Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert 2011.

• 05-07-2010 12:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭

I guess it's still a bit early, but let's get our own thread going.

Is there anyone here doing their Junior Cert in 2011?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭padocon

Taking over all ready! I have fond memories of this time lat year. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Chasing Dreams

padocon wrote: »
    Taking over all ready! I have fond memories of this time lat year. :)

Yup! Aiming for all A's... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭WanderingSoul

Have fun with that! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Chasing Dreams

That's the plan! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

Ah now don't mock the poor lads....:p

Just to say before this really takes off: you will (more than likely) need to start an off topic sometime (e.g. after we've left or when you have enough regulars) or this will got seriously off track. We all know how our's came about....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Ah now don't mock the poor lads....:p

Just to say before this really takes off: you will (more than likely) need to start an off topic sometime (e.g. after we've left or when you have enough regulars) or this will got seriously off track. We all know how our's came about....
    Never!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Yeah, I'm doing my J.C in 2011, too bad it wasn't 2012, would have missed it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Pov06 wrote: »
    Yeah, I'm doing my J.C in 2011, too bad it wasn't 2012, would have missed it :D

The world 'ends' in December of '12 so you'll have just sat it if it was then :pac: Good luck anyways guys. It's not as bad as it's made out to be :)

The world 'ends' in December

Says who?

Says who?

Wiki

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭.SONIC.

Wiki

:P
    ^^ gospel its gotta be true!!

ahhh children please wait till weve at least got our results!

btw im not leaving, im gonna stay till they make me a mod! just for lulz! :p

Pie in the sky. I'd be more worried about oil running out.

.SONIC. wrote: »
    ^^ gospel its gotta be true!!

ahhh children please wait till weve at least got our results!

btw im not leaving, im gonna stay till they make me a mod! just for lulz! :p

It's my bible! :)

Ah right... good luck with your mod dreams!:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭.SONIC.

It's my bible! :)

Ah right... good luck with your mod dreams!:P

i have a dream that one day my childrens children and the sons of slave owners may sit together . . . oh wait thats martin luther king:( whoops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭daz801

i was more stressed about pre-mocks than mocks or the real thing. One thing you guys the year will fly by alot faster than first and secong year, so be prepared

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

.SONIC. wrote: »
    i have a dream that one day my childrens children and the sons of slave owners may sit together . . . oh wait thats martin luther king:( whoops

ROFL, J.C Revision Over-Kill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Gaeilge-go-deo

Sickened for ye .. :P all ahead of ya , goodluck tryin to memorize seamus heaney and pros/poetry answers for irish haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Moi!

helloooo,

Im doing my Junior Cert next year and lyk Chasing Dreams, aiming for all As. ;)

Can all the bitter past third years please leave this thread?? Its over...you screwed it up...or....you did well....whatever.

We know that the jc isn't eaasy, pleassse give us credit! :rolleyes:

Thaaats all....and heyy to all the third years for nxt year! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

Moi! wrote: »
    helloooo,

Can all the bitter past third years please leave this thread??
    Its over...you screwed it up...or....you did well....whatever.

No...

helloooo,

Can all the bitter past third years please leave this thread?? Its over...you screwed it up...or....you did well....whatever.

Hey! We're not finished with this place yet!

and who said we were bitter?

Nooo, what I meant was go awaay mean, nasty bitter past third years telling us how hard the jc is. I want the nice past third years to stay. You guys rock! ;)

Thought so..:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 BowGirl

yuup!! Bring on the Mocks!! jk
    I kinda need some help tho! I missed a month last year and am missing a hell of a lotta notes!! If any past third years feel like being extra sweet and helping me out, they have to be in Irish... so if anyone else did Eolaíocht and Tíreolas and can help me out, I will love them forever and ever and ever and ever!! :D:D:D Thanking you!!

BowGirl wrote: »
    yuup!! Bring on the Mocks!! jk
    I kinda need some help tho! I missed a month last year and am missing a hell of a lotta notes!! If any past third years feel like being extra sweet and helping me out, they have to be in Irish... so if anyone else did Eolaíocht and Tíreolas and can help me out, I will love them forever and ever and ever and ever!! :D:D:D Thanking you!!
    Try our notes thread: it's around here somewhere.

Thanks! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 PerfectDose

Awhh. ^^
    People are freaking out already. Bless um like :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Gaeilge-go-deo

Awhh. ^^
    People are freaking out already. Bless um like :L

How innocent we were.... Two months ago.. :L

I'm just stressin cuz altho i got honours in enough of my subjects my Mum is still trying to make me do grinds!! Its soooo stupid!!! :(

Ok..a bit of topic here..but ah sure...

Ok, so I got Irish Exam Papers for next year for the JC and I'm slightly worried as its says u dont need to write more than half a page for ur studied prose answers. I've have always been writing 1 and a half to 2 pages so what should I do? Stick with my long answers..(would I still get my exam finished?) or just try and shorten my answers to less than a page.

Advice appreciated! ;)

x

Ok..a bit of topic here..but ah sure...

Ok, so I got Irish Exam Papers for next year for the JC and I'm slightly worried as its says u dont need to write more than half a page for ur studied prose answers. I've have always been writing 1 and a half to 2 pages so what should I do? Stick with my long answers..(would I still get my exam finished?) or just try and shorten my answers to less than a page.

Advice appreciated! ;)

x

Your safest bet would be to ask your teacher tbh...
    You should stick with whatever he/she gives you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

The world 'ends' in December of '12 so you'll have just sat it if it was then :pac: Good luck anyways guys. It's not as bad as it's made out to be :)
    Says who?

Everybody,it's common knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭rorrissey

I'm not worried at all. :D Bring on Jc 2k11. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 seany2k10

rorrissey wrote: »
    I'm not worried at all. :D Bring on Jc 2k11. :P

This is going to be a very tough year. In order to at least pass each subject you will be required to wake at dawn every single morning to study. Do your homework religiously and if you don't be prepared to see a lot of NGs on your results.
    Best of luck and remember, it is nothing to be taken lightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭rorrissey

seany2k10 wrote: »
    This is going to be a very tough year. In order to at least pass each subject you will be required to wake at dawn every single morning to study. Do your homework religiously and if you don't be prepared to see a lot of NGs on your results.
    Best of luck and remember, it is nothing to be taken lightly.

Oh goodness, well then I'd better get studying. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Studyfreak

Just study when you can and you will be grand

Studyfreak wrote: »
    Just study when you can and you will be grand

You really live up to your name alright :D:D:D

i studied every day minimum 2 1/2 hours

:O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Silence.

Are you serious?

Silence. wrote: »
    Are you serious?

Very serious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Colm!

There really will be a day when you regret that username :rolleyes:

Is that including homework?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

DylanS09 wrote: »
    Is that including homework?

In the years that have exams at the end of them, doing your homework is almost the best form of study. So if it were me, I certainly wouldn't be doing 2.5 hours on top of my homework.

lemansky wrote: »
    In the years that have exams at the end of them, doing your homework is almost the best form of study. So if it were me, I certainly wouldn't be doing 2.5 hours on top of my homework.

I was hoping it included homework tbh..
    Nobody should put themselves under that amount of work for the JC tbh

ya with homework but my teachers gave very little homework mostly revision and idid exam papers mainly for study with revison using rvision books where needed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭omg a kitty

JC gonna be a walk in the park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭LoganRice

10 minutes of studying a night (properly done) will get you an A in almost everything, because you can study 5 minutes for 2 subjects a night rather than 2 hours of wasting your time trying to study.

When a Mock exam is drawing near though, expand it to around 15-20 minutes (proper) and you'll do okay methinks..

This worked while I was in 3rd year and I got several As, it's only the Junipr Cert after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Simply.Young

I'm doing my Junior Cert this year too. I'm aiming for ten A's, but I've a lot of work do to after only getting four in my Summer Tests.

Going back to school tomorrow. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭padraig91

really aming for all A's you dont think your chasing dreams? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Simply.Young

Bleh! Four days back in school and I already need some help. :rolleyes:

Alright, could anyone help me out with my French?

I'm having a bit of trouble with the negative. Say, for example, "We don't go." The negative thing is something like Je n'ai [verb] pas" - I think. For that though, do you change the 'Je' to 'Nous'? And to you put 'vais' or 'allons' in for [verb]?

I'm sorry if that's confusing, but that's what I'm feeling at the moment. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Colm!

Bleh! Four days back in school and I already need some help. :rolleyes:

Alright, could anyone help me out with my French?

I'm having a bit of trouble with the negative. Say, for example, "We don't go." The negative thing is something like Je n'ai [verb] pas" - I think. For that though, do you change the 'Je' to 'Nous'? And to you put 'vais' or 'allons' in for [verb]?

I'm sorry if that's confusing, but that's what I'm feeling at the moment. :pac:
    No, not n'ai pas. It's actually ne [verb] pas. Or n'[verb beginning with noun] pas. Here's some quick examples

english -> original -> negative
    I don't go. -> Je vais -> Je ne vais pas.
    I don't have. -> J'ai -> Je n'ai pas.
    We don't go. -> Nous allons -> Nous n'allons pas.
    We are not. -> Nous sommes -> Nous ne sommes pas.