Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mairead Farrell splits with husband

• 04-07-2010 1:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭

I don't know what it is but Ireland is becoming increasing like the UK "celebrity" couples splitting up after only a couple of years. Mairead Farrell have split up with her husband Eamon who she was married to for 3 years and have one son.

Others who have split recently

Grainne and Sile Seoige
    Andrea Roche
    Ruth Griffin and Alan Quinlan
    Vivenne Connolly

No wonder they didn't change their maiden name if they were only going to married for a couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

I can't stand her either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I'm not too sympathetic for her tbh.
    She seems like a lot of hard work,very opinionated and bullish imo.
    But then I don't know the full story, and there's a poor 3 year old involved too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

He probably finally saw her on The Panel

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I had a feeling that she had. Seen on various stuff with no wedding ring on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,864 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

<Snip>

Certainly seems to be a spate of splits in recent weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Dymo

Could be a case of a little celebrity has gone to her head, The Darcy Show, Her own self help show, Celebrity Banisteoir. I have the feeling she's needs as much attention as possible and loves the limelight and may have just grown in different ways than before she was married.

They split up months ago but still living in the same house, so maybe she has a new fella on the go.

source:
    TV and radio star Mairead Farrell is the latest Irish celebrity to call time on her marriage, it has emerged.

However friends of Mairead and her husband, marketing executive Eamon Fitzpatrick, are hopeful the estranged couple may be able to work through their problems.

Despite making the decision to call quits on their three-year marriage some months ago, friends have revealed how Mairead and Eamon have chosen to stay living under the same roof at their Glasnevin home for the sake of their two-year-old son Dara.

Hope

And while Today FM star Mairead (30) has been spotted out and about minus her wedding ring recently, it seems there is still a small glimmer of hope that the couple may be able to rebuild their relationship.

"They individually told close friends that they were separating a few months ago and Mairead stopped wearing her wedding ring to work around the same time," said an insider.

"They've very much been living separate lives and Mairead seems to be throwing herself into her work to keep her mind off her marriage problems," they added.

The ambitious radio personality has just signed up to join a host of big names including Blathnaid Ni Chofaigh, Breffny Morgan, Gavin Duffy and Peter Kelly, better known as Franc on the forthcoming series of RTE's Celebrity Bainisteoir.

In addition to working five days a week in her full-time gig with Today FM's Ray D'Arcy Show, Mairead will now have her hands full several evenings a week as she takes to the pitch to train her team.

Adamant

Despite her blossoming TV career, Mairead is adamant that she has no plans to leave her radio post as on air contributor on the Ray D'Arcy Show anytime soon however.

It was while working on the show that the star first met her husband Eamon, who worked for the station's marketing department at the time.

The usually chatty TV star declined to comment on the matter when contacted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭28064212

EKRIUQ wrote: »
    Grainne and Sile Seoige
    They were going out with each other as well? Awesome

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 ayup

I believe her marriage hit the rocks in January
    Around the time she went awol from the Darcy show
    and came back four week later after having the swine flu ! !:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭purpur1

Originally Posted by EKRIUQ viewpost.gif
    Grainne and Sile Seoige

28064212 wrote: »
    They were going out with each other as well? Awesome

:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

The ambitious radio personality has just signed up to join a host of big names including Blathnaid Ni Chofaigh, Breffny Morgan, Gavin Duffy and Peter Kelly, better known as Franc on the forthcoming series of RTE's Celebrity Bainisteoir.

some big names there alright, pathetic sh1te tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭magotch07

Dymo wrote: »
    Could be a case of a little celebrity has gone to her head, The Darcy Show, Her own self help show, Celebrity Banisteoir.

she is prob having an affair with one of the gaa lads or darcy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Im being completley honest here,

She is not a celebrity...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Dymo

magotch07 wrote: »
    she is prob having an affair with one of the gaa lads or darcy

Darcy's probably sick he didn't hold out for her instead of that Kelly one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Birneybau wrote: »

Perhaps she just wanders in off the street, and doesn't get thrown out, because the studio folks aren't certain that she actually works there, and keep meaning to find out whether or not she's on the payroll:confused:?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

I don't even know why this is a story. I don't especially like her but I don't remember seeing her hawking her husband or their amazing relationship in the pages of VIP. Why are people giving her a hard time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

She really isn't a celebrity. She wouldn't be the only personality I wouldn't consider a celebrity though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Rud

she seems like a lot of hard work alright.she's seems terrible contrary and wound-up anytime i hear her on darcys show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Potatofarl

I don't even know why this is a story. I don't especially like her but I don't remember seeing her hawking her husband or their amazing relationship in the pages of VIP. Why are people giving her a hard time?

Exactly, give her a break. I really like her on the Ray Darcy show, I think shes good craic!! If you don't wanna listen to her then just change station! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Emelio

she is most annoying but has great cleavage i feel.
    I think she look for publicity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Looks for publicity? I don't even know what the woman looks like...
    EKRIUQ wrote: »
    No wonder they didn't change their maiden name if they were only going to married for a couple of years.
    Lol. Yes, that could only be the reason.
    ayup wrote: »
    I believe her marriage hit the rocks in January
    Around the time she went awol from the Darcy show
    and came back four week later after having the swine flu ! !:rolleyes:
    The rolleyes symbol suggests you believe she didn't have swine flu and it was an elaborate cover-up, yes?
    Or... maybe she did have swine flu?

Hilarious the experts here on her and her marriage - and it's posters to this thread that are making her out to be a "celeb" and worthy of gossip, and treated as "important" and something to be shrouded in secrecy, not the woman herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭angeleyes

Exactly. I hate her on The Panel - she is so not funny. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MS.MONEYPENNY

Would have to agree because I don't even know who she is?????????? read through the thread to see if there was a pic to jog my memory......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Gokie

:(

Also, is the quick reply not working for anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭unichick

That Jenny one is painful. Farrell is a bit annoying too but not a patch on Mrs Darcy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Graco1

She is a pain in the arse ! Full of ****e she is the reason I now listen to 2 fm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 scubie steve

some babe though

A cracking pair it must be said. Annoying bint though

Come on ! She is in love with herself. Did I see her on the panel ? Why is she even on the panel she is not funny the bit of fame is gone straight to her head . Now take kirsteen o'sullivan on tv3s champion league she is a babe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭musicmonky

and ole Tubs and Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin have broke up..
    its the recession , i tell thee
    women cost money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Graco1 wrote: »
    Come on ! She is in love with herself. Did I see her on the panel ? Why is she even on the panel she is not funny the bit of fame is gone straight to her head . Now take kirsteen o'sullivan on tv3s champion league she is a babe
    She's not the only one on The Panel with that problem

Just watching republic of Telly . That Jennifer maguire looks pretty hot big improvement from mairead Farrell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Gerriegirl

Mairead who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

Oh god, poor miread.
    I met her once and she was absolutly lovely. so nice and friendly. much more then rays woman who was there too.

I feel so sorry for her.

Just watching the panel , what the deck is mairead Farrell there for all she does is giggles like an eject and nodding at whatever Neil delamere says. Wonder is he giving her one. And would she ever stop flicking her hair