Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poll of MW2 Preferred Game Modes

• 02-07-2010 11:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭

What's your preferred MW2 game mode? And why?

On COD4 I literally only played Headquarters, WAW was TDM. Now on MW2 it's FFA, TDM/MTDM and occasional game of Search & Destroy. FFA is probably my favourite.

I've tried to get into Domination, Demolition but just can't seem to find my stride. It does seem you can accumulate XP much quicker and complete gun challenges much quicker, due to the sheer # of kills that can be acheived per game, where in TDM the game obviously ends at 7500.

It would be interesting to get an idea of the percentages.

Favourite MW2 Game Modes 230 votes

Team Death Match
    0%
    Mercenary Team Death Match
    17%
    Creatureanonymous_joekrudlerjeffredr3nu4l~Marky~Rowley Birkin QCNUTZZClubEireironictoasterYakultRiskymovewilfordshawpowerAldebaran2smiggyktulu123Jev/NLab_MouseKersmash 40 votes
    Free-For-All
    12%
    MiCr0Mac daddydodohertRbanonymous_joeGBXkrudlerr3nu4lPaparazzo~Marky~ClubEireTheChrisDironictoasterktulu123Jev/NLab_Mouse087dannyboyIrishmasterNuri SahinReacherCreature 29 votes
    Domination
    12%
    CreatureMac daddyPaparazzo~Marky~Rowley Birkin QCironictoasterratsamktulu123callaway92Jev/NLab_Mouse087dannyboyardinnKersmashReacherCreatureEl Guapo!steviebgJax TellerEnigma IEdeano546 29 votes
    Ground War
    10%
    MiCr0breadmonkeytesticlesombahtkrudlerjeffred~Marky~YakultshawpowerSRFC90Kev_ps3087dannyboyGelioAIR-AUSSIETommy_NDXx43r0[Deleted User]BonavoxShammySoulTrader 24 votes
    Sabotage
    7%
    CreatureMac daddybreadmonkeyanonymous_joeGBXkrudlerr3nu4lRowley Birkin QCmiralizeTiGeR KiNgS[Deleted User]x43r0Luis21Paco RodriguezMithridteg23Fliggy 17 votes
    HQ Pro
    3%
    minotourTheChrisDYakultNuri SahinGavRedKingsteviebgCokaColumboAngrondeano546 9 votes
    Search and Destroy
    2%
    davetheraveBlazerYakultThe Munkylunaticjimmyteg23 6 votes
    Capture The Flag (this may be gone now?)
    11%
    anonymous_joeironictoasterYakult2smiggyJev/NSRFC90Kev_ps3087dannyboymiralizeirish_goat[Deleted User]Tommy_NDXOat23hypersquirrelBonavoxEnigma IEgavitron22Leeg17bluemoonerAngron 26 votes
    Demolition
    1%
    Yakultdeano546IveSeenFireADJ161 4 votes
    3rd person Team Death Match (this may be gone now?)
    6%
    NeVeRbreadmonkeyraheny redYakultWitcherAldebaran2smiggyJev/NKersmashNuri Sahinsteviebghypersquirreldeano546Meat 14 votes
    HC Team Death Match
    0%
    BeekayNuri Sahin 2 votes
    HC Search and Destroy
    4%
    CreaturemiseRbGBXTheChrisDmiralizeCrazyivan 1979irish_goat[Deleted User]thebigbiffo 10 votes
    Ricochet Team Death Match
    2%
    2smiggy087dannyboy[Deleted User]D_BEARmurph665 5 votes
    3rd-person Cage Match
    0%
    087dannyboy 1 vote
    Team Death Match Express
    0%
    Barebones
    3%
    shaybarryfitzSRFC90irish_goatNuri Sahinjkbrackens11Tea_BagMeat 8 votes
    Mosh Pitt
    2%
    JeanClaudecraze7wandatowellNuri Sahindaireb9Tea_Bag 6 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Playing on my own it's usually mercenary team deathmath. With friends it's TDM or Search and Destroy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

On my own it's usually only ever TDM.
    Although I'll play SND almost exclusively when my American friend is online :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Mine is either S&D or MTDM/TDM depends what mood I'm in and how drunk I am.

S&D can be a little tense but it just gets the vote, simply for those clutch moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Domination
    I only ever play Mercenary Team Deathmatch/ Team Deathmatch/ FFA. Although Im playing less and less FFA lately due to boosters ruining the game. :mad:
    Iv tried playing the other game-types but they just didnt float my boat for some reason!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

I played some barebones the other night, interesting with no kill streaks available and amazingly quiet with no air support!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Sabotage
    I usually only play domination unless i'm in a party in which case its TDM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭shay

Barebones
    why play team deathmatch, when you can select team deathmatch express? Am I missing summit? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

shay wrote: »
    why play team deathmatch, when you can select team deathmatch express? Am I missing summit? :confused:

You have to scroll all the way down :)

Seriously what's the difference I've never even tried it and have like 16 days game time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Ground War

Tdm can give you a chance for a quick toilet break , smoke , get beer from the fridge , verbal banter .:D

Favoured gamemode is Domination but i play any mode.

TDM Express gives you very little time in between matches to modify your classes, check out your challenges etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

HC Search and Destroy
    Play a lot of MTDM, because I don't like coming up against arrange teams of six in regular core TDM.

Sabotage because it can be awesome, but a lot of people turn it into a killfest and then lay on killstreaks in sudden death.

HC TDM because I like the change of pace every now and then, although it's not as good as HC in CoD4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭shay

Barebones
    Enigma IE wrote: »
    TDM Express gives you very little time in between matches to modify your classes, check out your challenges etc.

Ah right... well i've something like 8 classes, so feck all to do between games other than twiddle my thumbs.

I guess that I've limited time on the xbox so I don't want to be wasting it waiting around

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Mosh Pitt
    On my own...

Mercenary Team Deathmatch
    Sabotage
    Demolition
    Mosh Pit
    3rd person Deathmatch or whatever it's called now

With party, anything but I dislike SnD in MW2. Love it in COD4 however. I despise Domination as well but in a party I'll play it on Ground War.

* Bit surprised people like TDM over Merc TDM.. p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

Demolition mainly, but I'm really getting into FFA atm, been doing really well in it. I do enjoy playing Team Tactical alot too but that doesn't appear to be in the poll.

Kersmash wrote: »
    Demolition mainly, but I'm really getting into FFA atm, been doing really well in it. I do enjoy playing Team Tactical alot too but that doesn't appear to be in the poll.

Sorry dude, I forgot to include Team Tactical, isn't it one of the new game modes introduced in one of recent patches? I find 4x4 matches a bit boring, especially on some of the bigger maps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

Ground War
    Mainly been playing Dom lately so I voted for that, but I have the occasional game of TDM or SD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Domination
    FFA for me followed by tdm,
    but im happy once im stabbing with the tac knife

Sorry dude, I forgot to include Team Tactical, isn't it one of the new game modes introduced in one of recent patches? I find 4x4 matches a bit boring, especially on some of the bigger maps.

I like it when I'm playing with 3 other lads and we can't decide on anything to play! It's got a nice mix. Plus we can be tactical, making callouts etc, we've a good laugh. That being said I'd rather just play Demolition :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Randy Shafter

Almost always play TDM or MTDM because i find them the most exciting. On occasion i'll have a go of S&D and sometimes Domination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Domination
    FFA and MTDM for me. FFA is the best for starting off with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭cantgetright

TDM or ETDM on overgrown

Ricochet Team Death Match
    HCTDM or MTDM for me. I never play FFA for some reason. Don't like the world being against me. It's weird because I hate team sports in reality. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Play most game-types, depends on what challenges I'm after TBH

Would prefer MTDM, TDMX, FFA, Demo and some S&D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Mithrid

Sabotage
    Ground War for me, I just like the notion of having more people to kill!

Although I've kind of moved onto FFA more recently, been doing pretty well in it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Meat

Barebones

Nope, Team Tactical has been there from the start.
    Team Tac is definitely my favourite, especially when you've got three mates to use party chat - very useful in something like S&D so you can still talk when you're dead.
    Demolition has really grown on me, excellent game mode. Obviously much better when your whole team consists of people you know so you can organise properly. I hate playing with strangers who never play for objectives and just look for kills. That's the worst in Sabotage which is why I never play that anymore.
    On my own, I'd usually just play M/TDM or Team Tac.

Does anyone have trouble getting into Ground War games? When I'm on my own, it never seems to work - I'll get into a full lobby and it's one of those where time stands still until I get kicked out. It works the odd time when I'm in a party with mates. Don't really mind anyway, Ground War games nearly always tend to be laggy as hell.

Meat wrote: »
    Nope, Team Tactical has been there from the start.

Wasn't it originally 3rd person TT, but then they brought in First person TT? My friends used play it alot and I hated the 3rd person aspect, so I was delighted when they made it first person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Ground War
    Wasn't it originally 3rd person TT, but then they brought in First person TT? My friends used play it alot and I hated the 3rd person aspect, so I was delighted when they made it first person.

Yup they installed fp team tac when they took out cagematch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Where's Hardcore Headquarters Ricochet? It's the only one I play :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Rycn

Yeah team tac is my favourite game mode at the moment, not in the poll though??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Meat

Barebones

Really? I could've sworn it was there from the start alongside the 3rd person Team Tac (and the same with cagematch).

I played some 3rd person in just private games and found it real fun but I'd never do it in public games as it would ruin my ratios :o.

Makes sense that Team Tac isn't in the poll as it includes various different game modes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Mosh Pitt
    Barebones is a great idea, sick of getting killed by deathstreaks and never getting any of my own lol B@STARDS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

HQ Pro
    I usually select Mosh pit or Sabotage as my main game modes, enjoy Domination and Ground War also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Domination
    I started playing S&D last night for the 1st time (for the XP ;)) and I have to say I'm hooked!! It does seem to be a bit of a campfest tho, and people seem to just kill each other rather than actually plant the bomb but its still a great laugh.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Rycn

Dean09 wrote: »
    I started playing S&D last night for the 1st time (for the XP ;)) and I have to say I'm hooked!! It does seem to be a bit of a campfest tho, and people seem to just kill each other rather than actually plant the bomb but its still a great laugh.:)
    Yeh me too, having great craic with it, u tend to learn the camping spots so u can just rush in and mangle the lot of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

Team Deathmatch Express is my favoured gametype, hate the waiting around between games even if it's only a minute!

Played Dom and Ground War with a party last night and I must say it's amazingly good fun, even if the other team aren't playing for the objectives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭gavitron22

search, as one person said, for the clutch moments! i think it was better on cod 4 though, was a much more pure type of search! although mosh pit was one of the best ideas of a game mode too!