Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you look after yourself?

• 06-07-2010 12:19am

I don't.. But it's time to change.
    I eat crap food, drink 3 times a week usually with work the next morning, started smoking fags alot recently, dabble every few weekends and my only exercise is the stroll to the bus twice a day.
    I never put on weight because when I don't eat crap food, i just go evenings without anything out of lazyness.

I'm gonna change it all and start running tomorrow cause I can't sleep to save my life these days.. Figure that adding some health back into my life might clear the mind and let me doze off easily and keep my sanity..

So are ye all as unhealthy as me or is your body a temple?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Hilarious first reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭fruvai

Thanks-craving second post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Your post could be me basically, I'm exactly the same. My eating habits are so erratic, like I could wolf a family size pizza in about ten minutes, and then not eat anything bar some fruit for a week. Smoke 20 odd cigs a day, the odd herbal remedy of a weekend.

Have had about maybe 6 hours sleep since last Friday.

Only difference is I walk or cycle everywhere and play 5 a side so I'll die at 30, as opposed to you ABG. You have approximately two months left. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭christ on a bike!

Not at all tbh

I'm mad to start running but I'm really skinny, actually can't put on weight, so I'm afraid I'll waist away if I run or cycle

Now I'm stuck at home on the scratch, on the fupping farm, so my kind aul man wakes me up a couple of times a week to leg it after sheep or cows so I get some movement at least. And lucky enough to have woods and a river so walk around them most days.
    Maybe I'm not too bad?
    But wouldn't run a marathon in the morning.

Oh, I drink most nights but the sticks will do that to a man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I don't.. But it's time to change.
    I eat crap food, drink 3 times a week usually with work the next morning, started smoking fags alot recently, dabble every few weekends and my only exercise is the stroll to the bus twice a day.
    I never put on weight because when I don't eat crap food, i just go evenings without anything out of lazyness.

I'm gonna change it all and start running tomorrow cause I can't sleep to save my life these days.. Figure that adding some health back into my life might clear the mind and let me doze off easily and keep my sanity..

I am so unfit it's not funny anymore tbh.
    I don't smoke,and rarely drink anymore, but i eat nothing but junk food really.
    How im not 20stone i don't know.
    I keep meaning to join a gym/class but i haven't gotten round to it yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I do.

I'm just awarding myself a nice treat for being so good lately. Two (large) glasses of Malibu. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Last time I checked I was as fit as a fiddle. That was August 1998. Since then, I haven't got off the sofa. Seems like a lot of hassle.

*orders more Pizza online & uses fire poker to burst bed sore forming on left thigh*

Not at all tbh

I'm mad to start running but I'm really skinny, actually can't put on weight, so I'm afraid I'll waist away if I run or cycle

Now I'm stuck at home on the scratch, on the fupping farm, so my kind aul man wakes me up a couple of times a week to leg it after sheep or cows so I get some movement at least. And lucky enough to have woods and a river so walk around them most days.
    Maybe I'm not too bad?
    But wouldn't run a marathon in the morning.

Oh, I drink most nights but the sticks will do that to a man

I'd consider chasing farm animals to be fairly good exercise.. Nothin like a run in a pair of wellies to get the burn goin.

And it's spelt shticks by the way.. You can't leave out the h.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

fruvai wrote: »
    Thanks-craving second post

a much later post with the same amounts of thanks craving that uses the same basic premise, demonstrating that the poster hasnt even bothered to glance over the thread before posting his "genius" reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I dont eat very healthily, but I don't snack too often. I walk a fair bit, but no real exercise. Drink 2 times a week roughly over the summer, usually a feed of beer. I'm 6'-ish and have hovered between 12 and 13 stone for the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

I'm totally gonna be dead by the time I'm 40.. but I'm enjoying myself! Hopefully they'll have some miracle cure for knackered bodies by then.

Although I have started jumping off cliffs as a form of exercise and I do plan on eating healthier soon enough.. just need my housemate to give me a lift to Lidl! :pac:

OP i'd have a similar routine to yourself except even worse as i drive a car & i do put on weight.
    I try to get out for a bit of a jog/fast walk 4 or 5 days a week but theres no way in hell i burn as many calories as i need to justify the amount of junk food & beer i get through on the weekends. I have a reasonable diet on week days but on fri/sat/sunday i go mad.

I go through stages of being a fairly normal weight of 14stone to anything up to 18/19 stone if i go mad on the grub over the space of a few months.

Time for a lard sanger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

I smoke, I drink, but I do get a lot of exercise (walk everywhere). The smoking alone is bad, I guess that the answer is still no.

Flojo wrote: »
    I'm totally gonna be dead by the time I'm 40.. but I'm enjoying myself! Hopefully they'll have some miracle cure for knackered bodies by then.

Although I have started jumping off cliffs as a form of exercise and I do plan on eating healthier soon enough.. just need my housemate to give me a lift to Lidl! :pac:

Is it the near death experience buzz that knocks off the calories? :eek::confused:

Heard on the news today anyway that people born in the 90's can expect to live to 200 what with medicines and stuff. I'd have no objections to harvesting organs etc for prolonging my life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I'm careful what I eat, I don't smoke and don't drink - didn't like the taste and didn't see the point of acquiring a taste for it. I run most days and swim a few times a week.

And I'm very smug about it.:D

Giselle wrote: »
    I'm careful what I eat, I don't smoke and don't drink - didn't like the taste and didn't see the point of acquiring a taste for it. I run most days and swim a few times a week.

And I'm very smug about it.:D

Smug, healthy people usually die by being run over by busses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

My body is a temple.
    You have to take your shoes off before you enter me.

Is it the near death experience buzz that knocks off the calories? :eek::confused:

It sure does.. nothing like jumping off a 40foot drop to make the calories fall off ya! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Ozil

Not at all tbh

It actually works the opposite way, running doesn't burn as many calories as you think and exercise actually increases your appetite for protein rich foods (tofu/nuts/lentils/etc) and fruit like bananas to increase your electrolytes (there is about 100 calories in a banana). I've gained about 1 stone of pure muscle since I began running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Thunder10

Smoke around 15 a day and would indulge in a fairly substantial amount of drink on a saturday night and then maybe a few drinks once or twice during the week.

At the same time, I've a very healthy diet and was playing sport regularly up until about 6 months ago.

All in all, I don't think I'm too bad but would like to cut out or at least down on the fags and get more exercise.

Ozil wrote: »
    It actually works the opposite way, running doesn't burn as many calories as you think and exercise actually increases your appetite for protein rich foods (tofu/nuts/lentils/etc) . I've gained about 1 stone of pure muscle since I began running.

That happened to me when I started ****. Funnily enough, it didn't increase my appetite for tofu or lentils.

Well.. try harder !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I have a perfect balance really. I don't starve myself I eat what I want to eat, I exercise in the morning and go for a long walk in the evening with my dog. I get decent hours sleep usually. I don't smoke and I drink socially, I'm very happy with my lifestyle so no changing for anytime soon :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Dont smoke, drink fúck all really. Go on a session once a month these days. Other than that just 2/3 pints a week. I cut out alot of rubbish from my diet as a new years resolution and have managed to stick to it for a change. Its boiled, grilled, steamed food all the way now. Also started running too. Im 6ft and have dropped to 14st from almost tipping the scales at 16st before christmas.

Make the change OP. Its really worth it. I sleep like a baby!

It actually works the opposite way, running doesn't burn as many calories as you think and exercise actually increases your appetite for protein rich foods (tofu/nuts/lentils/etc) and fruit like bananas to increase your electrolytes (there is about 100 calories in a banana). I've gained about 1 stone of pure muscle since I began running.

Really?
    No more excuses for me so, there's a threadmill in the house and a new running track next to me
    Time for me to get up off my arse methinks...

Agricola wrote: »
    Im 6ft and have dropped to 14st from almost tipping the scales at 16st before christmas.

I sleep like a baby!

Like a 14st baby? Cripes - you'd have to have a snatch the size of an elephant to drop one of those.

Make the change OP. Its really worth it. I sleep like a baby!

I'm looking forward to it now.. Used to love the gym a few years back. Well 5 years back actually.. Jesus that time disappeared fast.

Really?
    No more excuses for me so, there's a threadmill in the house and a new running track next to me

Or just jog down to the chipper. You'll have to sprint back to stop the chips from getting cold - that's where the real calories are lost. Do that 4-5 nights a week, then you can treat yourself at the weekend to a pizza delivery.

The weight'll fall off in no time at all.

I call in the Fatkins diet.

Like a 14st baby? Cripes - you'd have to have a snatch the size of an elephant to drop one of those.

What can i say. My mothers a big woman :D

Pocketfizz wrote: »
    I have a perfect balance really. I don't starve myself I eat what I want to eat, I exercise in the morning and go for a long walk in the evening with my dog. I get decent hours sleep usually. I don't smoke and I drink socially, I'm very happy with my lifestyle so no changing for anytime soon :D

Then why were you crying as you typed that last sentence?

Really?

Yeah you will notice your appetite increasing (especially after running and the next morning) the more you get into it, eat dinner or big meals after running (if you eat before you will burn more calories and running will be harder). Drink loads of water too during and after too I go through at least a litre of water when running.

If i'm indifferent to calories, should I eat before or after? Might make myself a potato dinner to get back of the junk food..

Before, after & during.

Id say always after. Running, or any kind of exertion, doesnt feel that good on a full stomach. You're much more energetic and willing to do it when you're hungry. Another reason is that the body is working overtime for along time after your workout finishes, so your burning calories at a quicker rate than normal. But youve said this isnt a weight loss thing so..................

I'd eat after just because running is easier when you're not full

Another point for the guy who is trying to gain weight, when you break down muscle (this happens working any muscle in your arms/legs/etc ) and drink loads of water afterwards - the muscle retains more water when it is rebuilt. That is all healthy weight gain by the way!

Before, after & during.

I'm not sure if i'm ready to be that hardcore.. It's the stuff of legends that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Posted in another forum a few weeks back:

non smoker and drink maybe 2-3 times a month if that...

Keep fit by training for hurling twice a week, running one or two days a week and playing a hurling match every week or 10 days. I walk to most places I can also.

Diet is pretty decent, vegetarian and eat at least 2-3 portions of fruit and 2 pieces of veg a day, drink at least 2L of water a day, hardly eat any junk food and try to eat 5-6 times a day, because I have a high metabolism and weigh just under 10st at 5'9", so should probably try to get 1st extra onto me but that would be damn hard as I dont work out in a gym or at home.

I should really be alot fitter than this, ran Dublin Marathon last year, used to cycle over 100mi a week years ago aswell as playing soccer and would love to be super-fit like that again. All in all, I would consider myself pretty healthy yeah:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Gave up alot of crap food, and started eating healthy. My problem is Im skinny when I want muscle. So I'm eating food to build muscle.

Work out a few times a week now, but fractured my toe so can't really play football or work out for a few more days. But when It's full healed will be back to work out routine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I've started to do so in the last few months. I joined the gym again and am getting back into running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I'm going to have to start taking care of myself now that my stomach is in bits with a stomach ulcer :o

Ouch you poor thing! Get better soon. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

No he ****s brix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

Hmmm, Im not too bad but I guess I could do better.

I smoke about ten cigarettes a week on average.
    I'd probably have about three pints a week.
    I do jog and cycle which is a plus, and I am never drunk enough to buy fast food.
    I play a lot of music which I find does wonders for my mental health. Even more important than physical health in my opinion.

If I could just give up those feckin fags.

No he ****s brix.

She* and I did not sh!t myself :P

If I could just give up those feckin fags.

Just stay outta the george and you'll be grand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

You just had to do it, didnt you?

What can i say. My mothers a big woman :D

I know. She's a yummy tummy mummy.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Drink quite regularly myself and quite a lazy bastárd... haven't really done much excercise in the last 4 or so years.

I joined a gym earlier in the year but ended up being too lazy to go...

Started doing some stuff at home again last night actually... intentions are to get back into the gym in the next couple of weeks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭fakeaccent

I'm pretty healthy, I eat very well - lean meat, tofu, fruit, veg etc. Don't smoke and rarely take a drink. I walk and cycle every day and always get my 8 hours sleep.

I used to eat a lot of chocolate but I stopped because it left me feeling tired out at the end of the day...and a bit porky. I still have a treat every now and again but feel a lot better for not eating crap food every day.