Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sligo -v- Galway CSFC Replay TV3 6PM

• 03-07-2010 4:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭

Sligo team: Sligo (SFC v Galway) - P Greene; C Harrison, N McGuire, R Donovan; K Cawley , B Philips, J Davey; T Taylor , S Gilmartin; A Costello, M Breheny, K Sweeney; C McGee, E O'Hara, D Kelly

Galway team: 1 Adrian Faherty 2 Kieran Fitzgerald 3 Finian Hanley 4 Alan Burke 5 Garrett Bradshaw 6 Diarmuid Blake 7 Garry ODonnell 8 Niall Coleman 9 Joe Bergin 10 Garry Sice 11 Sean Armstrong 12 Matthew Clancy 13 Michael Meehan (Capt) 14 Padraic Joyce 15 Eoin Concannon

Hoping for a Galway win. I want at least a decent performance to show hope for the qualifiers (God forbid).

May the best team win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

think galway will win by 6 points but i would say it will be tough as there will be very few galway supporters at the game

COME ON GALWAY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Blustery conditions. Rain and a strong wind. Sean Armstrong better play well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Well sligo cant play as bad in the second half as they just did for the first half whereas i cant see galway improving. Gilmartin was definately denied a clear point by the umpire. Meehans ankle doesn't look too healthy either so at home with the wind behind them and only 2 points down i'd say sligo to take this by 2 or 3 points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

9 mins second half and only one point in it to Galway !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Wow theres loads of interest in this one :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

joyce has still got it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Well done to sligo. Must say though the coverage on tv3 is awful. Can barely see the field with all the rain drops on the camera lens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Down to the wire yet again!

Congrats to Sligo but I do was sure that winning point was wide too... probably blame the angle though.

PS - I didn't make it up to Markievicz (due to the weather) but I'm only 5 minutes walk from there. Could hear the crowds and cheering from out my back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Patsy fyre wrote: »
    Wow theres loads of interest in this one :-D

+1 If this was Dublin playing London in a qualifier you'd have 10 pages by now:D:D:D
    Congrats to Sligo. I thought they had blown it as Padraic Joyce took over in the last 10 mins. This makes up for their dreadful display in the 2nd half last week. Can win Connacht now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

wooooooooooo
    Hoooooooooooo!!!!
    Such a gutsy performance. I'm a proud sligo man today.

I dont care if the winning point looked wide, gilmartins wide was definately a point so it evens out.

Daroxtar wrote: »
    I dont care if the winning point looked wide, gilmartins wide was definately a point so it evens out.
    Yep, no doubt.

Makes up for that point anyways.. so everyone's happy! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Sligo vs Roscommon in the final, who would have bet on that before the Championship started?

So a trip to Galway up next for Wexford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

basquille wrote: »
    Yep, no doubt.

Makes up for that point anyways.. so everyone's happy! :D

Where's Sepp Blabber. GAA needs him to sort out bad decisions from the match officials:D:D:D

TV3 broadcasting their analysis among a pumped-up rambuctious crowd..

F*cking hell, are they well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Congrats to Sligo. Up to Pearse next weekend so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭DULLAHAN2

I taught sligo deserved the win, they need to work on there shooting galway hardly missed when they shot. But roscommon up next, sligo having beating mayo and galway they have to be favourite's for the title

Galway were decent. Mid-field let us down yet again. Bradshaw gave Kelly a handy goal. At least Armstrong was good.

Sligo deserved ye're win. Good to see another side emerge from Connacht. You got a harsh majority of frees for ye though. Best of luck in the All-Ireland Q-Finals. Hope ye do Connacht proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Well Done Sligo - made to work for the win but deserved nothing less than victory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

is it wexford galway play next?

not feeling confident about that one..

mink_man wrote: »
    is it wexford galway play next?

not feeling confident about that one..
    Dunno I think we can beat them but I wouldn't bet my house on it.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Ga..ga..ga..gone-way ;)

Well done Sligo, great finish in the end, thoroughly deserved it based on the 2 games. I was sure Joyce had it won for Galway, still pure quality player.

Still sticking with Sligo making the last 4 for sure.

Great game of football in terrible conditions so hats off to both teams.

As for the after match interviews, I am sure that red-haired lads parents were proud of him and his "wonderful" faces!, a creche performance from that lad ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Well done to Sligo,they showed a passion and desire to win when the chips were down,in the past they would have lost on such occasions. Personally the best football we have seen this year has been from the Connacht province in my opinion,all teams have went out to play in a positive way and have produced some entertaining games. On a side note the GAA will have to do something about the standards of umpires,Sligo could have been the victims of 2 wrong umpiring decisions made against them and as a neutral i'm sure the winning point they got was between the posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Best of luck in the All-Ireland Q-Finals. Hope ye do Connacht proud.

They still have to play the connacht final, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

great game i was standing up for the last 10 minutes.i also think mc gee shot was a point like to see it again though

They still have to play the connacht final, right?
    Prove me wrong Roscommon :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Prove me wrong Roscommon :pac:
    you never know. If Longford can beat Mayo surely we can put it up to Sligo at the least.

Also, is the game definitely in McHale park?

I think its in Hyde Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 dmnconway

I think its in Hyde Park

Connacht final venue has'nt been released yet......as for galway wexford at

home,.....best luck to them from a sligo man and,roll on rosscommon

could even get to semis yet as the rte panel said "sligo will be a match for anyone" :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

Sligeach Abu, great game to be at , felt better than the 2007 final , galway aren't what they were , I think big Joe has had a negative effect on their game,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭pdiddy

first time since 1947 a connaught final hasn't contained either galway or mayo
    that year roscommon beat sligo 2-12 to 1-08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

I think its in Hyde Park

its mchale, last place roscommon wanted given their record at all levels there since 1986

well done sligo btw, great game in terrible conditions, someone mentioned it earlier but the connaught championship has produced some really good games so far, would be nice if we played our part in an entertaining game in two weeks, i really hope we don't collapse in the final :o

interesting in this day and age when teams and counties fuss over the standard of youth and club levels to see a county like sligo who have had no success at those levels develop a team to such high standards, maybe other counties should take note that you don't need minor or u-21 success to bring the senior team forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Well done Sligo, the best team won so I hope ye go on to win Connaught and have a say on where Sam spends Christmass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭oneillMan999

gally74 wrote: »
    Sligeach Abu, great game to be at , felt better than the 2007 final , galway aren't what they were , I think big Joe has had a negative effect on their game,

yep, joe kernan is tryin to get galway players to play armagh football which is never gonna work..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭magicface1

Im from Galway and would like to say well done to Sligo today and last week ye were the better side over the 2 games and ye deserved the win. Congrats from my household anyways.

I think its in Hyde Park

Its McHale. There is an agreement in Connaught that Galway or Mayo get to play at home in the connaught final (as it is almost always one or the other, if they play each other they take turns having a home tie) but other connaught teams are not entitled to a home connaught final.

On todays game, Fair play to Sligo they profited on a Galway mistake an managed to scrape a win. Had Mike Meehan been fit Galway would have
    won.

Joyce was epic again, what a footballer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Its McHale. There is an agreement in Connaught that Galway or Mayo get to play at home in the connaught final (as it is almost always one or the other, if they play each other they take turns having a home tie) but other connaught teams are not entitled to a home connaught final.

thats incorrect, hyde park has held numerous recent connaught finals, 2007 the last, roscommon won their last connaught in the hyde against mayo in 2001

the reason this match ain't in the hyde is because the last time sligo played roscommon (2007) it was in the hyde so sligo are due a home game this time around, as markievicz (and indeed carrick) is not big enough to host a final then the choice comes down to either mchale or salthill, sligo choose mchale

rossie1977 wrote: »
    thats incorrect, hyde park has held numerous recent connaught finals, 2007 the last, roscommon won their last connaught in the hyde against mayo in 2001

the reason this match ain't in the hyde is because the last time sligo played roscommon (2007) it was in the hyde so sligo are due a home game this time around, as markievicz (and indeed carrick) is not big enough to host a final then the choice comes down to either mchale or salthill, sligo choose mchale

I was told this recently by a friend of mine so I will have to have a word with him. I don't know why I didn't question it (as he is a mayo man) but I always remember the connaught finals being in Galway or Castlebar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

basquille wrote: »
    TV3 broadcasting their analysis among a pumped-up rambuctious crowd..

F*cking hell, are they well?

Fair play to them for trying compared to RTE who apart from Croke Park games use there Dublin 4 studio. Yet RTE will always get away with the same poor coverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

On todays game, Fair play to Sligo they profited on a Galway mistake an managed to scrape a win. Had Mike Meehan been fit Galway would have
    won.

Joyce was epic again, what a footballer!

Come on, show a little humility! Sligo were by far the better team in the second half. Nerves and a gutsy display by Galway kept them in it. Galway were completely out on their feet at the end.

If it went to extra time it would have been very comfotable for Sligo.

T runner wrote: »
    Come on, show a little humility! Sligo were by far the better team in the second half. Nerves and a gutsy display by Galway kept them in it. Galway were completely out on their feet at the end.

Galway were much the better team in the first half though, in reality they should have gone in 5 or 6 points up at half time but they didn't kick on as they should have. Galway also started well in the 2nd half and the goal gave a massive lift to sligo. Had they not got a (gifted goal) I have no doubt Galway would have won by 2 or 3 points.

It should definitely have gone to extra time though as sligo's winning point was wide (even agreed upon by a very biased sligo fan who I had argued with throughout the game) and their was a foul handpass in the build up to the score also.

Army also had a goal chance which had he taken it or passed to Conroy would have finished the game.

Still though fair play to Sligo they kept their heads and won it so good luck in the final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

Galway were much the better team in the first half though, in reality they should have gone in 5 or 6 points up at half time but they didn't kick on as they should have. Galway also started well in the 2nd half and the goal gave a massive lift to sligo. Had they not got a (gifted goal) I have no doubt Galway would have won by 2 or 3 points.

It should definitely have gone to extra time though as sligo's winning point was wide (even agreed upon by a very biased sligo fan who I had argued with throughout the game) and their was a foul handpass in the build up to the score also.

Army also had a goal chance which had he taken it or passed to Conroy would have finished the game.

Still though fair play to Sligo they kept their heads and won it so good luck in the final.

What match were you at? Sligo finished the first half strongly putting themselves in a good position to win the match.

Galway did brilliantly to stay in it for so long. They were literally dead on their feet at the end.

Making excuses, with your ifs and buts doesnt reflect well on you. Im sure Galway will be the beter team if Wexford win next week too. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

What match were you at? Sligo finished the first half strongly putting themselves in a good position to win the match.

Galway did brilliantly to stay in it for so long. They were literally dead on their feet at the end.

Making excuses, with your ifs and buts doesnt reflect well on you. Im sure Galway will be the beter team if Wexford win next week too. Good luck.

i think you were wearing your black tinted glasses if it wasn't for the gift of the goal ye would not have won

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭gipo2

Final is in Castlebar 18th at 4pm. It will give mayo co. board a good excuse to cut the grass.

i think you were wearing your black tinted glasses if it wasn't for the gift of the goal ye would not have won

More like ''glasses'' full stop, he's been spouting crap on here for the past week now. Just shows what it mean's to such a small county, to have such a massive win over ourselves who have been falling rapidly for 9 years, a 1/4 is about as much as they'll get.

As much as it pains me to say it, if it means PROPER change in the set up, i'd rather we went out next week then bare another 9 years of this.

This crap has been going on too long, manager after manager yet the same panel.... somethings not right IMO. Either VERY poor managers who think they can turn a side around with bottom 10 championship form to AI champions or the county board is leaning on the managers to get certain players picked

How many years must we be cleaned out in midfield and KO'd as soon as leave Connacht before someone realises that MASSIVE changes need to be played, on paper we might have good players but they're just not a good enough team to compete at this level.

Some quick stats....

In 2004- 8 of the current panel(includes subs now like D.Meehan) featured in the loss to Tyrone

In 2005- 12 of the current panel(including the Cullinane) featured in the loss to Cork

In 2006- 11 of the current panel and 13 of the 17 players used in the loss to Westmeath that day make up the current panel(includes the recently dropped Cullinane)

These noted players make up the majority of the players we still use. It's been pretty clear now for SIX years that changes in some shape of form were needed, who's to blame for this?, poor management or interference of the county board?

I don't see much county senior club to judge are the best from 1-7 and 10-15 being picked, but i have seen Corofin and their two midfielders(big, stocky lads) were both capable of winning primary possession(something we haven't done in 7 years) and kicking points.
    Considering Higgins was voted players player of the year last year, and he's STILL not in the panel, i'd have to think there is something suspect going on behind the scenes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

First of all, well done Sligo. This Sligo team has heart in abundance, and they can play a bit too.

From a Galway perspective, at least it was a major improvement on last week. I thought a draw and extra time would have been a fair result in the end, Sligo were maybe a little bit lucky to snatch it at the end, and that's not sour grapes or anything.

It was a great game of football though, one of the best of the championship so far, and Sligo will be a serious test for any team they meet from hereon.

Galway will beat Wexford, and after that who knows. We won't win the All-Ireland that's for certain, but to me there were signs today (even though we lost) that this team has a big game in them. Sligo would be well advised not to take Roscommon for granted though. Sligo will go in as hot favourites and that's not something they're used to. People will say this is an awful result for Galway, but I actually thought Galway played well enough for most of today's game, and in the end we were beaten by a team that really have their tails up at the moment. Well done Sligo and congrats to Kevin Walsh for doing a marvellous job with this Sligo team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,712 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Galway led for probably 85% of the game having gifted Sligo the cheapest goal you'll ever see and with three of their best players in Meehan, Nicky Joyce and Hanley off the field. Fair play to Sligo but let's not get carried away. Galway may have been a bit lucky last week but Sligo were probably a bit lucky this week.

Having read your previous posts you are in no position to ask people to show humility. A small bit of success seems to have gone to your head completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Tiesto

excellent result by Sligo.. They got a huge amount of potential. Will be interesting to see how far they can progress.

Ah but sure the Hyde'll suit Roscommon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭RealityCheck

As much as it pains me to say it, if it means PROPER change in the set up, i'd rather we went out next week then bare another 9 years of this.

People say the same rubbish every year, ah we'd be better off loosing in the qualifiers once we loose in Connacht. With an attitute like that we deserve to have the record we have for the last decade :rolleyes:.
    This crap has been going on too long, manager after manager yet the same panel.... somethings not right IMO. Either VERY poor managers who think they can turn a side around with bottom 10 championship form to AI champions or the county board is leaning on the managers to get certain players picked

How many years must we be cleaned out in midfield and KO'd as soon as leave Connacht before someone realises that MASSIVE changes need to be played, on paper we might have good players but they're just not a good enough team to compete at this level.

Some quick stats....

In 2004- 8 of the current panel(includes subs now like D.Meehan) featured in the loss to Tyrone

In 2005- 12 of the current panel(including the Cullinane) featured in the loss to Cork

In 2006- 11 of the current panel and 13 of the 17 players used in the loss to Westmeath that day make up the current panel(includes the recently dropped Cullinane)

These noted players make up the majority of the players we still use. It's been pretty clear now for SIX years that changes in some shape of form were needed, who's to blame for this?, poor management or interference of the county board?

To be honest I reckon Kernan tried to make some fist of changing things up a little. He gave the likes of Donal O'Neill of Cortoon, David Reilly of Menlough, Paddy Kennedy of Bearna, Cillian De Paor of An Ceathrú Rua and Michael Martin of Cortoon to name but a few their chance. I remember many people raving about how cillian De Paor would make a huge difference around the middle of the field, but once he made the step up to intercounty, few disputed that he was'nt up to that level.

We really should be looking at the real reasons why we have been going down hill for the last 10 year. Underage just is'nt good enough. Correct me if I'm wrong but I dont think we won a game at U21 level in 5 years :o. Most of the minors of 07 have made little or no impact bar Conroy, who has'nt yet set the world on fire and is unlikely to at the centre of the field.
    I don't see much county senior club to judge are the best from 1-7 and 10-15 being picked, but i have seen Corofin and their two midfielders(big, stocky lads) were both capable of winning primary possession(something we haven't done in 7 years) and kicking points.
    Considering Higgins was voted players player of the year last year, and he's STILL not in the panel, i'd have to think there is something suspect going on behind the scenes.

There is huge difference between being a good club midfielder and a good inter county midfielder. For inter county a midlfielder needs to be:

1. Big and Strong
    2. Able to field
    3. Get around the pitch for 70 minutes.
    4. Know how to play the position

Looking at the current set up, Bergin is good at 1,2 and 3 but for some reason only known to himself has absolutely no idea how to play the position and therefore goes missing when we need him most.

Coleman is good at 2,3 and 4 but lacks several inches that would make a real difference to his primary ball winning game.

Cullinane is good at 1, 2 and 4, but cannot stay fit enough for a long enough period of time. He suffers too many niggling injuries and has a problem keeping the head when he does play.

Conroy is only good at getting around the pitch and can give some good long range passes and is good for a score, but he is and will never be a midfielder, would make a good wing forward though.

While the Corofin midfielders may be good at 1 and 2 they would not nearly have the mobility and fitness levels to cope at inter county football. They might be good for a few catches but will go missing when at the tempo of inter county. I mean they might look brilliant at club level so but so too can Bergin and Coleman. However, I would'nt mind seeing Greg Higgins being given a shot at some stage just in the unlikely event he develops into a powerhouse at the centre of the field. however unlikely that is.

It's far simpler than that. We can't catch a ball in mid-field ever. Even smaller mid-fielders can out-jump Conroy, Coleman and Lydon. It is the one spot we have never improved on since Walsh retired.

Sean Armstrong is the best example to sum up Galway nowadays. Promising at under-age but never truly shows the same quality at senior level.

Until we get a decent mid-field partnership we won't win Connacht. That is how we are comparing to the rest of the province. Sligo are delivering and hopefully Roscommon have brought up a lot of the minor team that shocked Kerry a few years ago.

No manager can turn poor players into All-Ireland contenders. Kernan was the last chance IMO to change this Galway team full of veterans and underwhelming youth.

The Galway era of football greatness is gone. It may come back in a few years but for the foreseeable future we will have to cope with losing players like Padraic Joyce, Joe Bergin and co. This year's League campaign showed that we are not in contention for a place in the September spotlight.