the job or not, but if you are you could try that one next time you're talking to the Chief. :)

A garda chewing gum reduces their moral authority? Surely you're having a laugh? You must be, or else those primary schools really beat it into you that chewing gum is wrong :rolleyes:

If you honestly expect a person, and that is all they are, to maintain the utmost appearance at all times of their shift, while doing all manners of things then I'm afraid that while I appear to have no knowledge of "basic work standards", you're sadly out of touch with people on a general basis. No amount of money would make me not get bored at the GPO, even were I to count it in my head during my entire shift on it.

You mustn't read a lot. I doubt there's anything in Garda practice/handbooks along the lines of no chewing gum, no bottles of water in your belt etc. There probably is something about maintaining appearances, but let's face it, there are a few moaners on this thread and that's about the height of it. Hardly a shocker now, and you'd all still run up to the Garda who's chewing gum were you to get a syringe in the face or be robbed. I think it's time to find a new minor thing to rag on
    you do not know what i read, may be i will send this link to the garda hq and ask them if there is anything in the handnbook re gum

RT66 wrote: »
    I don't know if you're in the job or not, but if you are you could try that one next time you're talking to the Chief. :)

I'm not but I'd say you could try telling the Chief that it was a roaster of a day at Croke Park and you only unbuttoned one button and loosened the tie just a fraction. Or maybe that it was mid-December and your hands were like ice and they were only in your pockets for five minutes to warm them up. You'll get no sympathy of them for that either. Not even the dude freezing his balls off at the GPO mentioned above would have gotten leeway.

Not all Gardai chew gum on the job. Not all of them put their hands in their pockets. Not all of them carry ipods so they can listen to the match while directing traffic. But those that do those things are no less capable or unprofessional than those that don't in my opinion. Appearances are not everything, and as far as I'm concerned, in the Gardai they've got very little to do with how a certain member operates. I'd sooner take the iPod Garda who's good at his job than the one who obeys the rules, nods and walks on or says he'll get back to me and never does. I'd sooner take that Garda because he's relaxed, laid back and is probably happier than somebody standing to attention, nads frozen off who just got chewed out of it for having his hands in the pockets.

There's a lot of schoolboy shít in the Guards that needs to be done away with, one of those being the uptight "appearance is everything" approach.
    you do not know what i read, may be i will send this link to the garda hq and ask them if there is anything in the handnbook re gum

Knock yourself out