Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biker Gangs.

• 27-06-2010 5:08pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Was Just watching a Doco there on the net about outlaw biker gangs in the good old u.s.a, i know we have a few biker outfits in Ireland but so far outlaw biker gangs have never taken off in Ireland as they have in Canada U.S and Oz.
    I must say i have encountered a good few Hells Angels before in Canada in bars and i must say they were very friendly towards me and seemed to love Irish people, i even went on the piss with a few of em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Dear Diary....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Well, in America you could hop on yer bike and drive into the wilderness or Route 66

Here, you could hop on your bike and drive from Galway to Dublin...........maybe get pulled by the Guards for not wearing the legal attire when riding a bike.................oh, and those tire threads look a little thin, too......................I don't like the sound of that exhaust either.....................penalty points!

Oh, and some scumbag will probably leave a giant phlem on the seat of your bike, too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Was Just watching a Doco there on the net about outlaw biker gangs in the good old u.s.a, i know we have a few biker outfits in Ireland but so far outlaw biker gangs have never taken off in Ireland as they have in Canada U.S and Oz.
    I must say i have encountered a good few Hells Angels before in Canada in bars and i must say they were very friendly towards me and seemed to love Irish people, i even went on the piss with a few of em.
    Isn't there a Hells Angels chapter just started in Belfast, methinks.

Edit: yes, there is...http://www.hellsangelsbelfast.com/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Abrasax wrote: »
    Isn't there a Hells Angels chapter just started in belfast, methinks.

Edit: yes, there is...http://www.hellsangelsbelfast.com/

Yes correct.

I was at the opening of one of their bars (not a clubhouse) in Fuengirola recently.
    They seemed like a nice bunch of lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

There's a few Outlaw biker gangs in Ireland.

From a crime point of view though historically they've never really been as involved with the crime world / drug trade as their US / Canadian / Scandinavian counterparts.

Canadian biker gangs pretty much control the Meth trade in their country, through their ruthless approach to both internal discipline and their ruthless approach to market competitors.

Trying to get a foothold in this country to do something similar is a mug's game really, mainly because you'll quickly find yourself going toe-to-toe with people who have decades of experience in running a well funded, well organised paramilitary organisation, and no matter how ruthless a biker gang can get you'd still have a hard time imagining them blowing up busy shopping streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

One of the Wexford Viking biker gang used to sell me hash, does that count as criminal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I saw a documentary on the Mongols a while back. Lunatics!

dlofnep wrote: »
    I saw a documentary on the Mongols a while back. Lunatics!
    That Ghengis Khan was a right head-the-ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

No wonder a lot of biker gangs aren't seen in Ireland when we have more of this than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

i know we have a few biker outfits in Ireland but so far outlaw biker gangs have never taken off in Ireland.

Most of the lads I went to school with that were into bikes are now crippled or dead.....that might factor into why it hasn't taken off......you can't have a gang with no members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Saw a couple of bikers in Kilarney there a few weeks ago when they had the motorbikefest thing. I was just there for the bank holiday weekend on a p!ss up with my friends but we came at the same time as them. One of the guys who was with us was adament that the bikers would ruin our weekend there because he read a book about the Hells Angels and said they were dangerous:rolleyes:. So we naturally assumed the worst of them. But one night we got seperated from another guy who was out of it, after drinking two triple captain morgans and a couple of other drinks beforehand. So he was trying to find his was home and ended up getting attacked by these scumbags. This biker saw the attack and saved the guy, and even brought him back home. Of course he didn't rememeber any of the events of the night and only found out about it, the next night when he ran into the same biker and they found the biker to be a really nice guy. I guess the old saying never judge a book by it's cover comes to mind here, but it's pretty funny thinking about it now and how cautious we were around bikers there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I won a bike recently in a dance off in the local '50's retro diner.
    So cool, started a gang called the "Hell's Satans".
    Such fun, Lenny on his lawnmower, Moe on his girl's bike.
    Then the real "Hell's Satans" arrived...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

biko wrote: »

Jesus,you'd wanna make sure that the wood was smooth-wouldn't want to get a splinter somewhere nasty :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

Douchebags the lot of them if ya ask me, and this wee video pretty much sums up my opinion on biker gimps nicely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Bunch of **** tbh.

get a focking job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Used to drink in a pub here in Limerick called the High Stool. Every weekend you'd be guaranteed at least one biker gang would be drinking in there and it frequently led to epic "bar stool smashed over the head" type fights. Funniest ever was when a group of scumbags tried to get in one night (this was a serious metal/biker bar only) and they all ended up in the regional hospital after 20 guys came out and beat the **** out of them outside the door. The Outlaws is one gang I can remember being in there frequently.

Closed down now, but was a seriously good bar despite the violence. Everyone knew everyone, it was like a house party in a pub every weekend!

Bunch of **** tbh.

get a focking job.

no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭agrostar

Bunch of **** tbh.

get a focking job.

FlutterinBantam you are what many would call an a**hole:pac::pac: To make such a statement just shows how much of an a**hole you really are. I am a biker not a member of a biker club but many of my friends r members of different clubs. I have been to many club events and have never seen any trouble between bikers at these rallies its mostly when smart a**ed people(like yourself) come into the marque or bar and start acting the maggot is when there is normally trouble. And you will find these people in said trouble r normally getting in trouble where ever they go whether its to the local night club r biker rally.

agrostar wrote: »
    FlutterinBantam you are what many would call an a**hole:pac::pac: To make such a statement just shows how much of an a**hole you really are. I am a biker not a member of a biker club but many of my friends r members of different clubs. I have been to many club events and have never seen any trouble between bikers at these rallies its mostly when smart a**ed people(like yourself) come into the marque or bar and start acting the maggot is when there is normally trouble. And you will find these people in said trouble r normally getting in trouble where ever they go whether its to the local night club r biker rally.

he's talking about bikers not emo crybaby clubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,228 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

No wonder a lot of biker gangs aren't seen in Ireland when we have more of this than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭agrostar

Absurdum wrote: »
    he's talking about bikers not emo crybaby clubs

That still wouldnt like to be crossing with these emo crybaby clubs:D:D:D
    Have seen many the result:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 mick_jt

Ok its settled we are setting up a biker gang

/Puts on helmet. Hops on bike. Revs engine (Brum Brum). Rides off into sunset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Opinicus

There's a reason the criminal gangs are called "one-percenters". The majority of any bikers I've met have been completely sound.

They do enforce strict security at their rallies, and rightly so! Anyone doing the bollocks and messing up everyone else's night deserves a kick up the arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭minister poxbottle

Douchebags the lot of them if ya ask me, and this wee video pretty much sums up my opinion on biker gimps nicely

your opinion doesn't count, ya have to be human .

what you know about bikes and bikers isn't worth knowing so stfu and watch yer cartoons like a good lad :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭minister poxbottle

Bunch of **** tbh.

get a focking job.

you know a lot about **** a **** expert i'd say :eek: another clueless **** stain that knows nothing but **** :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Absurdum wrote: »
    Biker gangs are meant to fight deal drugs and rape women not hold raffles for charity! :)

Seriously though I'd recommend anyone to read Hell's Angels by Hunter S Thompson, great book and some crazy moments from the hayday of the original biker gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 damone

lot of experience of these over the years ,idiots one and all !rednecks {and i mean that in the hick/moron sense ,nothin to do with where you re from !} scumbags who happen to drive motorbikes ,pathetic the way you have to become a prospect and earn you re patch ,these are grown men for ****s sake !!!!! watched easy rider as kids and never grew up !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

Fuc sake the amount of self righteous drivel on this thread is sickening. Who gives a fuc if someone wants to join a motorcycle club, wear leather and grow a beard. They're just doing what makes them happy and fair play to them. I've met a few bikers in my time and they've all been friendly enough. I'm sure some bikers are dicks but then unfortunately dicks permeate throughout society, some are even on this thread. The judgemental attitude some people have is what pisses me off more than anything, we're all just living our lives the way we want to live them, just fucin live and let live.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Closet thing we get here are little knackers riding around on their pedal bikes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Man I miss the Sopranos...."The Vipers" :D

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

There's an Outlaw biker gang in Cork, the Viking Nomads, but they're all harmless out.
    They just spend all day drinking in Fred Zeppelins.

Once I went up to "Animal", one of the main dudes, and told him a joke.

What's the difference between a motorbike and a hoover?
    On a hoover the dirtbag is on the inside.

The guy nearly pissed himself laughing.

http://www.vikingsmcireland.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

I can hardly see Irish bikers doin much illegal stuff compared to everywehre else
    "D'ya wnat to bea the **** out of the scummers up in the other gang!" "Nah i'd rather have a cup of tea to be honest" "Ya me to actually"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

jayteecork wrote: »
    There's an Outlaw biker gang in Cork, the Viking Nomads, but they're all harmless out.
    They just spend all day drinking in Fred Zeppelins.

What's the difference between a motorbike and a hoover?
    On a hoover the dirtbag is on the inside.

The guy nearly pissed himself laughing.

http://www.vikingsmcireland.com/
    cause he thought you were a tool?
    Always thought there was some kind of sub homo sexual plot with biker dude's. Maybe it's just a lasting impression from the "blue oyster"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

agrostar wrote: »

That's terrible abuse, I'm all broke up here.:rolleyes:

Less than a month joined Boards and already calling the Flutther an arsehole and a smart ass.

Enroll in some anger management classes pal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

yep it all changes when the words, drugs and money come into it....Or when you decide to pledge with them or what ever it is there term is.

read this book

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Gangs-Journey-Heart-British-Underworld/dp/0340830530

ule learn a lot... really interestitng to his other book reefer men is brillaint too. very well written....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

I can't see any of the videos embedded, has anyone been called bikecurious yet?

Duggy747 wrote: »
    and those tire threads look a little thin

I didn't know tyres had thread in them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I heard a story about the Callen motorbike gang. They used to walk around Kilkenny with their helmets and leather jackets, doing their best to look hard.

Thing was, they had to get the bus from Callen as they didnt actually own bikes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

jayteecork wrote: »

here's another one:

Why is every f***ing biker in Ireland called "Animal"?

Cos they're all muppets :)

Ah well you have to start somewhere..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

a granny walked into a Hell's Angels bar and said "i want to join your gang!". There was laughter around the bar. The leader of the bikers asked the old woman did she have a bike, "parked out front" she replied pointing out to a great big Harley. the laughing subsided. "Have you ever been caught by the fuzz?" the leader of the bikers asked, the granny pondered this and then replied "no, but i've been swung by the tits".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I like the biker aspect of it, but nowadays bike gangs are mostly a cover for drug selling and other illegal stuff.
    An old thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

DarkJager wrote: »
    Used to drink in a pub here in Limerick called the High Stool. Every weekend you'd be guaranteed at least one biker gang would be drinking in there and it frequently led to epic "bar stool smashed over the head" type fights. Funniest ever was when a group of scumbags tried to get in one night (this was a serious metal/biker bar only) and they all ended up in the regional hospital after 20 guys came out and beat the **** out of them outside the door. The Outlaws is one gang I can remember being in there frequently.

Closed down now, but was a seriously good bar despite the violence. Everyone knew everyone, it was like a house party in a pub every weekend!
    Great bar, with plenty of decent live rock bands, once spent the whole night there, ended up taking cans up stairs. :D

The place eventually became totally run down and the proprietor ran into trouble with the revenue commissioners.
    Bunch of **** tbh.

get a focking job.
    I hate Volvo drivers.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

There used to be a massive biker festival in Kilmeaden in Waterford years ago and lots of them used to come into a bar I worked in back then, never a problem with any of them, all very nice decent guys who are big into their bikes and a lot do plenty fund raising for charities etc..

I'm sure like every group, there are one or two who give the whole group a bad name but you get that everywhere.

I dont think you can compare them to the biker gangs in America..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    There used to be a massive biker festival in Kilmeaden in Waterford years ago and lots of them used to come into a bar I worked in back then, never a problem with any of them, all very nice decent guys who are big into their bikes and a lot do plenty fund raising for charities etc..

I'm sure like every group, there are one or two who give the whole group a bad name but you get that everywhere.

I dont think you can compare them to the biker gangs in America..

Kilmeaden was run by the Wheelers long before the Alliance was set up, those days Irish patch clubs use to squabble among themselves until the Outlaws appeared on the sceen. Now the Alliance and Outlaws must join forces to keep HA from entering the Republic. :D

What killed off Kilmeaden was that every town in the country started to set up their own MCC Club, the lads wouldn't travel to these smaller rallys and this killed off the big events. In 1985 The Wheelers purchased a pub with the proceeds of one festival. Even in those days it was £20 for the weekend which was a lot considering most MCC would have been charging about £6 for a rally.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

jeez.. a good history lesson there.. good on ya..

Was always wondering why it died off as I'm sure a lot of places were happy with the business..