Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When the Private Number calls

• 01-07-2010 2:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

A friend of mine has, as long as I've known him, refused to take his phone off "Withheld Number". In fact, he bought a new phone of late and the first thing he did was put his number on private. Now, the lad in question can be a bit on the strange side at the best of times to be fair, but I have always found something slightly creepy about this in particular.

Does anyone else generally put their phones on private? Do you answer calls from Private Numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

The lad is a prankster. At least he has the brains not to leave his phone off private when pranking people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Does anyone else generally put their phones on private? Do you answer calls from Private Numbers?

I never understand why people don't answer private numbers.
    Do they think the caller is going to put a curse on them or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭shebango

Nope. Drives me around the twist. Don't like being caught off guard by someone I don't want to talk to.

And iwouldn't inflict this on someone neither!:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I ONLY answer calls from private numbers because a friend of mine who lives at home with his parents sometimes uses his house phone to ring, and his parents have it set to private. I don't know why.

I would never answer it otherwise. If you have to set your number to private then either you're incredibly vain or you're someone who is generally avoided when recognized, so either way not someone I'd want to talk to. There's absolutely no reason at all to set your number as private unless you know people won't pick up to you.. in which case, stop being an annoying prick so people don't mind answering!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

never EVER answer private numbers....a recent study showed that 99% of the time it's MBNA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I don't answer calls from private numbers. Everyone i know has their number shown, so a private number is usually someone looking for money :pac:
    Anyway,if it's important, they'll leave a message and i'll call them back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

People who don't answer their phone to private numbers are retards.

I remember one well educated gaw bean who said they have something to hide doing that.

What about landlines x directory you knob head? (to him)

No one is that important to not answer.

Unless of course they're not on o2 and are afraid of a call from the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Have never put my number on priavte and do not answer calls from a private number. Actually i dont answer my phone to any numbers i dont know. If its important they'll leave a message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Private numbers are for creeps.
    I worked with a girl once that would ring me off her own number about ten times & when I wouldn't answer she would try ringing off private number. She couldn't take the hint that I hated her as a person.

OP don't answer again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

liah wrote: »
    I ONLY answer calls from private numbers

So why do you ignore everyone else?

If you have time and want to be a pr*ck change your friend's most used numbers to 'Number Withheld' or 'Private Number' in their address book.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    So why do you ignore everyone else?

That'd be amusing if I'd actually made a mistake, but within context the sentence makes sense.

Out of context makes it amusing! Damn you! Admit it! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    If you have time and want to be a pr*ck change your friend's most used numbers to 'Number Withheld' or 'Private Number' in their address book.

Might just do that, give him a taste of his own medicine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

never EVER answer private numbers....a recent study showed that 99% of the time it's MBNA
    Yea,the as s holes,you'd think they'd get the message by know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Someone ringing from a private number generally ends up wanting something. If it's a mate, they can leave a message as Kiera said. I never EVER answer my phone to private numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

If you have to set your number to private then either you're incredibly vain or you're someone who is generally avoided when recognized, so either way not someone I'd want to talk to.

Not always, if I called you from the office but I'm behind a switchboard for about 120 people and it comes up private number.
    I don't know why, that's for the lads in IT or facilities to worry over, not my issue

A lot of private number calls are people in offices with switchboards

Edit, no I don't cold call people or work in sales. I was just giving an example

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

Answer the call, give them enough time to say 'hello' (so you can hear the voice) then, in your huskiest voice say:

"Hi big boy, welcome to the American Grizzly man love chat line. If you'd like to speak to one of our live hard piping lumberjacks please press the hash key now"

If they don't hang up or, if they press the key, just call them a pervert and hang up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭violetanderson

If the number is withheld then I'm not answering. This happened a while back and I was getting LOADS of calls from a withheld number - which I duly ignored until I couldn't take it anymore. When I finally answered it was O2 trying to find out if I was a happy customer. . . As mentioned the rule is - they'll leave a message if its important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

I ONLY answer calls from private numbers because a friend of mine who lives at home with his parents sometimes uses his house phone to ring, and his parents have it set to private. I don't know why.

I would never answer it otherwise. If you have to set your number to private then either you're incredibly vain or you're someone who is generally avoided when recognized, so either way not someone I'd want to talk to. There's absolutely no reason at all to set your number as private unless you know people won't pick up to you.. in which case, stop being an annoying prick so people don't mind answering!

I think that just means that he is ex-directory.

Not always, if I called you from the office but I'm behind a switchboard for about 120 people and it comes up private number.
    I don't know why, that's for the lads in IT or facilities to worry over, not my issue

A lot of private number calls are people in offices with switchboards

Why would I want to pick up from a place like that..? Probably just trying to sell me something anyway.

If someone was at work and wanted to contact me they'd probably just text me from their personal mobile or ring me from that mobile after work.

Private numbers are nine times out of ten people wanting to sell you something, people wanting something from you, or people you don't want to talk to. So I don't like answering them. Never know what you're going to get but you can almost guarantee it's something you don't want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Used to work for this shower about 5 years ago in st stephens green The lies that we used to tell just to sell rubbish payment protection cover. left after 3 months. Cold calling. selling to vulnerable people. was sick. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

Ugh it's so irritating, I never answer private numbers unless I'm expecting a call. If they want to get through to me that badly they can leave a voicemail or send a message. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,969 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Putting my phone on private was something me and my friends did when we were 12 and making prank calls.

I answer private numbers just because the curiosity would drive me bananas! And if they are pranksters, I hang up. It's that simple...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Why would I want to pick up from a place like that..? Probably just trying to sell me something anyway.

Not my place. I don't know why it states private number.
    It isn't sales at all, was just giving an example that it happens

And if you applied here and HR called you for an interview it'd still state private number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

If you don't want me to know who you are, you are of no interest to me. Ergo I do not respond to private/witheld/out of area numbers. As noted by others, if it is important they can leave a message - but guess what? - they seldom do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

If you are ex directory and phoning someone you know, I believe dialing 142 before the number you're calling shows the number for that call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I don't have my number on private don't see the point when I'm only ringing people I know. Anyone I know has their number shown so I don't see a need to answer a call on private, Aswell as that I have been getting harrassed by a person on private number so just let it ring really, sometimes by fella might answer it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Teens my age think it's, like, so totally awesome to withhold caller ID and I bet that every third call I get is from a private number. To be honest, I don't really mind because I text much more than I call.

I can understand the people who never answer when PRIVATE NUMBER shows up if they're business people or whatever, but when it has to be your friend or evidence points to a non-threatening caller, it's silly that certain people won't answer. They can never give a proper reason why, either. 'If they wanted to talk to me, they should have let me see them' is NOT a valid reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭looder

If you are ex directory and phoning someone you know, I believe dialing 142 before the number you're calling shows the number for that call.
    That is one of the coolest things I've ever seen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

A bit of a pet hate of mine, hence the rant. Sorry. Here we go.

Not answering private numbers is surely a pretty paranoid thing to be (not) doing. Like Oh Dear I might have to interact with someone. Possibly someone I don't know.:eek: I might have to say to someone 'I don't want to talk to you', or 'I don't want to buy something from you' or 'fvck off'. I might actually have to say something 'real' instead of a fake 'How are you love. Glad you called, listen I was just on my way but I call you back, surely.'? How mortifying, embarrassing, humiliating, inconvenient. Seriously.

Very fvckin American really.

In America people now get caller monitoring. Like you ring that person and a machine talks to you first where you have to leave your name and intent and then press a key or something. So that the person being called can screen the incoming call first without actually having to interact with someone. :confused: I should actually start selling those what with the huge number of paranoids on this forum alone.

Pretty fvckin sad really. And very American. So no doubt it will be the must have over here soon, too.

Question by the way to you people not answering to withheld caller id's.
    Do you only open letters with the sender firmly written on it? Surely most of those are trying to sell you something or are looking for money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭GirlOfGlass

I never get why people won't answer a private number call.
    It's no harm! All you have to do is hang up if you don't like who's calling you.

I also don't get people who call on private number. Are they afraid people won't answer if they see their name come up on their phone!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

I remember years ago there used to be this service that would "display" private numbers. All it turned out to be was a call divert service that would play the caller a message telling them to leave a message or ring back with a displayed number.

Rubbish.

looder wrote: »
    That is one of the coolest things I've ever seen!

OMG! You'll be blown away when you see one of these things in action then: Amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

The only time I withhold my number is when I have to ring the plumber otherwise the sh1t will not answer the phone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

lucylu wrote: »
    The only time I withhold my number is when I have to ring the plumber otherwise the sh1t will not answer the phone

Do you get the plumber in regularly?

Teeheehee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

'Cept when the painters are in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭gudbuzz

and AIB in my case! private numbers = private investigation, no thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Boskowski wrote: »

Not answering private numbers is surely a pretty paranoid thing to be (not) doing. Like Oh Dear I might have to interact with someone. Possibly someone I don't know.:eek: I might have to say to someone 'I don't want to talk to you', or 'I don't want to buy something from you' or 'fvck off'. I might actually have to say something 'real' instead of a fake 'How are you love. Glad you called, listen I was just on my way but I call you back, surely.'? How mortifying, embarrassing, humiliating, inconvenient. Seriously.

In America people now get caller monitoring. Like you ring that person and a machine talks to you first where you have to leave your name and intent and then press a key or something. So that the person being called can screen the incoming call first without actually having to interact with someone. :confused: I should actually start selling those what with the huge number of paranoids on this forum alone.

Pretty fvckin sad really. And very American. So no doubt it will be the must have over here soon, too.

Do you only open letters with the sender firmly written on it? Surely most of those are trying to sell you something or are looking for money...

I think you may have missed the point.

Why conceal your identity? Why?

I often get calls from people I don't want to talk to but to whom I have to show a modicum of respect - mother, for example, so when I see the number I have an informed choice.

Also, the nature of cell phones is that you can get calls wherever and whenever, unlike a landline which you only hear at home/work. So it is also a convenience filter. I'm eating lunch and the phone rings - oh it's Bob, good, or it's someone who doesn't want to ID themselves - tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Calls from them telemarketers seem to come up as 'call' on my phone rather than private number. Haven't a clue why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Jeanious

I never get why people won't answer a private number call.
    It's no harm! All you have to do is hang up if you don't like who's calling you.

a) why bother wasting your time? If its some cold-caller than you havent wasted your time talkin to them....if its someone else, well frankly if they won't show the basic courtesy of letting you know who they are, then they don't deserve to be answered, imho.

b) im sure some companies/scams use autodiallers that know when someone picks up, i.e. that they've just called a valid number. Ignore it and they might eventually fcuk off.

I remember years ago there used to be this service that would "display" private numbers. All it turned out to be was a call divert service that would play the caller a message telling them to leave a message or ring back with a displayed number.

Rubbish.

About 3 years ago i had a vodafone bill phone (SE w910i if it matters!) that displayed private numbers as:

Private Number

Dunno whether it was a glitch, or that particular phone or what, but when i changed to prepay it stopped workin....fcukin handy though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I answer calls from anyone - plenty of people have my number and I don't have theirs, so it could be one of them. If it's someone being a dickhead, I just hang up.

Only ever put my phone on private (put 141 in front of the number) if pranking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Never answer private numbers, even my boss knows to leave a voice mail and I will call straight back, and when I am at home I get my butler to answer the phone.

Phones are a bleeding menace, if you want to get hold of me and you know me you know where to find me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Do ye think something bad is going to happen to ye or something if ye answer a private number or what?
    So what if it's someone trying to sell you something-just hang up, if it someone you don't want to talk to-tell them you can't talk now.

Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

nipplenuts wrote: »
    I think you may have missed the point.

Why conceal your identity? Why?

I often get calls from people I don't want to talk to but to whom I have to show a modicum of respect - mother, for example, so when I see the number I have an informed choice.

Also, the nature of cell phones is that you can get calls wherever and whenever, unlike a landline which you only hear at home/work. So it is also a convenience filter. I'm eating lunch and the phone rings - oh it's Bob, good, or it's someone who doesn't want to ID themselves - tough.

Loads of possible reasons. I'm working in an office and I don't want anyone to know my direct dial in. This could apply to loads of things. Could be something bad, could be MBNA. Could be something good, could be that recruitment agency wanting to tell you you can have the job but they need a decision asap.

But I get you. Fair enough and I concede for your average private person there probably isn't a reason not to send it and I'm actually not withholding my number either. But I don't get it why it's such a big deal for some people.

Probably comes from not being 20 anymore and having grown up with and being used to phones not displaying numbers. I mean until a few years ago nobody knew who was ringing. Most normal thing in the world. So when someone says they wouldn't take such a call that sounds so paranoid to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

never answer them. Used to have a stalker (yes, really), who kept using a private number (among various ever-changing mobile numbers) to call my phone. Ever since then, I will not pick up any private number, or a call from any number I don't recognise.

(I might call the latter crowd back from the landline, in case it was something important...).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Why do people say "Hello?" when answering non-private numbers? They know perfectly well who it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Boskowski wrote: »

Everyone has someone annoying who calls them more than they want. I have about 2 or 3 of them who call always at the worst time. Either when hungover, just about to eat or when watching something. And they just keep on talking and even when you are clearly trying to tell them that you are busy. They are mates and i get along with them in person but when it comes to calls they really bring out the annoying fúck inside them.

Sometimes they have called with their numbers displayed and sometimes it has been on a private number. Either withheld or from a landline. There are times when i see their name come up on my phone and i won't answer it because i don't want to talk to them. So when i get a phone call from a private number at a time when i don't want to talk to them why should i answer it in case it is them? Nothing to do with paranoia. Just don't wanna risk having the ears burned off me. Don't tell me you've never let your phone ring out when you seen someones name come up who you didn't wanna talk to at that point in time.

It's not a paranoia thing. Phones are inherently rude inventions. It's my life, I'll talk to you when I choose to, I'm not going to be forced into talking to someone I don't want to just because they called me. End of.

*snap* *snap* *snap* You go girl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Teeheehee

we are trying to get him to install solar panels for the last 6 months ...