Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it girly for a man to keep a diary?

• 06-07-2010 12:50pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭

I've been considering starting a diary. My only concern is if my mates found it and thought I was a big girl (Or even worse, a GAY!!!)

So is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

such a blouse :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Its called a blog these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

You has teh ghey. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

No.

What else would he write Gigigidy in whenever somebody mentions teenage girls in AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

It's not girly at all............

............ it's gay :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

For someone in my profession it would be called a book of evidence.

Burn the eveidence OP, burn it now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Forget a diary and move with the times by getting a blog.

Imagine Anne Frank with a blog instead of a diary...........

Currently listening to: Nazis banging on the door.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

mikom wrote: »

I'm crusty when it comes to these things. I believe a diary should be personal. Far too many idiots write blogs about their internet assembled musings about God, politics, and women. I don't want to be another statistic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

G - A - Y

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

[Hitler: Likes this]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

It depends...
    When signing your name, do you dot the "i" with a little smiley face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭bellylint

no it aint. do what you wanna do. if you are worried about mates finding it, you possibly could use a pc , and take measures to secure the file(s)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Not quite the same though is it, since a diary isn't promoted and pushed in the way a blog is.

"Today I cycled my bike around the village, observing the placid sunlight and feeling an enormous sense of self-worth. Then I went home and played some vinyl".

Cúnts of the highest. And take twitter with yis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Denerick wrote: »
    I've been considering starting a diary

Why do you have feelings or something? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Do people still keep diaries these days?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

If you think you're gonna be (in)famous then do it, they might be worth a few quid in years to come.

On a sidenote, you don't own a gun do you???

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Men call them Journals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,588 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Start it with 'Stardate' or 'Captain's log' and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

I've been considering starting a diary. My only concern is if my mates found it and thought I was a big girl (Or even worse, a GAY!!!)

So is it?

No of course not,all kinds of blokes have kept Diaries.... Hitler,Stalin ,Idi Amin,Pol Pot,Peter Sutcliff,Jeffery Dahmer,ted bundy ....eh...hold on....maybe you should give it a miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Captain Average

There should be rules attached to men keeping a diary.

1. Detail any sandwiches eaten that day.
    2. How many nice boobs and bums did you see?
    3. Reasons why (insert rock band of your favour here) ROCK.
    4. Reasons why (insert sci fi tv show of your favour here) is better than (some other sci fi tv show).
    5. Include possible plans for world domination.
    6. Never discuss how you're "feeling"

Feel free to add to this people as it's only a basic draft, but it may be helpful to the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Yeah, sure OP - keep a diary if that's what you want. Don't listen to people trying to knock you for it.

Just make sure that nobody sees it, so hide it well under your teddy bear collection, between your back issues of The Bunty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Vitoldus

Michael Palin keeps one and he's not gay :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

A man should only keep a diary when going to war or on a long journey or voyage into the unknown.

End of.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

A man should only keep a diary when going to war or on a long journey or voyage into the unknown.

End of.

Ah, but is not your average day in Dublin a war against our inequitable society, and every time you set foot from your door a voyage to the unknown?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

So is it?

Yes, both unless you are this guy ...

TNGJeanLucPicard.jpg

Jean-Luc Picard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I only keep mental notes, but then I lose them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

(Or even worse, a GAY!!!)

Sounds like there are some risky stakes here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I generally only keep a diary when I'm on holidays, and even then I'm terrified of anyone reading it.

I don't think I could keep one day-to-day. Got up, went to work, hate everyone, came home, ate dinner, went to bed. Ctrl+C, Ctrl+V

06 July 2010

Day 1 of my Diary. My name is John. I am 27 years old & work in I.T. Today was a great day. I had a cheese sandwich for lunch. I love cheese. Tomorrow I might have ham.

07 July 2010

I woke up this morning with a strange feeling. I was questioning my sexuality. I am usure if this diary is a manly thing to do. Could I catch the ghey? I decided to stop writing in glittery pen, just in case. My sandwiches were OK today - it was warm in the office, so the butter melted, which I don't like.

08 July 2010

Things are getting really weird. I wore a pair of my sisters knickers to work today. The string at the back kept sticking in the crack of my arse. I didn't take it out. I was enjoying it in a strange way. Maybe I am gay. I don't know. I've decided to get help. Had cheese for lunch. I really love cheese.

09 July 2010

Posted on Boards today about my diary. People are so cruel. No-one understands me. Mummy says it's because I'm "special", but I know what she really means. She also thinks I'm gay.. I don't know what to do anymore. Even cheese cannot comfort me today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭_JOE_

Go ahead mate...much more accessible and easier to write on the go! I do also use one of those diary apps for the iphone, but that's mainly for reminders, books to read, etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Just get on twitter, same difference TBH!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

So long as you only write in it while taking a dump you should be all right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

So is it?

If it's a stalking diary then it's ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭_MadRa_

If you really need to do the diary thing, you need to balance it out..Beat up at least one geezer a day...perhaps get a job as a puppy strangler...
    Or Hide it in the Closet with all the other stuff you dont want out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Diary = bum city.

sandwiches rule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭pitkan

So is it?

Now why would you want to do that? What with the C.I.A, F.B.I., GOOGLE,SPECIAL BRANCH,Satellites ,Gardai not to mention the nosey gits next door all keeping one for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭niamhallen

Dear diary,
    Mood:apathetic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Samuel Pepys was no girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Only if he uses it to keep a record who bummed him.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Vitoldus wrote: »
    Michael Palin keeps one and he's not gay :)
    But he does make a living by sharing what's in his video diary

End of.
    kind agree, esp in the case of M Palin ^^^

If your life is ever going to be made into a film then a diary is a must.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Samuel Pepys was no girl.
    Mr Pepys had a surprising number of affairs for someone in 17th Century Puritan England, then again in those days women on the breadline could easily starve to death so it/s was relatively easy to convince them to do stuff.

If anyone has any doubt on this consider The Italian city of Naples in 1943
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00mrvbm
    One third of women became prostitutes as Naples became a kind of Sodom and Gomorrah

Be very thankful it's only a recession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭xxchloexx

Dont know what I would say if my boyfriend told me he kept a diary tbh , It isn't the most manly thing to do , but sure whatever floats your boat , Instead of keeping a diary you should just use your computer if you are worried about your friends finding it and making fun of you. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭GirlOfGlass

niamhallen wrote: »
    Dear diary,
    Mood:apathetic

:cool: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RV8ObrPvKIA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Hitler has invited you to: The Hollocaust yes/maybe/decline?

If only Facebook had existed during the third reich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭meganj

If only Facebook had existed during the third reich.

http://www.blameitonthevoices.com/2010/03/ww2-on-facebook.html

OP you should keep a diary, after all things will get tough for you when it gets out and you'll need something to cry into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

Anne frank: delines

Anne franks gone to play hide n seek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

OP don't listen to them, I have had a diary since I was 14 years old and my boyfriend says it isn't gay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Mac Masters

A diary is only as manly as it's entries!

Would you end a passage with I went home early and went straight to bed or with I couldn't decide so I just did them both?