Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Posters Choice: PW Rate 'Em Thread

• 06-07-2010 12:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭

Right, as discussed in the other thread, what we want to do here is get 10 posters to pick one match each, and accompany it with a link. We will then discuss each match on its own merits for why it was good, bad, indifferent, or interesting. Just a few rules
    • Each Match must be 15 minutes or less
    • If you miss your turn you will not get to chose at a later stage
    • You must give your thoughts on each match posted if you are a match picker
    • There will be 3 days between each pick. Please remember your own date.
    • The link you use must be a youtube or dailymotion. No rapidshare or Megaupload etc please.
    • If one of the 10 does not review a match, they lose their pick later on and will be replaced. This will happen retrospectively also, unless of course prior notice of being offlne for a few days or a valid excuse is given
    • Please do not quote the youtube links in your review.

This might be a good way to introuduce people to different styles of wrestling and indeed, diofferent promotions and wrestlers. The match can be from any promotion, in any era, featuring whomever.

When I have the 10 names, I will do a draw to see the order in which we will pick.

If you are not one of the 10, you can still give your review, the more the merrier.

fair???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

And to get the ball rolling -

1. gimmick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Sounds good and count me in lad.

I'm gonna pick something ridiculously obscure just to be the boll*x.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

In like Flynn, off to find a Conor Hurley vs Captain Rooney match:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Give me some horrible matches. The worse the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

I'm in

1. gimmick
    2. Flah
    3. Walter
    4. Diabhal
    5. D2D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Jolt2007

I'll give it a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

I will give it a lash.

1. gimmick
    2. Flah
    3. Walter
    4. Diabhal
    5. D2D
    6. Machismo Fan
    7. Jolt2007
    8. Rjd2

2 spots remain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

Count me in please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Im in

1. gimmick
    2. Flah
    3. Walter
    4. Diabhal
    5. D2D
    6. Machismo Fan
    7. Jolt2007
    8. Rjd2
    9. Chordtype
    10. Voltwad

Thats the final list. I will do a draw later for the order in which we post our matches. I will also put the date on which you are to post your match. If the date does not suit you, let me know asap, and we will arrange a swap with another.

Here is the order of the picks. We will set the start date for the first match to be put up as Monday 12th July

1. Diabhal 12/07
    2. Machismo 15/07
    3. gimmick 18/07
    4. D2D 21/07
    5. Walter 24/07
    6. Chordtype 27/07
    7. Flahavaj 30/07
    8. Rjd2 02/08
    9. Voltwad 05/08
    10. Jolt2007 08/08

Please post you match on the date allocated. Everyone else, have your review done before before the next allocated date. if Diabhal wants to start earlier, i will amend the dates accordingly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,017 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

A great idea Gimmick it should make very interesting reading good luck all

To be fair it was someone elses idea. I just went ahead and am taking credit for it :p

I am currently searching the internet for a horrific match ATM

Here you go.:pac:

If you don't want to use it I will.:eek:

Gimmick if ya don't mind I'm going to post mine early.

It isn't a bad match, in fact it is a great little squash from WWF Metal in 2002.

AJ Styles -v- Hurricane

I love this match. It had everything a squash should: fun, cool finish and a missed shooting-star press.

I liked how AJ had a lot of offense. It made Hurricane's win more credible.

The heat was amazing. AJ was hated. I've never seen people care so much for a squash match. Makes modern day wrestling crowds look like crap.

Even Molly Holly was over.

I'd give this match a 8/10. Really fun match.

It isn't a bad match, in fact it is a great little squash from WWF Metal in 2002.

AJ Styles -v- Hurricane

I love this match. It had everything a squash should: fun, cool finish and a missed shooting-star press.

The heat was amazing. AJ was hated. I've never seen people care so much for a squash match. Makes modern day wrestling crowds look like crap.

AJ Styles vs. The Hurricane - WWF Metal

I really enjoyed that match. Considering it wasn't on Raw/SmackDown, the crowd re-action both of them got was excellent. Everything got a pop and you're right Diabhal, they do put the modern crowds to shame.

In ring work, both of them were very solid and, considering it was only a 5 minute match on Metal, it was an excellent match. Also, considering this was AJ's first match in WWF, it wasn't a complete squash match and AJ got in some good offence. Imo, AJ's heat made this match. Also, I think that both of their styles really suit each other.

I can't fault the in-ring work but my only negative's were that they only got 5 mins. I know it was only a "tryer" match for AJ but ,considering The Young Bucks got 10/15 mins against the Guns in their TNA tryout, it felt a bit rushed.

Overall, I'll give it a 7.5/10. It's an excellent match considering it was only 5 mins long

Lads, can I ask ye not to quote the youtube links please. Thanks

gimmick wrote: »
    Lads, can I ask ye not to quote the youtube links please. Thanks

Sorry, my bad

Don't worry about it, I meant to say it earlier, and only edited the opening post a few minutes ago to say so.

AJ Styles vs. The Hurricane - WWF Metal

Nice choice I must say.

An all round fun 5 minute tv match. It's what I hope to see from these matches. When the opponent is made to look strong it helps the guy who wins even more and that's what happens here.

In ring work is solid.

Helms is on good form and boy could he really move fast before he bulked up a bit. He didn't let the gimmick get in the way of the match which was a relief. His offense was decent and was helped by AJ's selling.

AJ works well as usual and gets in some decent offense. He does nearly everything that a subtle heel should do in a five minute squash match. His selling is excellent and does as it should, put Hurricane over.

Crowd reaction is really good considering that one of the guys in there is a virtual unknown to them. Better heat than most current RAW undercard matches.

Negative would be that it was only a five minutes match. Another five would have been very welcome. Apart from that there's not much wrong with it. It does everything that a match like this should.

It serves it's purpose so 8/10.

AJ's ability to take moves has always astounded me - he makes everything Hurricane does look great.

It's actually amazing how over The Hurricane character was, even in the pre-PG era (which makes you think surely it would be more over now and may have been a reason not to release Helms).

Fun little match and it shows you how good AJ was even then, plus how good Hurricane was in the ring. 5.5/10 as I can't really rate a five minute match higher but still a good watch.

Must say i've watched this match a few times and the stuff that really sticks out to me is the crowd.. Even though its circa January 2002, the crowd are still an "attitude era" crowd, and loud, and into, whats basically a dark match.

For a 5 minute match both men got a lot accomplished, especially AJ who did some tremendous heelish stuff, which to me is quite, odd considering he had a largely babyface moveset, including the high risk, SSP. But i have to say his selling is phenomenal(excuse the pun!)

My God where both Helms and Molly Holly over, and Hurricane was awesome in the ring at that stage, and the Vertibreaker is still an amazing finishing maneuver.

Overall a fun match, where both men achieved a lot considering it was 5 minutes long

7/10

All things considered this was a solid match in circumstances where it was on Metal.

This match just goes to show what a waste Styles would have been in WWF/E though. Incredibly talented in the ring but inevitably would have been a mid-carder at best, more likely to be a jobber. Helms was always a decent worker in the ring and this match packed into five minutes what most cant get out of a match in 15 or twenty.

I'd like to echo the point in particular that the crowd were really into this. Helms and Holly were ridiculously over at that stage and while in hindsight that gimmick was a little cringeworthy, I feel that that is certainly overshadowed by the talent on display in the ring. It was typical of those matches though were the established stars never put over the unknowns so the predictability of the matter puts it down in my estimation slighty more than the rest of you. It's clear that AJ was holding back and really didn't get to utilize as much as he would have liked in his arsenal. I can safely say that had this match been allowed go on for 15 minutes it would have surpassed all but the top cruiserweight bouts. It would have boded well on Smackdown of 2003/2004 but all in all, for a five minute match there wont be many better out there.

I'll give it a V-approved 6.5/10

Fun litle TV match. Was good ton see Hurricane give AJ enoigh offnce to make him look credible. Its the hallmark of two really good wrestlers that nearly everything they do in a match makes their opponent look as good as they do.

As Machismo said AJ is RVD level good at taking other peoples moves and making them look good. The crowd was really into the match. Hurricane was alwya really over and AJ is a very underrated heel. he has the kind of face that you just love to hate.

For all that people rating this 8 or over out of ten is away too much. I'll go 5 out of ten. Its a decent TV filler match between two talented guys, nothing more.

flahavaj wrote: »
    For all that people rating this 8 or over out of ten is away too much. I'll go 5 out of ten. Its a decent TV filler match between two talented guys, nothing more.

I rated it 8/10 because I think it's a great example of what these kind of matches should be. I don't really have a fixed rating system. For example I'd rate Edge Jericho from Mania 7/10 but it was still better than this match. If this was a Raw match and went exactly like this I would give it a 3 or 4. Nobody will deny that's its a glorified squash match but it's a good one and thats why I gave it 8.

Notice one word being used a few times and it really sums this match up. Fun. AJ's selling really was superb and he played his role great. He made Hurricane look strong, but didn't oversell too much making himself look overly weak which is a trap that Bourne falls into now and again imo. Fair play to them also for allowing time to sell and not discarding it to get in a few extra moves when given such little time.

For what it is they did a great job, but like Volt pointed out the predictable ending along with the short time given never allows to really get into it.

Overall it's an above average match though so I'll give them a sexy 6/10.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

Mod Edit: User permanently banned for abuse.

AJ Styles -v- Hurricane

Ya, enjoyed that for what it is, but I generally dislike this type of match, as I felt it was just too rushed. This had the potential to be a very good match given time, but it was only 4 odd minutes.

On that basis I can only give this 4/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Cactus Colm

Great to see Mighty Molly again .. I'd give that match a 6/10. It's good fun, decent action, crowd are into it, about as good as a 5 minute match between a midcarder and a jobber can be.

That commentary was pretty awful though.

Machismo, you can post your m atch now if you want so as not to let the thread die.

I was stuck between picking one of two matches but I'll stick with a bit of an AJ Styles theme. For me, this is the match which established Amazing Red as a true contender in the X-Division. I give you AJ Styles vs. The Amazing Red from late 2002:

I love this match. It shows the much larger offensive arsenal of Styles when he's in there with someone who can go.

It also emphasises just how good Red is as a babyface in peril and really put over his resilience and built him up as a lovable underdog. This was during the first major peak in the X-Division and it's just an example of the emphasis on and importance of the X-Divsion in TNA at the time.

It was a really good, innovative match that even managed to pull a response out of a crowd who were generally rather quiet because they were overexposed to the product.

I'd love to see what these two can do these days if they were given ten minutes. Great match - 8.5/10

Actually, has everyone reviewed Diabhlas one?

Match 1 - Hurricane vs. AJ Styles - WWF Metal

gimmick - 4/10
    Flah - 5/10
    Walter - 7/10
    Diabhal - 8/10
    D2D - 7.5/10
    Machismo Fan - 5.5/10
    Jolt2007 - 6/10
    Rjd2 - ?? (Didn't vote)
    Chordtype - 8/10
    Voltwad - 6.5/10

Cactus Col - 6/10

^ Fair play. Rjd2, please do your review before 15/7, or else you lose you lose your spot.

Tis grand. I'll continue to put up the scores:)

First off Mortimer Plumtree = Ratings.. :pac:

Was a decent match, as you say Machismo some very innovative spots, and it furthers AJ's reputation(in my mind anyway) of being phenomenal at selling, the finish of the hurricanrana into AJ doing a 450 was amazing, my only criticism of the match would be some of Amazing Reds spots early in the match, like the 450 and 619(sic) the lack of psychology takes away from the match imho.. as surely they're moves you build up to, especially since the middle section of the match was quite slow and a little boring,and probably didnt need 13 minutes but other than that it was good..

6/10

Aj v Helms

Ah nostalgia you sexy thing! Firstly credit the sports entertainers, all of them excel in their roles. Hurricane was someone who was clearly comfortable in his face role, while Molly has always been someone that could draw sympathy so easily. AJ in a tryout does little wrong as the heel. His moveset was very facish but it didn’t matter as the crowd’s backing of Hurricane never wavered.

Its always lovely to dip back into this era when the crowd actually cared about people outside the main event. The match is a little predictable given their positions at the time and the length doesn’t help it but it’s a really enjoyable fun match especially compared to the blandness that we see on all Vince’s shows these days.

6/10

Red v AJ

I didn't like the match to be honest. The loser of the match basically beat the sh1t out of the winner for nearly the whole match. If Red had more offense it would have been a better match as a whole with more psychology-wise.

Some nice moves especially the finish. The manager guy was fantastic. AJ is a great heel but he could never cut the promos (he improved a lot).

Wish Red has more of a role in TNA in the years before I gave up on it.

6/10 match.

Red vs AJ.

Decent match. I've seen both guys in better matches throughout their careers though. Both guys were pretty fluid in their moves, especially Styles whose consistency while doing high risk moves is phenomenal and amazing. (Two Puns People) Selling from both guys is pretty good and Red works well as the babyface in peril largely because of his size. Mortimer Plumtree is awesome. He plays the heel manager well and doesn't ruin the match. Can you ask for anything more?

My major problem with the match though is that too much of the emphasis is put on Red being beaten down. It takes away from the finish, which although it was pretty spectacular just kinda appeared out of the blue. If they had of spent another couple of minutes with Red getting a few nearfalls (not kicking out of finishers or anything like that) then I would have liked it more.

Still pretty decent match so 6/10.

After a great opening, Styles v Red decended into one-way traffic. Styles dominated the match by enlarge. Both move very well and work well together but I agree with previous posters in the sense that Red wasn't allowed nearly as much offense as he should have been. Styles manages to counter both a swinging DDT and the move on the outside which saw Red end up on the steps. Even if Red had built some momentum by hitting one of those then it would have made his win more believable.

The finish was epic though, cracking hurrincanrana and Styles sold it perfectly. Mortimer at ringside is brilliant and suited the Styles gimmick perfectly at the time as he was still very raw.

All in all I'd give this match a 7/10

AJ vs Red

Decent enough match, two very good workers hitting all their stuff nice and cleanly. I have no quibble with AJ, as the heel dominating the offence, thats pretty much pro-wrestling 101, the heel tends to get the majority of the offence in. AJ again impresses as a heel, he has such a hateful ugly face. I remember being enraged at the time that they turned him heel, but in hindsight he was more than good in the role and a good foil for the likes of Red.

Not sure where some are getting the idea that this is a great match though. Its a grand little match, but one that wouldn't live long at all in the memory if it wasn't for the unreal way in which AJ sells the top top hurricanrana. The middle segment to me just seems like they're fillng time until they can hit the spectacular little sequence at the end.

I'll go 5.5/10.

I was stuck between picking one of two matches but I'll stick with a bit of an AJ Styles theme. For me, this is the match which established Amazing Red as a true contender in the X-Division. I give you AJ Styles vs. The Amazing Red from late 2002:

Must say I did not like that match, mostly because I hate that type of "babyface in peril" match. The whole story of the match was his resilience and AJs dominance, which to be fair was done to a tee. But I did not like how it opened almost too fast, fell away in the middle and had a really scrappy ending in my eyes. It was not in keeping with how the rest of the match played out, or maybe I am just not giving Red the "credit" for taking his oppurtunity.

From a skillset and selling point of view, I would give this 7/10 (lets be fair, there was no botches or anyhting remotely close, and in such a fast paced, high flying match, that has to be commended), from a good match point of view 4/10, so I will average it off as a 5.5/10.

AJ vs Red

I had high expectations for this (I've never this match before) and feel a bit let down tbh.

I enjoyed that it started off with a very quick pace and both AJ and Red both in some pretty innovated offence but I hated how it turned into a 1 way match so damn quickly. I really expected Red to get in a bit more offence. AJ really is great in the heel role. 1 thing I didn't like was that Red hit the 718 and the 450 splash within' the first 3/4 mins of the match. These are moves that need to be build towards, not just thrown out there.

The finish was pretty cool (AJ's selling of it was excellent) but I really expected more. You can't take anything away from this match (both were solid in the ring, no botches etc...) but I don't see where people say it's a 5 star match.

Maybe I had too high expectations for this so overall, I'd give it a 7/10.

Need 2 more reviews for this one lads? Volt and Jolt I think? As soon as they are up, Ill post my match tomorrow.

Is 3 days between matches too long? And does everyone involved feel they are in this for the haul, or are we wasting our time??

AJ v Red

Didn't much care for this at all. Red's punches at the start looks horrible and he used big moves far too soon. After that it just dragged, with everything being one way traffic. I see others saying AJ is impressing them as a heel but I don't see it myself. To me he comes across as someone trying to hard and it just doesn't work, but as always his execution of moves and selling is top notch. Red's selling too is great but his the bit of offence he did get did looks too weak.

I'll rate it 5/10. Nothing stand out or special. Average.

Need 2 more reviews for this one lads? Volt and Jolt I think? As soon as they are up, Ill post my match tomorrow.

Is 3 days between matches too long? And does everyone involved feel they are in this for the haul, or are we wasting our time??
    It is being dragged out a bit. If it goes on for more then a month I might back out.

All the posters involved are online during the week. Not so much the weekends.

I'd reckon 3 days is a bit too long of a gap tbh.