Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silent camera phones

• 06-07-2010 10:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

So I was reading this article a while back about camera phones. I believe in Japan it has made illegal not to have the sound on your camera phone as people, mainly women, have been exploited by having their pics taking unknowingly, in dressing rooms and on public transport etc.

Has this ever happened to you?
    It has happened to me in pubs a couple of times, but I saw the pics being taken both occasions. Some weirdo just took out his camera and took pics of my chest:eek::eek:

I'm not sure this is a common phenomena here in Ireland, but I know there was quite a few discussions about it back home in Sweden.

It freaks me out the thought of someone putting their phone under my 'kilt' and taking a pic...

Yep.

Gawwd, if only I could remember the pub now.
    The ****ing bar man took out his phone, we asked wtf he was doing, but he just laughed.

Also, some dude took out his camera & started taking pictures of me & my friends one night (in a local like). . Dirty old man perv.
    We got him kicked out.

Ewwwwww. Dread to think what they did with those pics.

*Shudders*

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I can't get my phone to make noise when I take a picture. I hate it, because I'm never sure when the picture has been taken.

I haven't noticed much of this happening, tbh, but I don't doubt it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭trebor28

op,
    hes a weirdo alright, but maybe you could take it as a compliment?

Ava, were ye wearing some particularly revealing clothes that night?
    and did he take a pic of ye or specific body parts?

what is the legal stance on this?
    i dont think ye have a case if its in a public place.
    ye'll have to cover up to stop these guys from doing this.

although with the way women are putting all their photos on facebook these days guy dont have to go to all that trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Improbable

There are laws that prohibit you from taking pictures of an individual if they object or an objection is made on their behalf. But its never enforced.

Improbable wrote: »
    There are laws that prohibit you from taking pictures of an individual if they object or an objection is made on their behalf. But its never enforced.

how would it be enforced???
    unless the camera holder has a conscience and says sorry and walks away then they'll carry on regardless.

trebor28 wrote: »
    how would it be enforced???
    unless the camera holder has a conscience and says sorry and walks away then they'll carry on regardless.

The reason its not enforced is that it really can't be. I suppose if it was someone that you knew and there were witnesses you might be able to do something about it. But I doubt it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I think it has been banned in some 'public' places like changing rooms though, hasn't it?

Fishie wrote: »
    I think it has been banned in some 'public' places like changing rooms though, hasn't it?

I think a public place is defined as being any location which is not privately owned. Every establishment has the right to deny photography on its premises or certain parts thereof. And yes, I'm pretty sure photography is illegal in changing rooms for very obvious reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

op,

although with the way women are putting all their photos on facebook these days guy dont have to go to all that trouble

I dunno if I'd take it as a compliment tbh:)

I agree with Improbable, it seem impossible to enforce such a law. I read about ppl going to the guards to report pics being taken without consent, but again, what can they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Simplicius

Improbable wrote: »

This is incorrect, If you are on the public street your photo can be taken without your permission and you have no rights to request the photographer to stop, neither do your friends. Inside pubs etc, the right is determined by the owners. If it is your own private space, i.e. your bedroom and someone is shooting a picture through window, that is an invasion of privacy matter and illegal.

Simplicius wrote: »
    This is incorrect, If you are on the public street your photo can be taken without your permission and you have no rights to request the photographer to stop, neither do your friends. Inside pubs etc, the right is determined by the owners. If it is your own private space, i.e. your bedroom and someone is shooting a picture through window, that is an invasion of privacy matter and illegal.

You may be right about the street one, I can't really find anything about it at citizensinformation.ie where I thought you might find information about it. But as for the house, If they're taking the picture from the street, as long as they're not on your property it is legal.

Actually I just found a site that seems to reasonably sum it all up HERE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

Oh come on girls, what next make it illegal to look in your direction, just in case it makes you feel insecure!:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Whats a few fuzzy pics on a phone going to do to you!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

jock101 wrote: »
    Oh come on girls, what next make it illegal to look in your direction, just in case it makes you feel insecure!:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Whats a few fuzzy pics on a phone going to do to you!:eek:

Its a complete invasion of your privacy as well as being creepy and offputting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaliforniaDream

jock101 wrote: »

I think the worry that most people have (not me, I'm not pretty enough :( ) is the fact that most camera phones these days are pretty good. You don't get a fuzzy pic, you get quite a clear picture. And if these photo's go to the wrong hands then they can be doctored quite easily leaving the person in the photo with a tarnished reputation.

Most of this is unlikely to happen but the possibility is there. People can look all the want because they cannot do long term damage to someone but a photo can.

My two cents anyways. Maybe people just don't like having their photo being taken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

A few years ago i remember you couldn't get a phone without a clicking noise; they just didn't make phones without a noise! But now, even the new Iphone, not a sound out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

op,

Ah I see! So if a pervy guy takes a photo of me without my permission it's MY fault! Good point mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭Smallbit

My iphone makes a sound, if the sound is turned on but the photos arent that good! unless its a bright day. I've taken a few at various parties and they're all useless.

I'm pretty sure i caught a man snapping a few pics of my bum in the phoenix park though. I was doing some stretching after a run (wobbly jog more like...) and turned around to see him fiddling with his phone, pointing in my direction. He immediately tried to make it look like he was texting but it was pretty obvious what he was up to. I'm not the only one either, speaking with some of the other ladies I go jogging with, it seems lycra is a bit of a magnet for pervy guys with or without cameras :eek:

I'm not sure how i feel about it though. They're more to be pitied than scorned? and if they think my bum is worth it I'd almost respect them if they asked me for a pic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

op,

You have got to be kidding me.

Xiney wrote: »
    You have got to be kidding me.

i meant from a legal standpoint.
    as in its not illegal for some people to do this so to cut it out ye would have to wear some not so revealing clothes.

and come on, of course i dont mean it, jebus what man doesnt want to see women walking around in revealing clothes!!!

I'd say it could be deemed harassment.

Also, taking the photo may not be illegal but many uses of that photo may well be without the consent of the subject.

• I wish camera phones/videos had never been invented. I hate the idea that I can be sitting on a train minding my own business and some weirdo is filming me. Someone took a picture of me as I went up the Tube escalator yesterday and I felt like knocking them out, how dare they like? I hate the idea that they have a pic of me which they could put online or do anything with.

For the man suggesting it's out own fault - this is Ireland, not Saudi Arabia. I do expect to go out with my face uncovered and not have weirdos invading my privacy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Weidii

Taking pictures of people is such an invasion of privacy. I mean, fine if you are taking a snap of something else and there are people in the way, but specifically taking a picture of someone without their permission is so wrong.

The worst situation I've been in regarding that happened when I was sharing a kiss with the girl I am seeing on a dance floor a group of lads thought it was ok to take pictures of us. We don't do this often as it draws way too much attention from the same sort of people who take these photos. The thing is that I can put up with homophobic comments and stares, but I don't want these people taking or having pictures of me.

On that note, I say that yes, camera phones should have to make a noise. Even though it doesn't make a difference in a club or noisy environment, it could prevent weirdos from taking pictures of people in quieter places. What's the disadvantage to it, anyway? If I had to choose between the possibility of strangers taking my photo or the slight annoyance of a phone making a noise when it takes a picture, I'd certainly go with the former.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭littleredspot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Hooked

Neither will the fact that you can buy an app for the iPhone called "Sneaky Pix" that allows you to pretend your on a call or texting while snapping away silently at intervals a few seconds apart... Pervy or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

[quote=[Deleted User];66795431]I wish camera phones/videos had never been invented. I hate the idea that I can be sitting on a train minding my own business and some weirdo is filming me. Someone took a picture of me as I went up the Tube escalator yesterday and I felt like knocking them out, how dare they like? I hate the idea that they have a pic of me which they could put online or do anything with.

.[/QUOTE]

Did you not report it to a member of the underground , because I think taking pictures on the underground without permission from them is banned
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Did you not report it to a member of the underground , because I think taking pictures on the underground without permission from them is banned

What good is it going to do? The person would have goen off on a train by then. Underground staff are already stretched, I doubt they'd go through security footage to find a still of someone taking a picture with their phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Unfortunately as technology improves so will creepy pervs manage to be more and more discreet with building up their collections. Only thing you can do is try to be aware if possible and confront them if you have good reason to believe they have taken your pic with a firm and loud warning of 'I did not give you permission to take my picture you filthy fking pervert' Or obscure yourselfface/bits from them somehow.

I remember reading a few years ago about a chap on a beach in Sydney taking pics of topless sunbathers, he got his just desserts apparently in the form of knuckle sambos.

Hmmm. I wonder if there is anything on the market that sends a pulse to scramble pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

[quote=[Deleted User];66796893]What good is it going to do? The person would have goen off on a train by then. Underground staff are already stretched, I doubt they'd go through security footage to find a still of someone taking a picture with their phone.[/QUOTE]

because we are creatures of habit in our use of the underground (so it is a fair bet he will be doing it regularly on that station) and if enough mentions of this comes up they will start looking for him
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

just looking at other thread on here, and i noticed in some of them, some of the posters here put up photos of themselves.

surely couldnt these perves or weirdos do whatever they want with these photos?

does this invalidate this argument ye made of them taking photos of ye in a public place?

ps. not looking to cause trouble, just debating the situation.

just looking at other thread on here, and i noticed in some of them, some of the posters here put up photos of themselves.

does this invalidate this argument ye made of them taking photos of ye in a public place?

thats pictures taken with consent, completely different thing altogether.

Sure anyone can photoshop an image to make it look like anything. That is not my biggest concern. My concern is that someone took out a camera in a sneaky attempt to take my picture. Why the hell do they have to be sneaky about taking my picture? What do they want with my picture that they have to take it like that, I mean, if it is just to fap to or whatever then why not get a more revealing one of someone else from the net?

Kya1976 wrote: »
    thats pictures taken with consent, completely different thing altogether.

yes but weirdos could still go and doctor these photos and turn them into god knows what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

yes but weirdos could still go and doctor these photos and turn them into god knows what!

But you have posted the picture yourself, fully aware that once it lands on the web, you don't really have a lot of control over what happens to it.

The only thing it's someway analagous to is someone else posting a picture of you on the web without your permission.

Think this is more about someone sticking a camera under your skirt and snapping a picture, than a picture being taken of someones face tbh.

I gave one example of someone snapping a picture of my chest but the article I read was more about women having had someone sticking a camera under their skirt and taking a picture, surely you can see how thats different from putting up a picture of yourself in the 'know your loungers' thread no?

Malari wrote: »
    But you have posted the picture yourself, fully aware that once it lands on the web, you don't really have a lot of control over what happens to it.

The only thing it's someway analagous to is someone else posting a picture of you on the web without your permission.

Exactly that too. Do you post pictures of people you know without their permission onto sites such as this one, or worse, 4Chan :eek:, trebor?

The pictures I have made public of myself are ones I have decided to publish. I am fully aware the ones posted are open to all kinds of internet tardry. I am quite uncomfortable with the idea that someone is snapping me unknowingly then to find I have been the subject of some Demotivational pic or something that has been doing the rounds afterwards.

Kya1976 wrote: »
    Think this is more about someone sticking a camera under your skirt and snapping a picture, than a picture being taken of someones face tbh.

I gave one example of someone snapping a picture of my chest but the article I read was more about women having had someone sticking a camera under their skirt and taking a picture, surely you can see how thats different from putting up a picture of yourself in the 'know your loungers' thread no?

of course i can see that that is different, jebus!

and no i dont go posting other peoples photos on the web.

obviously these guys are weird and what they are doing is totally wrong, dont know how they have the balls or gall to even do it but anyway.

its just that with what some people post on their faceook pages, it would be harder for a weirdo to actually go and try and maneuver themselves into a position to take a similarly revealing picture.

ps one poster in one of those "know your loungers" thread put a photo up and you could almost see her belly button.
    obviously she knew what she was doing, but you get my point.

Yeah, Japanese guys are notorious for their pervy antics. I learned to put my bag on my lap whilst on the train in Tokyo to prevent people from taking unwanted crotch-shots.You also have to be careful of guys seemingly messaging next to you. You can't take the shutter sounds off the phones over there any more, thank gods. So on one occasion where a guy did snap a pic I gave him a piece of my mind. Even managed to scare him off the train xD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭Smallbit

I was chatting with my partner about this and made the point that I dress quite conservatively and generally don't really provide pervs with photo opportunities, so I tend not to think about the possibility of being snapped. In a sense, ignorance is bliss.

However he shattered my illusion by informing me that it's not about what you show, but the illicit glimpses you provide when you bend over wearing a certain top or when you wear a skirt and sit on a low sofa showing plenty of thigh etc etc.

When i told him about my experience while out running, he agreed that you can be covered head to foot in Lycra and still have men's eyes out on stalks, so you can't win whatever you do!! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bambera

What about the trashy gossip magazines showing pictures of celebrities body parts that are accidentally on show, or close-up, unflattering pictures of them in bathing suits? Surely their privacy is being violated. Can the photographer not get in trouble for this?

I think restraining orders have been taken out in the past - though the problem is of course sheer volume.

As a matter of course I do not buy magazines or newspapers that use paparazzi photographs because I don't agree with that industry.

bambera wrote: »
    What about the trashy gossip magazines showing pictures of celebrities body parts that are accidentally on show, or close-up, unflattering pictures of them in bathing suits? Surely their privacy is being violated. Can the photographer not get in trouble for this?

well half the time the said celebrity is playing up for this scenario.
    do you never wonder why its the same celebs that get caught in these poses??
    plus its in a public place most of the time so they cant be prosecuted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

bambera wrote: »

like you mean showing them as real people ?.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bambera

BumbleB wrote: »
    like you mean showing them as real people ?.:rolleyes:

No I mean invading their privacy. People here were saying they were upset/annoyed when someone in a train station or pub or a park were taking sneaky photos of them, and I agree with them. But do you not think someone who happens to be well known hasn't got a right too to be upset if a photo is taken of them in the same way.

Or do you take the view of "they're a celebrity, they deserve it"? I remember seeing a photo of Cherie Blaire on t.v. She was out at the beach with her family in her bathing suit and a photographer had taken a picture of her from a not so attractive angle. If it was your own mother, would you still think it's ok for the media to spread this picture cause it shows she's a "real person"?