Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The ethics of dwarfs in entertainment

• 29-06-2010 3:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Inspired by this thread in theatre and performing arts, and (for fans of pro-wrestling) the recent appearance of 'Half Pint Brawlers'...

Do you think the use of dwarves for entertainment purposes is exploitation or empowering? I've a mate for whom the excellent In Bruges was ruined by the use of a dwarf (he's an equality studies grad, go figure) and, while I wasn't too put out by it, I find little people are sometimes used in an offensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

They make me lol. Like the ones in american pie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

This thread reminded me of a great stag party prank :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Love dwarfs, they should really bring back dwarf tossing*

*as in throwing, not...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

geeky wrote: »
    I find little people are sometimes used in an offensive

Well, there's no point in using them in defense - they can't deal with the aerial challenges effectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

They prefer to be called midgets! Ya insensitive geek!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

I find exploiting D'Arby O'Gill look-a-likes much easier

Like taking a pension from an old person!

*Evil Laugh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

I think dwarfs are only small time entertainment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

NothingMan wrote: »
    They prefer to be called midgets! Ya insensitive geek!
    actually, they prefer dwarves. They're sticklers for correct pluralisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

I find little people are sometimes used in an offensive

Hardly. Drawves are pretty hard to lure away from their mines for a fight and dont get me started on Hobbits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

actually, they prefer dwarves. They're sticklers for correct pluralisation.

Really? Because I heard that they don't sweat the small stuff...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

Disney fuelled exploitation - on that topic, is there any truth that Snow White's favourite drink was "seven up in cider"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

In before Lucky Charms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I don't like exploiting dwarves. Personally, I feel it's below me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I don't like exploiting dwarves. Personally, I feel it's below me.

Yeah but different strokes...like...

brummytom wrote: »
    Love dwarfs, they should really bring back dwarf tossing

Tall order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

There's no shortage of puns in this thread is there!!

Folks, we have gone seriously OT here - the OP clearly said dwarf's and not dwarves.

So he is clearly talking about d'klingons.

(that is if Tolkien was correct of course)

This thread is nothing short of disgraceful. A lot of small minded people posting just so they can look down on others. You people need to grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Dwarfs and Midgets are very offensive words, the politically correct word for them I believe are Mexicans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

alwaysadub wrote: »

Knee-high say more?

alwaysadub wrote: »

I'm leafing through a copy of Webster's in search for more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

It's exploiting their physical characteristics in the same way they exploit the physical characteristics of attractive people. Sure they are using the humerous side, but ugly or fat people probably feel alot worse, and at the end of the day they made the decision themselves.

Having said that I don't really find dwarves funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Dwarfs and Midgets are very offensive words, the politically correct word for them I believe are Mexicans

But only 1 of the 7 was called sleepy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Do you think the use of dwarfs for entertainment purposes is exploitation or empowering? I've a mate for whom the excellent In Bruges was ruined by the use of a dwarf (he's an equality studies grad, go figure) and, while I wasn't too put out by it, I find little people are sometimes used in an offensive

shur, what else are they good for?

i jest, i jest :D

Seven dwarves in a bath feeling happy, happy got out and they all felt grumpy.

*trips over tumbleweed whilst backing out brandishing a stool*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Personally, I hate the way dwarves are often portrayed as intellectually inferior to normal-sized people in films.

There's nothing funny about a stupid dwarf. It's not big and it's not clever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

Dwarf puns....

how could ye all stoop so low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

Inspired by this thread in theatre and performing arts, and (for fans of pro-wrestling) the recent appearance of 'Half Pint Brawlers'...

Do you think the use of dwarfs for entertainment purposes is exploitation or empowering? I've a mate for whom the excellent In Bruges was ruined by the use of a dwarf (he's an equality studies grad, go figure) and, while I wasn't too put out by it, I find little people are sometimes used in an offensive

Well he was obviously wasn't a very good student - he'd rather that either:

A) they refused to use dwarves in the film because they're so obviously different and it seems exploitative

or

B) they should be treated just like any other "normal" person i.e. ignore the fact that they're really small and pretend nothing's different!?

Really big people muscley people embrace their difference from the average joe and do weight competitions, or play up the "big+dumb" stereotype in films. Why shouldn't really small people embrace their difference and do things the average joe can't do and make people laugh??

Maybe next he'll give out that fat people shouldn't be allowed in comedy films because at some point a quip about their weight might be made.

While we're at it, lets take out all red heads, bald people, tall skinny people......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Personally I cant stand the feckers, always biting me on the arms and legs on a summers evening...

While we're at it, lets take out all red heads, bald people, tall skinny people......

You mean like, out on a date? Where would you take them - people might see you:eek:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Is it true they really grant wishes?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

I already hate him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Dwarfs are great in movies. You can use them in backgrounds to help make convincing forced perspectives or you have them up close dressed as Ewoks or a variety of other sci-fi/fantasy story characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

This is what they think of you

fee.gif

bonerm wrote: »
    Dwarfs are great in movies. You can use them in backgrounds to help make convincing forced perspectives...

Somebody's been reading the Facts thread. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

I already hate him.

leave him alone, somebody's gotta make the world less fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

They really are nature's little punchlines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant are making a sitcom with a dwarf called Life's Too Short.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Why do people get pissed off at dwarves being used in films? As far as I'm aware they're there voluntarily and understand what they're putting themselves up for (otherwise, where the hell can I get me a slave midget?!). They obviously don't mind. So.. where does the "inequality" bs come in, exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Was talking about this at lunch time. Wee man being chased by Preston was the only reason that I used to like Jackass...
    LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

So would your friend rather that dwarves weren't allowed to act? Thats a bit discriminatory. It's not as if they're forced into roles they aren't happy with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

liah wrote: »
    Why do people get pissed off at dwarves being used in films? As far as I'm aware they're there voluntarily and understand what they're putting themselves up for (otherwise, where the hell can I get me a slave midget?!). They obviously don't mind. So.. where does the "inequality" bs come in, exactly?

Exactly. Hiring a dwarf is only as offensive as hiring a black guy or an old lady or a fat guy or a nerdy guy or a handsome guy or a slender girl or a tall dude or a blonde girl. It's all about the part. Mehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Obviously they're mentally incapacitated and incapable of deciding for themselves what to do, as a result of their height. So we have to decide for them. Or something :rolleyes:

Sometimes I wonder are there people just sitting around looking for things to be offended at

Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant are making a sitcom with a dwarf called Life's Too Short.

Why don't they make a sitcom about a fat, ignorant tw*t & a skinny, tall eejit.

Oh, wait...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

some of them make a small fortune though...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

There are no small parts... only small actors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Somebody's been reading the Facts thread. ;)

'frada not in this case. I doubt a day will come where I'm learning anything about the making of Casablanca from AH!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I was at a thing called "Leprechaun Curling" in New Zealand where you and a partner had to take an arm and a leg each of an almost naked dwarf/midget and slide him down a greasy slipway they made in the bar, covered in oil etc. The winner was the person who got his belly button closest to target at the end. It wasn't easy, but pretty hilarious.

Where else.....?

www.rent-a-midget.com

If you're in need of a Cupid to give your sweetheart an awesome Valentines, a Leprechaun to pass out candy or shots at your St. Patty's Day Party, or an Elf for your Christmas event, then you have come to the right place. We go above and beyond to make sure your event is a success. We personally guarantee that every thing goes according to plan with a live person on the phone 24/7 to answer any and all questions you may have. We're open for any occasion. Birthday parties or telegrams, office pranks and an occasional TV Show or movie. Don't hesitate to call, we're not meanies, we promise! We look forward to hearing from you!