Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the most dishonest thing you've ever done?

• 09-07-2010 8:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭

I was out playing pitch and putt with the lads the other day. We were on the eighteenth and I had a twenty footer to win, or two putts to draw. I completely misread the putt but compensated for that by completely mis-hitting it. As the ball sailed off on a trajectory I had not intended, I realised after about ten feet it was perfect. I started walking after it with the confidence of a man who knew exactly what he was doing (I all but gave the pew! gun sound on the way.)

Now, I know this sounds bad, but there's worse. I used to play pitch and putt at quite a high level so I knew I'd get away with it.

Now, I know this sounds quite bad, but there's worse. The bloke who would have won if I hadn't got down in two (an old and trusted friend who's always trying to restore my confidence after a bad patch)
    turns to me and says, "I told you you still had it"

So, anyway, AHer's; When's the last time you made baby Jesus cry?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I just read your post out to my dog...

..she's not impressed and asked me to tell you to feck off and post in P.I.

...My dog is such a bitch!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

I put a screw in my friends tuna sandwhich, he tried to sue the company, turned out very messy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

i once told a girl she was interesting so i could have sexual relations with her, even though i didn't give a fcuk about her cat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

wonton wrote: »
    I put a srew in my friends tuna sandwhich, he tried to sue the company, turned out very messy.

Weird. I once pretended to be a famous Swedish artist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭carmel27

wonton wrote: »
    I put a srew in my friends tuna sandwhich, he tried to sue the company, turned out very messy.

Whats a srew? Did you mean "a screw"? Or even better, "a shrew"?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

I took the advice of AH posters and got hookers and coke last night while the missus was away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Smokin_Aces

Took a **** in the shower at my boarding school, someone else copped the blame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I was out playing pitch and putt with the lads the other day. We were on the eighteenth and I had a twenty footer to win, or two putts to draw. I completely misread the putt but compensated for that by completely mis-hitting it. As the ball sailed off on a trajectory I had not intended, I realised after about ten feet it was perfect. I started walking after it with the confidence of a man who knew exactly what he was doing (I all but gave the pew! gun sound on the way.)

Now, I know this sounds bad, but there's worse. I used to play pitch and putt at quite a high level so I knew I'd get away with it.

Now, I know this sounds quite bad, but there's worse. The bloke who would have won if I hadn't got down in two (an old and trusted friend who's always trying to restore my confidence after a bad patch)

twenty footer. not in my day. 3 foot max

genericguy wrote: »
    i once told a girl she was interesting so i could have sexual relations with her, even though i didn't give a fcuk about her cat.

did you have intercourse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

I told someone to buy shares in anglo irish bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I an looking at my television wondering when the telly licence man will come and what excuse i will give? And us a 2 telly house.

fontanalis wrote: »
    I told someone to buy shares in anglo irish bank.

How is Sean these days?

I an looking at my television wondering when the telly licence man will come and what excuse i will give? And us a 2 telly house.

they've heard all the excuses and none of them work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

Well, one time, at band camp...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

I'm sure you were very interested in her pussycat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

orourkeda wrote: »
    they've heard all the excuses and none of them work

I will tell them I bought it in the north and so should be exempt from the licence fee in the South, then sit on the driveway puffing a fag and weeping controllably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

What exactly does playing "pitch and putt at a high level" mean? Is that just being sh*t at normal golf?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

dan719 wrote: »
    What exactly does playing "pitch and putt at a high level" mean? Is that just being sh*t at normal golf?:confused:
    Thats like saying being good at pool is being sh!t at snooker.

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Thats like saying being good at pool is being sh!t at snooker.

It's being a politician because you fail as a dictator

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Doyler92 wrote: »
    It's being a politician because you fail as a dictator
    Username related pun: Worthy of thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭gleep

I'm an estate agent

no i'm not

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Username related pun: Worthy of thanks.

It's not really. Terrible pun also and I don't even know my history :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

I scored one night with a girl when I was still living in the family home. My folks were away so I asked her back for a drink. Anyway we had a few cans and listened to a bit of music and everything was grand. So, we hit the scratcher, and we're foosterin' about and yet she won't let me near her. Anyway, after two pots of tea, half a pack of Rothman's and a couple of Snack biscuits she finally tells me where the disparity lies; she hasn't brought any spare tampons with her. I (obviously, as any man would,) say "Look, if it's the situation you're uncomfortable with, we'll leave it there, but if it's just the tampons you're worried about, shur me sister keeps a load of them in the bathroom."

This reassures her and we go at it.

I wasn't going to mention that my sister lives in England. I'm still paying off the debt I owe to my little brother for going to the 24 hour garage to get tampons the following morning while I "cuddled" \ kept her distracted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

Fair enough Adolf.

Doyler92 wrote: »
    It's not really. Terrible pun also and I don't even know my history :p

you'll fit right in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I wasn't going to mention that my sister lives in England. I'm still paying off the debt I owe to my little brother for going to the 24 hour garage to get tampons the following morning while I "cuddled" \ kept her distracted.
    Good thinking, Batman! :D

dan719 wrote: »

Yup. It can also mean not being able to afford membership to a golf club. But, usually, it involves teaching young kids how to swing a golf club, before they decide to hold up the entire golf course for an hour. It's like teaching your kid how to play on a 6x3 snooker table before you inflict him/her on the other members.
    But you wouldn't understand that. Not, when you could be at the bar, sneering!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

This one time at Auschwitz...

davyjose wrote: »
    Weird. I once pretended to be a famous Swedish artist.

Your post, sir, as you know well, merits a far lengthier and most entertaining post.

Yours,

The Duchess of Marlborough-ness.

AAAAAAAHHH wrote: »
    Fair enough Adolf.

Did you not like my story? It was great. It was much funnier than the jewish stories. What makes you think that jewish humour is the best? Germans are funny too. We get jokes. Ja? Ja.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

You do know that you simply got lucky and you weren't really dishonest in the slightest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I was in packed pub one saturday years ago wearing an all blacks rugby shirt. This guy right next to me who just happened to be from New Zealand asked me in a sort of condescending manner if I was even from the country. As I was fairly drunk, I decided the best course of action was to put on my best Kiwi accent and shoot the breeze with my compatriot. As i remember, he bought it hook line and sinker, he must have been locked himself, and we ended up having a great chat about the old country! :D