Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sea The Stars half brother

• 01-07-2010 11:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭

I found this on another forum about a month ago, just came across it agin on the 'puter...

EDIT: Should add Galileos half brother too I guess

STSHalfBrother2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

If memory serves me correctly this is Urban Sea's last off spring

By Invincible Spirit which makes him a pretty close relation to Sea the Stars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

If memory serves me correctly this is Urban Sea's last off spring

By Invincible Spirit which makes him a pretty close relation to Sea the Stars

Spot on Colonel, he looks the spit of STS, doesn't he? Foaled in 2009, we ought to see him sometime next year. I can only assume he'll be in Oxxs yard. Judging by the owners love for the mare, they won't have sold the foal. We might see him in Christopher Tsuis colours then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Nulty wrote: »
    I found this on another forum about a month ago, just came across it agin on the 'puter...

EDIT: Should add Galileos half brother too I guess

STSHalfBrother2.jpg

Great pic mate, do you know what he is called? He is a great looking horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Trafford Lad

Great pic and he does look like STS as well!...Speaking of Invincible Spirit, I visited the national stud a few weeks ago, well worth a visit, walking by Invincible Spirit I heard the tour guide tell a group of tourists that he is insured for 80 million!...The other pic is of Vintage Crop & Florida Pearl chilling out in the sun!

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Great pic mate, do you know what he is called? He is a great looking horse.

They don't name him until they're going to race him - not sure he'll see a race course yet. I don't know the unofficial name either though. I knicked the image off another forum.
    Great pic and he does look like STS as well!...Speaking of Invincible Spirit, I visited the national stud a few weeks ago, well worth a visit, walking by Invincible Spirit I heard the tour guide tell a group of tourists that he is insured for 80 million!...The other pic is of Vintage Crop & Florida Pearl chilling out in the sun!

Allow me! Nice pics...how much is it (€) to visit the stud?

Invincible Spirit
    119682.jpg

Invincible Spirit
    119683.jpg

Vintage Crop & Florida Pearl
    119684.jpg

I'm not 100% sure but it could have been around €12 each for adults...not a good relfection on my memory seeing as I was just there a few weeks back :). You get to sample the delights of the Japanese garden as well if you are into that type of thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Huntthe

Nice pic of Invincible Spirit. That might be Florida Pearl in the other one but the other lad in the field is a yearling.

Huntthe wrote: »
    Nice pic of Invincible Spirit. That might be Florida Pearl in the other one but the other lad in the field is a yearling.

ha. I didn't even look at it!

Sorry the last pic there is just a random Mare & Foal out in the paddock, I was just showing that pic off :). I think Vintage Crop is the third horse behind Florida Pearl in the second pic, they were in the same paddock that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Huntthe

aah :) Have Vintage crops nephew in the field beside me, feckin useless.....:)

Born To Sea

Trying not to get my hopes up but if he makes it to the track it'll be exciting. Then we can hope hes a beast. 70% of STS ability/consistency (unbeatable?) would satisfy me but I'm hoping for 90%.

He has entries in the Phoenix Stakes and the Derby obviously. Maybe we'll see him at the back end of this season or maybe next. All Urban Seas male offspring raced at 2yo so thats encouraging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

If he's entered in the Phoenix he'd want to be out soon.
    Hardly an obvious route for a derby horse.

Horse Tracker!

Goffs National Stakes Group 1. Still a fair way off, bit of an over reaction on my part...

Doubt you'd need him in the tracker Nulty,you'll hear enough when he's due to run. If he's to make the Phoenix in August you'd need him out at least two weeks before hand,so mid to the end of July at the latest. That said he might not run in that so could be later,depending on how forward he is.
    Oxx is infamous for not rushing them.

Its not encouraging that Oxx's horses are so out of sorts. 1 win in 28 last I heard. I think we'll see the best of Born To Sea next year provided they sort out the virus in the yard, supposing there is one..

Had two winners yesterday

And one the day before. His last 3 runners have won.

Date Conditions Runner Race Result Jockey OR
    04Jun11 Tra 12GF 3y Mdn(10K) Alayir 9-2[4/6f] 1st of 7 3 ½L to Templeton B A Curtis 78
    04Jun11 Tra 12GF 3y+ Mdn(10K) Dimona 8-11[4/9f] 1st of 7 5 ½L to Mojita B A Curtis
    03Jun11 Cur 12GF 3y Hcap(13K) Minsk 9-2[9/2] 1st of 7 1 ¾L to Quaintly N G McCullagh 76
    03Jun11 Cur 10GF 3y+ Mdn(12K) Perfect Coup 9-2[14/1] 9th of 19 7.94L behind Terminal Velocity B A Curtis
    03Jun11 Cur 10GF 3y+ Mdn(12K) Kastania 9-0[8/1] 5th of 19 4.81L behind Terminal Velocity N G McCullagh
    01Jun11 Tip 12GF 3y+ Mdn(10K) Saddler's Rock 9-5[9/1] 5th of 17 7.63L behind Long Live The King N G McCullagh
    01Jun11 Tip 12GF 3y+ Mdn(10K) Missy O' Gwaun 9-0[10/3] 8th of 17 24.13L behind Long Live The King J P Murtagh
    01Jun11 Tip 12GF 4y+ Hcap(10K) Perfect Gemstone 9-4[4/1] 17th of 17 54.56L behind Bondage J P Murtagh 70
    01Jun11 Tip 7GF 3-4y Mdn(10K) Zabarajad 9-5[2/9f] 2nd of 16 ¾L behind Alnashmy J P Murtagh 105
    01Jun11 Tip 5GF 3y Hcap(20K) Natalisa 8-10[10/1] 4th of 7 0.81L behind Geraldines Lass B A Curtis 80
    29May11 Leo 12GF 3y Mdn(12K) Long Journey Home 9-5[5/1] 2nd of 10 5 ½L behind Apache J P Murtagh
    29May11 Leo 12GF 3y Mdn(12K) Red Calima 9-5[33/1] 3rd of 10 9.50L behind Apache N G McCullagh
    29May11 Leo 14GF 4y+ F(47K) Nebula Storm 9-1[8/1] 5th of 8 6.00L behind Fame And Glory J P Murtagh 102
    28May11 Nav 10GF 3y F(20K) Creekside 9-0[2/1] 2nd of 4 ¾L behind Hurricane Havoc J P Murtagh
    28May11 Nav 8GF 3y+ Mdn(14K) Mountain Woman 9-0[12/1] 10th of 18 11.44L behind Laughing J P Murtagh

Born To Sea scratched from Phoenix Stakes entries

Still in the national stakes (good old horse tracker :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Sunday 25th September - Juddmonte Beresford Stakes 4.25pm

From the sportinglife:
    OXX TREADING SOFTLY WITH SEA

Born To Sea could make his highly-anticipated racecourse debut for John Oxx within the next couple of weeks.

The two-year-old son of Invincible Spirit is a half-brother to wonder horse Sea The Stars, retired after a 2009 campaign that yielded six Group One victories including the 2000 Guineas, the Derby and the Arc.

As his other half-brother is dual Derby winner and current leading sire Galileo, Born To Sea has plenty to live up to - but Oxx is not getting carried away.

"He is coming along nicely and hopefully he's not too far away from a run. He might be out in the first couple of weeks of September," said Oxx.

"He was originally due to run on Oaks day at the Curragh, but he picked up a bit of sore shins and that has just held us up a bit.

"I'm not sure where he'll run yet, I haven't identified a race. He's a promising horse but there is still a long way to go. We're not expecting him to be his half-brother reincarnated."

Seems to be taking forever to come out :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

There is a filly in the Maiden at L'town on Saturday for A P O'B, Wading is her name (Montjeu - Cherry Hinton) and the dam is a half sister (Green Desert - Urban Sea) to Sea The Stars

kfallon wrote: »
    There is a filly in the Maiden at L'town on Saturday for A P O'B, Wading is her name (Montjeu - Cherry Hinton) and the dam is a half sister (Green Desert - Urban Sea) to Sea The Stars

Very closely related to STS. Thanks for the heads up!

May well need further than 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

UrbanSea wrote: »
    May well need further than 7

Oh yeah, she'd be an Oaks filly you would imagine, then again she could turn out to be a Derby filly......donkey Derby :P

We just have to wait and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

kfallon wrote: »
    Thought at first glance Montjeu was a strange choice of sire for the dam. She never won a race but finished fifth in the Oaks, so a 12f sire is okay and it brings in sadlers wells to the pedigree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭jayroyal

Don't forget thats a half sister to the great Galileo too

jayroyal wrote: »
    Don't forget thats a half sister to the great Galileo too

Yes but the mare's sire side is borrowing from the Danzig < Green Desert line too. I know Montjeu < Saddlers Wells comes from Northern Dancer too but the speed that the Danzig line put into their progeny makes it a bit confusing with Montjeu mixed in.

She'll be racing over a least 10f-12f as she matures. Cherry Hinton was 5th in the Oaks in 07.

Wonder Of Wonders is out of a Saddlers Wells - Urban Sea union in All Too Beautiful, who was second in the Oaks to Ouija Board.

Montjeu fillies aren't the greatest though are they so I wouldn't be putting anything on her winning the Oaks even with a great looking win on Saturday.

Even with Danzig on the dams side I can see her being a 12 furlong filly next year at least I'd be surprised if she was a 10 furlong

Yes but the mare's sire side is borrowing from the Danzig < Green Desert line too. I know Montjeu < Saddlers Wells comes from Northern Dancer too but the speed that the Danzig line put into their progeny makes it a bit confusing with Montjeu mixed in.

She'll be racing over a least 10f-12f as she matures. Cherry Hinton was 5th in the Oaks in 07.

Wonder Of Wonders is out of a Saddlers Wells - Urban Sea union in All Too Beautiful, who was second in the Oaks to Ouija Board.

Montjeu fillies aren't the greatest though are they so I wouldn't be putting anything on her winning the Oaks even with a great looking win on Saturday.
    I can't think of any other sire that Coolmore have standing in Europe that would suit her? . A mating with Danehill Dancer would have been my choice to put a bit of precocious speed into the line. Any thoughts on a suitable sire for the Dam?

Even with Danzig on the dams side I can see her being a 12 furlong filly next year at least I'd be surprised if she was a 10 furlong

That doesn't mean they won't race her over 10f. If theres a 10f race that fits the bill, they'll put her in it. Sure didn't they put Cape Blanco in over a mile!

tryfix wrote: »
    I can't think of any other sire that Coolmore have standing in Europe that would suit her? . A mating with Danehill Dancer would have been my choice to put a bit of precocious speed into the line. Any thoughts on a suitable sire for the Dam?

Starspangledbanner?

Lots of speed there, but a little short on pedigree?

Couldn't send her to starspangledbanner. You'd want a proven sire line in the blood. Choisir doesn't offer too much confidence

I would have quite liked to see Henrythenavigator. Obviously him in America is an annoyance though

Are we talking about breeding a racehorse or a stallion here?

Fair point and Starspangled isn't that badly bred either. When you have a dam from a blue hen line, you would be trying to keep that line as active as possible. So if SSB turned out to be a modest stallion then the foal would be less attractive as a broodmare line. I'd be thinking something from Danehill line, how about Strategic Prince if we're keeping with the Coolmore sires.

Neither starspangledbanner or Strategic Prince are proven sires. Strategic Prince has a better line than banner but you wouldn't see the top broodmare being sent to either one of those unproven sires,one who was an average group performer and the other who's pedigree doesn't scream of producing a stallion.

I know henry is unproved as a stallion but comes from a nice line. He has the Mr Prospector side through Kingmambo who is a proven sire of sires with his dam being by Saddlers' Wells,and she was a proper good mare. A nice mix of speed and stamina there. Her dam was by Riverman so there's some really nice bloodline there.

Obviously this is all hypothetical,with Urban Sea dead and the Tsui's having stopped using Coolmore stallions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 autocorrect

hi lads just thought i'd mention noble mission he's a full brother to frankel, I think its galeleo (ire) and kind (Ire) he's close to running, I think he'll be an interesting one to watch

Neither starspangledbanner or Strategic Prince are proven sires. Strategic Prince has a better line than banner but you wouldn't see the top broodmare being sent to either one of those unproven sires,one who was an average group performer and the other who's pedigree doesn't scream of producing a stallion.

I know henry is unproved as a stallion but comes from a nice line. He has the Mr Prospector side through Kingmambo who is a proven sire of sires with his dam being by Saddlers' Wells,and she was a proper good mare. A nice mix of speed and stamina there. Her dam was by Riverman so there's some really nice bloodline there.

Obviously this is all hypothetical,with Urban Sea dead and the Tsui's having stopped using Coolmore stallions.
    The dam Cherry Hinton is the one we are hypothetically sending the stallion to, and she is owned by Coolmore. I wouldn't dismiss Strategic Prince yet, a gp1 2yo winner in his first crop. Coolmore like the Dansili line and Strategic Princes dam side is strong. Using a €4,000 stallion mightn't be the most logical move, but we're just trying to work with what's available.

Ah sorry tryfix forgot what we were discussing.

No problem, we're just playing Fantasy Premiership Breeding.:)

Continuing on topic.

Strategic Prince having a group 1 winner in his first crop is impressive,but the rest of the crop are hardly as fantastic. Redact looks a nice colt(rated 95) but apart from them two,the next highest rated is 85.

Holy Roman Emperor would be my choice if I sent her to one of the cheaper sires. He's impressed me so far and Banimpire has shown that he should get some middle distance runners. You'd have Danehill in the bloodline. His dam is interstingly bred,she has a nice US pedigree by secretariast out of a mare by Northern Dancer.

I like HRE as a stallion and it wouldn't be a bad mating for her. How about High Chaparral, an oaks fifth to a Derby winner, similar to Montjeu in bringing in Sadlers Wells but a little less of a stamina influence.

Didn't think of him. He's a bargain over here compared to in Oz. Stands for 25k versus 100k over there. I'm sure he'll be getting some nice mares this year and next year with the exploits of SYT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 myfeelings

I don't think that Strategic Prince will ever have the chance to see the backside of such a good mare. He didn't train on and his stock are two big and backwards in general, regardless of what people say about the filly La Collina it wont help him that much.

Montjeu fillies aren't bad. If you said that to the boys in Coolmore they'd say your like the tourist's that always come up with that saying.

If it where to any Coolmore sire for me it would have to be Giants Causeway he would add speed and grit to the cross most likely be a 10f horse. For me he would be the best option at Coolmore

Dansili is the best option for her too me maybe she has something by him?. He will get a Derby yet his progeny are tough and also good over a range of distances. He is the type of Danehill that Coolmore want, Danehill Dancer can do it but he's pushing on and everyone knows about these staying son's of Danehill that retired recently

myfeelings wrote: »
    I don't think that Strategic Prince will ever have the chance to see the backside of such a good mare. He didn't train on and his stock are two big and backwards in general, regardless of what people say about the filly La Collina it wont help him that much.

Montjeu fillies aren't bad. If you said that to the boys in Coolmore they'd say your like the tourist's that always come up with that saying.

If it where to any Coolmore sire for me it would have to be Giants Causeway he would add speed and grit to the cross most likely be a 10f horse. For me he would be the best option at Coolmore

Dansili is the best option for her too me maybe she has something by him?. He will get a Derby yet his progeny are tough and also good over a range of distances. He is the type of Danehill that Coolmore want, Danehill Dancer can do it but he's pushing on and everyone knows about these staying son's of Danehill that retired recently

You can't tell me that if you send a mare to Montjeu that you aren't praying its a colt you get. Even more so than with other sires

The fillies may not as be good as the colts but they all have one thing in common,they're tough as nails. Sarah Lynx recently won a group 2. Would I be correct in saying Montjeu has sired 2 group 1 winning fillies?

I normally wouldn't have a clue, but according to RP, two G1 winning fillies/mares. Montare and Sharvasti

One was a G1 winner in New Zealand for which she recieved an RPR of 104. G1 in name only really.

Pink Symphony could go on to better grades but doubt she'll find a G1 weak enough.