Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman writing down car regs and house numbers?

• 03-07-2010 6:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Rojo25

Thought this may be the best place for this,

Back on Easter Sunday, I noticed a woman with a clipboard, walking around my estate, entering peoples gardens and taking down the regs of peoples cars and the house door numbers.
    She was well dressed, mid-40s, and she appeared be foreign. I waited till she got to my garden till I went out, and asked her what she was up to, doing this on an Easter Sunday, she completely ignored me and continued to write in the clipboard as if I wasnt talking to her, so I got firm with her and said 'excuse me Im talking to you, what are you up to walking into my garden and taking down my car and house details, on an Easter Sunday of all days?, she just put her clipboard under her arm and hurriedly walked away, I walked behind her for afew seconds asking why she wouldnt answer me, she got into a car and drove away.

Today was in a friends house in a different estate in West Dublin, as I was leaving low and behold seen this women again clipboard in hand writing in car reg details.

Anyone notice this or know what she could be up to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Grab a camera and video her - see how she likes that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

when she got into her car you should have taken her reg number and phoned the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭skepticalone

sounds weird alright , i would have took her reg number and phoned the cop shop ....does sound like something a marketing dept might do .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

If you want to be paranoid, then it may be information gathering for burglaries.

See what cars come and go from the estate every morning, and what time.
    As the cars pass by each morning at the exit to the estate, you can map that to which house they came from.

I can't see any commercial reason for this information, unless you live in an apartment complex with reserved parking.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Should have grabbed the clipboard and bate her with it. Always does the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Given that a lot of the newer cars cannot be started without keys, maybe she was writing down what cars were in what house numbers and later then somebody's car gets stolen to order.

Agree about writing down her reg number and following it that way. Surely if she was legit, she would have said, I'm doing a marketing survey or whatever, instead of scuttling off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

anewme wrote: »
    Given that a lot of the newer cars cannot be started without keys, maybe she was writing down what cars were in what house numbers and later then somebody's car gets stolen to order.
    That would be tied into the VIN, not the License Plate.

Overheal wrote: »
    That would be tied into the VIN, not the License Plate.

It could be something as simple as writing down black 09D BMW 320i or whatever and then when they want a black bmw 320i or whatever they know where to go and get one.

Could she be working on behalf of a dealership either. Say, write down who seems to have a car that might qualify for scrappage and then send them a mailshot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

Shes' probably just a nutter. But still, like a lot of others on here are stating; would have been better to note her reg no. and informed the local authorities. I mean, if she was doing this for commercial reasons, then she would surely have had an identity badge and been happy to answer your questions.

Could it have been the social welfare? Have heard a few reports of them surveying people claiming single parents allowance after receiving anonymous tip-offs that they were living with someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Op is there another side to story you are not telling :D

Lotto :p

If she comes near my house and does that i will tell her to scribble mine out dont want any of their garbage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Bloody Fordiners what will they do next.

Survey on how many cars are suitable for ringers :D Nct trap :eek: Tax trap:eek:Insurance trap:eek:
    Or survey for how many cars are coming from each area god that would be one boring job :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I'm stunned you had the patience and foresight to moan about it to boards.ie but not to take her reg down and phoen the Gardaí.

Like, seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Knarr

Rojo25 wrote: »
    Thought this may be the best place for this,

Back on Easter Sunday, I noticed a woman with a clipboard, walking around my estate, entering peoples gardens and taking down the regs of peoples cars and the house door numbers.
    She was well dressed, mid-40s, and she appeared be foreign. I waited till she got to my garden till I went out, and asked her what she was up to, doing this on an Easter Sunday, she completely ignored me and continued to write in the clipboard as if I wasnt talking to her, so I got firm with her and said 'excuse me Im talking to you, what are you up to walking into my garden and taking down my car and house details, on an Easter Sunday of all days?, she just put her clipboard under her arm and hurriedly walked away, I walked behind her for afew seconds asking why she wouldnt answer me, she got into a car and drove away.

Today was in a friends house in a different estate in West Dublin, as I was leaving low and behold seen this women again clipboard in hand writing in car reg details.

Anyone notice this or know what she could be up to?

How do you know what she was writing down? - unless you got a good view of her writing pad.

Reg numbers would be of little use. Only the Garda, motor tax and insurance would have access to a reg plate database.

She was probably a student doing field work on the types of cars people drive and sampling different areas. Was she old? What ethnicity was she?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Citizen's arrest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Rojo25

Knarr wrote: »
    How do you know what she was writing down? - unless you got a good view of her writing pad.

Reg numbers would be of little use. Only the Garda, motor tax and insurance would have access to a reg plate database.

She was probably a student doing field work on the types of cars people drive and sampling different areas. Was she old? What ethnicity was she?

In regards knowing what she was writing down, well the fact she was walking from garden to garden, focusing intently on the reg plate number then looking at the numbers on the doors or beside the doors then scribbling on the clip board, I think its fair to say that these were what she was writing, wouldnt you?, Id wouldnt imagine she wasnt writing a novel.

Well I dont know why she was writing down reg numbers, did you read my opening post were I asked had anyone any idea what she was up to?

And regardless of her being a student, I dont want anyone looking my car or house up and down and writing details in a notebook, and she was definately hitting middle age and Im nearly 100% per cent sure she wasnt Irish, I dont know if this had anything to do with what she was doing, all I know is what I seen her doing.

Alot of you are saying should have called the cops, be honest the cops are useless for the most part, if you cant get them to come out straight waway when someones stealing your car, they hardly gonna come out for someone writing your reg down are they?

No I like the idea of taking her clipboard from her and smashing it over my knee in front of her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭christ on a bike!

I did was doing a traffic survey a while back for a scottish company that was brought in to do it. I was chatting to the boys in the charge asking them what other type of stuff they do, and they mentioned that they often have to do something similar to this.

The idea is that they take registration plates leaving out the last two digits and the area in which these cars were parked. Then in the future the residents would all have their parking permits and any car that wasn't meant to be parked there would be subject to a fine or be clamped.

They said they'd often get abuse when people saw them taking these details but their attitudes would quickly change when they explained that it was to prevent unwanted cars parking.

This sounds similar, but it is very strange that the woman wouldn't explain herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭2manyconditions

Rojo25 wrote: »
    In regards knowing what she was writing down, well the fact she was walking from garden to garden, focusing intently on the reg plate number then looking at the numbers on the doors or beside the doors then scribbling on the clip board, I think its fair to say that these were what she was writing, wouldnt you?, Id wouldnt imagine she wasnt writing a novel.

Well I dont know why she was writing down reg numbers, did you read my opening post were I asked had anyone any idea what she was up to?

And regardless of her being a student, I dont want anyone looking my car or house up and down and writing details in a notebook, and she was definately hitting middle age and Im nearly 100% per cent sure she wasnt Irish, I dont know if this had anything to do with what she was doing, all I know is what I seen her doing.

Alot of you are saying should have called the cops, be honest the cops are useless for the most part, if you cant get them to come out straight waway when someones stealing your car, they hardly gonna come out for someone writing your reg down are they?

No I like the idea of taking her clipboard from her and smashing it over my knee in front of her.

its best the gards have a record of it anyway, if something does happen in the area, they'll have a description of an individual acting suspiciously in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

Karsini wrote: »
    Could it have been the social welfare? Have heard a few reports of them surveying people claiming single parents allowance after receiving anonymous tip-offs that they were living with someone.
    this is what i was thinking,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Agreed.

If this person was legitimate she would have identified who she was and what she was doing. Otherwise cops straight away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Was she hot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

I'd take a picture or video of her if you can & report her to the Guards.
    If she was on official business for social welfare (working on Easter Sunday, I don't think so) or an insurance company then she should have let you know.

However if you're in a generous mood a roundhouse kick to the face should let her know you want an answer as to what the fcuk she's doing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

easyeason3 wrote: »
    If she was on official business for social welfare (working on Easter Sunday, I don't think so) or an insurance company then she should have let you know.

However if you're in a generous mood a roundhouse kick to the face should let her know you want an answer as to what the fcuk she's doing :D
    if she was doing something honest, she would have spoken to you, did you take the car reg, you should have smelt a rat, when she ignored you in your own drive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

goat2 wrote: »
    if she was doing something honest, she would have spoken to you, did you take the car reg, you should have smelt a rat, when she ignored you in your own drive

Huh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A modern mutation of train-spotting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Knarr wrote: »

If she was a student then she should be failed, doing stuff like this gets the gardai called. I hope students aren't as stupid as you think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Could have been revenue/customs trying to enforce their VRT racket by looking for Irish residents using foreign registered cars ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

is this was anything legitimate then she would have had a badge, identified herself when approached and wouldnt have been doing it on an Easter Sunday.

Probably casing the place to see which ones to break into or casing vehicles to nick...

I would have taken photos on my phone and called the cops immediately.In fact I would have been on the phone to them as I walked after her asking her wtf she was doing.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

The fact that she didn't answer you and drove away suggests to me that she was a time-traveller from the future.

Someone in your estate may be responsible for a global catastrophe and she has been sent back to gather information to help prevent it. You should kill all your neighbours just to be sure.

Why are you only wondering what she was doing now?
    It was Easter Sunday. That was a long time ago, even if you did notify the cops then they can't do anything.

Why are you only wondering what she was doing now?
    It was Easter Sunday. That was a long time ago, even if you did notify the cops then they can't do anything.

OP saw her again today in another estate, which probably means she has been writing down house numbers and car registration numbers since at least Easter Sunday. She must have half the country logged by now. If I catch sight or sound of her with her clipboard in my driveway, bate the head off her with it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

somethin kinda similar, I was in Dunnes in Newbridge the other day and there was a guy walking around with a PDA taking down the reg's of every car in the car park. I would have asked him what he was doing but I was in a rush to get to work.

Anyone any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

dannym08 wrote: »
    somethin kinda similar, I was in Dunnes in Newbridge the other day and there was a guy walking around with a PDA taking down the reg's of every car in the car park. I would have asked him what he was doing but I was in a rush to get to work.

Anyone any ideas?
    I would have said if it was a traffic/parking warden... but otherwise no.

Ever see Parking wars?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭christ on a bike!

Anyone any ideas?

They do that in most large shopping carparks if they're free, so people dont park there all day. There was probably a sign saying anything over 2 hours results in a fine

Overheal wrote: »
    I would have said if it was a traffic/parking warden... but otherwise no.

Ever see Parking wars?

no cant say that I have,

dont think it was a traffic warden tho. The traffic wardens in Newbridge anyway wear Hi-Vis jackets with TRAFFIC WARDEN written on the back. This guy was wearing black/dark blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

easyeason3 wrote: »

Tbh, if I was trying to catch welfare scroungers and one of their neighbours (possibly a friend) came up to me and started asking questions, I would leg it.

They do that in most large shopping carparks if they're free, so people dont park there all day. There was probably a sign saying anything over 2 hours results in a fine

of course!

ok people, mystery solved, nothing to see here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭shinikins

no cant say that I have,

dont think it was a traffic warden tho. The traffic wardens in Newbridge anyway wear Hi-Vis jackets with TRAFFIC WARDEN written on the back. This guy was wearing black/dark blue

That guy is employed by Dunnes as a parking attendant, not a warden. Any cars parked in the carpark for more than the allotted time is reported to their clamping company. Only traffic wardens employed by Kildare Co Co wear the hi-vis jackets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Goldenegg

Live on a main road and tonight just as I was leaving my house this foreign guy was standing at my car with a camera taking photos of it,front and back and also the reg.I went straight over to him and said,what are you doing?
    Like that lady,he ignored me,continued to take photos then at the end said,you have a beautiful car.

Bullsh**!! It's just an Opel tigra. Now I'm paranoid my car is gonna be robbed! :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭jolter

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    Should have grabbed the clipboard and bate her with it. Always does the trick.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Goldenegg wrote: »
    Bullsh**!! It's just an Opel tigra. Now I'm paranoid my car is gonna be robbed! :-(

I wouldnt worry about it, its an Opel Tigra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Like that lady,he ignored me,continued to take photos then at the end said,you have a beautiful car.

And you didnt try and stop him ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

It's going to appear on the car buyers guide, probably the "owner" will be working away and have inherited the car for a deceased relative ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

I actually called someone about a car advertised, with pics, in a certain magazine lately. I recognised the car, and knew the owner, so I got suspicious when a someone with a foreign accent answered the phone.

Cue a quick personal visit to this guys house, - and he hadn't put the car up for sale at all.

The guards told him it wasn't uncommon. Apparently, photos are taken, and "ringers" sold, or cars are stolen to order when a buyer is found.
    In this case - a guard went to view the car - and nabbed someone trying to sell a "ringer".

Noreen

I would be worried about this if I were the chap with the Tigra. That is very random and bizarre. Your photos will probably go up but it will be a stolen Tigra that they have from somewhere else. Keep an eye on CBG, etc for your car.

If I saw someone photographing my car, I would not just let them walk away (or drive away) without noting their reg number or causing a fuss. People need to be more vigilant about this kind of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Joneser

A friend of mine has been looking for a new car recently and nearly got scammed. Whoever it was selling the car (on legit sites btw, carzone.ie etc) had simply gone and taken photos of a car and put them up pretending to sell it. This may be why photos were being taken of the opel, as for writing down reg numbers, I have no idea. The car that was used in the scam was a BMW 1 series with an 08-KE reg so if ur car matches that description, keep an eye out for it on car sale sites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

The lady with the clip board is a very weird one,and also, she must be very short sighted if she had to enter a driveway to see a car reg and house number!

Noreen1 wrote: »
    I actually called someone about a car advertised, with pics, in a certain magazine lately. I recognised the car, and knew the owner, so I got suspicious when a someone with a foreign accent answered the phone.

Cue a quick personal visit to this guys house, - and he hadn't put the car up for sale at all.

The guards told him it wasn't uncommon. Apparently, photos are taken, and "ringers" sold, or cars are stolen to order when a buyer is found.
    In this case - a guard went to view the car - and nabbed someone trying to sell a "ringer".

Noreen

And i was just joking when i said that :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

shinikins wrote: »
    That guy is employed by Dunnes as a parking attendant, not a warden. Any cars parked in the carpark for more than the allotted time is reported to their clamping company. Only traffic wardens employed by Kildare Co Co wear the hi-vis jackets.
    And Dunnes have no legal authority to fine anyone.