Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where were you when... thread (Megamerge)

• 01-07-2010 11:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Peppapig

Mod note:Thread to discuss where you were when major events occurred mega-merged to avoid repetition.

Diana dying:
    I remember I was about 6 sitting on the washing machine door, and was watching cartoon network and flashing white writing appears on the screen of every channel.

"Please go to Sky News! An incident has occurred" something like that...

I was only 6!

September 11 attacks
    Peppapig, hope you don't mind me using your idea! I remember this somewhat more clearly than Diana's death.

I was in school when the planes hit. I was 15 and in Third Year at the time.

I remember coming home and the towers had fallen at that stage. Honest to god when I walked in the door I thought my parents were watching a film but then Mum told me no two planes had hit the WTC in New York and another the Pentagon.

I'll never forget the first time I saw the clip of the planes hitting, it gave me shivers. Still does. I also remember finding it hard to sleep that night and getting shivers when planes went over head.
    MJ Death
    OK, so this is getting a little thin, but we have to admit that having only happened just over a year ago it is actually something that resonated around the World. I personally wasn't a fan but perhaps there was something you did that day that makes you remember it.

I was in Edinburgh, working at the Edinburgh Film Festival, my Dad had called the night before to tell me to change the channel because Michael Jackson had just had a heart attack. Obviously, with the knowledge he was due to play in London, that seemed rather interesting

The next day the news was confirmed when I woke up. I spent most of the day watching television before work. When I went into work a few days later there were a few people who still hadn't heard it had happened - which baffled me because they told EVERYONE at any given opportunity - then again, it was the Edinburgh Film Festival and most of us were students.....

I worked at a radio station in Edinburgh at the time and a few weeks later we did a special tribute for him....a few songs here and there and invited people from the station to talk about how his music affected them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Back of a bike with a camera - actually it was a flash gun disguised as a camera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

I would have been 3, so probably asleep at home.

It was after midnight after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I was 13.

Mum saw the headlines on sky news in the middle of the night...stayed up most of the night watching the coverage. I heard at about 6 am the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

Meh, she wasnt that important, sure her charity work was good but it was no 9/11 or anything. (Though that was more poignant because you could watch the whole thing unravel live)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I was out in The Turks Head in Temple Bar at my sister's hen night. She got a phone call from one of the lads on the stag's in England to say Diana had died. She hung up cos she didn't know what he was on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

Laughing my head off after someone down the local told the joke:

What do you give the princess that has everything?

A seatbelt and an airbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Why? Who wants to know? It was an accident anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

sitting in the sitting room at home smoking a doob, was a serious shocker when I seen sky news runnin with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Jennyfer

I was down in Wexford with my best friend and her family, staying in their little mobile home. Her younger brother came running in to wake us up shouting "Princess Diana is dead! Princess Diana is dead!". Id a big sleepy bedhead on me, hadnt a clue what he was talking about and went out to look at the tv, we didnt move from it the whole day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I was in bed, it happened at 2 am Paris time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

In the boot of the car. I gotz lucky.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Was in Wexford for the weekend, first thing I wake up to is the news and pictures of a mangles Merc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

In bed sleeping after getting back home from a trip to paris, was in the very tunnel the night before it happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Pikasso

Excellent thread starter!

Pedantic answer... asleep. But can clearly remember being in the kitchen the next morning when the news headlines came on.

I was young. My eldest child was a toddler.

And the Celtic Tiger was a suckling cub!

Ah, the days!!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I had just woken up and my ma came into the room and turned on my TV. There was a picture of Diana and Charles on the screen and she said to me guess which one is dead. I got it wrong :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

i remember watching cartoons too and the thing kept flashing up at the botton on every station to go to sky news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I was at home but all I remember really is my mother watching the coverage on tv and crying. (My mother was crying, not me. I was mocking her for crying.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

I don't know.

I was six or seven at the time, and can't imagine I gave any less of a fuck than I do now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Ironing my uniform for work (it was Sunday 24-hour call) and my husband was listening to the radio - next thing he roared "Jaysis, did you hear that, the Prince of Wales was killed". I said "Really! At least it wasn't Diana". Then he said "Wait a minute - it is Diana!". I neary fainted.
    I spent the day at work running to the TV in between patients to find out what was going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

I don't see why people care that much? Why would you remember where you were when some foreign dignitary died? I don't see why it would effect you so much that you'd remember tbh.. I have no idea personally.. was quite young at the time.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I was asleep too, but I remember my dad telling me when he came into my room to wake me up. I was 11.

Funny thing is, the previous night after dinner we'd been watching TV, and an ad came on for one of those tabloid rags that had 'exclusive' pictures of Diana on a yacht with Dodi. We'd talked about how awful it was that they couldn't even go on holiday without photographers following them, invading their privacy the whole time. I think it was more of a shock hearing about her death because we'd just had that conversation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I was on the piss with Paul Gascoigne. It turned out to be his downfall for the England team as it meant that he wasn't going to come out of the end of a tunnel in Paris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

heard it from the preist at mass when he announcing the recent deaths in the parish, it was a wtf moment, went home to watch tv news for the rest of the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

kelle wrote: »
    Ironing my uniform for work (it was Sunday 24-hour call) and my husband was listening to the radio - next thing he roared "Jaysis, did you hear that, the Prince of Wales was killed". I said "Really! At least it wasn't Diana". Then he said "Wait a minute - it is Diana!". I neary fainted.
    I spent the day at work running to the TV in between patients to find out what was going on.

Are you married to the no-longer-a-priest Dougal Maguire?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Was living at home - we'd a free gaff and friends were over.

I was working in Tesco at the time and the following Saturday for her funeral there was two minutes' silence which was even observed here - as in, businesses came to a standstill etc. Wtf?! I knew it was ludicrous at the time, but the sheer scale of the ludicrousness didn't hit me until afterwards...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Redisle wrote: »
    I don't see why people care that much? Why would you remember where you were when some foreign dignitary died? I don't see why it would effect you so much that you'd remember tbh.. I have no idea personally.. was quite young at the time.

Well, she was always in the news or featured in a women's magazine. She was a style icon, she was young and beautiful yet appeared very down to earth - very different to the other Royals who had a "stuffy" image.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭shuvly

Was working a night shift in Cambridge...kept us entertained for the night...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭LucyLouLou

I was in France on my way to Geneva for a 6am flight to go home and repeat the exam I failed in college, heard about it straight after it happened. By the time I got off the flight in london to go to shannon everyone in the airport was looking at the tvs in silence, very errie. Ended up flying back the day of her funeral and flew over london, you could see all the flowers from the plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I was sitting behind the driver's seat, with my hands over the chauffeur's eyes saying "Guess who?".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 164 ✭✭yogy

Googling..."Dead Princess Diana Jokes"

btw who gives a **** unless you are some pathetic British monarchist who has plates with the royal family pictures on them hanging on the wall of the "good room"?

In fairness thou, she was the best looking of all that shower of ugly *****..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

I remember bouncing a ball pretty loudly against the sittingroom wall while the family were trying to watch the news...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I was listening to Mike Dicken on TalkSport when the accident happened and the news reports said that Dodi had died but that she just had a broken arm. Loads of old biddies got on wishing her well. I remember going down to my parents room and waking my mam up and telling her. Dunno why I did that. :confused:

Can't remember now if I heard that she died that night or the next morning when I woke up.

(Mike Dicken also died in a car crash it seems.. :( )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

When did she die?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Peppapig

31st Aug 1997

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Sleeping.

I woke, put on SkyNews before heading out to work.

Seen the report that she'd died, and tbh - I really didn't give her death much thought.

However I was aware that she had two children who were now without their mother and felt sad at this...

Then Elton John's single in her memory..

I do think she was a genuinely good person and a loss to many, and her family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Probably at home enjoying a good night's sleep so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

He tried to follow it up with a tribute to Mother Teresa called "Sandles in the bin" but it never took off.

Back on topic, my brother was working in a pub, obviously saw it on the news, came home about 3 am and woke me up to tell me while breaking his heart laughing, yeah he was pretty drunk. I think I also laughed, then went back to sleep cos I didn't really care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Meh,probably in the sandpit making volcanoes or giving my barbies haircuts..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭hairyfairy00

My aunt who lives in Canada phoned my mum at 4.30am to tell her, than mum woke me up and told me to turn on the telly because Diana was dead. Spent the rest of the morning watching the news, was very surreal at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

waiting for cartoon network to open at 5am, keeping quiet in case my dad got up and bet me

Christ, you must be young, I used to listen to radio luxemborg in bed when I was young!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭nachoman

What did God say to Diana when she appeared in heaven after her car smash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Sleeping, I wish I could have stayed that way for the next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Thankfully, I can't remember.

Which means it wasn't that important to me.
    She was a very good person, but seriously, royalty....is there anything more pointless?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

I was babysitting. I used to stay over in the house and the kids mum was English and she came in to me at about 6am sobbing, like really flaming hysterical to tell me that Diana had died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

I do believe that at the moment this news was at it's height of importance, I hadn't even been conceived

Edit: Ah boolocks. I was barely 2 when she died and no more care was given to that subject than when I was 2

tl;dr i was 2 when she died. i couldnt care less about a monarch.

nachoman wrote: »
    What did God say to Diana when she appeared in heaven after her car smash?

Ok,this is a knock knock joke?... who's there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

The most interesting part of all this is that a reasonable percentage of you are totally mistaken about where you where.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭nachoman

shuvly wrote: »
    Ok,this is a knock knock joke?... who's there...

Wipe that Merc off your face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Remember the weekend clearly, had just flown back from London on the Saturday night after the Arsenal/Spurs match 0-0. Was not in bed too long when my dad woke me up to tell me the news.