Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Look Jervis

• 07-07-2010 9:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13

Did anyone else apply to New Look in Jervis?
    I applied and got an automated message saying I'd be phoned between the 1st and the 16th of July for a phone interview. I know the deadline hasn't passed yet, but I'm getting really anxious as I haven't been having luck in obtaining interviews lately :S
    Should I email the contact to ask if they're still phoning people?
    By any chance has anyone applied and received a call?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭chappy

Don't ring them before the deadline!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 AlloAllo

Phew Im glad I didn't because I just got the call today! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭chappy

Aw delighted for you!!Hope it went well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭woysworld

chappy wrote: »
    Aw delighted for you!!Hope it went well!

best of luck

It went grand, it wasn't an interview, I was just asked to their assessment day in a couple of weeks. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 jaedan98

I was panicing aswell thinking they wouldnt ring but then I got the call.
    I wonder what we'll be doing because it goes on for nearly 2 hours!
    I just really need a job!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 eightiesbaby82

hi guys,

i got an interview lined up with new look next week too :D yay.

i was just looking up some uk forums what their interviewing styles are and apparently they give you a scenario like a 25 year old going to a concert, you are put into a group of 3-5 ppl and you have to put together the outfit then explain why you chose that outfit :rolleyes:

one thing im struggling with is the interview questions, would anyone have any good interview questions and answers?

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 jaedan98

Yeah Ive done that type of group task in interviews before its really easy as long as you make sure to speak up!
    Im not too sure about the questions they'll ask because most places change their interview questions every few months but just make sure you now about customer service, why you like New Look, teamwork and trends at the moment!

ah yea i have been brushing up on a few different types of questions, have you any idea what your gonna wear bit unsure what way to go:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

When is the store opening?

i heard it will be sometime in September

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 King54

Ive been to loads of retail interviews and it doesnt really matter what you wear. Just wear something smartish but casual and you'll be fine. Im just going to wear jeans, a check shirt and a cardigan. Suppose its probably a bit easier for me since Im a lad!:)
    Cant wait for it now what day is your assessment?

It sounds like they put people into groups first and then whittle that down to interviewees. I've never been in a group situation for interviews, this should be interesting!
    i'm going smart casual, pencil skirt, top, cardi :)
    I was called in for Tuesday. I'm really curious as to how many people theyre hiring too because they hired 300 for Oxford street but I think they're assessing everyone here on the same day? Or am I wrong?

I had a group assessment for my last job and i prefer them cause it puts you at ease before your 1-1 interview. I dont know how many theyre hiring but on a job ad for floor managers it said there would be 120 staff but this store is twice the size of the oxford street one and as you said they took on 300. I got called for wednesday so it must be over 2 days. Bit of a treck to get out to liffey valley though! What time is yours at?

Mines on Wednesday ah I'm looking forward to it, haven't
    had anythin like this kind if interview for a job before, my job at the min is in a bank just wanna change it's soo boring, hopefully I get the job! And you never know we could be working with each other in september :)

Don't be nervous these types of interviews always end up being a bit of craic! I havent had a job in over a year and a half going into college in september so really need this. What time on wednesday is yours?

mines at 4. what time are you guys in at?

Mines at half 2 :)

Mines from 9 - 10.30

AlloAllo Since your on Tuesday would you mind posting what sort of stuff goes on during the assessment afterwards??

yeah no problem :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭punkindrublic

Where did everyone find out about the job openings for this? Like where did ye apply? Been searching the job sites for a while and never seen it

Normally New Look take CV's in store for sales advisors but they advertised online on their website and jobs.ie for sales associates for this store as its just opening.
    But, hopefully Forever21 will be taking applications soon so keep an eye out for that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭punkindrublic

Raged..don't remember seeing it on jobs.ie and I've been checking every day. Desperately wanted that job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 skp120

did anyone from outside dublin apply for this?

Yeah I live in Meath and I did. Why?

No reason just wondering! I'm thinking about applying for TK maxx beside this and commuting. I was just wondering if they call in everyone regardless of location!

Ive never had a problem being called for interviews. I think as long as your in the GDA it isnt an issue. Wheres TKMaxx going? I know theres a forever 21 going in beside new look.

I think its either above or below Forever 21, not too sure. read an article on it a couple of weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭NR04

I have mine tomarrow tuesday at 10.30am! Bit nervous now, im only after realising its a group assessment & that we will have to choose outfits for people!! I'm not nervous about the 1-on-1 interview, I'm afraid I'll be too quiet in the group assessment and not get to the 1-on-1!!

I don't think you have to be from Dublin to be called for an interview, I'm from the midlands & I got called.

New Look is going to be on two levels - the ground and basement floors of Jervis.

Does anybody know has Forever 21 or TK Maxx started recruiting yet???

NR04 wrote: »
    I have mine tomarrow tuesday at 10.30am! Bit nervous now, im only after realising its a group assessment & that we will have to choose outfits for people!! I'm not nervous about the 1-on-1 interview, I'm afraid I'll be too quiet in the group assessment and not get to the 1-on-1!!

I don't think you have to be from Dublin to be called for an interview, I'm from Athlone & I got called.

New Look is going to be on two levels - the ground and basement floors of Jervis.

Don't think either of them have yet. Good to hear so, i'm near you and hoping to get an intervie with tk maxx. Are you moving up or commuting if you get the job?

I don't think you have to be from Dublin to be called for an interview, I'm from Athlone & I got called.

I wouldnt really worry about not getting to the 1-on-1 stage, by the looks of it its only a very small number of people that dont get through. Just make sure you give your opinion and show you can work in a team and you'll b fine.

New Look & Forever 21 are going to be at the Jervis Centre. TK Maxx is ment to be taking the older Dunnes Stores unit in the Ilac Centre.

What goes on in the group assessment??

New Look & Forever 21 are going to be at the Jervis Centre. TK Maxx is ment to be taking the older Dunnes Stores unit in the Ilac Centre.

What goes on in the group assessment??

Basically your in a group of 3 or 4 and are given a customer scenario and have to put an outfit together based on that customer and then discuss why you chose that outfit.
    Easy enough!
    Dont forget to post how you got on afterwards! :D

Ok so u go upstairs & sign in, get a name badge, wait around, den evry1 called n2 a conference room 2getha, bout 16ppl, den der bout 10 store managers from al round ireland in da room 2.

Dey really nice, u ntroduce urself with a interesting fact bout urself, den split n2 2 groups, cum up with an outfit, & present it 2 da managers.

Dey leave da room, & dey den choose hu dey wil interview.

I got interviewd, dey chose bout 8ppl 2 ntrview.

I have to say it was fun, & i def wud do it again, da managers wer really nice & bubbly. Nutin 2 b nervous about.

I'm not sure dough wen dey tel u whether u got da job or not??

can you give some examples of what interesting facts that were given by the ppl that got through to the interview stage?

jus funny tngs, my name is & ive met whatever famous person or im really bad at golf etc etc

wil u find ou wen we findin ou if we got da job??

Sounds like a bit of craic! What sort of questions did they ask in the interview stage?

yeah its grand basically everyone gets through. nothing to worry about :)

Thats good I hope you get it! I'm really looking forward to it now! Did they give you a scenario or just tell you to pick out an outfit? Are the questions like the ones on the UK forums or just standard interview ones?

Did most people get interviewd from ye'r groups? There was 15ppl in my group and 7 got interviewed. I don't think they were very impressed with ither of our groups outfits we chose.

They were the same scenarios as the english forums.

i had my assessment today at 9-10.30

thanks NR04 for the heads up on the interesting fact.

so basically i went upstairs your given a sticker with your name on it and asked to have an interesting fact, Joke, Song or Dance ready. You are then brought into the room and sat around a large table. there was about 10 store managers in the room. they kick it off by introducing themselves and giving an interesting fact. then they pass it on to the group there was 17 in my group, my interesting fact was i got engaged on the eiffel tower, one of the lads said he tried out for wolves, another was she had been to disneyland 8 times.

then when that was finished we were put into groups of 4-5 ppl and given a card with a scenario on it - we got 22 yr old lad out for his bday and wants to stand out with a quirky in trend outfit with a budget of 100 but willing to spend a little more. you have about 5 mins to pull together. make sure to be quick cause others can grap the best accessories and shoes cause theres not a great collection. our rail wasnt the best so i went to others rails, this is allowed so make sure you get stuck in. then they get you to talk about the outfit, why you chose it? if you go over budget make sure you have a good answer, we said "even though it went over 30 euro he will get a discount because he was a student" once the task is over they decide on who goes onto 1:1 interview.
    i found this a bit harsh they called 3 ppl out of our group and what ever was left in the room got through the other 3 were sent home.
    the ppl that got sent home didnt stand out at all never really spoke up during the outfit task, so speak up!!

1:1 interview questions pretty much the same as the UK ones couple of ones they asked me:
    - how would you link sell to a custoemer (accessories)
    - customer knocks over a load of shoes and your manager is calling for you to go on till what do you do? i said i would ask customer if they were hurt and if ok, then tell manager what happened and say i would be 5 mins tidying up so no one else gets hurt.#
    - Give an example when you gave an excellent customer experience, when you went beyond?
    - what stores would you compare new look to?

thats aout it hope you all do really well and maybe we will be working together soon :) keep posting if you get the job :)

There was 16 in mine and about 10 got interviewed including me! The people that didnt get picked didnt really talk much or get involved and you could tell who wasnt going to get through. The interview questions were lovely! Nothing too difficult I got interviewed by the Regional Manager and she was really nice.
    She said we'll find out in the next 2 weeks and that theyre assessing 170 people and theres 120 jobs so theres a really good chance if you got through to the interview stage!
    Store doesnt open till 15th of October though..

King are you sure they are only assessing 170ppl???

Or do u tnk it was 170ppl 2day and 170ppl yesterday???

King are you sure they are only assessing 170ppl???

Or do u tnk it was 170ppl 2day and 170ppl yesterday???

She said that 400 applied and that they cut it down to either 200 to assess and 170 to interview or just 170 to assess Im not sure.

Really? Only 400 applied?? Dats really not that many??

Yeah I thought it wasnt that many either considering 4000 applied for the flagship in london but I suppose they only advertised on Jobs.ie and didnt have signs outside the new store. And more people probably applied for supervisor jobs.

All this waiting is killing me!!!

Well you'll be waiting a while because we arent going to find out for at least a week! They said they have to do another assessment day. Probably because so many people didnt get through to the interview stages.

Another assessment day!! :(:( I really want dat job!! How didya no bout dem having another assessment day??