Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FPS Limit of sniper rifles

• 06-07-2010 3:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33

I think the irsh laws regarding airsoft should be changed to the same as the english laws, in england the fps limits of a single shot bolt action sniper rifle can be up to 500 fps on some sites. Seriously whats the point of a sniper rifle with the same range of a standard aeg. Whos with me??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

Here we go again :rolleyes:

The law is the law. It's not going to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Ah, I remember when I was like you.
    The came the crushing realisation that we have what we have almost purely by luck. Keep the head down and let the IAA do the talking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭touge_drift

Riderlad wrote: »
    I think the irsh laws regarding airsoft should be changed to the same as the english laws, in england the fps limits of a single shot bolt action sniper rifle can be up to 500 fps on some sites. Seriously whats the point of a sniper rifle with the same range of a standard aeg. Whos with me??

probablly no one here.

its for safety and well its the law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

2961175776_b341ca0fc5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Riderlad

I played at a site in scotland 3 weeks ago and i just found that the slightly larger fps limit really changes the sniping experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Riderlad wrote: »
    I played at a site in scotland 3 weeks ago and i just found that the slightly larger fps limit really changes the sniping experience

At risk of pointing out the obvious; Scotland is not the Republic of Ireland. That is all that needs to be said for this particular argument at this moment in time.

Edit: I'll also add that whilst t he sniping 'experience' may change, with it comes a change in responsibility as well. I've played two sites in Scotland; one of which (the other was 'closed' for renovation) will not allow 420+fps sniper rifles out until the player has been shadowed and subsequently endorsed by a marshall with sniping experience.

You must be aware of your engagement ranges as you can cause some very nasty injuries with that increased FPS. Some sites (the above included) require snipers carry side-arms for the express purpose of minimum engagement ranges. So there are downsides and great responsibilities that come with the territory.

With all that said and done, some of the best sniping & counter-sniping in the UK comes from sub-500fps guns. Why? Because when everyone expects you to be 25m+ away .... to discover you're 15ft away in a bush with a 1j sniper rifle they'd have discounted has its own merits ... and that's an art form in itself; the ability to "stalk" and get up close whilst remaining undetected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

I can't believe im giving thought to this, but i for one would not like to see an increse in the FPS limit. "Oh noes, ye cant be serious !?!?" ;)

At minute its perfect. Sure we can't hit targets 1 mile away, but isn't that all part of the challenge?

For an increse in the energy limit it would proubley mean the limiting of sales to people.

Long story short "Don't fix something that isn't broken"

Why this is even being disscused is beyond me :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I see it as a long term change..would be nice to have bolt action snipers at say max 450 or something close to it...I reckon a lot more people would take up sniping but they would have to be properly marshalled etc.
    It would definitely make games more interesting as obviously the AEG guys etc would have to use tactics such as flanking etc to take out snipers once they identified where they were...
    And I'd go for a limit of snipers per team depending on the crowds..last thing you want is 30 sniper all camping waiting for the enemy :D
    But I'm happy to be playing the game as it is..if it happens further on down the road fantastic, if it doesn't it won't matter as I'll still be playing the game anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭McGilla

1stly why are people shooting (pardon the pun) this Topic down?

Not every one on boards has been here all along, so topics are going to be re opened, its what happens with evolving media such as forums!

Deep Breath!

I agree completely OP! - There is no tactical advantage to having a bolt action rifle having the same range as an MP5K, but the slower rate of fire.

I think people are almost scared to discuss topics here that might disagree with "The Man" - and I can undertstand, we are lucky to have such a great sport... BUT

I think an increase for bolt action, maybe magazine size limit too, would be good for the sport!

I cant see the Airsoft community being large enough to influence law, (soccer fans cant even get video refs!)

But its worth discussing!

(And people please try and refrain from posting " Why are we discussing this?" if you dont want to talk about it, get back to work!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

If you want more range, upgrade! Seriously, there's some great hops out there that will increase range and barrels to increase accuracy, heavier BB's are also dead handy.
    The main reason we can't discuss this is because it is against the Charter. One joule is grand, its up to you to take advantage and overcome the limitations.

McGilla wrote: »
    There is no tactical advantage to having a bolt action rifle having the same range as an MP5K, but the slower rate of fire.

There is actually, and I've already said what it is. Proximity to target has pros and cons both ways ...

Besides, the most impressive feat of sniping I've ever encountered was done with an NBB socom at close range; whilst the guy was *bang* smack in the middle of an enemy group. In plain view in a Ghillie suit. For roughly ten/fifteen minutes he supressed an entire area of base perimeter through sheer guile and inovative thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

Not every one on boards has been here all along, so topics are going to be re opened, its what happens with evolving media such as forums!

I think people are almost scared to discuss topics here that might disagree with "The Man" -
    (And people please try and refrain from posting " Why are we discussing this?" if you dont want to talk about it, get back to work!)

In answer to all those statements/questions, the charter says
    * There will be no discussion of airsoft greater than 1 joule.
    Expect a mod along soon I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

A bolt action rifle does not make you a sniper, and a 500fps bolt action does not make you a better sniper.

What makes you a sniper is your mindset, intelligence, patience and knowledge.

The greatest sniper I have ever had the pleasure of playing with/against (who is, unfortunately, long since gone from the sport) never once complained about the limits. In fact, I once watched in awe as he silently knife-killed sixteen people in a row (me being the first one), keeping only his pistol in his hand as proof that he was still playing.
    With him, you would see him in the safe zone, but never in the game. You'd know he was playing, however, because you'd randomly see people in various positions (often times people you hadn't even seen until this point) standing up and shouting hit, then walking away wondering where that single, silent round came from.
    That's a sniper, and he used a TM VSR G-Spec that consistently put out 310fps, not an oversized personal cannon that put out 500fps.

Stop blaming the tools, and learn the craft.

NakedDex wrote: »
    In fact, I once watched in awe as he silently knife-killed sixteen people in a row (me being the first one), keeping only his pistol in his hand as proof that he was still playing.

That was the incident where he got handed a tenner for knife-killing me (damn you Gandalf) as a challenge had been laid down for someone to knife-kill me the first day the '60 saw action at HRTA. That was mid-September 2007. Was hillarious to watch him do the other ten or so folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭J.D.R

This will not happen.

But, if it does, you have to bring in other FPS changes. Like, if we increase the FPS on snipers, we need to decrease the FPS on Pistols and smgs, and slightly increase the FPS on support weopons. It's a bit stupid having a 500 fps sniper when your back up pistol has the same FPS as the enemies M4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

Would a higher fps limit in general be nice, of course it would
    Would a hight fps for springers be nice, of course it would

going to happen any time soon, not really

also you have to look at the negatives of a higher fps, i would not trust some people with 1 joule let alone anything else, have a lot of idouts running around with hight powered springers is not fun, it is why a lot of sites have limits on who can use them, been to a lot of sites in the uk that need you to be a regular and proven you can be trusted with it and can judge the minimum engagement range correctly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭flashinbluelite

The greatest sniper I have ever had the pleasure of playing with/against (who is, unfortunately, long since gone from the sport) never once complained about the limits. In fact, I once watched in awe as he silently knife-killed sixteen people in a row (me being the first one), keeping only his pistol in his hand as proof that he was still playing.

That's a sniper, and he used a TM VSR G-Spec that consistently put out 310fps, not an oversized personal cannon that put out 500fps.

sorry dex , im still very active in airsoft :P

obviously not me people calm down the hasty replies....

but i agree completely. 500fps sniper rifle does not mean good sniper....
    neither does being 6foot5 and 100 kilos "yeah be a sniper Keith" real good call :D stupid bigness making me all noisy and sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭daz801

i agree and disagree with this.
    i dont think just anyone should be aloud, there should be a system like mentioned in the english sight.

But there wouldn't need to be a change in law would there??
    paintball guns are over the 1j limit and are aloud, so if a person had a licence (or mayby a sight gets a few and rents them to people, again using the) for a bolt action over 1j it would be an good.

now befor people start saying that you'd need to get evryones permission, theres a solution to that. If a sight and included it in a waiver then it would be people own decision to play there. Then they could also have it open to people who have there own licence.
    it would be the same as a paint ball sight

just my 2 cents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,828 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

daz801 wrote: »
    so if a person had a licence (or mayby a sight gets a few and rents them to people, again using the) for a bolt action over 1j it would be an good.

There has to be a serial number on the gun to get a licence and is not possible with an airsoft gun and technically you'd be assaulting people with a firearm by shooting them with it. It's just not feasible in that form.

Even if you managed to find a way to serialise and licence them, you're still using a firearm to shoot people.
    If you were to use a real gun on someone who asked you to shoot them in the leg (lets assume you were both insane at this point), his permission to shoot him doesn't actually provide you with any defence against a charge of assault with a firearm.

We're getting a bit far off the topic though.

I regularly see dozens of lads with bolt action rifles. Over the years, it's climbed into the three figure bracket. However, I've only ever seen four snipers to date.

Stop blaming the tools, and learn the craft.

whoa whoa whoa...No one here is blaming the tools :p...obviously the Op is new to the sport (judging from his post count), it's just a simple discussion of fps for bolt action.
    I don't see the harm in it honestly...no one is talking about upgrading their rifles over the legal limit, plus I've seen discussions on >1j on the berget thread etc so what's the harm in it..
    It's simply would we like to have the limit raised for bolts and in an ideal world..yes we would ..thank you very much :D
    Unfortunately/fortunately depending on your point it will probably take a good few years even indeed this ever happened.

Even if it did make it to law I'd still like the sites to have the final say on whether they'd want it or not...not every site can afford to have marshall's babysitting snipers etc..

I meant that in an advisory tone, not an offensive one.
    I regularly see young/new/old/experienced players say they want a bolt action rifle to go out sniping. Invariably, I see the same rifle they purchased appear on Adverts a few weeks later because the idea of sniping properly didn't actually appeal to them as much as they thought it would when they were watching Shooter for the tenth time.
    When I say that, I mean it in a very literal sense and directed at those people. Your ability to become a sniper is not hampered by your equipment, whether that choice be a bog standard BAR10 punching out 290fps or a tarted up Tanaka recording 490fps. It's up to the person themselves to figure out whether they're willing to adapt their playing style and mindset into that of a sniper, because it is a *vastly* different role.

Generally speaking, most people who think they want a bolt action rifle are better off starting out with something like an M16 or G3 and using it as a marksmans rifle. Get the feel of stand-off ranges at 1J and the shift in dynamics you get by not being an assaulter anymore.
    Just because you can tart up a TM M14 to have the same range as a bolt action rifle, doesn't mean you have a rifle for sniping in your hand. Nor does it mean the 1J rating of said bolt action rifle renders it redundant among all other gun choices. Bolt action rifles have one massive advantage over every other device on the field:
    They're silent.
    Two M16 users engage each other from hedgerows. Neither can see the other clearly but they can hear the whine of the gearboxes so each fires in that direction. Eventually one will get hit, after a couple of hundred rounds are no doubt wasted.
    Put two bolt action rifles in that scenario, and see how the entire situation shifts. No sound to follow, no steady stream of ammo flying through the air to give away location.

Sniping is about subtlety. That's something a bolt action rifle will give you, regardless of the energy rating.

I do wish some sites would keep one or two bolt-action rifles in their rental choices, it'd help a lot of wannabe snipers figure out if it's actually for them without dropping out the dosh for a rifle they will end up not wanting.

In a perfect world the limit would be higher but in my opinion the chances of the law being changed to accommodate us is very very slim. A higher limit would need regulation of both:

Players(Do they know engagement distances? Have they previous experience with sniping?)

Rifles(Are people trying to break even the upper limit of 500fps for example by going to 600fps? This problem is present now though with the 1J limit)

The government aren't interested in whether Tom the sniper wants a 2 Joule sniper rifle at this point in time. We have only recently secured the future of 1 joule airsoft in Ireland, pushing for an increase in the limit now isn't the wisest thing to do.

We have to prove we can regulate and control ourselves with 1 joule before putting the case forward for a power increase:)

Blay wrote: »
    In a perfect world the limit would be higher but in my opinion the chances of the law being changed to accommodate us is very very slim. A higher limit would need regulation of both:

Players(Do they know engagement distances? Have they previous experience with sniping?)

Rifles(Are people trying to break even the upper limit of 500fps for example by going to 600fps? This problem is present now though with the 1J limit)

The government aren't interested in whether Tom the sniper wants a 2 Joule sniper rifle at this point in time. We have only recently secured the future of 1 joule airsoft in Ireland, pushing for an increase in the limit now isn't the wisest thing to do.

We have to prove we can regulate and control ourselves with 1 joule before putting the case forward for a power increase:)

I know:eek:! Lets ring Joe Duffy. I'm sure he can help us

J.D.R wrote: »
    I know:eek:! Lets ring Joe Duffy. I'm sure he can help us

It's easy to dismiss what I said but I like alot of others in this thread was around when there was a chance airsoft wouldn't survive and for people who remember that time the security we have now is a miracle and I'm glad we have airsoft in 1J form nevermind 2J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

Just to point out the law in the UK dose not differentiate between bolt action and automatic Airsoft devices, the sites set the rules in this respect.

If you want to change the law best option is to speak to the IAA (info@irishairsoft.ie), they have a close connection with the government and always take there policy lead from the community, they successfully changed the law in the past for the betterment of the sport. If Airsoft stays off the radar for a while small changes like this should actually be achievable, shame some sites and retailers are doing us no favors in this respect.

Good point to note, the 1J came from British House of Commons, Home Affairs Second Report, 6 April 2000 and the Control of Firearms in Northern Ireland and the Draft Firearms (Northern Ireland) Order 2002, that stated that 1.35 joule is required to cause permanent damage to the eye and 3 - 4 Joule is required to penetrate the skin. Considering we were eye protection the increase is safe. However a large PR tool that has been used to bail out the sport in the past is that no matter who buys the kit it is still safe, this increase would remove that defense.

fayer wrote: »
    Just to point out the law in the UK dose not differentiate between bolt action and automatic Airsoft devices, the sites set the rules in this respect.

Actually yes it does. The law is more intended towards air rifles and the like; but it goes something along the lines of anything above 371 fps that is self-loading is a section five firearm.

What that translates to anything that can * fire more than one round in a single trigger pull is a big no no.

Sites have set the limits on bolties themselves, most definitely though.

* And here in lies the subtle debate on whether or not a semi-auto AEG operating as a DMR above 370fps is legal or not (since internals can fail and default to auto)

I do wish some sites would keep one or two bolt-action rifles in their rental choices, it'd help a lot of wannabe snipers figure out if it's actually for them without dropping out the dosh for a rifle they will end up not wanting.

what??:eek: and have us miss out on the bargain snipers for sale in adverts? :D

agree with your point though..
    I've a magpul M4 which I bought recently and the range is excellent on it (fires at approx 320fps).
    I've a CA M24 sniper rifle though which fires at 285-300 and yet every shot will fly way farther than the M4 thanks to the PDI hopup, precision barrel etc. plus it's deadly quiet :D
    Next up is a twist barrel to give it even more distance and all this time it's still well within the legal limit.

Noticed some huffing and puffing on the first page, here is a nice (old) doc from 2008 explains a huge amount about airsoft for those that dont know the history, physics legal position.

IAA Proposals on Legislative Change, December 2008

Plenty more here
    IAA Doc's

Lemming wrote: »
    Actually yes it does. The law is more intended towards air rifles and the like; but it goes something along the lines of anything above 371 fps that is self-loading is a section five firearm.

That that translates to anything that can fire more than one round in a single trigger pull is a big no no.

I stand corrected if that is the case, the UK firearms laws are a mess. i thought however one of the amendments separated the class of device? Anyway that is there problem :D Back to the revolution!

Blay wrote: »
    It's easy to dismiss what I said but I like alot of others in this thread was around when there was a chance airsoft wouldn't survive and for people who remember that time the security we have now is a miracle and I'm glad we have airsoft in 1J form nevermind 2J.

Sorry, again, my humour doesn't always come accross in type.

I actually do aggree with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Ain't gonna happen this side of the next election, and probably not the one after that either.

Also, if we wanted to make a safety case for such a change we'd need several years' worth of, er, bulletproof statistics to back it up. And I'm pretty confident that the airsofters who understand how much work that would take can be counted on one or maybe two hands.

Sorry. Save your energy for something achievable. Proper changing rooms and M/F toilets on every site would be a good start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭daz801

Even if you managed to find a way to serialise and licence them, you're still using a firearm to shoot people.
    If you were to use a real gun on someone who asked you to shoot them in the leg (lets assume you were both insane at this point), his permission to shoot him doesn't actually provide you with any defence against a charge of assault with a firearm.

but paintball guns are over the joule, what would be the difference:confused:

Classified differently, as far as I'm aware. I'm not totally up on paintball device laws but, while they don't need a licence, they do need a permit. They're excluded from classification as a firearm.

I can order a 1J AEG off the internet. I can't do the same with a >1J Paintball marker (as far as I know)*

*I'm talking about legally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭ASI Casper

fayer wrote: »
    Good point to note, the 1J came from British House of Commons, Home Affairs Second Report, 6 April 2000 and the Control of Firearms in Northern Ireland and the Draft Firearms (Northern Ireland) Order 2002, that stated that 1.35 joule is required to cause permanent damage to the eye and 3 - 4 Joule is required to penetrate the skin.
    And the current NI limit of 1 Joule is based upon this.
    The Firearms (Northern Ireland) Order 2004 ( Section 9(1))
    I foresee it as highly likely that the rest of the UK will follow suit in the coming years. With Scotland already hoping to overhaul their firearms legislation.

The key point was this as quoted by a minister on the above-mentioned Home Affairs Select Committee talking about Forensic Science Northern Ireland ( an impartial agency within the Department of Justice ) who had carried out ballistics research in NI:
    "...held very firmly to the view that if it was below one joule then they could say in all confidence that any weapon that had that kind of kinetic energy would not pose a lethal threat, but they could not say the same about weapons that had a higher value".

All 20 member sites of the United Kingdom Airsoft Sites Governing Body (UKASGB) already observe the 1 Joule limit, albeit with a discretionary +10% as the 1 Joule is not enshrined in law in mainland Britain. It is enshrined in law in NI as I've linked above.
    Plus, plenty of other sites which aren't UKASGB members also observe the 1 Joule limit due to either insurance reasons or just common sense safety reasons.
    There aren't really that many sites across the water that allow 500fps bolt-actions, as those sites require specialist insurance. And that there is already some debate on this grey area. As what their insurance covers and what's legal are 2 entirely different things.
    daz801 wrote: »
    now befor people start saying that you'd need to get evryones permission, theres a solution to that. If a sight and included it in a waiver then it would be people own decision to play there.
    You can't waive your right to not be assaulted. Besides which, I'd imagine this would be criminal law rather than civil law, so it wouldn't be up to the 'victim'.
    And bear in mind that paintballs are liquid filled and have different ballistic characteristics to a BB.

I'd wonder if most peoples eye / face protection could cope with anything much beyond 1 Joule? I managed to break some guys glasses a few weeks ago using nothing but a TM shotty firing at 250fps from about 15 - 20ft away.
    He'd been under the impression that his glasses were Oakley ballistic glasses. They were neither ballistic glasses or Oakleys. Turns out they were cheap Oakley clone sunglasses. Luckily the BBs deflected ok and he was fine.

If some people can't be content with what they've already got, how will they be happy with more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Classified differently, as far as I'm aware. I'm not totally up on paintball device laws but, while they don't need a licence, they do need a permit. They're excluded from classification as a firearm.

I'm a bit hazy, but from what I remember hearing and researching...

a) Paintball devices are firearms if they are more powerful than 1 joule (which they are - in the region of 16 J I think ? The size, weight and composition of the paintball means the speed of the projectile and its impact force are lessened)

b) You need the permission of your local Superintendent or firearms officer to own one.

c) They are firearms, and shooting someone with one is assault with a firearm....BUT....the DPP has been instructed not to prosecute where this happens in a designated paintball skirmish site, due to the fact that paintball is a recognised sport ( as are we now, actually - thank you IAA)

Now...a lot of the above is dragged up from my hazy memory, so I could be off on a few points and I'm open to correction, but I'm pretty sure the basics are correct.

Which leads to the conclusion that sometime in the future, if we keep our noses clean, we might have a case to make if we lobbied for increases in the allowable power of certain types of airsoft devices. Having said that, I agree with Puding's comment above - There are very few people I'd trust with a 2 joule sniper rifle, and if the field limit was 500 FPS, you always find some moronic jackass idiot trying to blag a 550 FPS rifle onto the field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

J.D.R wrote: »
    I can order a 1J AEG off the internet. I can't do the same with a <1J Paintball marker (as far as I know)*

*I'm talking about legally

As far as I know you could, because if it shoots a projectile from a barrel at less than 1 joule, its not a firearm by definition.

But a paintball marker shooting that low wouldn't propel a "proper" paintball very far, if at all.

Shiva wrote: »
    As far as I know you could, because if it shoots a projectile from a barrel at less than 1 joule, its not a firearm by definition.

But a paintball marker shooting that low wouldn't propel a "proper" paintball very far, if at all.

Sorry, had the symbol the wrong way around. I meant greater then 1 joule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

searcho.png

I think people are almost scared to discuss topics here that might disagree with "The Man" -
    You will learn soon enough my young padawan. Theres a great difference between
    scared
    Implying that we fear some greater power making our bum cheeks red from repeated slapping

and

Not arsed
    Having the same topic, appear for the 50th time, where everyone knows the anwser and stupid and retarded debates have come from it. Everyone would love higher fps, everyone agrees higher fps would be awesome, but for reasons why they arnt at higher fps, read posts above, or check my picture.

I cant see the Airsoft community being large enough to influence law, (soccer fans cant even get video refs!)
    There is no governing body that over sees laws and gameplay in airsoft, plus we dont have a group of old age dopes who know nothing about airsoft telling us

"Video marshalls would ruin airsoft, players love spreading the hate over who doesnt take hits"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Kurbinator

You must be aware of your engagement ranges as you can cause some very nasty injuries with that increased FPS.

Things should be kept the same as they are now IMO.
    Sounds great on paper but ...Headshots? imagine someone wearing specs at 500 fps gets nailed in the face by a bb.
    No good at math but sounds bad.

Completely agree with thepoint earlier about stealth and stalking a target.
    Such a dramatic increase in fps lots of snipers would pop up overnight and we'd have huge ranged battles.Though this is where the great stealthy SOB's would shine.
    Still the Laws the Law

As someone whose taking shots from 500fps sniper rifles, and 450 fps fully automatic rifles, your eye protection isnt an issue.

Your eye protection isnt ballistic rated for airsoft, its ballistic rated for real steel, on what basis I dont know, I think its like shotgun rounds or something.

It will hurt yeah, a little bit more. but the main point of your post is engagement ranges.

I would dread the day we bring higher fps into this country I really do.

It works in other countries because of the sportsmanship and the way people play the games over there. I know I always harper on about milsim and skirmishing etc, but could you honestly imagine putting 100 people with 450 fps rifles out in a site in ireland during a skirmish.

I assure you there would be six dead bodies by lunch. There too much an emphasis on shooting someone as much as possible, and tbh its a pretty dirty thing I'm seeing on more and more sites by players, just mindless full auto fire at close ranges. Incidently, all hicaps, all hi rate of fire guns : /

Its nothing to do with being a bitch or anything, I can just about take it with 1 joule people doing it, and 450 fps I'd probably stop playing airsoft.

Hypothetical:
    Somehow, higher powers are convinced that raising the energy limit to 2.5J (not FPS limit, by the way. The topic title is misleading) for bolt action rifles is acceptable so long as the sites enforce minimum engagement ranges, etc.
    Games evolve around it and life goes on.

For a couple of weeks.

Then the semi-auto users kick up a fuss, wanting higher energy limits too. Their argument is that the only difference between their marksman rifles and bolt action rifles is the manual cocking.
    Miracle number two happens and the marksmen get their increased limit, albeit to 2J. Similar range restrictions are imposed, the game evolves, everyone is happy.

For a couple of weeks (again).

This time everyone else is kicking up. They all want increased limits now, since they reckon a precident has been set. They stink and cry and demand and generally jump upon every available soapbox to moan about limit differences being unfair, or not being able to engage snipers/marksmen like they used to or simply that they are willing to chance their arm.
    They want a 1.5J limit, or a 2J limit, or even no limits at all. Taking the píss, in other words.

/hypothetical.

See where I'm going with this?

Be happy with what you have, and be happy you have it at all. It was a loophole that allowed this sport/hobby to start in this country to begin with, and the IAA have done a sterling job to turn that loophole into a legitimate piece of enshrined law protecting our sport/hobby under a 1J limit.
    Play with what you have and make the most of it. If you're out of range, you've got two feet. Get closer.

, and the IAA have done a sterling job

Pity your wallet never supported them, or did you go get membership eventually :P

lg_burn.jpg

TheDoc wrote: »
    Pity your wallet never supported them, or did you go get membership eventually :P

lg_burn.jpg

Given that I've been so busy with work that I haven't even had the time to so much as charge a battery pack in the last... eh... I actually can't remember...

fireextinguisher1.png

GMDC%20TOUCHE.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭BioHazRd

There is no governing body that over sees laws and gameplay in airsoft

Sorry to veer off topic but I feel the above statement needs to be corrected.

The Irish Airsoft Association are officially recognised as the national governing body for the sport of airsoft in Ireland by the federation of Irish sports and the national sports council. We are currently in the process of putting forward a proposed national rulebook for airsoft so that we may harmonise the playing experience for all players around the country.
    While I welcome the debate this thread has brought about, I want everyone to be clear on the issue of airsoft and the law.
    The 1 joule limit with respect to ALL airsoft guns will not be changing in the foreseeable future, nor do we have it on our agenda to address this with the Dept of Justice.
    And just to make sure we are clear on the pyro issue since a lot more Irish players are travelling to play outside the jurisfiction, pyrotechnic devices ( grenades , smokes (both hot and cold) , flashbangs ) are not permitted by law in Ireland unless specific licensing arrangements have been entered into between the respective site and the Dept of Justice. My understanding is that only one site has this permission. The IAA will not be petitioning the Dept of Justice in the foreseeable future to get the laws changed regarding the use of pyro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

As has already been said, be happy you can play airsoft at all in this country, and that the IAA managed to keep it that way, had it not been for them, we'd either not be playing at all right now, or running around with clear plastic AEGs with orange tips (no joke, that was the DoJ's proposal)

BioHazaRd..is there any chance the IAA can keep their site updated with information like this about their ongoing projects?

I find the IAA website to be lacking in this kind of info as regards projects like this.
    Also the meetings and minutes section doesn't have anything for 2010.
    Even the twitter feed hasn't been updated since March..

Please take this as constructive criticism..I'm not having a go at the IAA as I'm a recent newcomer to the sport and appreciate all the work they have done to ensure that I was able to partake in this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭McGilla

searcho.png

You will learn soon enough my young padawan. Theres a great difference between
    scared
    Implying that we fear some greater power making our bum cheeks red from repeated slapping

and

Not arsed
    Having the same topic, appear for the 50th time, where everyone knows the anwser and stupid and retarded debates have come from it. Everyone would love higher fps, everyone agrees higher fps would be awesome, but for reasons why they arnt at higher fps, read posts above, or check my picture.

There is no governing body that over sees laws and gameplay in airsoft, plus we dont have a group of old age dopes who know nothing about airsoft telling us

"Video marshalls would ruin airsoft, players love spreading the hate over who doesnt take hits"

I wasn't here for the previous threads on this discussion! - so I'll take part in it now! - New members to boards are entitled to! - simples :cool:

If you're "not arsed" then why take screen shots etc, just dont post!

Im sick of people that have been using boards for a long time lecturing new members, its like we have to earn our stripes before you'll let us come play! (very keyboard warrior)

Anyway ....................................Back on Topic

I know it is never realisticly going to change, but If the 1 Joule rule was changed for sniper rifles, I would like to think it would only be increased for Bolt Actions, with a mag capacity limit, and also maybe a way of controling which players are allowed to use them on site.

For instance only players who have been playing for a couple of years maybe, and understand engement distances etc, would be allowed to bring them on site.

I do understand this will never happen!