Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meindl stalking boots

• 01-07-2010 11:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭

Any one on here wear Meindl boots ,and if so how would ye rate them,how would they compare to Le Chamue Moufflons ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

99% of lads will tell you that the Meindl boots are the best ones on the market

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

Any one on here wear Meindl boots ,and if so how would ye rate them,how would they compare to Le Chamue Moufflons ?

get yourself a pair of meindl vakuum GTX 205E in the great out doors .

i had the mufflons ok just .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭cbrjohnthou

jwshooter wrote: »

Where is the great outdoors lad

tis in the be all and end all of ireland, dublin

shank1 wrote: »
    Where is the great outdoors lad

dublin lad . drive to the north about half way up the country turn east real sudden .

failing that ,follow the track suits and white runners .

there is one in cork but not a whole lot in it

homerhop wrote: »
    there is one in cork but not a whole lot in it

There is an outdoor shop on the quay in waterford, would that be the same one do yez reckon.

dublin lad . drive to the north about half way up the country turn east real sudden .

And baseball caps and muscletops and FAKE gold chains:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Sound,

Would Jackie Greenes have em:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

shank1 wrote: »
    And baseball caps and muscletops and FAKE gold chains:D

You can buy a savage pair of boot sin Lowe Alpine which have an outlet In offaly.

It's in the middle of the country:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Wouldn't recommend that, you'd end up in the wrong part of Dublin fairly fast. Great Outdoors is on the south side, near kitchen compliments off Grafton Street. White runners and tracksuits only seen there after closing hours for the pubs on the weekend :D

Frankly, though, they're overpriced. There's a few hiking shops on Mary Street that have far better prices. Or there's always the 'net...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

I think you might need a few thousand more feet of elevation before you'd be using them for what they're designed for kay :D

kay 9 wrote: »

Well maybe Fireman Sam

I'll get lynched for this, But i'm having great wear with a pair of Ecco's

I have not gone bog snorkeling with them, but I have been in grassy fields after the rain and toasty dry, and as comfortable as runners.

Not suited for Marsh but that is what wellies are for :D

Well maybe Fireman Sam

I'll get lynched for this, But i'm having great wear with a pair of Ecco's

I have not gone bog snorkeling with them, but I have been in grassy fields after the rain and toasty dry, and as comfortable as runners.

Not suited for Marsh but that is what wellies are for :D
    +1 on that, have been wearin eccos for years. Have no probs with them. Did get a dud pair 2 years ago but got them replaced. Give them a hoseing after shootin or a bit of farmin and you can wear them with yer best suit to Sunday mass:D The older ones though with them air type soles used to give way and one had would be walkin on yer heels after a year of wear or so. They have improved. However, I like them Meindls:D

kay 9 wrote: »
    +1 on that, have been wearin eccos for years. Have no probs with them. Did get a dud pair 2 years ago but got them replaced. Give them a hoseing after shootin or a bit of farmin and you can wear them with yer best suit to Sunday mass:D The older ones though with them air type soles used to give way and one had would be walkin on yer heels after a year of wear or so. They have improved. However, I like them Meindls:D

I got Meindls off wellie o Dea, and HAIX which are very good, only in black though.
    I wear Gators with Boots, i have been knee deep in a river and at the end of a 20 hour day feet were toasty dry.

And I have worm my ecco's to Mass on occasion, Pagan as I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Meindl Army Pro are brilliant ;)

Sound,

Would Jackie Greenes have em:D:D:D

never thought of jackie .

Go there they will measure your feet ,bring walking sox with you .
    buying boots of the Internet with out seen them,would like buying a fly rod off it .your the one using it ,if your not happy its your problem .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭rob308

Padmore & Barnes in Kilkenny also stock Meindl's amongst others. Definitely wear a pair of hiking socks when you are going to fit them on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

You wont go wrong had a pair for 10 years gave them away to someone who is wearing them now, fits like a glove first time, no need to break in. Years of comfort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Meindl's it is so,their for the brother ,and if their breakable he'll break em,he's a bit rough on stuff,he even managed to break his............:D

Thanks for the replies,

A.

Meindl's it is so,their for the brother ,and if their breakable he'll break em,he's a bit rough on stuff,he even managed to break his............:D

Thanks for the replies,

A.

iv a pair of himalaya for 5 seasons now there still water proof bit the back of the sole is getting wore .

there very stiff for normal wear ,but on the granite mountains of wicklow there the best boot out there.

Thanks for the replies,

A.
    He'll test them so hahaha. He must be fair rough:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

i've a pair for the best part of ten years , never leaked , and i've never had cod feet :D in fact often the opposite too warm a lot of the time , but two years ago in scotland in - temperatures for10+ hours on end when everyone else had cold frozen feet mine were lovely and warm , they have great ankle support too ;) that's important when your miles from a road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kieran1141

have wolverine gore-tex 10in camo boots light as a feather, think i paid $140 from states delivered , and 16in laced snakeboot camo by redhead have them 3 year use them the same as wellies never get wet onely less than 1lb each $160, got a lad a pair of boots on the net lately for a lad he got a price of 180 euro he paid 103 euro delivered in a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

Meindl Army Pro are brilliant ;)
    agree with you 100% bunny. was going to recomend them untill i read your reply. ive had lots of the higher end boots and the army pro were the best by a long long way. im hoping to get a new pair in a few months time as i killed my last pair:D
    ps spend a few quid extra and get a really good set of hiking socks......well worth it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

What sort of €€€ are you looking at for the army pro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

landkeeper wrote: »
    i've a pair for the best part of ten years , never leaked , and i've never had cod feet :D in fact often the opposite too warm a lot of the time , but two years ago in scotland in - temperatures for10+ hours on end when everyone else had cold frozen feet mine were lovely and warm , they have great ankle support too ;) that's important when your miles from a road

cod feet?:eek: wow sounds horrendous hope I never gat that:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Please don't buy Eccos for use in Ireland. They may be OK on nice soft grassy fields. But the uppers will scratch and leak easily. They will flex wear quickly where they bend near the toe and leak. The soles can crack.

Better off putting the money towards decent goretex upper vibram Meindls.

johngalway wrote: »
    Please don't buy Eccos for use in Ireland. They may be OK on nice soft grassy fields. But the uppers will scratch and leak easily. They will flex wear quickly where they bend near the toe and leak. The soles can crack.

Better off putting the money towards decent leather soled Meindls.

We know this JG.

They are like how I describe VW Taureg and Santa Fé

Soft roaders :D:D

They are fine for handy bunny shooting in short grass in the summer months though.

I bought a pair in april and I have worn them 7 days a week since.

I love them ;)

NOT STALKING boots though :D

The Meindls do look nice. Might stick with my HiTecs for now, but the next pair of boots...

which hi tec are the ones you have sparks? i have the magnums and really hate them. i ended up buying addidas boots instead which i find very good (more or less runners) but they cost me €170 :eek::eek:. tried getting the full leather magnums but couldnt find them anywhere

V-lite Altitudes doyle61:

118988.jpeg

I don't get anywhere near the amount of hiking time I used to with them, but they're completely waterproof, comfortable, and give great support to my feet (which is hard for me to find, my feet need size 12H in boots). Now, if I could get some more time walking outside either dublin or kilkenny city, I'd be happy :D

My Le Chameau are tough as nails but walking long distances you would feel the stiffness.

They are a couple of inches higher than most ankle boots.

Many a drain/stream tested them.

Feet still toasty dry.

The Army used to use Meindl but they changed to Haix a few years back.

Here is a Hunter version

http://www.haix.com/eng/outdoorhunting_produktdetail_en.php?artikel=105005

you can run in them across fields if needs must and deffo waterproof. I went through a stream with them, dry as a cork!

meindl were never a general issue in the army. the lads in the wing might have got them but they have a seperate budget to the rest of the DF so they might have got some in. we had matherhorns before the haix and all i can describe them as are the worst thing ive ever put my foot near. in fairness though they were made under lisance so dont know what the "real" matherhorn are like but i dont think ill take the risk with my own money:p
    i bought a meindl version of the heix a few years ago overseas (had to as the matherhorn were destroying my feet) and ild give them the nod over the haix; not much in it though. the haix dont have as much ancle support and my ones have eyes instead of hooks which im not a fan of. the army gore were head and shoulders above everything ive ever worn though and cant wait to get another pair (this time ill look after them though:D)
    ps. friend of mine has the same boots sparks. not a bad boot for the cash;). a pair of good gaters with them and your laughing

doyle61 wrote: »
    friend of mine has the same boots sparks. not a bad boot for the cash;). a pair of good gaters with them and your laughing
    Yup, have a decent pair from the great outdoors. Between the two, it's far more than I need these days.

meindl were never a general issue in the army. the lads in the wing might have got them but they have a seperate budget to the rest of the DF so they might have got some in. we had matherhorns before the haix and all i can describe them as are the worst thing ive ever put my foot near. in fairness though they were made under lisance so dont know what the "real" matherhorn are like but i dont think ill take the risk with my own money:p
    i bought a meindl version of the heix a few years ago overseas (had to as the matherhorn were destroying my feet) and ild give them the nod over the haix; not much in it though. the haix dont have as much ancle support and my ones have eyes instead of hooks which im not a fan of. the army gore were head and shoulders above everything ive ever worn though and cant wait to get another pair (this time ill look after them though:D)
    ps. friend of mine has the same boots sparks. not a bad boot for the cash;). a pair of good gaters with them and your laughing

I've a few buds in the wing that gave me there old pairs :D

I agree that Haix have no ankle support. le chemau have it in buckets. Haix are more comfortable to wear in general hunting and you can drive a jeep no issue with them.

Stiff boots can be a little awkward on pedals when driving off road in my experience.

Meindl or Haix are both quite good, ir really depends what qualities the user values most in the boot.

In Summer my Le chameau would rot your legs as they are too high, in winter they are far warmer than haix or meindl IMHO.

Sparks wrote: »

118988.jpeg

I don't get anywhere near the amount of hiking time I used to with them, but they're completely waterproof, comfortable, and give great support to my feet (which is hard for me to find, my feet need size 12H in boots). Now, if I could get some more time walking outside either dublin or kilkenny city, I'd be happy :D
    Yer lucky I have size 13s and tis a right pain in the b**** to get boots to fit. Ecco do them though.

118988.jpeg

i see a few problems with the hitec ,there very low in the back for gators .there is no gortex , the rubber from the sole does not wrap around up around of the boot .
    as a hill boot i think they would be lacking .

The MFS of the meindl has excellent ankle support ,you put theboot on lace it up and the MF expands .

at E205 for the vakkum there is not a boot on the market to match them .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

i see a few problems with the hitec ,there very low in the back for gators .there is no gortex , the rubber from the sole does not wrap around up around of the boot .
    as a hill boot i think they would be lacking .

The MFS of the meindl has excellent ankle support ,you put theboot on lace it up and the MF expands .

at E205 for the vakkum there is not a boot on the market to match them .

HiTec had a pretty bad reputation for footwear until relatively recently. I'd share the same concerns about this boot for out on bog/hills.

Another concern I would have is the sole, while it is Vibram -which are good -I wonder exactly how stiff it is for steep stuff.

What sort of €€€ are you looking at for the army pro?

cant remember the price i paid when i bought the army pro. i got mine in padmore and barns in kilkenny and remember it was a good deal. the last meindl boots i got i remember seeing in sweden and they were €270. big difference when you consider i got them for around €100 overseas.

i have been in there a few times i did not see any savings more the opposite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Anybody use the meindl dovre extreme I'm going to get a pair of them but there over €200, I can't wear wellies anymore because I have tendinitis in my feet so I need a good pair of boots that will last for going through briars and steep glens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

Have a pair of the Meindl Eagle GTX boots which I've had for about a year now. Never needed to be broken in - Very comfortable. The day I got them, walked the long walk around Glendalough - No bother and absolutely no discomfort.

Totally waterproof too - Have been up to the ankles in bogs, marsh, lakes, and rivers - No water ingress at all.

Breathability is good - No sweaty feet. As comfortable in Summer as in Winter.

Can't rate them highly enough TBH.

(Got them in Great Outdoors in Dublin - Get a good fitting done - I would have bought the next size up - but the lad in the store recommended the lower size, and he was right. Fitted like a glove from day-one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

get yourself a pair of meindl vakuum GTX 205E in the great out doors

I have these. Great boots, they take a lot of punishment and are light enough for mountain running in all weather. Previously I used Salomon SM lite boots. Also excellent.
    Frankly, though, they're overpriced. There's a few hiking shops on Mary Street that have far better prices. Or there's always the 'net...

The price is a bit shocking, but the craft and quality is second to none, they also last about eight years if you look after them properly. I would never buy boots like this on the net, in Great Outdoors they will measure your feet individual length and width to get the perfect boot and size.

OP if you are heavier the Meindl Borneo Pro MFS might suit better.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    The price is a bit shocking, but the craft and quality is second to none, they also last about eight years if you look after them properly.
    No, I don't mean the boots were too pricy - I'm used to having to pay through the nose because of my feet, and I've come to believe that if I get a pair of boots out of it that will last a few years that it's worth it.

It's Great Outdoors I look at and think of as being Woodies to some of the other shop's Chadwicks.

As to the HiTecs, I've never owned a pair before so I can't speak as to their reputation; but they've been comfortable from day one, they've been warm at -20C in the snow in Finland and they've never leaked once from snow to slush to running water to bog. I don't get as much time away from the trail as jw or the other lads would, mind, but between them and the gaiters (and the hitec's ankle is low at the back, but not too low for the gaiters), I've not had cold or wet feet yet from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

It's Great Outdoors I look at and think of as being Woodies to some of the other shop's Chadwicks

Try Decathlon! Fair enough, I got my first kayak there as a kid, first boots, my sailing gear, surfboards, all my wetsuits. I have built up a relationship with the owner and it works out well for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Have two pairs for the last 7 months, they are outstanding build and comfort. Well worth the extra euro you will pay for them. If you are going to be covering alot of ground and you want comfort and protection get these. I have these two one I wore over the winter months during the snow and ice and one for every day use even in work for 13 hours each day and they are a joy to wear.

matreigtx.jpg

MeindlArmyPro.JPG