Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Personal webpages in your sigs

• 01-07-2010 7:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭

What do you think about having personal webpages, ie (bebo/facebook) laid out there for anyone to see/know your real name/know what you look like before even befriending them?

I'm not dogging on those people by the way I'm just curious as to what everyone thinks.. including those that do it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

It's kinda silly if you make a psychopath hate you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

What do you think about it?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

It's kinda silly if you make a psychopath hate you.
    Making him like you isn't much better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I like them better than those stupid game sigs.

Yeah I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

At the end of the day we're all real people with real identities and I personally have nothing to hide. Also, it helps in case someone wants to speak outside of boards about one thing or another, or make new friends with similar interests, or be sure about who they're talking to, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

DubMedic wrote: »
    What do you think about it?.

Well I was asking for everyone else opinions but since you asked! :p
    I dunno maybe I'm too uptight to just let anyone befriend me who I haven't met or at least spoken to for quite a while online. Just noticed some people seem to be pretty laid back about it that's all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

I think the best sigs are those weight loss tickers that don't move for months and then get removed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

liah wrote: »
    At the end of the day we're all real people with real identities and I personally have nothing to hide. Also, it helps in case someone wants to speak outside of boards about one thing or another, or make new friends with similar interests, or be sure about who they're talking to, etc.

or want to stalk...

kingofthe3rdyrs your sig is freaking me out haha. Is that one of those that picks up if you're logged in and only displays it to you? :confused:

mink_man wrote: »
    or want to stalk...

Thankfully I doubt I have to worry about being stalked so it's all good in the hood. :cool:

I agree to an extent.. you're letting complete strangers into your life and leaving yourself open to internet perverts/idiots adding you! Would it not be better to make friends on this then offer out that info? Or am I too old school :o

Flojo wrote: »
    I agree to an extent.. you're letting complete strangers into your life and leaving yourself open to internet perverts/idiots adding you! Would it not be better to make friends on this then offer out that info? Or am I too old school :o

I can choose not to add them, and having it in my sig on boards isn't the only way they could look if they really want to, but I sincerely doubt anyone's checking up on my profile for any reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

kingofthe3rdyrs your sig is freaking me out haha. Is that one of those that picks up if you're logged in and only displays it to you? :confused:

I'm logged in and it didn't display me?

Must just be you so.

I think people should be careful about the amount of information they out on the internet. Once it's out there it can't be taking back and just because you might not see any bad uses for it today doesn't mean it will stay like that.

I imagine banks in the future will be the big gathers of this info. Peoples interent habits are already affecting their credit ratings for example having poker sites come up on a credit card bill is not a good thing to be giving to banks.

I imagine there will be web spiders that will build up a profile of you to decide how sensible you are and the sort of lifestyle you lead. It wouldn't surprise me if these are already common.

I can choose not to add them, and having it in my sig on boards isn't the only way they could look if they really want to, but I sincerely doubt anyone's checking up on my profile for any reason.

If you think no ones looking at it, why have it there though? You can hardly tell if someones an idiot/pervert just by looking at their profile picture though.
    I dunno maybe I'm just old fashioned or something.. I'd just be nervous about having personal details laid bare for anyone bar my friends to see.

Yeah I suppose.

Dude explain your sig please? :(

But say you go for a job interview. Do you really want to be judged on everything you post on boards.

This has already happened with facebook and by connecting your boards profile with your facebook profile it makes your posts just as easy to find as your facebook page.

But like I've already said this will all be done automatically soon anyway so you should start being cautious now.

Using an invalid member ID in a Facebook URL when logged in will redirect back to you... simple as. Have to admit it creeped me out a little when I tried first.

lol it has nothing to do with you, It just displays whoever clicks it.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

its a link to your own profile..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,121 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's better than having a link to thepiratebay in your sig =p

If you think no ones looking at it, why have it there though? You can hardly tell if someones an idiot/pervert just by looking at their profile picture though.
    I dunno maybe I'm just old fashioned or something.. I'd just be nervous about having personal details laid bare for anyone bar my friends to see.
    Exactly. If people wanted to contact you they could send you a PM through boards.

Haha I knew it.. that's what I asked a few posts back but someone said they were logged into FB and they didn't see their link in the sig. My heart lol!

It's better than having a link to thepiratebay in your sig =p

Just spreading the love, doesn't mean I'm upto anything ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭gu10

What do you think about having personal webpages, ie (bebo/facebook) laid out there for anyone to see/know your real name/know what you look like before even befriending them?

I'm not dogging on those people by the way I'm just curious as to what everyone thinks.. including those that do it. :)

Its retarded, because a few times I saw those sigs and assumed those people were just looking for attention. So I gave them some attention since I was bored.

As soon as I messaged them they were like "Who'se dis?" "Do I know you?" "Stop messaging people you don't know already in real life you big creepy stalker!"

and these people had their bebo profile listed. I assume things would be far worse on Facebook: The antisocial non-networking oriented social networking site

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I dunno, I've got sigs turned off. Much better that way.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Wouldn't recommend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Nothing to hide eh?

*checks steam page*

PEGGLE!?!?!?! get out of here bloody casual!! :mad:

/slaps liah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

At the end of the day we're all real people with real identities...

No we're not.

Dunno re: the jobs stuff, I really don't think I'd end up in a type of line of work that would judge me based on my internet usage. Doesn't really apply to trades which is what I'd do.

Like I said.. I have nothing to hide, and have made a few friends off boards because of it. I also think it's nice to put a face behind a name sometimes. To each their own.

Dunno re: the jobs stuff, I really don't think I'd end up in a type of line of work that would judge me based on my internet usage. Doesn't really apply to trades which is what I'd do.

Like I said.. I have nothing to hide, and have made a few friends off boards because of it. I also think it's nice to put a face behind a name sometimes. To each their own.

It's not about anything to hide... it's about giving people information about you that they could use against you, fraudsters, finding out where you are or places you go etc.

That's what picture threads are for though, or just stick a picture on yourself in your sig if you really want people to see your face.

I dunno I just reckon the safer option is to make friends with people on this first then move onto something more personal.. like facebook and bebo.

Thats my opinion anyways. :)

It's not about anything to hide... it's about giving people information about you that they could use against you, fraudsters, finding out where you are or places you go etc.

That's what picture threads are for though, or just stick a picture on yourself in your sig if you really want people to see your face.

I dunno I just reckon the safer option is to make friends with people on this first then move onto something more personal.. like facebook and bebo.

Thats my opinion anyways. :)

But I don't consider Facebook to be personal, really. It's on the internet, it's a social network; I only put things on there that I'm comfortable with absolutely anyone seeing. I see it as the exact same kind of thing as boards. Sure, I use my real name on boards and I have posted pictures in myself in the "know your <insert whatever here>" threads as well as been fairly open about my life in general.

People wouldn't really be able to use what I put online against me, and if they do it doesn't bother me as it's not vital information and I'm the one who put it out in public in the first place. Fraudsters couldn't get anything from me anyway, I have no bank account or credit card or anything valuable at all whatsoever; I have literally nothing to steal or take advantage of. I've also made my locations publically known for years and not once have I had any negative incidents.

I really don't see the stigma behind it. For some people, sure, I can understand, but for me? Doesn't really apply.

But I don't consider Facebook to be personal, really. It's on the internet, it's a social network; I only put things on there that I'm comfortable with absolutely anyone seeing. I see it as the exact same kind of thing as boards. Sure, I use my real name on boards and I have posted pictures in myself in the "know your <insert whatever here>" threads as well as been fairly open about my life in general.

People wouldn't really be able to use what I put online against me, and if they do it doesn't bother me as it's not vital information and I'm the one who put it out in public in the first place. Fraudsters couldn't get anything from me anyway, I have no bank account or credit card or anything valuable at all whatsoever; I have literally nothing to steal or take advantage of. I've also made my locations publically known for years and not once have I had any negative incidents.

I really don't see the stigma behind it. For some people, sure, I can understand, but for me? Doesn't really apply.

Fair enough, so far you're one of the lucky ones! I don't know, I guess I would prefer having an air of mystery about myself rather than having it all out in the open for everyone to see. Fair play to you anyways, I wouldn't have the guts. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

:O <=3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

@ Flojo
    Who's not going to know you? You were the fastest woman in the world back in da eighties!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

my identity is a secretly kept personal facts while some boardies are on it.. It because they are indeed friends, what I can't stand are people who i dont really have much in common with adding me... Its nothing personal, I just dont see the point, so no my face book page will never be published..

squod wrote: »
    @ Flojo
    Who's not going to know you? You were the fastest woman in the world back in da eighties!

I was? Awesome.. I am famous.. bow to me minions! :p

Fraudsters couldn't get anything from me anyway, I have no bank account or credit card or anything valuable at all whatsoever; I have literally nothing to steal or take advantage of. I've also made my locations publically known for years and not once have I had any negative incidents.
    Today you might not have anything worth taking advantage but what about in the future? The information is already out there and it's not going to be easy to get back.

You say that you don't have a bank account? That can't be true:eek:
    And there is probably enough information of yours up on the web for someone to set one up in your name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

My life is an open book...........

........ which I keep in a safe in a basement behind a reinforced steel door. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

If you were really obsessed with me you'd find my Facebook details here somewhere. Planty of pics of me floating abou too. I really don't think most people care though. My signature is a link to my photo share and some pics of family and friends in there. In fact if you look you could pin point my address down pretty accurately too.

I'm with Liah in the sense I don't use the internet to play out an alternate e-life. I'm myself on here and I have shared plenty of info about me. The only times it's a disadvantage is when you want to share a story about someone or a situation but you don't really have the anonymity to do it without compromising someone elses identity. But those situations are few and far between and it's not a big deal to not join in a few threads even if you have an interesting story I would share if I was more anonymous.

A real life friend of mine found me on here really quickly without me giving my username and i'm sure it would work the other way around too.

NothingMan wrote: »
    If you were really obsessed with me you'd find my Facebook details here somewhere. Planty of pics of me floating abou too. I really don't think most people care though. My signature is a link to my photo share and some pics of family and friends in there. In fact if you look you could pin point my address down pretty accurately too.

I'm with Liah in the sense I don't use the internet to play out an alternate e-life. I'm myself on here and I have shared plenty of info about me. The only times it's a disadvantage is when you want to share a story about someone or a situation but you don't really have the anonymity to do it without compromising someone elses identity. But those situations are few and far between and it's not a big deal to not join in a few threads even if you have an interesting story I would share if I was more anonymous.

A real life friend of mine found me on here really quickly without me giving my username and i'm sure it would work the other way around too.

I didn't mean having an alternate e-life.. just that giving out a lot of information about yourself to random strangers just seems a little careless to me. Pics of yourself are grand like but what about the people tagged in the photos with you? People could easily find out the usual haunts or even the homes of said people just by taking in the backgrounds of the photos.
    I dunno maybe I'm just really paranoid or something.

I'm all for sharing stories and pictures on this but rather not let total strangers see my status updates or my more personal pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I'm all for sharing stories and pictures on this but rather not let total strangers see my status updates or my more personal pictures.

Well the one time I shared FB details it was with people who I had a major thing in common with and turned out I was in college with 2 of them (although I found that out later).

I keep my FB friends pretty trimmed down, I don't keep people, even family, who I don't really talk to. I suppose in that sense boards is a little different because, although there is a great community, I don't agree with everyone all of the time. I would say there would be a few posters who I may click ignore to on FB but not most of them. If after a few weeks I there was no interaction on FB other than raising my friends numbers you would quickly be culled.

NothingMan wrote: »
    Well the one time I shared FB details it was with people who I had a major thing in common with and turned out I was in college with 2 of them (although I found that out later).

I keep my FB friends pretty trimmed down, I don't keep people, even family, who I don't really talk to. I suppose in that sense boards is a little different because, although there is a great community, I don't agree with everyone all of the time. I would say there would be a few posters who I may click ignore to on FB but not most of them. If after a few weeks I there was no interaction on FB other than raising my friends numbers you would quickly be culled.

Oh yeah like I would totally accept boardsies I got on really well with! Just ment having it in your sig for people you've never even spoken to, in real life and on the net.

But how is putting information about yourself online any more dangerous than, say, giving your name to a stranger you met on a night out?

Strangers on the internet are the same as strangers in real life, you know. They're all the same people. Someone you've met face to face could just as easily socially engineer you into giving them the information they want to use to steal your identity by acting as, say, a job interviewer, a bank, a health insurance company, or whatever else calling. They could go through your rubbish, find out what companies you use, and pose as any of them. They could find out who you know and find out personal information about you through them. Hell, they could just flat-out steal your wallet and make off with it.

I mean, let's be realistic-- in all honestly it's probably a lot easier to steal someone's identity or stalk them or whatever else in real life as opposed to online.. online is an awful lot more effort.

I don't see the reason to be any more paranoid online than in real life. Chances are the same either way. I'm not going to go through life being terrified all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

But how is putting information about yourself online any more dangerous than, say, giving your name to a stranger you met on a night out?

Strangers on the internet are the same as strangers in real life, you know. They're all the same people. Someone you've met face to face could just as easily socially engineer you into giving them the information they want to use to steal your identity by acting as, say, a job interviewer, a bank, a health insurance company, or whatever else calling. They could go through your rubbish, find out what companies you use, and pose as any of them. They could find out who you know and find out personal information about you through them. Hell, they could just flat-out steal your wallet and make off with it.

I mean, let's be realistic-- in all honestly it's probably a lot easier to steal someone's identity or stalk them or whatever else in real life as opposed to online.. online is an awful lot more effort.

I don't see the reason to be any more paranoid online than in real life. Chances are the same either way. I'm not going to go through life being terrified all the time.

you seem to have put alot of thought into this and thus are ruining my chances of uphold my name.

For shame liah

for shame. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭TerryTibbs!

You got a good sig, tawk to me. I giv ya two grand. Tawk to me.

Much Love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Do you walk down the street with a bag on your face cos there's strangers out there :confused:

A name is just a name! A label, so what...my name is in my profile. It's no secret.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I Personally think people who have them are cunts