Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV3 GAA Commentators

• 04-07-2010 2:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭

I've just finished watching the Munster final of Kerry v Limerick. Is it me, or are TV3 match commentators absolutely awful! I'm not talking about the analysis panel i.e Matt Cooper/Canavan, but rather the game commentators. The entire commentary just seems to be a endless stream on sporting cliches - 'its a battle of wills' 'the wind is at their backs' and even worse rubbish! It's cringe-worthy!!!! Am I the only one that thinks this? I nearly even muted the TV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I hate Matt Cooper but I like the commentary. I'd rather have the TV3 commentators use puns and cliches than talk about "Hulk Hogan Wrestling" ala Ger Canning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

i was thinking the exact same!! i reckon their rejects from RTE, their brutal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I like their pundits an awful lot, especially Canavan - he's excellent.

The amount of mistakes the commentators made with things as fundamental as player names was awful though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Liam Hayes is a horrible person and the other 2 are as dry as you can get.

Terrible terrible coverage.

I like Cooper, but thats it. Hayes has an agenda and he is now trying to get some national attention like Tohill by calling for a 2 month ban from Tomas O Shea. he is pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭bog master

It might well be me, but do agree with the original poster. To me, the commentary seems like it comes from a rugby watch, with periods of relative inaction, and commentators need to fill space, and hype the game rather than the action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,371 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Irishoz wrote: »
    I've just finished watching the Munster final of Kerry v Limerick. Is it me, or are TV3 match commentators absolutely awful! I'm not talking about the analysis panel i.e Matt Cooper/Canavan, but rather the game commentators. The entire commentary just seems to be a endless stream on sporting cliches - 'its a battle of wills' 'the wind is at their backs' and even worse rubbish! It's cringe-worthy!!!! Am I the only one that thinks this? I nearly even muted the TV

Ya, and not even proper clichés at that. Sennan connel keeps going on about "Tough teak defenders"...... get it right ya muppet, its TEAK TOUGH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Well tbh, the RTE coverage aint much better... Same faces every year... Brolly and Spillane bickering like a pair of old women, and O'Rourke as dull as dishwater. Brolly should have been kicked off the panel when it emerged that he was representing Fergal Doherty last year. Yet RTE still allowed to do PR for his client on The Sunday Game.

Always noticed a VERY Dublin bias in the TV3 coverage also.. I cant watch/listen to anything with Matt Cooper's voice... TV3 aint great, but at least the taxpayers arent paying for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭dolby

You are correct, TV3 commentators are so poor! They make RTE sound professional!
    I think they just haven't a clue about Gaa and talk Sh1t because of it?..
    Radio 1 is the best (and you dont have to look and those Kerry hacks):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Just listen to Micheal O Muirceartaigh for 5 mins on the radio. Pure nonesense at times. " its in, its out, on they go". Mike finnerty is/was a radio commentaror for MWR ( Mayos Worst Rubbish:D) until Setanta picked him up around the end of 2008.Best commentators around are the guy on Midlands 103 and Weeshie on Radio Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Liam Hayes is a horrible person and the other 2 are as dry as you can get.

Terrible terrible coverage.

I like Cooper, but thats it. Hayes has an agenda and he is now trying to get some national attention like Tohill by calling for a 2 month ban from Tomas O Shea. he is pathetic.
    O Se should be banned but coming from Hayes it doesn't sound balanced. It's well know he has a strong anti Kerry agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

While you're all perfectly free to critiscise the pundits, please leave out the personal abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

I really dislike Matt Couper, he tries his hand at rugby, hurling, soccer, gaelic. He really doesn't know much about any sport and tries to be super cynical at every point being made. "Ah come on now....."

Thats like the time he was covering Celtic and said "Celtics goalkeeper Bore-ruck has obviously had an awful season". 'Obviously'?If he'd seen any coverage of any Celtic game, surely he would know how to pronounce his name.

The main commentator on TV3 is terrible. Not particularly for what he says, but he just has a really annoying voice. To be fair, thats an essential part of being a commentator.

I'd definitely take the RTÉ team over them every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭oneillMan999

Agree, commentators were brutal, half time panelists are decent enough, apart from the fact we only get about 2 mins of them talking between the 2 six minute ad breaks in between!! :mad:

gimme RTE ANY day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

apart from the fact we only get about 2 mins of them talking between the 2 six minute ad breaks in between!! :mad:
    The ad breaks on TV3 are something else. This is the sort of rubbish that turns viewers away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Just listen to Micheal O Muirceartaigh for 5 mins on the radio. Pure nonesense at times.

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: you serious? cant believe you aint been slated for this already. i dont know where your from, possibly from mayo, which if so, makes it no surprise that your coming out with rubbish like this, ye lot very rarely see outside your own place.

the man is an absolute legend and by far the best about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Hayes has an agenda and he is now trying to get some national attention like Tohill by calling for a 2 month ban from Tomas O Shea. he is pathetic.

If O'Se does get ban, then that is his own fault not Hayes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Dermotsull13

Ya if there is a ban then O Se will have deserved it but Hayes is fairly pathetic as a journalist and a pundit. He always tries to make himself ultra controversial and really is seen to be extremely bitter when dealing with Kerry pr the Dubs especially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Just listen to for 5 mins on the radio. Pure nonesense at times. " its in, its out, on they go"
    Ah now, Rule 7 Paragraph 5 of the GAA Rulebook - The association's ''National Treasure'', otherwise known as Micheal O Muirceartaigh, has divine right and is above criticism. Why would you want to anyway, he is a legend! :)

Aidric wrote: »
    O Se should be banned but coming from Hayes it doesn't sound balanced. It's well know he has a strong anti Kerry agenda.
    Its not just Kerry, its anti-Munster in general. He never has a good word to say about Cork, has a chip on his shoulder towards them since the 87/88/90 finals. And he seems to have no respect towards Limerick, i remember listening to Newstalk last year before the Munster Final, saying Limerick were a ''nothing team'' and that we would offer little resistance to Cork. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: you serious? cant believe you aint been slated for this already. i dont know where your from, possibly from mayo, which if so, makes it no surprise that your coming out with rubbish like this, ye lot very rarely see outside your own place.

the man is an absolute legend and by far the best about.

I have admired the man for years, but if you care to listen to any of his commentaries, the standard has deteriorated over recent years. I realise the man is 80 yrs old, but that dosent mean that we should all stand blindly in awe of the man. IMHO his high standard has fallen, however unfortunate that may be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Listening to Ger Canning do highlights of the Sligo game there - he's very undescriptive when descriping points. I would say 90% of the time he says "and that's over the bar"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Junior D

Regarding TV3 its not just their GAA commentators that are rubbish, but for any sporting event the commentators are rubbish. Take the Champions League as an example. I actually do my own commentary. Its more interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I dont know where your from, possibly from mayo, which if so, makes it no surprise that your coming out with rubbish like this, ye lot very rarely see outside your own place.

Grow up, just for a change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

I turned over to the game on Sunday and heard the following
    "He's like a leprechaun running out from under a mushroom"

No idea what he was talking about, but it made me laugh anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Well tbh, the RTE coverage aint much better... Same faces every year... Brolly and Spillane bickering like a pair of old women, and O'Rourke as dull as dishwater. Brolly should have been kicked off the panel when it emerged that he was representing Fergal Doherty last year. Yet RTE still allowed to do PR for his client on The Sunday Game.

Always noticed a VERY Dublin bias in the TV3 coverage also.. I cant watch/listen to anything with Matt Cooper's voice... TV3 aint great, but at least the taxpayers arent paying for it.

are you serious? o'rourke is brilliant, really intelligent and articulate in what he says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

TV3 coverage and commentary is cringe tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

At least they try to give good coverage. They actually go to the games instead of being in a warm studio like rte. Give them a break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

DH2K9 wrote: »
    At least they try to give good coverage. They actually go to the games instead of being in a warm studio like rte. Give them a break.

there's nothing cool looking at the lads on the side of the pitch in the wind and rain with a mic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Dermotsull13

TV3 coverage is very poor. Matt Cooper is rolled out for every sport and just doesn't do a good job at it. They looked ridiculous with their huge headsets on the side of the pitch under umbrellas last weekend..still though the poor coverage GAA gets the better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

tv3 do an hour of analysis before the game when 30 minutes would be enough for them. ya and what is with those massive headsets??? is there no smaller kind out there in tv land? maybe not....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

reallyrose wrote: »
    I turned over to the game on Sunday and heard the following
    "He's like a leprechaun running out from under a mushroom"

No idea what he was talking about, but it made me laugh anyway.

I think it was Loughnane on RTE talking about Tommy Walsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Just listen to Micheal O Muirceartaigh for 5 mins on the radio. Pure nonesense at times

Micheal O'Muircheartaigh's status as a legendary GAA commentator is well deserved, and he will be irreplaceable on Radio 1 when he does eventually hang up the mic.

Ya if there is a ban then O Se will have deserved it but Hayes is fairly pathetic as a journalist and a pundit. He always tries to make himself ultra controversial and really is seen to be extremely bitter when dealing with Kerry pr the Dubs especially.

Some of you may not remember but Hayes used to write a column for The Sunday Press back in the day, and was actually one of the better sports writers around at that time. Why he's changed so much in recent years I don't know, he seems to try too hard to be controversial now and just ends up saying stupid things. I think somewhere along the way he stopped being a proper writer and got sucked into the whole self-promoting media circus.

DH2K9 wrote: »

Yeah I don't know why RTE don't broadcast from the Croke Park studio anymore? Is it a cost-cutting thing? Cheaper to just broadcast from an RTE studio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

Shane10 wrote: »
    there's nothing cool looking at the lads on the side of the pitch in the wind and rain with a mic.

Its a lot better than broadcasting from a studio with absolutely no atmosphere what so ever. How can they even pundit on a match when all they're doing is watching a television?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Magi11

TV3 can pretty muck up anything they put their hand to - which is very little. I think Peter Canavan is very good, Liam Hayes is the pantomine villian (hard to respect someone who went for Mayo in 04 and 06). The commentator is very poor but RTE's are little better. Ger Canning should thank his lucky stars that he was in the right place in the right time when Michael O'Hehir died (RIP). His lack of passion is very frustrating. Marty Morrissey has an obsession with every ones occupation and what college they went to. Michael O Muircheartaigh has lost it and interrupts his analyst about 50 times a game and Brian Carthy is trying to be O'Muircheartaigh. Its amazing that an occupation that many would do willingly for nothing is being done so badly by those who are getting paid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭Ronan Keating

Well the commentary is still as crap this year.

Same lads, same clichés, same Dublin bias.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,012 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

History repeating itself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I've probably said it before but I wish they would just quit with the crowd shots once and for all. I watch a match to see what's on the field, not off it.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    History repeating itself!

Back Again... No Matter What

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,012 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Daysha wrote: »
    I've probably said it before but I wish they would just quit with the crowd shots once and for all. I watch a match to see what's on the field, not off it.

To be fair..... sometimes the 'crowds' look quite nice.... jumping around;)

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Daysha wrote: »

The coverage was farcical today, they showed replay after replay and when the cut back to the actual action the ball would be at the other end of the pitch. They missed cluxtons poor kick out straight to laois that led to a narrow miss due to showing pointless replay, then they showed that as a delayed replay, missed a second bad kick that led to a point. Then the replayed that after the score missing the next kick out. Absolutely terrible coverage. They've taken a few of the other Dublin games too, but at least I'll be able to get to those so won't have to sit through the coverage!

Thank God they're obsessed about Dublin. Let's hope they get all their games and don't ruin the championship for the rest of the country.

They also hype up Dublin about getting Sam.

Matt said it at the end. The Dubs march on and are a lot of people's favourites!

Who's favourites?

They won't be anywhere near the month of September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

TV3: when Cluxton is about to take a kick out DON'T go to a replay. They did that a few times today and it annoyed me. I want to watch the game live, not a replay of previous action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

They also hype up Dublin about getting Sam.

Matt said it at the end. The Dubs march on and are a lot of people's favourites!

Who's favourites?

They won't be anywhere near the month of September.

Last time I checked August was pretty close to September !

Joekers wrote: »
    Last time I checked August was pretty close to September !

Yesh.

What I mean is that they won't be in the final. Maybe not even the semi-finals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Watching games on TV3 realy makes you appreciate RTE more. For all the complaining about them we do, they're streets ahead of them. They at least get the basics right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Thank God they're obsessed about Dublin. Let's hope they get all their games and don't ruin the championship for the rest of the country.

I think their next match to show is the Munster SHC semi-final between Tipp and Clare.

But yeah, they seem to just keep showing Dublin football matches. Is it simply so that TV3 can get big ratings and they don't really give a shít about the GAA. Is it only about the money??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Henree

Kojak wrote: »
    I think their next match to show is the Munster SHC semi-final between Tipp and Clare.

But yeah, they seem to just keep showing Dublin football matches. Is it simply so that TV3 can get big ratings and they don't really give a shít about the GAA. Is it only about the money??

K-ching - k-ching!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Matt "don't give the guests a chance to answer" Cooper

Remember him on the last rugby world cup on television.

Matt - so why are we getting pushed back in the scrum

Guest 1 - it could be our technique is n..

Matt - do we need a specialist scrummaging coach

Guest 2 - well i know wales have one and their scr..

Matt - if wales have one why are we not copying them

Never let anyone finish their sentence.

Back to topic - yes TV3 commentators are poor in comparisonto RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

TV3 seem to do ALL of the Dublin games - so much so that I thought that they must have put it into their contract with the GAA.

I dont agree with a national channel showing mostly games involving one county - then again its TV3 we are talking about - a channel that has mostly broadcasts uk programmes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

TG4 is the way to go lads! ;)