Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you really care being called a noob?

• 01-07-2010 11:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭

More or less everything is considered noobish to some degree. Glaunchers, MLC, camping, the knife, claymores, danger close, killstreaks, HBS, the UMP, the Scar etc etc

I admit when getting the DC embelm I did feel pretty cheap and in the end was sick and tired of blowing up anything that moved but anyone can use any perk/weapon combo. I don't think anything is particularly overpowered.

I just see the term "noob" being thrown around a lot and always think "meh so what?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

Ive stopped caring what anyone else thinks. Who cares what a 12 year old in Idaho thinks of you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Walsh475

meh i take it as a comlipment now as its usually some 10 year old american having a hissy fit that he is losing and will be losing stats on his precious K/D ratio.

and besides if you dont use any "noob style" perks/weapons they arent going to give you a medal for not using it. i have been known to use danger close oneman army launhers to level they playingfield from time to time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

don't use commando or oma or any of that ****e but i'll always have a grenade launcher for one reason only and that's revenge killing,i can't help myself going back to get someone when I know where they are camped out and instead of gettin picked off again on my way back i'll get them from a ridiculous distance away,usually takes a test shot first and then the satisfying direct hit,and I couldn't case less about what anyone else says,i've had my fun and that's all that matters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I've been called a noob for sending a thumper grenade sailing through a window and taking out two boosters and their TI's, I knew they were there and it was a damn good shot, but for the rest of the match they kept calling me "that noob" every time I was disrupting them, knobs.

and no, I've decided to not give a sh1t about if people think using an ACR with stopping power, or a thumper, or akimbo mpk5's is "nooby", they're in the game, so they're fair game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

I love getting called a noob at the end of a game when your 2k points above everyone else, great fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

I have never been called a noob :cool:

other things though yes :D

I have never been called a noob :cool:

other things though yes :D

lol

i get called many different things under the sun, especially when i went 38-0 on invasion not my fault no one on the other team would bother to take out a stinger and shoot it down :D

Walsh475 wrote: »
    lol

i get called many different things under the sun, especially when i went 38-0 on invasion not my fault no one on the other team would bother to take out a stinger and shoot it down :D

this wrecks my head, when people assume someone else will shoot down the air support for them, then nobody does and the team gets annihilated.

krudler wrote: »
    this wrecks my head, when people assume someone else will shoot down the air support for them, then nobody does and the team gets annihilated.

it annoyed me too thats why i always have a stinger equipped its also easy xp for wiping out airsupport. its easier than one would think to shoot down an AC-130 and harriers go down with 1 stinger

but as for the 38-0 noone shot down my airsupport i had harrier, pavelow, chopper gunner and it was domination any they allowed their team to get spawn trapped as none of them were interested in taking any of the capture points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Whats even worse is when the retards are constantly running outside without cold blooded, instead of waiting it out and not giving them free kills

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭celtic723

Never been called one. I can't understand why. When i play in the resurgence playlists and a SnD match comes up on Vacant i whip out my AT4 launcher with danger close pro, and pray that my team spawns outside where the containers are.

When the game starts i switch straight to launcher as i run towards the place where bombsite A?? ( the big room) is and launch it straight into the little room that joins the spawnpoint to the bomb room.

Triple kill.:D

Job well done. Funny thing is the gob****es persist on coming back and trying to do it again, and fail miserably by taking the launcher in the mush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

Out of interest, how does this wreck your head. I presume it's when "your" team gets annihilated, so why haven't you saved the team by getting out your stinger? ;):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭jfrmbray

I despise running into people like you in-game.You can't shoot straight so you resort to using awful perks/equipment which even my gran could use.CoD isn't even a ****ing shooter anymore,it's just one big explosion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

jfrmbray wrote: »
    I despise running into people like you in-game.You can't shoot straight so you resort to using awful perks/equipment which even my gran could use.CoD isn't even a ****ing shooter anymore,it's just one big explosion

I presume my post wasn't there when you started typing....

All you ever type on here is whine.

shawpower wrote: »
    Out of interest, how does this wreck your head. I presume it's when "your" team gets annihilated, so why haven't you saved the team by getting out your stinger? ;):)
    I presume my post wasn't there when you started typing....

um......................what?I'm not talking about air-support but about people using tubes etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Lets face it in public rooms its good to get a bit of banter going,it livens up the game and is good craic.

Whinge....Whinge....Whinge.

Who the **** robbed your years supply of lolipops ya bloody crank!!!

I didn't put these perks in the game, iw did. IF they believe they're fair game then i'll use them as i see fit.

You're probably one of the fools that runs into my launcher every game.

Get a grip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Soulja boy

noob here, I'm always feeling the need to QQ when people call me a noob, or noobis.

celtic723 wrote: »

I didn't put these perks in the game, iw did. IF they believe they're fair game then i'll use them as i see fit.

Get a grip.

+111111ONEONEONE!!!!!!

Get a grip.

get a grip yourself,do you honestly think that painkiller is fair?or that camping is fair?Just cause it's in the game doesn't mean it's "fair".

yeah i'll whinge on this if i want to,especially if its full of mongoloids like yourself that think that they're the dogs bollocks if they get a few kills from tubes.

and no i'm not one of those "fools".I'd dominate you on this,believe me....

That lad is right though ...........The last two weeks I've been going for nukes and the game is just one big explosion lol

If you just stop and listen to the game for 5/6 secs all you can hear is tubes being fired .

Theres very little skill in this game ........if you kill a lad he will come back with commando , if you kill him again he will come back with danger close

Theres no skill in most games

get a grip yourself,do you honestly think that painkiller is fair?or that camping is fair?Just cause it's in the game doesn't mean it's "fair".

yeah i'll whinge on this if i want to,especially if its full of mongoloids like yourself that think that they're the dogs bollocks if they get a few kills from tubes.

I don't use painkiller nor do i camp but if i feel the need to use a launcher with danger close pro i'll do it. What you seem to forget is that it's only a game, not real life. I repeat NOT REAL LIFE.

I don't run around the map with scavenger using thumpers ffs. I use the launcher at the start of a round and when it's gone it's gone i run around with a machine gun.

You'd dominate me? hahahaha. Yet again i repeat, IT'S A GAME.

I don't use painkiller nor do i camp but if i feel the need to use a launcher with danger close pro i'll do it. What you seem to forget is that it's only a game, not real life. I repeat NOT REAL LIFE.

I don't run around the map with scavenger using thumpers ffs. I use the launcher at the start of a round and when it's gone it's gone i run around with a machine gun.

You'd dominate me? hahahaha. Yet again i repeat, IT'S A GAME.

yeah i know it's not real life,well done on pointing that out cpt. obvious,have to repeat it a few times to remind yourself?btw,I like to enjoy playing games and getting killed from spawn by a launcher by someone who isn't able to outshoot me normally isn't what I call "fun".

If you feel ok with knowing that you didn't earn any of your kills then fire away

yeah i know it's not real life,well done on pointing that out cpt. obvious,have to repeat it a few times to remind yourself?btw,I like to enjoy playing games and getting killed from spawn by a launcher by someone who isn't able to outshoot me normally isn't what I call "fun".

If you feel ok with knowing that you didn't earn any of your kills then fire away

ZING !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭neonman

Lads its only a game !!

Use whatever setup you want. I dress the way I want but I don't have tools passing me by in the street calling my a noob because they don't like the sh*t I'm wearing.

You just need to adapt to the game you find yourself in and change your class next time you die.

I've just realised that there's no point in replying to you.

Everytime you post i can't see past the whinging and moaning about something or other. Maybe think about what you're going to post rather than posting the first thing that comes to mind.

Although it's a given that you'll just continue to whinge and moan about things in the game that don't suit you.

Boring....................

neonman wrote: »
    Lads its only a game !!

Use whatever setup you want. I dress the way I want but I don't have tools passing me by in the street calling my a noob because they don't like the sh*t I'm wearing.

You just need to adapt to the game you find yourself in and change your class next time you die.

Finally someone with a bit of cop on.

I've just realised that there's no point in replying to you.

Everytime you post i can't see past the whinging and moaning about something or other. Maybe think about what you're going to post rather than posting the first thing that comes to mind.

Although it's a given that you'll just continue to whinge and moan about things in the game that don't suit you.

Boring....................

alright sorry mr.i'llrepeatthatitsagame4000times.I obviously am going to moan about something I don't like.Why shouldn't I?It's a forum for discussion.
    Also,it's not that they don't suit me,I can use them if i want,I just don't see the point of killing somebody that way when I get no satisfaction out of it,knowing that I just cheated a kill.

Also nice generic "think before you post" comeback.Sadly enough,it's not relevant here.

Honestly,wouldn't you feel happier if nobody used any of the "nooby" things?

alright sorry mr.i'llrepeatthatitsagame4000times.I obviously am going to moan about something I don't like.Why shouldn't I?It's a forum for discussion.
    Also,it's not that they don't suit me,I can use them if i want,I just don't see the point of killing somebody that way when I get no satisfaction out of it,knowing that I just cheated a kill.

Also nice generic "think before you post" comeback.Sadly enough,it's not relevant here.

Tbh i'd prefer if there was no grenade launchers at all or painkiller.

But there is and i've just got to deal with it. Pretty simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭neonman

You nailed it on the head there. "when I get no satisfaction out of it"

Each to their own, no ??

Tbh i'd prefer if there was no grenade launchers at all or painkiller.

But there is and i've just got to deal with it. Pretty simple.

In fairness someone has to die 4 times in a row to get painkiller , and it only lasts for 10 seconds , dont see what the big deal is.

I do the majority of the time, anyone who plays with me on here can tell you I take out most of the harriers/pavelows and even uav's on games. But its hard to when you're standing there looking up waiting for a stinger to lock on and your team isnt giving any support so you get blasted, which is usually what happens with randoms, I've had a few boardsies back me up for this at times, and vice versa.

Shammy wrote: »
    In fairness some has to die 4 times in a row to get painkiller , and it only lasts for 10 seconds , dont see what the big deal is.

There is no big deal. That's what i've been saying all along.

I don't care what set up people use i honestly don't give a sh1t, things are there to be used and you've got to use your own cop on to find ways to counteract them.

I was asked if i'd prefer the game without these things and i've said yes.
    I don't feel the need for them as there's already a huge selection of things to use.

Well Stopping Power isnt "fair" either, some guy is using the same gun as you but his has more oomph as he has SP on it, none of the perks are fair when you consider it, they're all there to counteract another. Commando and Danger Close are the ones most people have a problem with, but I couldnt care less if someone is using Sitrep and spots a claymore I put down and shoots it to "cheat" me out of a kill.

and its only a game, relax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

neonman wrote: »
    Lads its only a game !!

I've got this great image of you walking down the street wearing a jumper on backwards or something being called a noob now. :o:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

Shammy wrote: »
    In fairness some has to die 4 times in a row to get painkiller , and it only lasts for 10 seconds , dont see what the big deal is.

It can be with an unfair spawn system that promotes revenge kills.

I do use Danger Close, though only on C4. It sucks that the DC emblem is regarded as nooby tho.

Two times that come to mind when I have been called a noob are: Once I killed an entire team with the last MG with extended mags, and when I killed a guy with a M4. Some people just love complaining.

CORaven wrote: »
    It can be with an unfair spawn system that promotes revenge kills..

Only in ffa maybe , In team matches if you spawn trap a team , then you will probably see a lot of painkiller, In fairness its probably their only chance of getting out.

CORaven wrote: »
    I do use Danger Close, though only on C4. It sucks that the DC emblem is regarded as nooby tho.

Two times that come to mind when I have been called a noob are: Once I killed an entire team with the last MG with extended mags, and when I killed a guy with a M4. Some people just love complaining.

Not too sure why you were called a noob for using the m4 , probably one of the weakest of a/r's imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Well if you're under lvl 29, you can't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Well Stopping Power isnt "fair" either, some guy is using the same gun as you but his has more oomph as he has SP on it, none of the perks are fair when you consider it, they're all there to counteract another. Commando and Danger Close are the ones most people have a problem with, but I couldnt care less if someone is using Sitrep and spots a claymore I put down and shoots it to "cheat" me out of a kill.

and its only a game, relax.

People complaining about perks really irks me. So someone knifed you with Commando pro, so what, next time that person is snooping around maybe you'll have SitRep Pro on and be a better shot. Stopping Power or Danger Close got you beat on a few maps? Hard luck, better luck next time. Etc. The variety of perks are in the game so nobody has a solid advantage, 1 negates 2, 2 negates 3, 3 negates 1.

Someone choosing one of the 'unfair' perks closes off options for themselves by doing so, thus letting the opposition out-tactic them. That 14-year old from Wisconsin may have Commando on, but that just means he can't use Ninja.

Except Scrambler, it's a disadvantage.

/offtopic

I am a noob, i've only been playing the game for a week and I run-and-gun because I have fun doing it (also because I can't snipe for crap). I enjoy watching my killcams to out-flank my killer and doing so earns me a lot of insults. I use Commando Pro one match out of every three because the no falling damage is great for escapes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Ryan!

I won a free for all a while back just using the usp45 with no attachments, and got a hail of abuse from the americans saying im a noob.

Now if i was a noob (new player to the game i presume) and i can beat them with just a handgun then what does that make them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

Anyone that takes that sh!t seriously needs to be stabbed in the face with a trident... laugh it off lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Ryan!

Flojo wrote: »
    Anyone that takes that sh!t seriously needs to be stabbed in the face with a trident... laugh it off lads!
    I dont take it seriously but it definitely gets irritating after a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

weell the way some people go on, everythinng is Noobish, which is quite frankly a joke.

I enjoy playing the game for what it is, a game.

No matter how you kill someone and with no matter comboination of gun/perk/playing style, someone will take offence to it and call you a noob.

I just get on with and play whatever way I want, im sure everyone has used a so called "noob loadout" before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

I enjoy the abusive messages:Dalthough I have stopped being overly rude back because A)some pr1ck reported my motto(Im a cunny funt=3 day ban:eek:)and dont wanna pick up anymore and b)as annoying as boosters are,it aint right calling a ten year old a penis licker:D

As for using commando pro and whatever else,fukk it its in the game,its there to be used so let em at it.Tbh how often in a game do you get killed with commando pro?once maybe twice,if that?camping snipers p1ss me off more tbh

Lab_Mouse wrote: »
    I enjoy the abusive messages:Dalthough I have stopped being overly rude back because A)some pr1ck reported my motto(Im a cunny funt=3 day ban:eek:)and dont wanna pick up anymore and b)as annoying as boosters are,it aint right calling a ten year old a penis licker:D

As for using commando pro and whatever else,fukk it its in the game,its there to be used so let em at it.Tbh how often in a game do you get killed with commando pro?once maybe twice,if that?camping snipers p1ss me off more tbh

camping snipers are easy kills as they will always go back to the same spot i like to tease them with the kill cam and leave c4 where i shot them from :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

As for using commando pro and whatever else,fukk it its in the game,its there to be used so let em at it.Tbh how often in a game do you get killed with commando pro?once maybe twice,if that?camping snipers p1ss me off more tbh[/QUOTE]

It's an absolute myth that the Marathon Lightweight Commando (MLC) combo is OP. I totally agree you rarely get killed by one. The problem is you always seem to be on the verge of a Harrier, Pave Low, CG etc when some fkr lunges through a hail of bullets and knifes you from 15 feet.:eek: A good MLC player is hard to beat but most are just shotgun fodder.

My definition of camping is staring at a door/area hoping for someone to come through it. You can "tactically defend" an area which some people confuse with camping.

gimli2112 wrote: »
    You can "tactically defend" an area which some people confuse with camping.

Very true, I've no issue with a team holding one area of the map, like the house on Estate, or one side of Salvage, which is really easy to do, I didnt like that map at all untill I started playing Ground Wars on it, now its one of my favourites, especially for Domination games as holding C can be great fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭youllneverknow

I have to say HBS is noobyer then a grenade launcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

I have to say HBS is noobyer then a grenade launcher

I have disagree with you there. (very dangerous, I know).
    I have one class with a HB just for taking out noobs. Although I do not like using it against low levels, I use it to clear areas of those with Commando and Steady Aim [odd time SR and Scrambler].